Reviews by alphalegion

92

Amazing "expansion" on an amazing series.

alphalegion | July 4, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead: 400 Days

Long story short - if you loved the first season of The Walking Dead, you have nothing to fear with this DLC. It's about the length of 1 and a half "episodes" and took me about an hour and a half to complete, so it's not really short, but don't expect anything massively long either.

In spite of its length, this is some of the best value DLC I have seen. The story is absolutely amazing, and the way the different stories intertwine, really got to me, and I thought it was brilliant!

I thought I wouldn't like the idea of it starting a-fresh with new characters, because I wanted it to directly carry on, but they have introduced new character so well, and I can't wait to play a whole season with them. And there are plenty of links to the first season, and even some returning faces...

This is an absolute "Must buy!" for those who played the first season, and if you haven't already, you should pick it up and play it.

68

If you’re a fan of RTS you will love Genesis Rising!

alphalegion | April 16, 2013 | Review of Genesis Rising

Genesis Rising - If you’re a fan of RTS (real time strategy) games, particularly sci-fi ones such as Homeworld or Sword of the Stars, then you will love Genesis Rising.

By no means is this game perfect, its graphics are highly dated for its year of release and many of the gameplay mechanics feel choppy and clunky. But under all the faults, this is still quite a playable and enjoyable game.

So, certainly one to pick up in the bargain bin, or if you catch it on sale, especially if you’re a fan of RTS or sci-fi games!

82

Very enjoyable, and in a similar style to Mario Kart!

alphalegion | April 12, 2013 | Review of F1 Race Stars

I went into this game thinking I was going to hate it... The art style annoyed me and it looks like the game is designed with 5 year olds in mind. And yes, it’s not exactly a hardcore racing game, but it certainly shouldn’t be underestimated, especially for its nostalgia.

The bottom line is, this game is fun. Very fun. Just don’t go into the game expecting anything incredible and you’re going to have a lot of fun with it. It is best played with a controller, as you can clearly see it’s a console port, but that doesn’t detract from the fun.

Overall, this game is well worth getting! I wouldn’t really recommend it at its full £25/$35 price tag, but for £15 or less, you can’t go wrong! Very enjoyable, and in a similar style to the modern Mario Kart games.

60

Under all the faults, it's quite a playable and enjoyable.

alphalegion | April 12, 2013 | Review of Genesis Rising

Genesis Rising - If you’re a fan of RTS (real time strategy) games, particularly sci-fi ones such as Homeworld or Sword of the Stars, then you will love Genesis Rising.

By no means is this game perfect, its graphics are highly dated for its year of release and many of the gameplay mechanics feel choppy and clunky. But under all the faults, this is still quite a playable and enjoyable game.

So, certainly one to pick up in the bargain bin, or if you catch it on sale, especially if you’re a fan of RTS or sci-fi games!

77

The game is certainly fun, but can get repetitive after a while.

alphalegion | March 20, 2013 | Review of Alien Spidy

Alien Spidy is quite a typical style of indie game, and is more of a “collector” game than anything. There is little that separates it from other indie collector titles; however its aesthetic charm and smooth gameplay are not to go amiss.

So as you swing, jump and crawl your way around the various levels, you also have to avoid various other “creatures” that get in your way and use others to aid you in getting around the level. It’s certainly a unique mechanic, having other creatures aid you in different ways.

The game is certainly fun, but can get repetitive after a while, with little more to offer in later levels, that it doesn’t do in the earlier ones. The aesthetics and over-all feel to the game though is absolutely brilliant and is a very easy-on-the-eye game. Would certainly recommend picking it up if you happen to catch it on sale, or if you’re a eager fan of collector and indie games.

89

Trine crossed with Avatar!

alphalegion | March 16, 2013 | Review of CreaVures

CreaVures as an incredibly aesthetically pleasing game, and reminds me of Trine crossed with Avatar, as the environments strongly resemble the forest of Pandora at night. Gameplay is also reminiscent of Trine, as you control multiple characters to complete a level, and is a 3D side-scrolling platformer.

The puzzles in this game are great, and they all work well as you combine the abilities of two CreaVures at a time to overcome objects, obstacles and challenges.

For such a low priced game, I wasn’t expecting much, but was greatly surprised! This game is an absolute MUST BUY for the price, and is well worth it. The game is absolute “eye candy” and surely not to be missed.

84

Fairly simple and basic, yet profoundly satisfying game!

alphalegion | March 16, 2013 | Review of 10 000 000

10,000,000 is a fairly simple and basic, yet profoundly satisfying game. I bought it on sale not having very high expectations for it, as it seemed incredibly basic and lacking in any “real” features... But oh boy, was I wrong.

The art style in this game is nothing to scream and shout about, and it’s certainly not unique, but it certainly offers a pleasant and rustic charm to the game. The gameplay itself is yet again basic, but extraordinarily fun. It works on the basis of you matching tiles to perform certain tasks, such as attack, block, heal, move etc. And it actually works incredibly well.

Certainly one I would recommend picking up, and definitely a MUST BUY if you catch it on sale! It offers a good amount of fun, however after a good few hours can seem quite repetitive. But has a good drop-in-drop-out gameplay aspect!

95

One of the best RPG's of all time!

alphalegion | March 4, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect Trilogy

Mass Effect is by far one of the best RPG series of all time. The series has long-running decisions that you could make in the first game, and could have drastic consequences in the final game, as you are able to carry your character across to the next game, right the way through the trilogy.

The voice acting in all of the games is absolutely superb, some of the best I have seen in gaming, and the character models and animations in the Mass Effect 2 and 3 are simply stunning. The environments throughout all the games are all amazing, with actually the first game featuring some of the best, even if the texture qualities aren’t as good as the later games, the terrain itself can sometimes be visual-perfection.

The story throughout the trilogy will keep you engaged from start to finish, and although the original ending to the series was highly controversial and disappointing to some fans, with the new Extended Cut DLC that comes with the trilogy (on disc) it highly improved and you will not be disappointed with the stunning and near-perfect ending the trilogy provides you with.

This is certainly a trilogy worth playing if you haven’t done so already, and if you are a fan of the Sci-Fi genre and RPG’s, you will not be disappointed!

80

If you're a fan of SSB, then you'll love this game!

alphalegion | March 4, 2013 | Review of Party of Sin

If you’re a fan of Trine and games like Super Smash Bros. then you’re going to love Party of Sin! It is a fun beat-em-up 3D platformer with a fair unique art style, which is slightly cartoon based but has a charming and rustic feel to it.

Party of Sin has a lot of replayability to it and the many different characters (or Sin’s) are all unique and you will love every single last one. Each with their own unique abilities and style you need to master to use them, it makes it far more interesting.

The multiplayer aspect of the game is possibly the best and most enjoyable way to play, rather than solo, as working together and using the different Sin’s abilities together is a lot of fun and works well. Would certainly recommend this game, and is an absolute must-have for Trine and Super Smash Bros. fans if on sale!

94

Absolute bargain for such high quality games!

alphalegion | March 1, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider Collection

Tomb Raider Bundle - If you’re a fan of the Tomb Raider series, this is surely a MUST buy! Even if you haven’t played the Tomb Raider series before, this is certainly worth picking up as they are brilliantly and amazingly good games, and you can experience every single title in the series in just this one bundle!

This bundle is such amazing value, the price tag covers just two or three of the games alone, but for all 9 currently released games, it is an absolute steal! - Almost anyone is able to enjoy these games, with exploration, combat, puzzles and a brilliant narrative in each, it is hard to go wrong.

Tomb Raider is certainly one of the best game franchises of all time and is certainly worth giving it a go and even if you already own a few of the games in the series, I would still recommend buying the bundle rather than the games separately.

84

If you like GTA and Saints Row, you will LOVE Sleeping Dogs!

alphalegion | Feb. 26, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: LE - Ultimate Bundle

Sleeping Dogs is such a fantastic game, from its brilliant graphics, to great gameplay and compelling story. If you’re bored of Saints Row 3 and can’t wait for GTA V, then this is a perfect game for you!

This bundle is such an amazing bargain too, you get the complete collection of everything currently available for Sleeping Dogs, which includes all the DLC! - It’s possibly one of the best bundles out today!

The story in this game is nothing short of excellent, and the settings and environment are all absolutely amazing. There is so many different settings, and the characters are just brilliant - so good, you will learn to love and hate them, depending on how you play.

Certainly not one to miss, and certainly not for the price! GTA and Saints Row fans, eat you hearts out with this amazing bundle!

80

A true master piece!

alphalegion | Feb. 26, 2013 | Review of Chaos on Deponia

This is an amazing sequel to the original Deponia. As people know, the first game ended with a lot of questions to be answered, however Chaos on Deponia answers everything you wanted to know and more!

The story in this sequel just excels above the first by a mile! You again follow the loveable yet dim-whited Rufus around Deponia, still embarking on his quest to seek Goal’s love.

The art style and theme of this game are spectacular alone, and really feels like a traditional point-and-click adventure. A true master piece, with an outstanding story and setting.

Certainly not one to miss if you have played the first game, and to all those thinking of buying it, I suggest playing the first game before you play this one!

80

It's cheap, adds a lot and is loads of fun!

alphalegion | Feb. 24, 2013 | Review of Painkiller Hell & Damnation - The Clock Strikes Meat Night DLC

The Painkiller series has always been a favourite to me. It combines retro-style arena shooter mechanics, with brilliant elements of comic horror and sinister gothic themes, and Painkiller Hell and Damnation was no exception, but what about its DLC?

One thing that was certainly lacking in the game before was the ability to duel wield weapons. Now, look no further! The extension onto the single player campaign is good too. It doesn’t add a huge amount, but certainly enough to justify the price.

The over-all quality of the DLC is nothing to scream and shout about, but it really does add a lot to the game, and is certainly worth picking up if you already have the game, or are planning on investing in the series.

88

Top-Down, Fast-Paced, Action Shooter... Lots of fun!

alphalegion | Feb. 12, 2013 | Review of Renegade Ops Complete Pack

Renegade Ops is a top-down, fast-paced, action shooter which involves you driving around in a vehicle, shooting and destroying just about anything and everything.

It’s the kind of game that never gets boring and will keep you engaged and entertained for hours. I’ve never been a huge fan of top-down shooters, nor the driving mechanics in such games, as I feel they are often broken and don’t’ work particularly well. However, Renegade Ops is certainly an exception.

With great game mechanics and fast-paced action-packed fun, it’s hard to go wrong with this game. I would certainly recommend picking it up.

82

A pleasant surprise!

alphalegion | Feb. 8, 2013 | Review of Dead Pixels

Dead Pixels is basically a side-scrolling 8-bit zombie shooter. I honestly didn’t have high expectations for this game, after seeing various video reviews on it, but for the price I just thought “what the heck” and got it anyway.

And I was pleasantly surprised. The game’s 8-bit theme was criticised by some, but I felt it offered a charming and unique retro style to it, and is exactly the kind of game I was hoping it would be. Great fun to play, could have been expanded on a little more, but definitely worth the price! Absolutely loved it!

94

Arguably the best game in the Mass Effect trilogy!

alphalegion | Feb. 4, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect 2

Mass Effect 2 is arguably the best game in the Mass Effect trilogy, and widely regarded as that, by many fans. It was a huge leap from the first game, and had a wonderfully structured story arch to the final game. The new characters in the game are just amazing, and you’ll grow to love every single one of them.

My only complaint for this game, would probably be the lack of “good” DLC. Yes, there is one very good, one “Lair of the Shadow Broker”, and if you’re considering getting this game, I would buy that as soon as you buy the base game. The others are barely worth getting, unless you have the extra cash, and would like a few cosmetics and extra little missions or squad members.

However the base game is amazingly good without any DLC, and as I bought it on its release, my first play though was without any of the DLC, and it is still an amazingly enjoyable game.

The voice acting in this, is possibly the best I have heard in gaming, and the gameplay is smooth, and works really well. It’s hard to criticise this game for much, which is why I have given it the score I have. - An almost perfect game, for an almost perfect franchise.

82

One of the best arena shooters I have ever played!

alphalegion | Feb. 4, 2013 | Review of Painkiller Black Edition DNS

Painkiller Black - Possibly one of the best arena shooters I have ever played. If you like the old Serious Sam games, or Quake III Arena mob mods, then you will surely love this! It’s in a wonderful horror style (although nothing is particularly scary) and you will explore cemetery’s, catacombs, haunted houses and more!

The weapons in this game are all amazingly fun to use, personally, nothing can beat running round like a loon with a shotgun, on super hard mode. The easy mode on this game is great too for novices, but if you’re like me, and you are familiar with arena shooters, crank it up to hardest for an amazingly fun experience!

The story-mode style mini-campaigns in this game are very good too! There are a few bugs here-and-there with it, but nothing that’s game breaking, and it’s all in all, a pleasantly good, and amazingly fun experience. Certainly one to get if you’re looking for a classic style shooter!

88

A hard-as-nails platformer indeed!

alphalegion | Feb. 4, 2013 | Review of Super Meat Boy

Super Meat Boy - A “hard-as-nails” platformer, with a very interesting narrative and style to it. I’ve got to say, my first impressions of this game, before playing, weren’t that great. I picked it up in a steam sale, and thought it might be a bit of fun to see how far I could get on this supposed “super hard” game.

But after launching it up... I was pleasantly surprise. The graphics looked a really nice, with hand-drawn feel to it, and the soundtrack was a pleasant surprise too. I have to say, not all of the music was completely to my taste, but it fitted well none-the-less.

It is an overall, very pleasing and addictive game. There isn’t much to criticize about this game, probably only the fact the it’s relatively short, if you’re good at it, and it can be completed in about 4 hours. But it’s still very fun to play, and surely be replayed many times over!

98

It’s just phenomenal.

alphalegion | Feb. 3, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Possibly the best action-RPG I have ever played, and that is no exaggeration. This game is truly stunning, from graphics to gameplay, and from narrative to setting. It’s hard to so much as pick one fault with this game.

The story in this game, is just so engaging and thrilling, with so many twists and turns, and even drastic changes in events, that will leave you jumping with joy, in tears of sadness, or screaming at the screen. It’s just phenomenal. The combat in this game is next to perfect, your weapon choice is excellent, and the fusion of first person and third person cover system works amazingly well. - The only slightly annoying part is the scope-in, as it isn’t assigned to your right mouse button, like most shooters, as that is to take cover. These can easily be re-mapped; however using anything other than right mouse button for cover can be even trickier.

All in all, an absolutely astounding game, arguably the best action-RPG I have played, and as I previously said, it is so hard to find a fault with this game. Definitely worth getting, well worth the price, and you can even find it on sale at quite a few places, so it’s sure worth getting then, without a doubt.

82

Adds a lot of content for the price!

alphalegion | Feb. 3, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Hearthfire (UK)

Hearthfire is a relatively small DLC compared to Dawnguard or the new Dragonborn DLC packages, however it doesn’t fail to deliver. It adds a good load of new features to the game, and at a very good price too! - I’ve seen a few complaints about this, like “it doesn’t live up to expectations” etc. But I honestly don’t see what people are on about.

It adds a lot of content for the price, you can choose one of three plots, all of which are quite different, which is certainly a good thing, and you can gather all the resources you need to construct your new house! - From door hinges, to window frames, it’s all needed. Then once you have them all, you can build your house, room by room, just as you want it.

You are also to do other things, such as move your spouse in, and adopt children. It’s only a minor part, but some may want to do that. - It’s certainly a great little add-on for the price, and well worth getting if you are fed up with all the pre-set houses around Skyrim.

75

Even if you hate golf, it’s hard to hate this game...

alphalegion | Feb. 3, 2013 | Review of Worms Crazy Golf

Worms Crazy Golf... Well, it’s not the most original idea ever, and I’m completely miffed as to what kind of audience this was supposed to be aimed at, but you know what... It’s not a bad game.

After recently purchasing this, I picked it up in the sale, as I am a fan of the Worms franchise, but wasn’t too sure on this title, purely because of the whole “crazy golf” aspect, as anything with the word “golf” in it, just doesn’t work for me, as a personal preference, and I am aware it is the same for a large number of other people. Some like it, some don’t. - But the thing I was shocked about with this game, even if you hate golf, it’s hard to hate this game.

It’s not as thrilling as the original Worms title’s, such as Armageddon, or Revolution, but as a spin-off style game, it works very well, and is great for quick half hour sessions (or longer if you really get into it), but it’s a great drop-in-drop-out game, and sure worth full price, and would certainly recommend you buy it if you catch it on sale!

87

A modern day Lucas Art's adventure!

alphalegion | Feb. 2, 2013 | Review of Deponia DNS

Remember the old Lucas Art’s adventures, such as the monkey island series? - Well, if you liked those, you’ll love Deponia. Rufus is the modern day Guybrush Threepwood, with his bogus attitude, and hysterical one liners, it’s hard not to love this guy.

It’s a typical romance story, of a girl that’s too good for our little hero, and he’s out to make her love him. The animations and art style in this game is truly brilliant, and is reminiscent of the old-school point-and-click adventure games.

It’s an absolutely wonderful story, and I think my only complaints would be that it wasn’t clear to me that it was a multi-part series of games, and I was a little stumped at the end, when there was unanswered questions and plot holes, that would need to be filled in the next game, and also the fact the a few puzzles (not many though) are actually unable to be completed if not done in the correct order. I may be wrong, but when this happened, it seemed almost impossible.

Needless to say though, this is a very good, and thrilling narrative driven, point-and-click adventure game, with old-school style and humour, with a modern take. Absolutely brilliant!

80

Aesthetically pleasing, with some minor faults.

alphalegion | Jan. 31, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts

Awesomenauts. Look’s nice, plays nice, works nice. It’s a very simple game if I’m honest, it’s a nice idea, but basically a 2D Dota to be honest - at its core. The best part about this game is probably its art style, it is very aesthetically pleasing, and nothing short of a master piece on that.

The game plays well too, like I said, it’s a very fun 2D defence platformer, and can be very competitive at times, when you are on multiplayer with some friends in a LAN party, or even on a public server.

I’d say the only bad part about this game, is the overall design. It looks good, yes, but the character design mainly, is very comical, and not really something I personally like in a game of this sort. For example, you play as a stereotypical “space cowboy”, not exactly something I’m a great fan of. - But none the less, still a great game, and has some very pleasing parts to it.

65

Pretty niche 8-bit zombie shooter.

alphalegion | Jan. 31, 2013 | Review of Zombies.

An 8-bit zombie shooter. - What could be more fun? Well in fact, a lot of things. But that’s not the point I am trying to make. Zombies is a relatively fun top-down 8-bit zombie with little aesthetic charm, but some ok-ish gameplay.

It’s certainly not the nicest looking 8-bit zombie game, but don’t let that put you off. For the current price, I’d say it is a little steep for what it is, (which is basically a blurred screen of pixels) but it’s by no stretch of the imagination, a bad game. It certainly provides a good few hours of fun, and there’s a lot of potential for a game like this, if only the developers would put more thought and effort in.

I wouldn’t recommend it at its current price, but if you happen to find it on sale, it’s certainly worth picking up then. However, if you’re a hardcore-zombie-shooter fan, then you may want to buy this full price, just for a few hours of good old fashioned 8-bit zombie fun!

75

A good bit of fun for a couple of quid!

alphalegion | Jan. 31, 2013 | Review of iBomber Attack

Well, I recently bought this game, as it looked relatively interesting, and seemed to have some good gameplay mechanics, and for the price, I thought you couldn’t go wrong.

And some extent, yes, I was correct. It certainly provides a good few hours’ worth of fun dungeon-crawler style gameplay, however you’re a tank. It’s a fairly simple concept, point and click to shoot, W A S and D keys to drive your little tank around, and simply proceed from objective to objective.

It’s fairly repetitive at times, but remains to stay fun. By no means a bad game, but not exactly well polished either. - However, for the price, production cost and the fact it’s an indie game, I’d say it was fairly well pulled off. Great bit of fun for just a couple of quid, indie devs pull it off, once again.

86

A beautiful surprise.

alphalegion | Jan. 30, 2013 | Review of Trine

Trine - I knew it was an indie game, and for that reason, you never have exactly high expectations for an indie game, just a little fun. But with Trine, it was different...

I loaded up the game one Saturday morning, and decided to see whether it was any good or not. After a beautifully done introduction to the game, my mind began to wonder “could this possibly be an actually impressive indie title?...” But I didn’t want to fool myself, so I carried on, and began the game.

But moments later, my suspicions were confirmed. - Trine appeared to be a visually stunning master piece, it had a beautiful story, fantastic puzzle mechanics and brilliant gameplay. Just the pure design of this game, down to the graphics and style is just amazing. Definitely one of my favourite games I have played this year. It is so worth the price, and more! I would pay at least double the asking price for a game such as this, and it’s even more of a bargain on sale! Just absolutely stunning.

80

Torchlight in space?...

alphalegion | Jan. 30, 2013 | Review of Greed: Black Border

GREED: Black Border - Some may call it a “sci-fi torchlight”, and they wouldn’t be wrong. Needless to say, that isn’t a bad point at all. - After recently buying this game, I have to say, it has a fairly good solo campaign, and is a very fun Sci-Fi-RPG dungeon crawler style game, however this game really shines in multiplayer.

With traditional Diablo/Torchlight style dungeon crawling gameplay, it is clear this game would be successful as a multiplayer, and is certainly a very fun experience indeed, especially when you have a team of 6+ (if you can) crashing through the levels on hard difficulty, it is both challenging and accelerating.

The only bad part about the multiplayer (as it currently stands, Jan 2013), there is no dedicated servers to play on, which means you either have to resort to port-forwarding or using a program such as Hamachi. This isn’t a problem if you are familiar with playing on your own servers, I can just see it being a pain for those less experienced.

Even so, a very solid and entertaining game, and well worthy of the score I gave it. It isn’t quite as polished as other games of its genre, such as Diablo and Torchlight, but it is nothing to be sniffed at, especially at that price! - Well worth the money, and loads of fun!

92

A near perfect story...

alphalegion | Jan. 30, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect 3

Mass Effect 3. The end of arguably the best RPG franchise of this decade, or in fact, ever. - But does it hold up to its expectations?

Well, you start on trial, charged with slaughtering over 250,000 Batarians (an event from Mass Effect 2), when suddenly Earth is invaded by the dreaded Reapers. This story starts in a dramatic, emotional and thrilling way, and is somehow kept, throughout your next 40+ hours of play, in this epic adventure.

Never before has I been to drawn into a game such as this. - I would even go so far as to say, it is comparably better than Skyrim, or Deus Ex, two other fantastic RPG’s.

Now, the ending. (don’t worry, spoiler free!) - There has been much controversy surrounding the Mass Effect 3 ending, however! However, there is now a FREE fix for this, and honestly makes the game absolutely brilliant. If we had been given that ending to start with, I would probably be giving this game near 100 points right now, it’s only the fact that it caused so much heart break and controversy, that I had to bring the score down a little.

Needless to say, an absolutely wonderful RPG, set in a fantastic sci-fi world, with an astounding plot line, and brilliant story telling. - You just simply couldn’t ask for better.