Reviews by beltmatt_usa

85

Eat. Sleep. Drink. Kill Zombies.

beltmatt_usa | Jan. 2, 2014 | Review of How to Survive

This game has a little crafting in it, a little bit of RPG elements, and the story is entertaining. There isn't anything that stands out in this game to make it a "must buy", but you will get your money's worth. To me it is funny, and I like the top down views in this such as in torchlight/diablo those type of games. Game play is simple, but I recommend using a controller.

85

Worth the price

beltmatt_usa | Dec. 30, 2013 | Review of DLC Quest

This game is very simple, but funny enough to keep playing.

The achievements are funny, the story is a satire of every game, the titles of the DLC are punny.

If you want a deep game, this isn't for you, and the game play for both the games (you get DLC Quest and Freeminuim or Die) is about an hour....maybe more if you need all the achievements. For a few bucks this game is worth it!

95

Point. Click. Remember.

beltmatt_usa | Dec. 23, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

Let me start by saying I am not a fan of the show. I have watched all three seasons, and it took me until I finished the last season to figure this out. It is full of inconsistencies and I just flat out dislike it.

This game, however, is different. The story is O-Mazing. It is easy to get hooked and is beautifully done!

The only way I can describe the game play is that this is a "choose your own adventure" book turned game. Really a point and click. Sounds lame right? I know! That is what I thought when I started. It really is fun! Promise!

93

n00b here...

beltmatt_usa | Dec. 22, 2013 | Review of Counter Strike: Global Offensive

This game is a lot of fun. It is very fast paced, the community isn't full of pricks like a lot of online games are. As a n00b, this is a lot of fun! I wish I was better....but many of the players have 5 years experience.

Just like is the other CS games, you earn $$ for kills and wins, you spend your $$ for upgrades. The upgrades will last through the round so it really is pretty level when you start.

As I said before, the online community isn't bad. They have been very helpful so far. I think the hardcore players probably have groups they play with and stay out of the public games. I don't have the Bravo pass, but if I keep playing I will have to pick it up.

If you like the original CS game, you would probably like this one!

90

Don't run, shoot!

beltmatt_usa | Nov. 29, 2013 | Review of Left 4 Dead 2

This is the first valve game I ever played. I come back to this game often because it reminds me why I enjoy playing games. The story is fairly simplistic and unoriginal/overdone, but it was pulled off very well.

The acting in it is fun, not overdone like most zombie games. Also there is a lot of steam workshop features you an install and it helps keep the game fresh.

I'm not the biggest fan of playing online co-cooperatively but if you are able to coordinate a game with people you know it can be pretty enjoyable.

It is great when this game is on sale, but it is worth full price!

70

Is there something wrong with me?

beltmatt_usa | Nov. 29, 2013 | Review of Portal

First let me start by saying I am not normally into FPS style games. I like puzzles and I like stories. This game has a great story, but there must be something wrong with me because I did not like the puzzles. It isn't because they were over complex or that they were too easy (they were not too easy by the way) I just didn't find myself enjoying it as much as I felt I would. I like the story in the game, and the game play wasn't bad for a keyboard mouse game, but I do prefer to game with a controller. Maybe my hopes were too high when I started this? Overall if you get this game half off on GMG, it is worth it- but I wouldn't pay full price looking back.

98

WOW!

beltmatt_usa | Nov. 29, 2013 | Review of Half-Life 2

This game was way beyond its time...I played it recently and it is still a great game!

I am one of the few people in this world that have not played Half-Life 1, so I have nothing else to really base this game off of.

When I started playing I thought "yea people said this was cool, but that was like 10 years ago so it probably sucks..." I could not have been more wrong.

The controls with keyboard and mouse are as good as any FPS could be (not bad!). I prefer to play with a controller (yea yea I'm a filthy casual) and it is smooth. The graphic are good, for example when you see water in the game it is beautiful! The characters and story in the game are very memorable. After about 10 minutes of game play...when you first get a crow bar and start bashing anything you can find... you will love this game.

If you like FPS or great story games, this is for you! Also I am not normally a FPS fan (because I am a casual gamer) but this is by far the best one I have ever played!

93

The way open worlds should be!

beltmatt_usa | Nov. 26, 2013 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year

I like open world games, and I like superheros. This game was the BEST of BOTH! You go traverse through the city by gliding, walking, sneaking, running, or grappling. You have a map with different points you can go to and gps to point you to your current objective. You can change your objective as there are many non-story quest you can complete. I thought the story in this game was excellent. It was the best I have seen in a video game. Please note: This is not happy time batman, this is very dark batman....with a very dark story...

80

I feel I'm the only one that likes this...

beltmatt_usa | Nov. 23, 2013 | Review of Trapped Dead

I bought this game with very low expectations. I knew it was't the most beautiful and I was expecting some slow spots but for some reason I enjoyed it.

This game features an unoriginal story and it just a point and click with little thought. It isn't very difficult and you can play it with little to no thinking. Game play example: OH look a Zombie, click to run up and kill it (assuming you clicked to equip a weapon). You need to go to the truck? Click to go to it. It's very simple.

If you want a game you can play for a few minutes or an hour and turn it off without worrying about missing something, this is the game for you!

89

Great art and narrative!

beltmatt_usa | Nov. 23, 2013 | Review of Bastion Cap

I am sucker for games with great stories, but I bought this because I wanted a simple action platformer...what I got was both!

What pulled me in was the narrator. Like an old western cowboy he would keep you informed with what has happened, what is going to happen, and what was currently happening. The game is fairly short, but New Game+ means you can keep on playing! Multiple ending and a few side quest made this game worth full price!

When I played through this I used an x-box controller it worked perfectly! I can imagine playing with with keyboard and mouse would be a little lame. I