Reviews by asiersua

70

For those who enjoyed The Dark Eye...

asiersua | Oct. 27, 2013 | Review of The Dark Eye: Demonicon

This game is quite rich when it comes to lore, and the story is incredibly good. If you already knew about The Dark Eye, you'll very much enjoy that part of the game, and being a fan of deep story based videogames, I actually liked this one. The graphics are not that bad, although they need some polish, especially in the textures. The combat system, however, is not challenging at all, so unless you want to experience the lore and story itself, the gameplay leaves much to be desired and it shouldn't be picked based off of that aspect of the game.

80

Nice little game.

asiersua | Oct. 20, 2013 | Review of Alien Spidy

If you like the aesthetics of the game (just see the pictures), you'll probably like the game itself. It doesn't have the best story ever, but it will certainly keep you hooked for hours, trying to advance to the next level, collect everything in the previous ones, or simply beat your older scores. A nice little charming indie title, which is quite cheap on its own already.

100

Two of the greatest games of all time, in a single pack.

asiersua | Oct. 20, 2013 | Review of BioShock + BioShock 2 Pack

The Bioshock franchise is indeed a great one. It's been around for a while, and with the latest addition of the Infinite title, the hype is back. So what better way to get into the games if haven't already, than buying the first two titles at a discounted price? They're great first person games, they have a really steampunk-ish environment which I, personally, loved, and an amount of details which will get you into it even more. It's good, it's cheap, go grab it!

90

Forgotten but still great.

asiersua | Oct. 9, 2013 | Review of Ristar

For all those who played the original Mario Bros. and/or Sonic games, this one will be a blast to try. The gameplay is quite similar, and the graphics are just the same (it was released back in the 16-bit era, it's no surprise). You'll find this title charming in its own way, and now that you can play it from your PC it's even more accessible than having to change cartridges on a console. Besides, it's really cheap, so what are you waiting for?

95

Nice title for all-time Rayman fans.

asiersua | Oct. 9, 2013 | Review of Ray man Legends

I played Rayman for long hours during my childhood, I can tell you I had so much fun with those games. Now they bring that original idea back with Origins, and expand it even further with Legends. What can I say. This game is great, the art is a masterpiece, and it will always bring a nostalgic tear to those good old Rayman fans, such as myself.

96

A great nostalgic game for those who played the original Rayman.

asiersua | Oct. 9, 2013 | Review of Rayman Origins

I used to play Rayman when I was a kid, and I didn't personally like the Rabbids that much (the first game was alright, but then they went overboard with the damn squishies), so clearly this title has been a nice surprise for me. It brings back memories of the old Rayman games, adding new mechanics to an already great game. Definitely a must buy, especially if you manage to get it cheap during a sale.

77

Fan of racing games? Get it!

asiersua | Oct. 4, 2013 | Review of F1 2013: CLASSIC EDITION

I'm not a fan of sports games, and racing in particular isn't my strongest point, but if you like this kind of stuff, I'd definitely recommend it. The graphics look neat and, gameplay-wise, even I could play it decently despite not having any experience at all. I would, however, recommend waiting for a sale, since it's quite pricey for the stuff it brings. Just like any other sports game, that is.

85

Great game!

asiersua | Oct. 4, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Limited Edition

If you liked the GTA series, but would love to see some change in it, this is your game. It has the great and addicting gameplay of GTA, combined with martial arts, plus a nice storyline to follow through. You won't regret trying it out, even if you don't really feel like following the storyline, because, since it's a GTA-style game, you can also run around freely doing whatever you want.

85

It's a classic everyone loves.

asiersua | Sept. 28, 2013 | Review of PAC-MAN Championship Edition DX+ (EU)

Who doesn't love Pac-Man? I mean, it's not a classic game, it's THE classic game, everyone loves it despite how simple it is, and you couldn't stop playing it when you were a child. Well then, prepare for an even better experience! With different modes, layouts, and customization, you'll just keep playing this one game after you've got it.

90

Epic.

asiersua | Sept. 28, 2013 | Review of Shadowrun Returns

You'll love this game, from beginning to end. The art is just so good, the gameplay (Strategic RPG) is great, and the story will keep you hooked with all the twists and changes, it'll be different depending on the answers you give to the different characters you'll encounter throughout the game. If you're wondering about variety: wonder no more! You've got quite a few classes to choose from, and you can even start a character with no class if you feel confident about the skills and stats you need to upgrade to wreck your enemies. There are also several races, from humans to trolls, and even elves, so overall, a great experience with lots of choices to make even before the game starts!

86

Awesome design, one does not simply not love Gaige.

asiersua | Sept. 28, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2: Mechromancer Pack

Gaige is a greatly designed character, you'll love her in many ways, or you may love her Deathtrap more than herself, depending on how you build her. The three skill trees make for a quite flexible choice of roles, you can either make Deathtrap an epic robot who'll kill all the badasses for you, or go full Anarchy on the enemies and wreck their faces with low to no accuracy, or just get all the electric weapons you find to exterminate the enemy shields (and, eventually, melt their faces as well). Depending on the build, however, her skill feels a bit underpowered, Deathtrap will die quite soon if you don't upgrade him much. However, you'll be the one melting faces, so a robot's help is not too bad if you spec into a tree that doesn't necessarily improve it.

100

I mean, who doesn't love Tiny Tina?

asiersua | Sept. 28, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2: Tiny Tina’s Assault on Dragon Keep

This DLC is the grand finale of the first Borderlands 2 DLC season, and damn right it is a great finale. You probably loved Tiny Tina in the original storyline. Well, be prepared for more of that! The whole storyline, dialogs, and all the new areas and enemies are just what you'd be expecting from a D&D game. But this is Borderlands! So be prepared for laughing a whole lot and for the epic references from other games/books/series. If you liked Borderlands 2, you won't be disappointed with this one. I mean, one does not simply refuse to get a DLC of which the main star is Tiny Tina.

66

It fell flat.

asiersua | Sept. 28, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2: Sir Hammerlock's Big Game Hunt

Compared to other DLC, this one is just plain bad. The story is short and really, REALLY simple, and the humor is not that great either. There are new enemies and a few new areas, and its strong point are the secondary quests, which are the different "hunts" you can go for in the different areas to get yourself new gear and stuff. However, if you're looking for a great experience, I'd recommend getting the other DLC (unless, of course, you're getting the Season Pass).

91

I ONLY HAVE ONE QUESTION: EXPLOSIONS?

asiersua | Sept. 28, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2: Mr Torgue's Campaign of Carnage

This DLC is all about the pointless and random humor. You'll love Mr. Torgue, and although the storyline itself is not too deep, you'll have fun shooting and looting like in the base game, but with new bosses, enemies, and areas. Go grab it already, you won't regret it if you loved Borderlands 2.

89

New weapons, a new storyline, more Borderlands 2!

asiersua | Sept. 28, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2: Captain Scarlett & her Pirate's Booty

This DLC is just what you'd expect: new enemies, areas to discover, and epic weapons to loot! With new quests and a brand new storyline, this DLC will get you hooked to Borderlands 2 for a few more hours after you're done with the normal storyline. It also has some great humor, with references all around, and even a new kind of car! What are you waiting for? Come join the hunt for new treasure and loot!

90

Get more from Borderlands!

asiersua | Sept. 28, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2: Ultimate Vault Hunters Upgrade Pack

11 more levels, new weapons, tougher enemies. This DLC has everything you need to expand your Borderlands 2 experience even further! Do not expect a new story or anything (you'll have to complete the original one or the DLCs once more in order to level up), but if you simply love shooting at stuff and blowing bandit heads, this is the DLC you need!

90

More Borderlands! MORE!

asiersua | Sept. 28, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2: Ultimate Vault Hunter Upgrade Pack 2

Did you enjoy Borderlands 2? You probably got a decked out lv61 character by now, with all those legendary weapons and epic skills. Well then come get this upgrade for even more bad ass weapons and tougher enemies! 11 levels will allow you to expand your skills even further, so get prepared for epic shoot and loot madness!

90

A nice little platformer, which brings new elements to the genre

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | Review of Nihilumbra CAP

I just got this game, and apart from being beautiful-looking, it's great fun so far! If you enjoy platformers, this one surely won't let you down - shape the world around you to suit your platforming needs, while you listen to a strange voice telling you about yourself, the Void, and how to overcome the difficulties you find each time. Overall, although I haven't finished playing it yet, it looks like a great title, and totally worth the money.

85

You like CoD, you like Medieval stuff, you like Chivalry.

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare

Do you love FPS games? Call of Duty or Battlefield, whichever you want, but you like them, right? This game is just that, but in the Medieval Age. So it brings brand new weapons (swords and all that, you'll find out if you play), and a totally different setup. You'll have a blast if you love FPS, since this one is not your typical one, which is a great twist to what has been established for this genre so far.

82

Fast paced sidescrolling game.

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | Review of The Showdown Effect

Although I haven't played it much, I can tell you this: you'll definitely love this game if you like deathmatches in games like Call of Duty. The Showdown Effect, however, changes your perspective to sidescrolling, which gives it a nice and original touch, while making it a different kind of fun compared to typical FPS. You still have guns, anyway, and if you like shooting people to death, you'll like this one game.

86

Nice minigame which will keep you playing for hours.

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | Review of Swords and Soldiers

I've already seen this kind of games on mobile devices - and they're great, but mostly based around microtransactions which kind of made me stop playing them. This game, however, is on PC, and it has just 1 DLC. It's a lot of fun, and if you enjoy RTS games, then you'll love this one. It's a nice minigame which will keep you hooked for a while, but it's also great if you want to play for a short time because you're in a rush.

50

Not my piece of cake.

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts - Ravishing Raelynn Skin

This skin doesn't feel like that much of a change compared to her other skin - Bionic Raelynn. It's just too similar to her default skin. However, some of you might love the theme, and if you like Raelynn, you should definitely check both of her skins to play her in style!

96

Kawaii Ayla.

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts: Teddy Ayla

This skin changes all of Ayla's particles, which is a nice thing for a skin this cheap! If you love playing Ayla, you'll definitely love this skin, which is both cute and cool and, of course, deadly! Whack your enemies with a heart-shaped lock, while leaving a rainbow trail! And if they try to escape, blast them with the new heart-shaped Evil Eye!

90

Great looking military Clunk!

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts - Expendable Clunk Skin

If you enjoy playing Awesomenauts, and more specifically Clunk, you'll definitely love this skin. It will make him look even cooler than his base skin, and for this price, how can you even hesitate to press that shiny "Buy" button?

92

Nice little skin collection right there.

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts - Costume Party 2

If you didn't have enough with the first Costume Party pack, Ronimo brought you yet another pack with great skins for everybody! If you like gaming with style, but not just on one character, this pack is what you need!

94

A nice set of skins at a reduced price.

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts - Costume Party Bundle

Whether you're new to Awesomenauts or a veteran, these skins will let you play with style! You get 9 different and great skins for 9 characters which, if you didn't already, will get unlocked for you. These skins are worth getting alone, but in a bundle they're cheaper and even greater!

90

A great improvement to the first.

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | Review of Sanctum 2

This game, just like the first, is best when played co-op. If you manage to bring some friends, you'll have great fun, if you're alone, you'll end up not playing it. However, the game is great in general, just like the first, but this time you have more weapons to blast your enemies, and new turrets to defend your base. If you haven't tried any of them, you should get this one instead, since the main theme hasn't changed much, but it's a better game overall.

90

TD/FPS mashup.

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | Review of Sanctum

This game is fun when played with others, so make sure someone else has it/will have it before buying it. I myself have stopped playing it because of this, it's no fun alone. Anyway, it's a great game (when played on co-op), so if you like Turret Defense games, you'll probably love this one, since you get to help the turrets with your own arsenal of futuristic weapons of all kinds. The sequel, which is out already, is kind of an improvement to the first, so consider getting it instead.

85

Definitely an Assassin's Creed game.

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | Review of Assassins Creed III

If you enjoyed the last Assassin's Creed games, you'll probably enjoy this one. The fresh new main character is great, since Ezio was a nice guy but got kind of old already during the last game. This time we visit America, the land of freedom! Or, at least, it'll be after you help liberate it, right? It introduces quite a few new mechanics everyone will enjoy, be it an Assassin's Creed veteran like myself or a guy who just picked up this game to try out the saga. The good old hidden daggers are still here, but the combat system has been improved to give you more freedom (didn't I talk about this already? Oh, no, that was American freedom.). It's also a quite long game, so it'll keep you playing for hours on end!

80

Great ending to Ezio's arc.

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | Review of Assassin's Creed Revelations Gold

After Brotherhood, which was kind of disappointing as a sequel, Revelations is a really well done ending to Ezio's story arc. He's quite old already in this game, but still up for some action! This time you'll travel to the places you visited during the first game. And what for? To find about Altaïr's work, of course! The change of place for this sequel was quite refreshing and needed after having exploited Italy in the last two games and, although not too many different mechanics were added in this one, it's a nice way to keep up with the main story of Assassin's Creed.

70

Slightly disappointing sequel to a great saga.

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | Review of Assassins Creed Brotherhood

I won't say this game is bad and you shouldn't buy it - quite the opposite, actually, if you're into this series, you must get this one to at least follow up with the story. However, it kind of fell flat after the huge changes that came about with AC2. It's set in a similar environment, with the same main character, but a few years later. It introduces new mechanics which are quite fun, but all in all it doesn't change much from AC2, and if I had to pick, I'd definitely get the second one instead of this one.

75

Good game, great saga.

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | Review of Assassins Creed

This game is the beginning of a great series. It was, hands down, one of the best games available back when it was released, and it's still quite solid. However, it has become a bit obsolete: the missions are repetitive, there isn't much weapon diversity, and so on. If you want to follow the saga, however, I strongly recommend picking this one up, as it'll explain the beginning of the main story. All in all, the game is still quite good, and you'll probably enjoy it in general, but compared to nowadays' titles it lacks a bit of gameplay depth.

100

Best Assassin's Creed so far.

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | Review of Assassin's Creed 2 Deluxe Edition

This game, which I find to be the greatest of this saga, is one of the most fun I've ever had with a game, and the visuals are also stunning. You're in the Italy of the Renaissance, one of the most beautiful setups you'll find in a game. Your duty: to take revenge for the murders of your family. Gameplay-wise, it greatly improves the first game's weak points - it's not repetitive, it has a wider variety of weapons and quests to take on and, of course, improved graphics. If you like this series, this game is a must!

90

Pretty nice RPG Shooter.

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | Review of Borderlands

Do you like shooting? Do you like looting? Then this is the game for you! Shooting and looting, in the same game, which mixes RPG and FPS aspects to bring you a nice experience. I highly recommend playing it co-op, the fun increases exponentially! It doesn't end there, though. This game has some nice humor to it, which makes it even greater. If you're looking for a good game, which can be challenging at times (bosses, strong mobs, epic loot to hunt!), but all in all really fun to play, this is your best bet!

82

It's cheap, it's funny.

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | Review of DLC Quest

What else can we say that's not been said yet? DLC Quest takes the joke about DLC really far and makes you buy even the Pause Screen DLC (with in-game money, don't you worry). It has two campaigns, both are quite short and easy to beat, but you aren't playing for a challenge. You're playing for the jokes, and this game will sure make you laugh quite a bit with references from The Legend of Zelda, Portal, and even Skyrim. It's totally worth getting it if you're looking for a light-themed, funny little game.

100

Shaolin style!

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts: Shaolin Ayla

This Ayla skin (which is, in my opinion, the best one for her so far) changes her outfit for a robe, and her usual lock for a spiked ball. Her Evil Eye skill particle won't change on this one, but he Rage will look much cooler with new symbols and all. To sum up, get it if you like Ayla, it's a great skin!

89

This skin is worth your money.

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts - Bionic Raelynn

If you like Raelynn, this is definitely her best skin so far. Her spell particles are slightly changed to fit the robot-esque skin's theme and, all in all, you'll feel really cool sniping the enemy team on this garb. I highly recommend waiting for it to go on sale, if you're willing to wait, because you can get the skin at a really cheap price. Either way, enjoy sniping people in style if you decide to get it, and if not, I hope I find you and snipe you one day to make you see how cool this skin is in-game.

100

A great game that every and anyone can and should play.

asiersua | Sept. 24, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

Definitely, one of the best games I've ever played. Sure it's slow, sure it's not an epic action game with the best graphics or the coolest gameplay ever. But it reached me. It reached me deeply. I'll probably play it again sometime in the future, just to see how things go if I make different decisions. I'm happy with the ones I've done during my first playthrough, though, but it might be interesting to witness another kind of story. The game gives you so many options, you'll be wondering what to do half of the time. If you follow the series, or even if you don't know much about them, the game is great. I'd recommend it to everyone.

93

A nice little indie which'll keep you playing for hours.

asiersua | Sept. 24, 2013 | Review of The Binding of Isaac

Gameplay-wise, the game is pretty simple: defeat the different foes in the various rooms to get to the boss, then defeat it and move on to the next floor. Doing it, though, becomes harder and harder the further you go. But fear not, there are various items you'll be getting along the way which will make you stronger! (Disclaimer: some items will actually make you weaker.) This may sound simple, but with hundreds of items to pick up, randomly generated rooms with tons of different foes, this game will probably keep you playing for a while until you can get to the last boss. It's also a lot of fun all the way through, so make sure you pick it up!

95

Lots of fun ensured!

asiersua | Sept. 24, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts

MOBAs. They've got really popular lately, haven't they? I'm sure all of you have heard of LoL, DotA, and maybe even HoN and Smite. Awesomenauts is another MOBA, but it's unlike any other you'll see out there right now. The fast-paced, 2D-platformer gameplay makes for a great MOBA which differs from all the other games in the genre, in a great way. I can assure you you'll have loads of fun playing it, and the community, while small, is generally friendly, making it a flamer-free MOBA (which can't be said about, like, ALL of the other MOBAs which are playable currently).

100

This game is pure art.

asiersua | Sept. 24, 2013 | Review of Bastion Cap

I really can't stress this enough. This game is so beautiful, it will make you stop to get every detail of the post-Calamity landscape of Caelondia. The hack and slash is not too hard at first, but you can always activate Idols, which will make your foes stronger, if you want a challenge. All in all, the great visuals, nice story with some awesome narration, and the hack-and-slash gameplay which will never get old make for one of the best games of this generation.

86

Be prepared to try, then try again, then try once more.

asiersua | Sept. 24, 2013 | Review of Super Meat Boy

The game is hard as hell, yet so addictive. You just can't go without finishing that one level you're stuck in, even if it takes you 1000 tries. And that's Super Meat Boy. If you're looking for a challenge, this is your game. It's great fun, but be prepared for the varying frustration of not being able to pass certain levels until you've tried and tried and tried. But I think that's what makes a game challenging, right?

92

If you enjoyed the first, definitely pick up this one.

asiersua | Sept. 24, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2

What the title says. The first one was a great game, and this one is even better. If you liked the first, you'll most likely enjoy the second as well. Just don't expect too much of a change - both games are kind of the same: kill mobs, do quests, level up, that kind of thing. But this one has improved so much compared to the first, while retaining the stuff that made Borderlands Borderlands: the great humor, awesome FPS/RPG action, and the more than enjoyable Co-Op mode. 100% recommended if you got someone else to play with.

93

Steampunk at its finest.

asiersua | Sept. 23, 2013 | Review of Dishonored

This game is a masterpiece, a must have, something you'll enjoy from the very beginning until the end. The stealthy gameplay is simply perfect, you have different approach choices for every level, and depending on how you play through the whole thing you get a different ending. In my opinion, however, its strongest point is the environment. Each and every inch of the city of Dunwall is something you'll want to explore: it's both gorgeous and full of secrets. It's kind of dark, because that's the theme of the game, but that doesn't mean it's bad. As I said earlier, a must have.