Reviews by acare84

92

Easy and fun for newcomers too!

acare84 | Jan. 15, 2014 | Review of Europa Universalis IV

This game, for being a complex grand strategy game, is very beginner friendly. I am relatively new to the genre, and only played Crusader Kings II before this game. It has decent tutorials, and a vastly improved interface that is easy to navigate. That does not mean it is oversimplified, however, and there are a lot of aspects of government and colonization to manage. EUIV has the capacity to provide hundreds of hours of gameplay, and I highly recommend it!

85

Learn fast typing with playing this game

acare84 | Dec. 18, 2013 | Review of Typing of the Dead: Overkill

This is really two games in one. You get a PC port of the Director's Cut of The House of the Dead: Overkill and Typing of the Dead: Overkill. The first is a rail shooter, and the second is the same game except that you type instead of clicking to shoot.

This is, however, a more barebones conversion than you might expect. Unlike the original Typing of the Dead, only the last boss has a "gimmick" for what you have to type. No answering questions in this one. In the cutscenes, the characters still carry and use guns (not keyboards). Dictionary DLC is available if you want a greater variety of things to type.

The multiplayer for Typing of the Dead: Overkill is a nice feature, but has some odd sync issues and can be frustrating for both players if one is a more proficient typist than the other.

If you like typing, bad movies, and swearing, this is easily worth.

76

You should play it

acare84 | Dec. 18, 2013 | Review of The Bureau: XCOM Declassified

I don't get the negative reviews here on this game? I think theres a lot to be said for people who write negative reviews with only 4-6 hours on a game, a lot to be said about that. The game is straight of of the 50's B movie and plays much like Mass Effect just not with as long a story. Its good there some DLC knocking about for it now to give it a bit more life. If you like to the whole B movie theme and are up a interesting story, you'll have fun. Just keep in mind it not that long ..

84

Creative Assemly did great this time

acare84 | Dec. 18, 2013 | Review of Total War: Rome II - Caesar in Gaul DLC

After buggy release of Rome II, Creative Assembly finally fixes the game and release this great DLC. DLC campaign is small and runs faster the main game's campaign map and also campaign has season feature right now. Seeing snowy land in the campaign is really cool feature. Also campaign Ai is better too.

You should really get this DLC if you want to play small campaign map instead of the big one and control the Caesar himself.

73

We can call this improved expansion pack of Dead Rising 2

acare84 | Jan. 20, 2013 | Review of Dead Rising 2: Off the Record

For this price if you have not played Dead Rising 2 yet this is a steal, especially since this is basically a Game of the Year Edition unless you are desperate to see Chuck's canon story or play the Terror is Reality mode (which I don't think anybody even plays anymore). The main question will be for the existing fans of Dead Rising 2 as to whether or not they should pick this up. At it's core this is the same game with the same story, same bosses and same survivors with a couple of additions. Loading times have been improved greatly, the Checkpoint System is handy and effort has been made to make this feel like a standalone title in it's own right that Capcom have genuinely thought about rather than copy and pasting the whole of Dead Rising 2 with a Frank skin. Even some of the outfits have been adjusted (the popular SWAT uniform now has gloves for example). If you have yet to try the franchise or traded in your copy and fancy getting back in the game I would suggest recommended picking this up.

91

Better than Mass Effect 3 and Skyrim for me!

acare84 | May 25, 2012 | Review of The Witcher II: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition

I bought the Withcer 2 at release and was enthralled with the story, setting, and style, but frustrated with the combat. Now in the Enhanced Edition, combat and numerous facets have been tuned to perfection. But it's not all tweaking. Some of it's genuinely new content. How many developers are stilling enhancing their game for free a year after it's release? It's clear CD Project really care about this game.

The Witcher 2 is more epic than Skyrim, and more narratively gripping than Mass Effect 3. Between the companies care for players and the game itself, this is a strong example of a game done right. Suppor the company. Support the game. Support PC Gaming done right. Buy this game.

82

Great DLC pack

acare84 | May 24, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - Season Pass

This is a total DLC package of Saints Row: The Third and it is really awesome. It adds 6-8 hours gametime to the base game and all missions in the DLCs is really fun. You should get this package if you have Saints Row The Third and want more of it.

88

Best Paradox grand strategy game to date

acare84 | May 24, 2012 | Review of Crusader Kings II

Crusader Kings II is the really addictive and best grand strategy game from Paradox Interactive. Game is complex but if you do tutorial missions and read the game manual you can play the game good and have fun. I played this game nearly +100 hours and still learning new things from the game. Every game you play is different from the before and really entertaining.

You should get this game if you love strategy games and history. Pick the Crusader Kings II and learn how difficult is being the king. Thank you Paradox for this awesome game.

77

Great mini DLC

acare84 | May 9, 2012 | Review of Risen 2: A Pirate's Clothes DLC

It is a great DLC. Clothes are really cool and they help the player in the beginning of the game. If you have Risen 2 then you should buy this DLC too. It is cheap and has great features.

86

Best Hitman game to date!

acare84 | Nov. 16, 2011 | Review of Hitman: Blood Money Capsule

Hitman: Bloody Money is simply the best Hitman to date. It has a really epic story and musics from Jesper Kyd is really awesome. I finished the game 3 years ago but still remember the every second of this game because it is epic. If you like stealth action games you should get this game quickly because it is the masterpiece of the series. Also new Hitman game is coming on 2012, buy this and prepare for the next game you won't regret.

91

One of the best games of 2011

acare84 | Nov. 4, 2011 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

This game has the soul of the first Deus Ex game. Game is really great and fun, gameplay mechanics are rock solid. Also it has lengthy campaign and has a lot side quests. If you love long RPG games this game should be your choice. I finished the game 2 times and everytime I have played different things happened. So replay value is also high. Do yourself a favor and buy this game right now if you haven't.

85

Worth extra buy!

acare84 | Aug. 2, 2011 | Review of Spellforce 2: Gold Edition DNS

My alltime favorite universe = spellforce. Mainly because this is the only game I am able to play also RTS. I just don't cope with RTS only games since I am a RPG player by nature. This is a nice crossover of 2 different styles and it does it well. On a more cautious note purist from either side may find the RTS or RPG features too lite. If you don't mind that, this one is a feast and still beautifull in vistas even if it is a few years old. Eagerly awaiting faith in destiny, but since jowoods demise won't happen.

81

Just plain fun

acare84 | July 31, 2011 | Review of Tropico Reloaded Cap

If you've ever held the idea of being the leader of your very own 1950's style banana republic, this is your big chance. This game catches the atmosphere extremely well. As El Presidente you walk the tightrope between the two superpowers,and their adherants, and your people and their factions. Its not easy keeping everyone happy and if you arent careful, you'll find yourself adrift at sea in a rowboat and a suitcase full of money. Heck, the game is worth the price of a ticket just for the music!

78

Fun, excellent UI, but it's over pretty quickly

acare84 | July 29, 2011 | Review of Freedom Force vs. the Third Reich

I was pleasantly surprised by this game. The control interface is pretty quick to learn, and each of the characters has very unique skill sets that make them either overpowered or practically useless, depending on the enemies they are up against. It's all combat-focused, aside from the intermissions that keep the story going in authentic comic book campy style. Great voice acting as well. My only complaint is that the game ends almost as soon as you get really invested in it. It's linear progression, mission after mission, so you can't really stretch it out. If you don't have to repeat any missions, you could easily finish this game in a single all-day playing session. I haven't checked out any fan-made mods yet, but even if they aren't still available, the game is worth a look.

85

Great FPS+RPG hybrid

acare84 | July 25, 2011 | Review of Borderlands

Plays and looks great , the RPG elements are surprisingly solid and for the most part each skill tree feels unique and interesting. Each class have 3 skill trees and a single active skill. You can modify your active skill by either equipping items with class specific bonuses or by investing points in the different skill trees. ie. The soldier active skill is an auto turret which also provides some cover, by investing few points on my medic tree it also regenerate HP of nearby alleys . I also found an item that adds a shield regeneration effect to my turret , combining the two I got an instant "Medic Station" for the whole team each time I pop the turret. So far been really enjoying the multiplayer and tho its still pretty early on (around 6-8 hours of gameplay so far) seems like a great buy for pretty much any one who enjoys FPS or RPG

83

A classic!

acare84 | July 23, 2011 | Review of Commandos: Beyond the Call of Duty

Persistence is the word. If you buy this game, your little electronic men will die. Many times. And you'll reload. And they'll all die. Again and again. That's what this game's about. If that sounds like your idea of Hell, then stay away. This war IS Hell. It's like a baffling puzzle that you solve, one teensy-tiny step at a time. With your finger on the Save key. But when everything comes together it feels great. Better than great. It's like you beat the developer at their own game. Their own beautifully drawn, nicely animated and highly atmospheric game, I should add. So, it's frustrating. That's what this game's about. All you need to do is persist.

77

You will understand why the human race lost.

acare84 | July 23, 2011 | Review of UFO: Aftermath Cap

This is not a game for beginners. This is not a game for anyone who is new to the strategy/rpg genre. This is a game that will try to wholesale slaughter you on easy setting, during the first mission, and possibly even on the tutorial. This is UFO Aftermath.

Seldom have I encountered a strategy RPG that I found challenging, but UFO Aftermath is one of these rare few. With limited resources and personnel, the game really drives home a post-holocaust kind of world. At the same time, the gameplay is VERY balanced, both mechanically and in strategic battles. Experience Point acquisition freeform character development, a solid plot line, training between missions, intelligent AI, and numerous tactical approaches to your choice of turn based or real-time combat are just a few of the features this must-have boasts.

Any fan of the X-COM series will find a similarity between them, and this line. If you enjoyed X-COM, you'll also enjoy this. Base management is much simpler, and you do not get to design your bases or aircraft, but there are also no nasty upkeep fees like there were in X-COM. :-)

40

Not needed

acare84 | July 22, 2011 | Review of Magicka: Frozen Lake DLC

Magicka devs must be make new campaign expansions as a DLC's. This DLC is worthless, it adds a new map but map is not good and boring. You should get Magicka: Vietnam if you want to buy a good DLC.

87

Best FEAR game to date

acare84 | July 22, 2011 | Review of F.E.A.R. 3

I love first FEAR but didn't like FEAR 2. FEAR 3 is like the first FEAR game and it is good. COOP playing with friend makes the game different from all FEAR games and it is fun. Also F*ing Run multiplayer mode is just awesome. You must escape the wall of dead with your friends, everyone must try that. Game is not scary like the older titles but action is enough to make the players happy. You should really get this game. Don't face the FEAR alone and buy FEAR 3.

85

Diablo + Tomb Raider = Lara Croft: GoL

acare84 | July 22, 2011 | Review of Lara Croft And The Guardian Of Light

First of all I love Tomb Raider Series. And this game is different from all Tomb Raider games. Lara Croft And The Guardian Of Light is isometric shooter and plays like action RPG games. It is really fun, you can solve puzzles and shoot everything. Level designs are cool and not boring. Also it has online Co-Op and if you have friends to play you should buy this game quickly. Co-Op is addictive and fun, you can help each other and solve puzzles with your friend. Game is long enough too, you can spend 15 hours to complete the game also it has great extra bonuses as well in the levels. Tomb Raiding is really fun in Lara Croft And The Guardian Of Light.

83

Best Hitman game

acare84 | July 22, 2011 | Review of Hitman 2: Silent Assassin capsule

This game is best Hitman game for me. It is polished and really fun. Also it has one of the best levels in the series. AI is not great but it does the job. Levels are not scripted and non linear so you can explore them and can finish them whatever choices you want. For example go kill all bad guys and finish the level or go silent and don't kill anyone and do the job. You should buy this game because it is a classic. I hope Hitman 5 will be good as the second one.

87

Awesome game

acare84 | July 22, 2011 | Review of Just Cause 2

This game is really fun and for me it is better than the GTA IV. You can do everything you want to go anywhere in the map. Game's map is huge it has icy mountains, cities and deserts. You can drive everything like Boeing 737 to classical cars or jet fighters. Also it has great physics system, you can destroy nearly everything. You should get this game. Finally game has 40+ hours of fun. One of the best sandbox games ever made.