Reviews by bercilak

81

A great game!

bercilak | July 7, 2013 | Review of Magicka

Magicka is a lot of fun to play, the method of casting spells is brilliant and the way the npc's talk is mostly hilarious. I have played both single-player and multi-player and they are both great, though some of the enemies are almost impossible in single-player without great knowledge of spell combos, in multi-player spell spamming is much easier. Did have some issues with part of the third chapter, it tended to freeze at the start of a battle cut-scene and then reset back to the start of the chapter, which was extremely frustrating.

86

Not as good as the first one...

bercilak | July 7, 2013 | Review of BioShockĀ® 2

...But still pretty darn good. Bioshock 2 didn't capture my attention as well as the first one, but I did still sit down and finish it in one big slog. It requires Games for Windows Live which is a bit of an annoyance, especially because I played through the first hour without signing in and it kindly didn't save my game. It was a lot of fun to play through the game, especially with the new enemies and the different player perspective from the first Bioshock game. Overall a great game still, just not quite as good as the first.

97

I wasn't sure at first...

bercilak | July 7, 2013 | Review of BioShock

...I watched my brother play this game for a year or so, and didn't think I would like it at all...I was so very very wrong. Bioshock is probably one of my top five games from the last 10 years, and I can play it over and over again without getting bored. I did have some issues with sound not working, which is apparently common, but plugging a headphone jack in (not connected to headphones- extender cable) fixed that. Overall I think it's a game everyone should play at least once in their life. Would you kindly give it a chance, it might just be the best decision you ever make.

88

Only tower defence game I like!

bercilak | July 7, 2013 | Review of Sanctum

Sanctum has to be the greatest "tower defence" game I have ever played. I have mainly played Sanctum in multi-player, which is thoroughly enjoyable (and gives you twice as many towers as playing alone). The ability to build the level to your own specifications and then shoot the enemies yourself as well provides this game with features that aren't available on other fps and tower defence games that I have played to date. Highly recommended, especially if you are looking for a multi-player game.

92

Best way to do it

bercilak | July 7, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 Season Pass (ANZ)

Buying the season pass to go with your copy of Borderlands 2 is the best value way of getting the full game experience. It provides you with the official Borderlands 2 DLC all in one package. All of the four additional stories/quest-lines are completely different, one is pirate themed, another arena battle themed, another is creature hunting themed and the final DLC (my personal favourite) is knight/orc/sorcerer themed. The season pass also provides the Ultimate Vault Hunter pack, which provides the ability to play through again after True Vault Hunter mode with MUCH harder enemies and fantastic loot. Overall, the season pass is good value for money, adds many hours of additional play time and a variety of activities as well as new enemies and fantastic Queenly friends!

94

Absolutely brilliant!

bercilak | July 7, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 (ANZ)

Have just cracked 150 hours of Borderlands 2, must say it is some of the best fun I've had in a long time. The story-line has yet to become stale for me even though I've played through it entirely 3 times now. The choice of characters is also brilliant, I have played as all four and must say my favourite two are the Siren and Commando (just can't beat those turrets) but the best feature of all is the customisation of each that is available. I choose to focus on health generally, but you can specialise in melee attacks, ranged attacks or a combination of different skills depending on player character. The difference in maps that the story moves through is fantastic, you go from snowy areas, to industrial, cities to deserts, the range keeps it interesting as does the huge variety of different enemies.

81

This is for those people...

bercilak | July 7, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Hearthfire S

...who don't trust community mods.

I must admit I was one of those people at first, too scared to use mods that can be made by anyone due to the inability to be 100% sure that there won't be compatibility issues with other mods that corrupt save files.

This is where Hearthfire comes in, it adds the ability to construct your own in-game Skyrim homes and kit them out how you want (within limits). I loved building my houses, adopting the children and harvesting my own crops from my greenhouse and catching my fish in the hatchery. It's a cheap addition to the game, which doesn't add many hours more play-time but does add abilities such as adoption, stabled horses, more house-carls, as well as more item storage facilities.

Overall, this DLC is a good addition to Skyrim; not so much for people who happily download community mods, but for those who prefer to stay within "official" programs but still want customisation this is perfect.

95

So many ways to play!

bercilak | July 7, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Nexway

I have owned this game for nearly a year now, and have spent over 230 hours playing it since then. Skyrim is the sort of game which many groups of people can love. You can fly through it and finish only the major quest lines, or you can spend many hours doing every single quest available in the game. Can become a mage, a warrior, a thief an assassin, pretty much anything you can think of you can turn yourself into. The availability of free modding software opens up the world to many new quests/buildings/features that were not available in the original game, and even allows you to make your own, which I did when I made an armour gallery to show off all my faction armour sets. Overall I love this game, have never spent an hour in game where I couldn't find anything to do!