Reviews by albero78

81

A Nostalgia masterpiece

albero78 | July 19, 2013 | Review of FINAL FANTASY VII

This game is the real proof that high-end graphics don't make a game a masterpiece. When this game came out it was an excellent game and still is. The storytelling is amazing and it is one of the typical game where you say "5 minutes more and I quit". The characters are very well detailed and it possible to do a lot of customisation. Combats interface is well done and it will give you this nice feeling of having everything under control. Music and sound effects are from another era but they remain epic. Furthermore this new version adds PC optimisation and it runs pretty fine. Cloud support and achievements are the little details that make this game a real pearl in 2013 if you love RPGs.

80

Very nice addition to a very good game

albero78 | July 18, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead: 400 Days

When it comes to DLC people have always very different opinions. In the case of 400 days the content and the hours of fun added to the original game really worth. 400 days includes several storylines with new characters – some more interesting than others – that add nice and useful details to the whole background story. Storytelling is of the same good quality we are used to also in this DLC. It has to be said that you will find in 400 days more action than in the vanilla game and sometimes this does not help to create a good connection with your characters. Anyhow it is still very fun. I certainly recommend this DLC to the fans of the series and also to the ones that approached this game recently. I’d happy if all DLC had the same quality such as 400 days.

80

A great Batman action game

albero78 | July 10, 2013 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

When Batman meets nowadays video-game technology this is the result: a great action game. The developers of this game took very much into account the typical dark Batman atmosphere from the comics and from the movies and the result is pretty convincing. The game runs smoothly on PC and graphics, animations and sound are really convincing. Even if it has a linear gameplay once you will manage with the not so user-friendly interface, you will have a lot of fun in solving enigmas and beat some bad guys. I recommend playing the game with a controller because the combination keyboard + mouse, even if it works, is a bit more complicated.

100

Just the best

albero78 | June 20, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 3 (EU)

Forget single player. If you buy Battlefield 3 is to play multiplayer. This game is very well balanced and the PC version is really amazing. Sound and graphics are awesome and you won't be disappointed by the gameplay after a few hours of training. Battlefield 3 allows players to play a short game for 10 minutes before dinner and also to have big and long sessions with your friends coordinated in a squad. It is in this latter case that battlefield 3 gains a lot of longevity. Indeed if I should judge the best games of my life from the hours I've spent on, Battlefield 3 would not have any rival. The game is enriched by these RPG elements that are an incentive to play more and become a good player with all the classes available. For me it is a 10/10 without any doubt.

98

Excellent pack

albero78 | June 17, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 3 Premium Service (EU)

The Battlefield 3 "Premium" is a must have for all FPS lovers. If you loved Battlefield 3 you cannot miss this DLC pack. It has so much added value adding to the retail game huge variety of maps and game modes. It has 5 DLC and each one contains 4 additional maps. The 5 DLC are very various and you won't regret one cent of what you have spent. It is worth to mention the DLC "Armored Kill" which cannot be missed by all battlefield lovers with great very big maps with excellent graphics and all-out vehicle warfare. You will be astonished when you will see the map "Albors Mountain". This Premium version of Battlefield add also a lot of different features such as new vehicles, new weapons and new achievements that will keep you playing even more. If you have Battlefield 3 and you enjoyed its multiplayer, buy this "Premium" straight away and you will not regret it.

69

A civilisation game

albero78 | June 14, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® V

I bought this game not being a civilization fan. I bought this game because ages ago I had fun with the first chapter of civilization and especially colonization and also master of magic. I found civilization V on sale and I bought because I was looking forward a game that would have given me the feelings of the old times with some innovations and much better graphics. To a certain extent I found this in Civ V: even if you are no expert in these games you can have fun especially in the beginning of the game when you have few cities and few units. The game is not very innovative and that surprises after such a long time. It is pretty clear that the developers tried to simplify the gameplay to get more players playing the game and that is not automatically a con. The graphics are simple and nice. The sound is OK. I give this game a 69/100.

73

Ambitious game

albero78 | June 12, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II

I like history and strategic games. I bought this game because it was on sale and it was quite appealing to me. I read around enthusiastic reviews and I bought it straight away. I think the concept of the game is nice and very ambitious: reproducing medieval Europe on such a scale and allow the player to manage his/her kingdom is really a big challenge. The game gives you in effect the possibility to declare war, forge alliance, convert people to your own religion and arrange weddings to increase your power. It is very deep and complex. This is not a game where you can conquer the world by raising armies and destroy your enemies: it is very much about diplomacy. The problem is that being all this very complex a better tutorial is needed: I played several hours and I cannot say I manage well the game and often I have unexpected surprises that I don't know how to manage. The gaming interface is also not the best and doesn't help to ease the learning process. To conclude: I think it is a good game, but it is just for a niche of players that in a way or another learn how to master the game.

79

Nice but not amazing as expected

albero78 | June 11, 2013 | Review of GRID 2

The game is OK, but it is far from being addictive. I expected a game with a strong social component, such as battlelog for battlefield 3, but that "racenet" looks too consolyish and doesn't deliver the complete range of statistics I wanted to see. The game has two completely separate sections, the multiplayer and the singleplayer, and that's good. So basically you will have 2 different careers in which you advance indipendently. In singleplayers you will not buy the cars but you will unlock them. Very basic upgrades are possible and it is better than nothing. The developers appereantly invested time in giving us the possibility to decorate our cars in many different ways. That is also good but it's not the most important thing in a racing game. What's important in a racing game is the feeling that the car gives you. From this point of view the Codemasters turn very much in the direction of arcade driving compared to Grid 1. Grid 1 to me had a very good balance between arcade and simulation and it was pretty enjoyable. In Grid 2 you have to expect to drift, drift and drift... Especially powerful cars are very hard to master since they will bounce from one guard-rail to the other and they will spin continuosly. Driving small cars such as the VW Golf or the Giulietta give much more satisfaction. Graphics and sound don't deceive. The game runs smoothly and it is good looking. To conclude: it is a fun game but it is not a turning point in racing games.

68

Nice game but nothing extraordinary

albero78 | May 17, 2013 | Review of Sine Mora

I find that old-style shoot-em-'up are something that is really missing nowadays. When I saw this game on sale I though: ok let's give it a try. I have to say that I played it the first day and then left it. The game is fine, graphics are really ok, but it doesn't give you this sense of achievement and "I'll try once more" which was typical with this kind of games. Also the power-up and weapons upgrade are not as elaborate as I'd like.

So if you buy it, you might have few hours of fun, but don't expect much.

87

A great game

albero78 | May 17, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2

I bought Borderlands 2 without having played the first chapter. A friend suggested it to me and I followed his advice. It's a great game: it's well-balanced and addictive and storytelling is interesting enough for a game that, although it has some RPG elements, remains a FPS. The characters are funny and well characterized. The graphics of the game are beautiful. I know this is a dividing topic and indeed you either like or dislike such graphics. In my case I adored them. The only cons I can underline are: - this kind of graphics sometimes make difficult to aim well in caos situations; - the textures don't load immediately in HD and you have this unpleasant effect of the textures loading to HD while you move around; - the interface is a little too much "consolyish". - even though everybody loves CO-OP, I did not find it so entertaining.

40

Big disappointment

albero78 | May 17, 2013 | Review of Galaxy on Fire 2™ Full HD

My opinion: I have bought this game looking for something not too ambitious but similar to Freelancer, which came out ages ago and everybody knows. After having played for a while this "Galaxy on Fire 2" I can say it is a disappointment: the graphics are really poor for a nowadays game. I know this comes from Ipad and it is not a AAA game, but they are nevertheless very disappointing. But more than that it is the interface that doesn't allow me to enjoy the game: interface has many loopholes and it is weak. Remember the easy way you could equip and upgrade your ship, selling products and set waypoints on the map in Freelancer? Well, forget about it.

Don't get fooled and skip this one.

82

If you like single player RTS, this is for you

albero78 | May 17, 2013 | Review of Men of War: Red Tide Cap

Men of War brought a lot of innovations in the world of RTS. Graphics and gameplay are really well-done. You will need a learning process, but once you're used to keyboard shortcuts and micro-management, saving a wounded sniper will give you a lot of satisfation. This Red Tide is a nice (stand-alone) addition to the previous chapter "Men of War": it consolidates the gameplay adding a very nice single player campaign (attention: no multiplayer here). You will see that the missions in Red Tide are more "commandos" style and you might use some stealth skills since your men are outnumbered. I really enjoyed the whole single player campaign. If you have a choice I strongly recommend to grab the first chapter "Men of War" because it is more complete and various. If you already own it and you want more single-player action, consider this Red Tide as well.