Reviews by bala1201

100

A serious pack for a serious gamer

bala1201 | Sept. 15, 2013 | Review of Borderlands Pack

If you want to get rid of your child for weeks, buy him this pack. It gives literally hundreds of hours of exciting, bloody, challenging gameplay in a universe of endless fantasy. The best co-op game with unforgettable ad-ons topped by a very best second part with dlc-s featuring new challenges. Buy this, and soon you will be browse the searching for some more...

88

A good one

bala1201 | Sept. 11, 2013 | Review of Heroes of Might and Magic V

HoMM games are very addictive. This one is a great step, I mean the biggest gap in developement between the titles of the series is between 4 and 5. For me HoMM will be the best for ever, I even infected my wife it,and I am glad to see that 5 is trying to follow that path instead of the new ideas of HoMM4. This game for me is an old classic with beautiful up to date graphics.

74

Interesting one

bala1201 | Sept. 11, 2013 | Review of Gettysburg: Armored Warfare

I don't really like American history, but as you can predict this game has nothing to do with it. I like the mixture of future tech and our well known civil war era. I agree that some further developement and more carefull testing could help this game a lot, but it is still very enjoyable.

76

Bugs, bugs everywhere, but still....

bala1201 | Sept. 11, 2013 | Review of Evil Genius

Well, for me this game is a little bit one of a kind. I mean there are not many games where you are not Batman or any other superhero, but the evil villain. A little bit of Dungeon Keeper idea, but a far better gameplay. If you can get used to the graphic cluthes, stucking minions and occasional crashes.

96

An old one with memorable gameplay

bala1201 | Sept. 11, 2013 | Review of Europa Universalis II

Among other features the most important thing this game can give you is freedom of gameplay. You can build up your empire as you like it and a lot of options help you personalise it, like religion, diplomacy with neighbours, trade, military. You can even discover the New World.

80

Some new things

bala1201 | Sept. 11, 2013 | Review of Earth 2160 Capsule

Since I got this game as a gift I don't want to complain about it too much. My main problems are: too short campaigns, few maps. Well, they include a map editor, but who has got time for that? all together it is a good game, old school strategy.

55

Good but should be better

bala1201 | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Jagged Alliance: Back in Action

As a great Jagged Alliance fan I had very high expectations when I tried this game. Well, at first sight it was a disappointment. On the first map I easily killed all the guards with an axe, I couldn't repair my kevlars, the AI is incredibly stupid without any tactical sense they simply start running towards you and shooting when in range.The difficulty only means increased numbers and better equipment. Money was the only issue at the beginning but later it also became a piece of cake. Too easy with some annoying bugs but still played to the end :-)

92

A good game with some "but"-s

bala1201 | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Total War: Rome II Emperor Edition

This year this game was waited by me the most. Well is is a work of art. But don't start it if you haven't got the time. Although the battles can be long (and very enjoyable) the main issue for me is the too long waiting time for the computer movements at the end of turns.
The traits and skills of the generals are too complicated without any serious reason. Large battles need serious hardware. With 100 units on the battlefield my computer gave it up and so did I. All together it is still epic, and I am still scrathing the surface of it.

100

My favourite pack

bala1201 | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Total War Grandmaster Collection

Buy this pack only if you have time and you are ready to loose your social life for a long time. This pack contains a set of of the most addictive strategy games. A good choice for the comming winter.

85

Old time favourite

bala1201 | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Rome: Total War

This is a game that I usually install as a first onto a new computer. I have been playing it since the first day of its release. I have played every faction, tried every difficulty, I have fougth with a mighty army, or a strong economy with mercenaries, or using gold and diplomats but never got bored. Although a remake is ready, I am not ready to say farewell to this one.

90

A remake well done

bala1201 | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Medieval II: Total War Collection

Medieval Total War was my long time favourite game so I had very high expectations for this one. Well, I wasn't disappointed at all. The map is great, the units are plentyful, the battles are awesome. Maybe the power of diplomacy is a bit weak, but that era of the history was mainly written by the sword, sowho cares. :-)

79

A must for your collection

bala1201 | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Empire: Total War

This game is not the best of the Total wars. Well, they tried something new, shattered maps, travelling between continents, sea routes, colonies. For me it is a bit messy and complicated for the first try, but after a few hours (and some restarts) you will be addicted.

80

Value for your money

bala1201 | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Empire and Napoleon: Total War - Game of the Year Edition

Like all the games in the Total War series it is a piece of quality. For me it is a bit boring, compared to the others, but it is simply a case of interest, I like the medieval era and the roman times a lot more than the Napoleonic wars. This pack is awesome, don't forget to try the multiplayer battles.

90

One of the best

bala1201 | Sept. 9, 2013 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2

It is a Total War game, the remake of their very first one. It is simplyfied to the roots with a very limited range of units, mostly the same for every faction, so you must rely on your skills to win your battles. Save often. :-D

80

Nice entertainment

bala1201 | Sept. 8, 2013 | Review of SkyDrift Pack

If you have some time, but you don't want to use your brain too much, it is a great game to play. Basically it is a cart racing game in the air. Spectacular, enjoyable, and fun.