Reviews by apollo3d

65

Space Harrier II

apollo3d | May 31, 2011 | Review of Space Harrier II

The basic idea is both simple and ingenious. Space Harrier 2 is a game that is part of the scrolling shooter genre. The levels that you will face will be full of obstacles that initially will be fully manageable, as destructible by your laser cannon. Over time, however, the level of difficulty will be increasing. All facilities will become indestructible and beyond the blows of the enemy, you will have to add the very high probability of going to impact with an obstacle came out of nowhere.

Despite the many positive aspects and innovative for the period in which it was released, worthy of mention, it is a dated game structure, which hardly would be able to be appreciated by those who do not know the history of the game and by those who would not see more than a repetitive isometric view shooter, characterized by too elementary levels and by a difficulty sometimes exaggerated.

I recommend it to the nostalgic people and those who want to give a chance to this old game. After all, it isn't much expensive.

63

They could do more

apollo3d | May 30, 2011 | Review of Post Apocalyptic Mayhem

Post Apocalyptic Mayhem is a title unambitious and without pretensions of originality. Turns out to be, in fact, a classic racing game and arcade fighting aboard of improbable vehicles fully armed. Not very rich in content. The tracks are only three and there are six vehicles. The six vehicles are well differentiated from each other as to speed, manageability and type of weapons, so you will tend to get attached to this or that vehicle, trying to get the best out of them.

The strong point of the game is definitely the post-apocalyptic setting based on radioactive deserts and cities in ruins, in which the races will be held. The graphics isn't bad, but the first thing I did, was disable the Blur. It is incredibly exaggerated and unreal, making it, at least to me, difficult to understand the correct direction to take, especially not knowing the maps.

The weak point of the game is the physics. Many times it’s as if there wasn’t gravity.

Unless you take a slow and heavy vehicle, you will find the race really frustrating. In fact, on the slightest contact, you will spin and you will be jumped in the air. Even with a small and easy bump, you will be literally thrown into the air. This problem is the main cause of accidents. In fact, losing control of the vehicle, you will be easy prey for the opponents.

It’s a game designed primarily for online mode. The single don’t offers a huge challenge, even to hard. It will happen more than once that the opponents will not keep your gait. So you will have inevitably to slow down and wait to destroy them to increase your score.

The absence of contents could result the online mode to die very soon. It’s hoped maybe the coming of some free DLC and some patches that could improve PAM.

90

Play either with the forces of Order (White) or Chaos (Black).

apollo3d | May 30, 2011 | Review of Battle vs. Chess Cap

With the presence of new games on PC and console, more and more table games are set aside, to abandon them completely. "Battle vs. Chess" tries a serious challenge, to reconnect the player to the world of chess, but digitally, trying to stimulate it through its gameplay.

You don’t know anything about chess or maybe you want to refresh some rules? Then play some “Tutorial” lessons. The tutorial mode explains everything you need to know about chess in a series of lessons from general rules to strategic tips for each piece and specific situation which occur during a game. The tutorial may prove useful not only for complete beginners but also for advanced players, who can refresh their memories on some special feature.

After the tutorial, you can play against the computer to be sure you understood the game mechanics. Again, the game helps the player thanks to the possibility to choose the difficulty, ranging from 0 to 9, ie from beginner to advanced and also the chance to cancel the last move done.

You don’t like the new style or maybe you're confused during the game and you prefer to play in the old way? No problem. Just go into options and change the chess models. You can choose between the "classical chess figures in 2D", "classical chess figures in 3D" or "animated chess".

Maybe you’re a bit bored by classic chess? Try the many puzzles and minigames. They have real tricky starting positions and confront you with mind-blowing chess puzzles.

The graphics are cured and detailed. The fighting and the movements of the characters have been all represented in fantasy key, giving a pleasing effect to the game. The battlefield is the board, but that will be situated in breathtaking sceneries.

The personalization of view is another plus. You can choose to see the board from a classic top view, or enjoy the action of "fighting" much closer.

“Battle vs. Chess” offers three basic option to compete against a friend (or foe!) in one of the various multiplayer modes.

You can start a local multiplayer game and play against a friend on the same PC, you can play with other players via LAN Connection, or you can play a game LIVE with people from all over the world.

You will be enchanted by this game, and it will be for a long time (maybe forever). I think this is a must buy for all lovers of chess.

83

Always new

apollo3d | May 27, 2011 | Review of Mah Jong Quest II

I committed the mistake of playing the third chapter first and then this. Despite this, I have a very positive feedback. I will not talk about the gameplay, they remain almost unchanged, but the continuous renewal of this title.

It's really amazing to see how it is constantly updated graphics, the styles changed, reinvented a story, and isn't simply made a copy and paste from earlier chapters.

I admit, I prefer the third chapter and its comic strip, but this chapter, with its 2D graphics and a touch of RPG in history to go ahead and play Mah Jong, it is equally wonderful. My advice is to try all the chapters, because they deserve a lot.

90

Suggestive and unlimited

apollo3d | May 27, 2011 | Review of Mah Jong Quest III

are the two words that I associate to this beautiful game. Suggestive, thanks to the relaxing background music that will accompany us during the game. Unlimited, thanks to the many game modes and challenges. Take a look about the game modes.

Kwazi’s Quest: The story is told through a beautiful comic and talks about Kwazi, a traveling man. After a not very clear beginning, from the age of 72 years, we are transformed by a hermit in a child. We need help Kwazi through each of his 72 years by helping him to choose wisely and keeping his life in balance. To do this, after every game of Mah Jong, we will have to answer a particular question.

Freeplay: With over 600 classic style boards, Freeplay has something for everyone. We can choose from Classic Normal, Double or Triple sized puzzles or we can test our skills with the Triple or Quad match puzzles.

Tournament: Classic style Mah Jong with a uniquely competitive edge. We can play online head to head and compare our skills with people from all over the world.

Variations: Slight Mah Jong rule changes that you won’t find anywhere else. Some are impossible to explain, you definitly must try it.

Mah Jong Quest III also helps the beginner, who doesn’t know absolutely how to play. Just press the "Rules" button and we will have a quick and simple explanation that will help us take the first steps. In addition to the rules of individual games, we will also find the rules of the various game modes. It is remarkable the amount of aids in each screen. We will know always what to do and we will never click the buttons randomly. On the contrary, options are the minimum: we can only adjust the volume of sound and music, and choose to play in a window or full screen.

I absolutely recommend it to all.

62

Not so magic

apollo3d | May 26, 2011 | Review of Magic Ball 3

Magic Ball 3 is a parody of the famous Arkanoid game, but with crazy scenarios. In addition to the typical power-ups that are normally found in the game Arkanoid, there are also specifics power-ups of the game, which absolutely doesn't clash with the environment.

The aim as always is to break down everything in every scenario, but with the ability to activate some elements of the scenario, that allow us to destroy the surrounding environment. Negative notes:

The game is too "slow", maybe because the scenario is a bit too big; Really funny scenarios are alternated by scenarios absolutely boring.

5

Don’t waste your money for now

apollo3d | May 26, 2011 | Review of Mafia II DLC: Vegas Pack

It is unbelievable the number of DLC available for Mafia 2. I really don’t recommend you this DLC, there are only two cars and new clothes, the playability of the game don't changes. The price is too high for these four things. Wait a huge discount.

62

The unsinkable Titanic.

apollo3d | May 26, 2011 | Review of Hidden Mysteries: Titanic - Secrets of the Fateful Voyage

I tried this game years ago. You play as Margaret Ashley, a young woman recently married to a wealthy, British businessman. As Margaret you must explore her surroundings. In some cases there will be the classic hidden-object game, typical of this kind of games, in others you will find the right item to use in the right place. Some are obvious and easy, others surprisingly frustrating. I recommend to buy this game only if you are attracted from the setting and you want to try the feeling of being on the Titanic.

70

Good evolution of first chapter.

apollo3d | May 26, 2011 | Review of Flip Words 2

Definitely better than the previous chapter. New graphics, new sounds, new game modes. In this sequel there are three game modes: Classic, Strategy and Party mode. Classic mode is basically Flip Words 1. Strategy mode is like a quiz show. We can spend money to buy vowels and consonants. Really fun.

Party mode is the real evolution of this second chapter. We can solve phrases with up to three other player via the internet. Why buy Flip Words 2? Better graphics, expanded feature and hours of fun alone or with your friends.

72

It is just a solitaire? Absolutely not.

apollo3d | May 25, 2011 | Review of Jewel Quest Solitaire 2

Why we don’t play to the Windows solitaire? Because isn’t enough.

Basically we must help Emma to find her missing husband in Africa, by playing solitaire, but not only. In fact, the fantastic story as background, the different levels, the use of the powerups, makes this games absolutely irrestistible. Will be very hard to break away from the game.

The graphics and the animation are also really good, and help us to immerse ourselves completely in the game.

55

Boring

apollo3d | May 25, 2011 | Review of Flip Words

The game basically consists of clicking on each letter adjacent to link them into words. Not the worst game I ever played, but the game is very essential (too much), in terms of graphics, sound and gameplay. Fun at the beginning, but soon we will leave the game for the bored.

60

Maybe too simple

apollo3d | May 25, 2011 | Review of 7 Wonders: Treasures of Seven

The presence of too many bonus that helps during the games, makes the game simple and repetitive. The time looks very useless, because there will be always a lot of time available. However the animation isn’t so bad. It is funny to see the ancient Egyptians while they are building monuments in different countries.

77

Take this and place it there

apollo3d | May 25, 2011 | Review of Crystalix

Well, I was really impressed by the gameplay of this game. The purpose of the game is destroy the crystals of every scenery by matching them with the figures below. If we are in trouble, we can use the wand to destroy one crystal, or the hammer to destroy one figure. The playability increases thanks to the two different games modality: Classic and Jewel.

Definitely the best part is the Jewel mode. The perfect mix between the jewel game and the tetris game, will give you many hours of fun and challenge. I recommend it.

67

Arctic Quest 2

apollo3d | May 25, 2011 | Review of Arctic Quest 2

The game is very simple. We have a figure in the screen who represents an animal and in the meantime, ice crystals of different sizes falling from the sky. The purpose of the game is to place each crystal that falls, in the spaces provided. If we can not place it, we can drop it in the water. You lose when the river is full of crystals. Not bad for those who want to spend a few hours of fun, with also several bonuses that help us during the game.

76

Great old game

apollo3d | May 25, 2011 | Review of Krypton Egg

I think this game was one of the best of its time. It’s completely crazy. We can use of the creative power-ups that have been never seen in any similar games, such as fly, light, slime, fire. We have to manage dozen of huge balls at a time and last but not least, Krypton Egg turns into a shooting-style game on some special levels.

You should definitely try it.

80

Basketball Manager

apollo3d | May 24, 2011 | Review of International Basketball Manager: Season 2010-2011

In this game we are the manager of a basketball team and we can select a team out of nearly 30 top European leagues and the North American professional league NBA. The player and club data is always current because they are subject to regular updates.

The purpose of the game is to create the own team through player transfers, to manage the team, the company, the stadium and much more.

Thanks to the 3D mode, we can observe the match live and it is possible to intervene into play at any time. We can exchange players, change tactics, etc.

Surely a good alternative to the usual football manager.

72

It's Over 9000!

apollo3d | May 24, 2011 | Review of Borderlands

According to Gearbox, there are over 17,750,000 different variations of weapons, as of release. The game uses a procedural process to generate its various guns in certain classes, such as handguns, shotguns, assault rifles, sniper rifles, and more, but with many variations of firing speed, reload speed, damage type and more.

The best of the game is surely the multiplayer co-op. The single can be very boring after little, because the only thing that we do is going A to B to accept different missions, and this is extremely repetitive. However the mix of RPG, FPS, Hack'n'Slash and the presence of the DLC, provide many hours of fun.

78

The thief, the magician, the warrior and the mysterious artifact

apollo3d | May 24, 2011 | Review of Trine

The game allows you to play as three different characters, each with unique abilities: Zoya, a very fast and agile thief; Amadeus, a skilled magician and finally Pontius, a powerful warrior. You can freely switch between characters at any time, playing the current session how do you want. You can also use all three characters in the same time (with your friends), thanks to the local co-op mode.

The game also offers an interesting evolution of the characters, through the achievement of special experience points with which you can enhance the various skills available. You can also find several useful items placed in boxes located at various levels. All this to increase playability.