Reviews by bcf623

87

A must have bundle for MK fans

bcf623 | June 11, 2014 | Review of Mortal Kombat Bundle

This bundle is simply amazing. It gives you full access to the arcade klassics of Mortal Kombats 1, 2, and 3, and also giving online play, which definitely beat putting quarter after quarter in at the arcade. What it also gives is the complete edition of Mortal Kombat 9 which had great graphics and was very innovative with the new x-ray moves. MK9 also had a storyline for each character that was somewhat more intriguing for some than others, but the fights were also VERY challenging at some points. The online play is also very functional and enjoyable, but now there are a lot of people whose skill will just completely blow you away. A plus side of this bundle is that it also gives the DLC characters that were added, such as Freddy Kreuger. Also, MK9 has the press your luck game mode, which is extremely fun because you spin a slot wheel that will cause a random change in the flow of the game, such as no heads, which also disables all moves the require the head or even no jumping which is a very large change to the game. Overall, I very much enjoyed myself remembering back to when I was younger with the arcade kollection, but I also had a lot of fun with the newer mortal kombat.

83

A very nice racer

bcf623 | June 11, 2014 | Review of Trackmania Stadium (NA)

I didn't know what to expect from this game, but I do know that I thoroughly enjoyed it. The graphics of the game are very nice, and the gameplay felt like it fit, as everything happened the way I had expected it to. What truly puts this game aside from the rest are the community features that it supports. It allows the creation and downloading of community maps, which there are plenty of, for increased enjoyment of the game. Many of these races are fun, for example there is one where all you need to press is the forward key as you fly through the map on multiple high flying jumps.

65

For a specific crowd

bcf623 | June 11, 2014 | Review of RACE Injection

As a fan of the Need for Speed and Burnout series, this game was not for me. What I should have realized is that this game is much more of a simulator. This means that the races will be on official regulated tracks. Basically, it is not like most Need for Speed games where youre driving down the highway at 150 miles per hour, but instead you are on a walled-off or coned-off track. In all, this was a nice game, with a good sense of speed, decent graphics, and nice handling, but it was not what I was looking for.

65

Decent Bundle

bcf623 | June 11, 2014 | Review of Need for Speed Hot Pursuit & Need For Speed The Run Bundle (NA)

These games are actually a great amount of fun with nice races, and great graphics, which is to be expected of a need for speed game. Also be sure to use a gamepad while playing as it makes for a much better experience. What was slightly disappointing about both of these games is a trend that most recent NFS games have been following. This trend is having no open world to drive in, and only having racing stages. What was the best part of games such as Underground or the original Most Wanted is that you could drive around the city and see all of the different details and take it all in at your own pace, but now you cant just leisurely drive around at high speeds or start a random cop chase which was what made the series, in my opinion.

70

The multiplayer is ok

bcf623 | June 11, 2014 | Review of Assassin's Creed III: Deluxe Edition (NA) Other

I have personally only played the multiplayer, so do not use my opinion as a large part of your decision for a purchase. However, I do think my words on the game may be a nice change of view. In my experience in the multiplayer, it starts out pretty enjoyable. The first few games I played in the most basic game mode were nice as I was playing with people at a similar skill level. However, I decided that maybe I'd like to try another game mode. As soon as I did, I regretted it as I found myself constantly getting frustrated. This is because I was put up against people who were way above my experience with the game and had MUCH better weapons. In my first game I was up against multiple level 50-60.

When it comes to graphics, it was a pretty enjoyable display. The controls were very similar to those of previous Assassin's Creed titles, and were very responsive overall.

55

Great series, Poor entry

bcf623 | June 11, 2014 | Review of Assassin's Creed™ Director's Cut Edition (NA)

On release, I honestly thought this game was great, as there were not many recent games that were available in this type of gameplay. That said, I definitely enjoyed the plot to this game and still do, as it ties in many forms of conspiracies in an interesting fashion. Looking back, what I truly didn't like about this game is that it gets very repetitive. No matter what mission you are on, there is an assassin that basically tells you in order to climb to view points, pickpocket a prominent person, eavesdrop on a conversation, then finally assassinate your target. Over and over again. After the first 4 missions, you really catch onto the pattern and begin to drag yourself through just for the continuation of the story, and really only find enjoyment in the moments where you can sit in the middle of town and slaughter guards that keep running at you.

In all, it is definitely worth it to start the series, but you may just want to read a synopsis for this game's plot, as the game itself is really not that enjoyable.

75

A go-to for competitive shooters

bcf623 | June 11, 2014 | Review of Shootmania Storm (NA)

If you are a fan of games such as Battlefield or Call of Duty, this may not be for you. However, if you enjoy Quake, Nexuiz, etc. then this game may be what you are looking for. This game has a great number of maps, some created by the developers and others created by the community. What really makes this game the best is that it truly is made for competition. Every player in the game is on an even playing field as there is no such thing as an "overpowered" weapon. What this means is that the player who is performing the best in a match truly is the best in the match, which is how I believe online shooting games should be.

70

Enjoyed this more than I expected

bcf623 | June 11, 2014 | Review of Sanctum

This game does not have the most stellar graphics, but it is certainly made up for in gameplay. How this game works is that it is a tower defense, and as you would expect you earn money which you spend to build towers. What makes it unique, however, is that it is also an fps. What this means is basically that you yourself are a tower among others! I must admit though, playing through did get boring at points, but i would just stop and pick it back up at another time. What improves this game is definitely playing it co-op with a friend, as it makes the overall experience much more enjoyable and much less annoying.

80

A Great Hitman Experience

bcf623 | June 11, 2014 | Review of Hitman Absolution: Elite Edition

If you have played any of the past Hitman games, it is a very similar experience, but very much improved with an enjoyable plot. If you have not, then it is still a game worth checking out. What makes the game best is that there are multiple ways of completing each level. You can choose to run in guns blazing, but you most likely will not be successful. What you can also do is lead enemies away and pick them off one by one, or simply sneak past them to your main target. These options improve the game greatly because it leaves you to think about what would be the best action for the next section of the game to leave you with the highest chance of success. Overall, a great game in the stealth/assassination series of games and a switch up from the many blade-based games such as Assassin's Creed or Dishonored.

25

Did not enjoy this game

bcf623 | June 11, 2014 | Review of Call of Duty: Ghosts (NA)

When it comes to Call of Duty, the multiplayer is a VERY large part of the game and in ghosts it just did not reach my expectations. A few of the maps are nice yet with the multiplayer in this game they tried to take a different turn and they smashed right into a wall. Most of the maps have nearly no form of true cover, no matter where you are there are multiple lines of sight where you can be shot from and it is very frustrating. The campaign of the game did not make up for it. The story was ok, but it was not very compelling, and it felt as if the dog parts were very forced and did not flow smoothly with the gameplay. If anything, stick to Battlefield or Black Ops 2, which are much better games.

65

A nice game, but overrated

bcf623 | June 11, 2014 | Review of Borderlands

Borderlands, in all honesty, is just another RPG. I think what makes it special is the very large amount of weapons that are available in the game and also the bits of humor that can be found in it. Other that that, this game really isnt much different from somebody telling you to do something, you doing it, and then turning it in afterwards. Where this game really does shine is when playing co-op with three other friends. My problem with this is that a game should not rely on having friends with you to be enjoyable because nearly anything can be fun with a group of good friends.

95

A must play game

bcf623 | June 11, 2014 | Review of BioShock (NA)

It is a few years old now, and if you have not played any games in this series yet, then you must do so immediately. This game is very well received for a reason; because it is straight up amazing. The game features an extreme level of immersion in the underwater world of Rapture that is set in the early 1900s. The story and exploration of the game will keep your eyes glued to the screen from the start, and the very enjoyable and fun gameplay will keep you having fun until the end.

85

Definitely better than CoD

bcf623 | June 11, 2014 | Review of Battlefield 3 (NA)

This game was recently free to download on Origin, and if you missed that then this game is still worth buying. In my opinion, this game's campaign was highly underrated as the story kept me intrigued and the AI was actually decent. However, when it comes to games like Battlefield it is not always about the single player. The graphics are very nice, but the game has a blue tint to everything that may get annoying. The multiplayer was the best of any Battlefield that I have played with multiple different game modes, and a nice number of large maps that were very enjoyable to play on, and also just see the level of detail on them. As some have said a lot of players did move on to Battlefield 4, but there has been a recent surge of players and you're sure to have a good time.

90

Amazing and difficult platformer

bcf623 | June 11, 2014 | Review of Dustforce

I originally played this game after learning that it was similar to Super Meat Boy which I loved. This game is somewhat different, but it does have one main thing in common: it is very frustrating at times and may cause rage quits. There were multiple things that this game had that caused me to fall in love with it. One of these is the art style, which to me is unique and ironically calming. What I also loved about this game is the fact that there are multiple playable characters that have slightly different forms of movement that can lead to a faster or slower time depending on the map that you are playing. All in all, if you are a fan of platformers, this is a must play.

50

Interesting blend, but not the best game.

bcf623 | June 11, 2014 | Review of Monday Night Combat

This game honestly was fun for a short time, but that may have been due to the feeling of it being different from other games I have played. This feeling was because Monday Night Combat is a third-person shooter with the feel of a MOBA type game, all set up as a form of a game show or competition. If you want to see how it plays beforehand, I'd recommend you play Super Monday Night Combat which is free to play, but does not have the largest player base. SMNC, however, is an improvement to this game in more ways than one.

85

A great start to the amazing Fable series

bcf623 | June 11, 2014 | Review of Fable: The Lost Chapters

This game was very original when it came out, and sparked a series of top notch games. As some have said, this game is definitely showing a bit of age in the looks department, but the gameplay definitely is not. If you are willing to put slightly aged graphics to the side, then you must experience this game. It allows large amounts of character customization, with a great story, amazing combat system, and many side quests, this game will take up a very large amount of your time, and I guarantee you will love nearly every second of it. When finished, be sure to try out Fable 2, which is also very great, and is what I started with, and also Fable 3 which was not as well received, but was great when you finally got into the action.

65

Great zombie game, but somewhat overrated

bcf623 | June 11, 2014 | Review of Left 4 Dead Bundle

As my title states, this really is a great series of a zombie games, and on the release of a third, it will be a definite buy for me. However, what I have seen many people say of it are not the same as how I feel. For the first Left4Dead, it is fun playing through the campaigns the first few times, but after that it begins to feel quite repetitive. Left 4 Dead 2 is very similar, but there are many more campaigns that were released for it. Also, it has much more replayability due to the mutations that were added to this game, which basically change a fundamental feature of the normal game, for example everybody can use only chainsaws throughout a campaign. This was a great addition to the game, but many of the mutations did not appeal to me, and that may have been why L4D2 also felt quite repetitive to me. For the other multiplayer modes, survival was like survival in any other game, it is fun at first with friends, but it will most likely turn into you sitting in a corner shooting anything that runs at you. In the versus mode, one team plays as the survivors and other team plays as the infected who are trying to kill the survivors. On release, this game mode was a lot of fun, and I put a great amount of time into it. However, now every player knows the ins and outs of each map, and it doesnt have the same special feel, as I personally cannot seem to keep up with my team.

Overall, both games are a great experience, and if you havent tried either, I'd recommend that you do, but I believe that the games are not as much as some people say that they are.

75

An overall nice bundle of games

bcf623 | June 11, 2014 | Review of Portal Bundle

For the first portal, I would definitely give it a 6/10. As people have said before it has a very nice soundtrack, and the gameplay is very smooth. However, it lacks much of a storyline and is also not the longest game.Without the storyline then surethe puzzles are fun, but sometimes it leaves you wondering what you'll get out of it for finishing when you are frustrated.

Portal 2 is a humongous improvement in my opinion where they touched on nearly everything. The soundtrack is even better, and they added a nice plot to it that also has a few twists sprinkled in. Gameplay wise, Portal 2 added many new features that spiced up the very increased number of puzzles that the game offered. There is also a co-op mode that adds even more playability to the game.

When comparing graphics, the graphics of Portal 1 were nice and the graphics of Portal 2 were not very different, but were somewhat better.

For Portal 2 I would give and 8/10

For the entire bundle i would give a 7.5