Reviews by aitk3n

50

Below Average

aitk3n | July 22, 2014 | Review of NBA Live 14

I purchased this game already aware of some the harsh reviews it got and went in with an open mind.

Now it has some very nice features, the ultimate team mode is nice and way you can earn rewards make it possible to have a stacked team although the limit on the amount of items you can obtain in your franchise is disappointing as for someone who likes to collect, putting a limit on something like that ruins some of the fun. Other good features it has is you can relive moments in nba games throughout the entire season and makes for challenging yet refreshing turn on basketball games. There is a rising star mode which essentially is my player/my career to which i really like some of the customization you can do to your player. The presentation had some nice little touches.

That's pretty much where the good ends, graphically it could be mistaken for an early ps3/xbox 360 entry rather than next gen. it is poor in way it looks and way it plays, it is not something to which i'd have expected to play 8 years ago, never mind now especially as games have advanced. Only positive gameplay i can give is the dribble mechanics, which have some nice animations but overall, if you're looking for some enjoyable basketball game, you won't find it here.

100

GOTY

aitk3n | April 1, 2014 | Review of GMG Simulator

I've played my fair share of simulators but nothing as real as this, and for the price, game is a steal, recommend this game to everyone.

85

Great but could be better.

aitk3n | Jan. 2, 2014 | Review of Sony PlayStation DualShock 4 - Jet Black

The controller is a massive improvement over previous generation, the tricks have really nice feedback, speaker feature is a nice touch and could be used to great affect in future as with the touch pad. controller feels more weighted and better overall, only part it slightly falls short with is battery life as it really should last longer.

75

Bright Future

aitk3n | Dec. 29, 2013 | Review of FIFA 14

Fifa franchise on last gen became a breakthrough and somewhat new and exciting, yet as years gone past, they became stale and lack of innovation. Playing this current version, from a distant stand point, not a huge amount has changed, beside a few graphically improvements and the inclusion of fans which after a while became repetitive but from a control stand point and the way the players feel and first touch, it's a much more enjoyable experience this year round,a lot harder to just hold on to the sprint button without losing control of the ball. It's more of a fluid game and more about possession and controlling the game. If fifa keeps this vision and improves on it's game modes rather than recycled versions of it, then we could be in touching distances of something rather addictive, until then, we have something which is just short but has potential to be something special.

94

Best GTA this generation

aitk3n | Sept. 19, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto V

Compared to GTA 4, this game improves in every way, graphics, player movement, gun play, car handling and so on. The game has so much going on, even after putting 60 hours into it, there is still stuff you haven't finished yet. The fact this is 4x bigger than the last GTA according to reports, it's an understatement, it feels way bigger and the most impressive thing about this is how beautiful this game looks, even on aging hardware, it looks so good. The island, the special abilities, the game is jaw dropping from the moment you get the game started. It's a must own if you have a console.

85

Simulation Football

aitk3n | Sept. 19, 2013 | Review of Pro Evolution Soccer 2014

This is the first year PES is using the new fox engine and it makes a huge difference, players feel more waited, ball is a lot more loose, player physics engine works well and the goalkeepers are a mixed bag. Game looks stunning on PC, only downside really is that theres a lack of content like low number of stadiums, not a huge amount of player faces or boots. If your a football fan, i would recommend this game highly as it's the game pes should have been 7 years ago, but it's here now and it is very hard to ignore.

90

Outstanding.

aitk3n | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Double Fine Bundle

Absolute gems in this pack, each game offering something different to the other, it's a must buy if you don't own these games yet.

88

Surprisly great pack.

aitk3n | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Telltale Games Collection

Great offer for great games, the most surprising game i found in the pack would be puzzle agent, rarely has a puzzle game stumped me so much and the walking dead winning GOTY speak's for itself.

68

Mixed bag

aitk3n | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever Pack

If you are expecting a deep story with this game, you will be disappointed. While in way's it's a duke nukem game and tries to make the controls feel 'arcade'/pre-2000's, with a lot of toilet humor which from time to time can have the odd laugh here and there, the game kind of went off rails a bit and lost direction to what made duke nukem 3-d such a classic for it's era.

it's worth a try and for how low it's priced, surely you can't go to wrong.

85

Very fond memories

aitk3n | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Legacy of Kain Pack

Don't be put off by the graphics, for price of the bundle, it's a steal for a forgotten classic

70

Enjoyable yet flawed

aitk3n | Aug. 25, 2013 | Review of Mortal Kombat Komplete Edition

Game has solid fighting mechanics, with very quick response times and enjoyable modes, the roster is pretty good size, the faults with this game come in the cut scenes with this game as they're poorly ported and very pixelated with sound being poor, don't understand why they just wouldn't use in-game models for the cut scenes as they look and sound a lot better than the poor console converted ones.

If you're looking for the story mode, maybe avoid as when cutscenes happen, it takes you out of the experience maybe but if you love fighting games, maybe this will be the one for you

89

Perfect Pack

aitk3n | Aug. 18, 2013 | Review of Payday 2 4 Pack

This game is straight up fun, and with this 4 pack, what better way to spend your time than to grab 3 other friends and rob banks, destroy malls, steal paintings!

This is arguably one of the best and most complete co-op experiences you'll find!

72

If your looking for simulation, look elsewhere..

aitk3n | Aug. 18, 2013 | Review of FIFA 13

It's well documented and covered that fifa sells millions upon millions of copies of fifa annually and i can understand why. This game is fun, arcadey, fast paced thrill. But what issue lays with fifa is that it is acradey and easy to pick up while that's a plus at the same time. It's good as mean's less time to learn the system but also it makes the game less authentic and challenging for it. The ability to quick fire passes without the ball or the player ever really responding in what a real life situation would happen. The game while is fun in bursts, if you already own 12, there's nothing to turn to 13.

93

Excellent.

aitk3n | Aug. 18, 2013 | Review of Turtle Beach X12 Headset

These are the best headset's you'll find in this price ranger, they're comfortable after long gaming sessions, the sound is really clear and bass to them are great. They also work perfect on PC so you're almost getting 2 for 1 at this excellent price.

87

Finally

aitk3n | Aug. 18, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider

This is the tomb raider I've been waiting for. It tells the origins of Lara and in a more graphical and mature manner than previous installments did. You feel like you're alone trying to survive this deadly island while exploring the place but alot of obstacles are in your way to find and help your friends and it's up to you to find, hunt and explore this deadly place. It's a ride you don't want to miss.

90

Must Own

aitk3n | Aug. 18, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs - Limited Edition

My Favourite game of 2012 by far. I kept my eye on this game for a long time and it was more than worth the wait. Fighting system is like arkham series but i found it to be more fluid, Slow Motion sequences similar to Max Payne Series. This game is my most played game i own in my library and rightly so, just disappointing that the DLC was a let down. If out of this console generation i were to only really recommend one game, this would be that game.

86

One of the Most Underrated Games in this Generation

aitk3n | Aug. 18, 2013 | Review of Mafia II Classics

This game didn't receive the right attention as it should have, it's a game which the story grabs your immediate attention. There's some really interesting concepts and ideas, things done in this game which i've rarely seen in others, For anyone who has never tried this game, you should, it's one hell of a ride.

78

Solid Fighting game

aitk3n | Aug. 18, 2013 | Review of Injustice: Gods Among Us

Purchased this game on launch, the story mode from a distance doesn't sound like it would have worked but it actually did, they did a great job with this one at netherealm. every character felt unique, be it batman felt slow in comparison to say like nightwing but it balanced out as batman had more powerful attacks. The wager battle is a great addition to fighting genre, with you choosing how little or much you want to risk your meter in return, chance of decreasing life of your opponent or increasing your health. The cut scenes for your special move get really repetitive after a while, was hoping there was an option to turn this off but sadly not.

Overall i would recommend this game as it is a fun and easy to learn fighting game, aslong as you can get past repetitive cut scenes for specials.

86

One of the Most Underrated Games in this Generation

aitk3n | Aug. 14, 2013 | Review of Mafia II

This game didn't receive the right attention as it should have, it's a game which the story grabs your immediate attention. There's some really interesting concepts and ideas, things done in this game which i've rarely seen in others, For anyone who has never tried this game, you should, it's one hell of a ride.

92

Possibly The Best Sports Title to Date

aitk3n | Aug. 14, 2013 | Review of NBA 2K13

Played alot of sports titles in my days and i must admit, nothing quite grabs my attention like this game, with currently put more than 150+ hours into this game, there is no better satisfaction than a block but enough about that, how does the game fair? from presentation to gameplay, its the best you'll find in any sports titles, the only issue that this game has is while someone is in dunk motion, you can't stop them really, sometimes you can steal it depending the exact dunk but that's only real issue this game contains. i could not recommend a game more, the my career is the biggest draw to this game and rightfully so.

65

Fun with a friend

aitk3n | Aug. 4, 2013 | Review of Sniper Elite: Nazi Zombie Army

As put in the title, this is when the game's at it's best, but then again, almost any game is at it's best with a friend, I'll try brake it down to my best ability:-

It won't win any awards in graphics category, it does the job what it's supposed to, but a few below par textures here and there but nothing game braking. A few bug's to find but it won't take you completely away from the experiance. Only recommend the game if you have a friend to play it with as fun alone is a rare occasion personally.