Reviews by bibboorton

90

Fantastic truck driving simulator

bibboorton | Sept. 13, 2014 | Review of Euro Truck Simulator 2 Gold

Driving around Europe is fun and strangely relaxing. It is also very immersive. You can also listen to real-life radio stations to further immerse yourself in the game.

The game is not very hard. You can mess up and still turn a profit. Therefore, it's not exactly a very realistic simulation. However, the sense of progression from just delivering shipments is extremely satisfying and the map is pretty huge. Driving is absolutely a blast, though.

I'd recommend this game if you just want to relax. I'd also recommend this game if you have a driving wheel or a controller at the least because using keyboard and mouse is very inefficient.

91

Agent 47 is back!

bibboorton | Sept. 12, 2014 | Review of Hitman Absolution: Elite Edition

I really enjoyed my time with Hitman Absolution. Every level is a sandbox where you can blow stuff up or go for stealthy ways of getting kills. In addition, Contracts mode is amazing and makes the replayability of the game go up a huge amount. It's basically Steam workshop where you challenge other players to do the same thing you do in a mission. Very enjoyable and highly recommended.

83

A very short but enjoyable Deus Ex experience

bibboorton | Sept. 12, 2014 | Review of Deus Ex: The Fall

If you're just itching for more Deus Ex, you can't go wrong with The Fall. Don't expect much though, as it is a mobile port and is being sold as such, the base game being ten bucks.

Just don't expect the full Human Revolution experience and you'll find some enjoyment in the game. It still feels very Deus Ex despite being light on features.

94

Football with lots of LOLs

bibboorton | Sept. 10, 2014 | Review of FootLOL: Epic Fail League

It's Football but you have weapons you can use on the field!

Your opponent has the ball? Place a mine under him!

Want to turn the tide of the game? Enlist fans that will play for your team for a short period!

Wanna get weird a little bit? Spawn in some UFOs and have cows ram the ball!

Sooooo much fun! Highly recommended!

95

Huge bang for your buck!

bibboorton | Sept. 10, 2014 | Review of Borderlands 2: Game of the Year Edition (MAC)

This is probably the greatest time you'll have playing a first person shooter.

It's funny and great with friends. There's so much loot and the art style is incredible. Enemies can get bullet-spongy, but I had over a hundred hours on the game before I found it getting repetitive. Highly highly recommended.

83

Crrrrrrazy Taxi!

bibboorton | Sept. 10, 2014 | Review of Crazy Taxi

This is a really fun game. However, I would mostly recommend this for nostalgia purposes.

If you get the chance to play this at an arcade, do it. It's so much more fun at arcades. But it's still a great video game for home use and you'll definitely enjoy driving around town jumping around and driving under the sea, and ducking trucks and getting lost in the car park.

89

FREEEEE THE DARKNESSSSSS

bibboorton | Sept. 9, 2014 | Review of The Darkness II

The Darkness 2 is a first-person shooter where you play the role of Jackie Estacado, head of the Franchetti mafia family and wielder of “The Darkness,” an entity that lives inside of him – almost literally a voice inside his head (an annoying, whiny, screechy voice) – and gives him supernatural abilities. Jackie is attacked by a group known as The Brotherhood, who aims to forcibly take away The Darkness from him using a device known as The Siphon.

The gameplay involves quad-wielding, with two hands controlling the use of guns and two appendages controlling the tentacles which stems from The Darkness. With the guns, you can hold one two-handed weapon, control one one-handed weapon with and without Iron Sights, or dual-wield two guns with both hands. With the tentacles, you can use the right tentacle for melee attacks like slashes, as well as the left tentacle for grabbing and throwing objects like spears and blades. It is very fun and surprisingly fluid. You can wreak so much destruction, and that’s why I love these kinds of video games. You also get a darkling that lovingly refers to you as a monkey to throw around and distract enemies.

The game is extremely well-optimized. The gameplay is incredibly smooth once you have gotten the hang of how it plays. There are practically zero load screens aside from loading up the game, as cutscenes take the place of traditional load screens. I wish more games did this. Speaking of cut-scenes, these are very well done. They are set comic-book style, where scenes flash quickly kind of like frames in a comic. Even though most of these cutscenes are just one character talking, they are very engaging because of the cinematography. The game is presented in a cel-shaded style, and it is done very well. The environment looks stunning, even though the level design itself leaves a lot to be desired.

The main game only lasts five to six hours long, but it is an absolute blast. Most levels are on the short side, however this means that the story progresses very quickly. You can, however, see the ending coming a mile away. Despite this, the game is immensely fun and I highly recommend it during days where you just want to smash things.

85

Watch Dogs set in the year 2500

bibboorton | Sept. 9, 2014 | Review of Shadowrun Returns

Shadowrun Returns is a tactical turn-based role-playing game with a particular focus on story. The universe in set in a futuristic world where underground independent contractors called Shadowrunners “run the shadows” in order to do dirty jobs for paying customers. It's basically Watch Dogs set in the year 2500.

The game is very text-heavy, but reading can be really fun sometimes, especially if the writing is as good as is the case with the campaign included with the base game. The universe is so well-crafted and will really soak you in despite offering a relatively basic form of entertainment. RPG elements will also allow you to build your shadowrunner in the way you like, employing a pretty unique karma system instead of regular old XP points. You can use your karma to upgrade a multitude of skills, with higher levels costing more karma. Another unique quirk of the upgrade system is you need to upgrade your base skills before you can upgrade derived skills (for example, you need a ranged combat skill to improve your pistol efficiency.)

The combat of the game is your standard turn-based strategy ala XCOM: Enemy Unknown. The cover system is a little wonky as it won't detect some places with cover, but it works. The combat system is fun, even though the difficulty is not especially high.

A main gripe with the structure of the game is its pacing. The pacing is a major concern as finishing a level is quite tedious and will end up making you want to rest for a second before continuing. This is compounded by the tediousness of moving your characters through the map one at a time, even if there’s no enemies on the screen.

The game does come with workshop support, however I really don’t trust user-generated content, especially story-based ones so I didn’t bother to try it out. However, this is definitely a surefire way to extend the life of the game.

In the campaign that comes with the base game, “the Dead Man’s Switch,” you receive a “dead man’s switch” – an insurance item for anyone that gets activated upon your death - from your friend named Sam Watts, asking for you to find his killer with a 100,000-cred reward. The story of Dead Man’s Switch is not especially groundbreaking, however the writing certainly carries it and the pay-off is quite satisfying. I did finish the main campaign in 16 hours (with alt-tab breaks in-between levels), although a major chunk of that time is relegated to combat and traversing through combat levels.

All-in-all, Shadowrun Returns is a great game for relaxing with a little bit of role-playing, reading, and strategic combat. I had a lot of fun with it, and I recommend it if you're looking for something leisurely to play on a weekend.

76

You're fiiiiiired!!!

bibboorton | Sept. 9, 2014 | Review of Smooth Operators: Call Center Chaos

Smooth Operators: Call Center Chaos is a title that has been on my Desura collection for a long while now. Its release on Steam is just the perfect catalyst for me to actually play the game.

Smooth Operators: Call Center Chaos is a micromanaging simulator game where you build a call center empire. You hire workers that take inbound, outbound and back-office tasks, while keeping your employees happy, cleaning your workspace, fixing broken computers, catching thieves, scoring new and bigger contracts, and the like.

I've actually been really excited to play this game even before it released on Steam, but with all of my games on Steam, I never have time for any of my Desura titles. That, and it also had Playfire rewards which makes it even more appealing. And I have to say, I really like the game. It gets hard, as a lot of simulators tend to do, most especially in the early game and while you're still using the elevator, things can get super hectic. However, that's part of the challenge and charm of the game.

One thing this game falls short of is the lack of more general control. Everything has to be handled in the most micro sense. Each employee has to be trained individually. Each building block individually. Every menial thing needed to survive takes at least three clicks, and there's no way to select multiple objects. At least, not now.

The developer is apparently still working on this game. He deserves our support because he is a really cool guy. Browse by the community page, and you'll see what I mean. Especially since the full game is only three dollars.

89

Schoolyard Mayhem

bibboorton | Sept. 9, 2014 | Review of Bully: Scholarship Edition

Bully is an open world sandbox game where you play as Jimmy Hopkins, a 15-year-old troublemaker with a silver heart who has been expelled from multiple schools and is coming from a somewhat broken family. The game begins with Jimmy's mother and her new husband dropping him off at Bullworth Academy, where a struggle for power immediately surfaces. Jimmy would strive to be the king of a peaceful campus with no bullies and every student from multiple factions all getting along in beautiful harmony.

It's your standard open-world game set in a high school setting. Remove the guns and replace it with bottle rockets. Take away the grenades and bring in the itching powder. Get rid of the SWAT team and welcome the prefects. It's a very refreshing take on a very standard formula, and the execution is well-done. You wouldn't expect anything less, though, as the title has been developed by Rockstar Games.

The environment in Bully is well-constructed, and there are quite a few enjoyable distractions and side missions that you can interact with. Being an open-world game, you can of course race using bikes and even a go-kart inside the fairgrounds. You can also ride rides and play carnival games in the circus. Being set in a school, you can also attend classes, which actually tests your knowledge and/or patience in subjects such as English, Biology, Gym and even Shop class.

It's hard to find fault in a game as well-constructed game as this. The only criticism I have is the game's lack of auto-save or even checkpoints. You don't realize how badly those systems are needed in games until they have been blatantly and shamelessly taken away.

93

A solid city transportation simulator

bibboorton | Sept. 9, 2014 | Review of Cities in Motion 2

Cities in Motion 2 is a unique city transportation simulator, and is a direct sequel to Cities in Motion. Instead of building the city itself, Cities in Motion focuses on optimising the city commute using buses, trams, trolleys, trains and water buses, and controlling the flow of traffic by using stations.

I am a big fan of simulations and surprisingly enjoyed the first Cities in Motion, which is why I really looked forward to playing Cities in Motion 2 when it came out. I actually pre-ordered this game. However, memory leaks limit playtime to only 15 minutes for me back then. Until recently, when I upgraded my RAM and file system, it has been basically unplayable. So the first thing I'll say about the sequel is it is quite demanding on your PC and memory compared to the original.

Cities in Motion 2 adds the ability to create roads yourself, thus expanding the city to your own liking, as well as providing a fully sandbox public transportation simulation. It also adds a timetables feature, which create an additional layer of control so that theoretically, you will never have overcrowded stations. Despite this, however, the addition of depots which requires vehicles to get back to the depot after every run actually limits the continuity of lines, which in turn makes players overly rely on simply increasing the intervals of running vehicles. This also means that you will always have vehicles stuck in the depots even if the stations are indeed overcrowded. This design flaw makes the game feel more hectic than it should be.

The game itself has a very relaxing feel to it. It captures the essence of the gameplay of the first Cities in Motion and expands upon it thanks to your ability to bend the city to your needs. The slow pace of the game makes it feel extremely realistic as even on the fastest setting, one game day will equate to about 18 minutes in real time. This is a good thing, as it gives you more control over the day-to-day micromanagement of your transportation system.

The game also integrates Steam Workshop so you can share custom cities, scenarios, rulesets and more with other users, or play other people's creations. This extends the life of the game dramatically. It also includes co-op and multiplayer modes so you can build or compete together with friends.

Overall, it's a very deserving sequel to Cities In Motion, despite the two having huge fundamental differences with each other. I can see myself losing a lot of time to playing either games, the second one especially. You can play it how you want to play it, having as much control as you want to apply, though you can also set it and forget it, and the game will remain forgiving as long as you don't shoot yourself in the foot. It provides more challenges and flexibility than the original Cities in Motion, without making much tradeoff aside from the performance needs.

Like the original, perhaps the most limiting factor about the game is the concept itself. Like Euro Truck Simulator, it is hard not to mock the concept at first hearing about it. But if you're even the slightest bit interested in a good simulation game, I would highly recommend it.

95

Dramatic Horror

bibboorton | Sept. 9, 2014 | Review of Resident Evil 6

That's all you really need to know about Resident Evil 6.

You play as Leon Kennedy (or Helena Harper), Chris Redfield (or Piers Nivans), or Jake Mueller (or Sherry Birkin). I was initially skeptical of this, but the way the story intersects between the three timelines is really impressive, actually. This is a great way to tell a complete story, which is a great evolution of the Resident Evil formula.

Oh, and Ada Wong shows up. And you know that whenever she's involved, something big is happening.

Leon's campaign feels like Resident Evil 4, which is fitting because Leon is also the protagonist of Resident Evil 4. You encounter the creepy environments if you like that sort of stuff here. Leon (and Helena) basically follow the root cause of the C-Virus outbreak, so this may be the prime campaign in the game. Therefore, I recommend finishing this last.

Chris' campaign is more squad-based, and that's really one of the reasons I didn't like this story very much. This also features the worst boss fight ever. But it does still have the interesting story, and that's what kept me going. Chris and Piers basically just go where they are needed. The least interesting path among all campaigns, truthfully, yet features the most heartbreaking moment in the game

Jake's campaign is damn awesome. Jake is a great character. This campaign features the most relentless boss in recent memory, and that's basically what his story is about. Jake has the antibodies to combat the C-Virus, and you're supposed to keep him safe from all who try to harm him.

And Ada's campaign is a mystery. I'd rather not spoil even a tiny bit of it for you.

Each campaign would take you roughly six hours. And playing through one of the campaigns doesn't necessarily mean you get a complete picture, so I highly recommend finishing all of the campaigns. I also recommend jumping from one character to the next so that you wrap everything up roughly at the same time (except for Ada's story.)

There are absolutely no dull moments, and boss fights are plenty. There is a lot of action and fun to be had here and I absolutely recommend it.

73

What it is in the end is not what it was at the beginning

bibboorton | Sept. 9, 2014 | Review of Bastion

The gameplay is perfect and the story is great. It could have been better, however. There are parts of the game where I feel like they wanted to make something more happen, but didn't have the time to actually implement it. It felt like a somewhat incomplete game because of these moments.

It's hard to say anything else that hasn't been said up to this point, really. But it's a fine game that is worthy of your time, if you can stick through what feels like a padded mid-game.

90

A child's fantasy turned to reality

bibboorton | Sept. 9, 2014 | Review of Costume Quest

This title showed a lot of heart. It's a child's fantasy turned to reality. These are the kinds of games that make Double Fine great. Its personality just shines through and we can connect with the game on a deeper level than just playing it.

The combat system is great. Sure, it gets kind of repetitive a few hours in, but you can just change costumes to see other great attacks.

Overall, it's a very enjoyable game that would make you remember how awesome your childhood was.

88

Incredible adventure game with a major disconnect

bibboorton | Sept. 9, 2014 | Review of Tomb Raider Game of the Year

And I loved it. The magical elements actually surprised me a bit, but I may be just ignorant of the franchise's roots. But overall, it's a great 10-hour experience with lots of fun to be had.

There is a glaring complaint to be had here, though. The combat started off great. It felt like you won't have to do a lot of fighting, which honestly would have been a welcome change from most everything else I've been playing lately. Lara was very hesitant to kill even just one guy. Then, by the end of the game, you're taking out hordes of enemies. What? Seriously? The game happened over the course of like 3 days. She became a killing machine in the span of that time?

But that doesn't detract from the great experience that this title offers, and it is a highly recommended game to spend your weekend playing. Just suspend your disbelief and you'll find a well-realized action-adventure RPG.

96

This ain't your generic Call of Doodie clone

bibboorton | Sept. 9, 2014 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line

I don't play a lot of military shooters, but when a friend showed to me No Punctuation, I found him quite entertaining. Watching his videos, he said Spec Ops was his 2012 game of the year, so from then on, I've been wanting to give this a try.

I now finally understand why this was Yahtzee's game of the year. The story is great and there wasn't a dull moment throughout. And somehow, I connected with the characters. This ain't no forgettable campaign, guys. This is special. Highly recommended!

82

This game is so metal!

bibboorton | Sept. 9, 2014 | Review of Brutal Legend

I shouldn't have expected anything less from Double Fine.

I've been waiting to try this out for four years. I didn't have consoles so I was happy it released for PC and I'm so happy I finished it. It was great.

Some more background stuff into the story would have been nice, though, but overall I'm more than happy with the experience. It's fun, it's funny and it's hardcore. Recommended.

76

Just cause destruction. Why? Just 'cause!

bibboorton | Sept. 9, 2014 | Review of Just Cause 2

It's an open sandbox game, so it's all about being creative. And I found a lot of ways to be creative. The controls can be a bit funky, and that's a big negative in this kind of game. But exploring and causing chaos in Panau is still fun. I just wish there were more ways to do so.

Plus, there's a multiplayer mod so you can chaos with your friends! Great fun and highly recommended.

100

Greatest story-based DLCs ever made

bibboorton | Sept. 9, 2014 | Review of BioShock Infinite: Season Pass

The season pass contains three pieces of DLCs as well as some gear for use during your playthrough.

The first one is a standard fighting mode where you face hordes of enemies. But the star of the Season Pass are the other two pieces of story-based DLC, Burial at Sea which add around 7-9 hours of additional story-driven content.

It's just phenomenal storytelling, especially the second episode and even more so if you're a fan of the original BioShock. I cannot recommend this enough.

82

Lovecraftian Super Meat Boy

bibboorton | Sept. 21, 2013 | Review of They Bleed Pixels

That's probably the best way to describe this game.

It can get quite unforgiving, as a lot of other platformers do. What sets this apart is its lore. It has a story where many other games of its type do not. That is already a big plus for me. I recommend this to anyone who loves challenges but wants the full package of gameplay and story.

78

Adorable in its own way

bibboorton | Sept. 21, 2013 | Review of Quantum Conundrum

The best way to enjoy this game is to probably not compare it to Portal. Because it is not Portal.

And yet, comparisons to Portal just won't end.

Take Portal and remove all portals. Then replace those portals with dimension shifts. So, think not with portals. Think with dimensions.

Yeah.. Maybe this is Portal. Only without the Portals.

In any case, it is an adorable game that is worth a play-through if you like relaxing puzzle games. There's quite a lot of gameplay here too despite the simple mechanics.

88

Not your ordinary Grand Theft Auto clone

bibboorton | Aug. 28, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Limited Edition

Wanna know the big hint? There are not a lot of guns here.

Not a lot of guns? In a video game? Whaaa?

Because gunplay is not the most fun part of this game. It's kicking and punching the heck out of your enemies.

Seriously, it's much more satisfying punching your enemies than shooting them. This game makes that feel good and is a great stress-reliever. Plus, it has a great story as well.

Must-try!

82

This! Is! XCOM!!!!!

bibboorton | Aug. 28, 2013 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown

This is an incredibly hard game. You not only need to plan your immediate moves, but you also have to plan a long game where you must make the world happy and free from alien attacks. Think it sounds easy? Well, maybe, if you're playing on easy, but WRONG!

Two times I was permanently left behind by alien technology.

Three times I ran out of able-bodied soldiers.

I beat the game twice. Once on easy.

Maybe I'm just an idiot, but this is a very tough game only for those up to the challenge. Not saying that it is bad. It is just brutal.

90

The lore will lure you in

bibboorton | Aug. 28, 2013 | Review of BioShock

This game is not just an ordinary shooter. No, sir, this is one of the best games you will ever play.

Why did a sprawling underwater city suddenly plunge into darkness? Why are these cute little girls stabbing those dead bodies? Why are you blindly following orders from some man you just randomly encountered?

Oh, it will melt your brain. Saying more would do you a disservice when you play this for the first time.

Fair warning, there are some parts that feel like blatant padding. Not that they're not fun to play through, it's just that they seem to be there to prolong the game time without helping build the story. And the game suffers from bad pacing in the sense that the most climactic event happens about 75% into the game.

But, ultimately, if you like getting immersed in lore, this is the perfect game for you.

95

Also known as Ms. Bang-Bang and Mr. Kill-All-The-Baddies!

bibboorton | Aug. 28, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2: Mechromancer Pack

Picture this. Axton's Turret. That moves around the battlefield swiping enemies. And also sometimes restores your shields like Maya. While you either hide in the back like Zero, or use your own guns as a second weapon like Salvador' Gunzerk.

All in one character.

Your Borderlands life will never be the same if you try this character. You will love her and you will hug her while Deathtrap just does his thang somewhere. Just relax and rack in the XP.

85

Bang for your buck

bibboorton | Aug. 28, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 Season Pass

Your Borderlands 2 experience not enough for you? This will solve all of your problems.

It gives you 4 great campaign add-ons, each 4-7 hours long and tells a good story on their own. Each with completely new areas to explore that is very different from what you would find from the base game. And it raises your level cap by 11 AND gives you a third playthrough, to boot!

Gearbox has recently created controversy about a second season of DLC coming for Borderlands 2, but you can be sure that you are getting your money's worth in this DLC pack even if it doesn't contain every DLC released. Highly recommended add-on for a highly awesome game.

99

All kinds of perfect all over again

bibboorton | Aug. 19, 2013 | Review of Bioshock Infinite

If you played the original Bioshock and loved it, you owe it to yourself to play Infinite.

I thoroughly enjoyed BioShock Infinite. So much so that it now probably is my favorite game ever. I can't say that with certainty right now but if I still remember it strongly in a couple years, then it definitely is.

The game improved everything I loved about the first BioShock (the great writing and storytelling, smoother gameplay, impressive set pieces, even the main characters), removed some parts I disliked (portions that feel like padding; Infinite keeps the story moving), and added new things to love (the skylines and fighting with it, Columbia itself, its variety, and its living, breathing world) all while telling an immensely better story than the first one. And it's all wrapped up together in a beautiful, classy and detailed package with love.

I absolutely loved every moment I spent in Columbia. There was always something new and beautiful to see and experience. From the great outdoors to the dark interiors, I didn't find myself forcing through any of the levels. Even just walking around is a delight. Everything is just... Amazing.

My only complaint was that Elizabeth is a tad overpowered. Having her with you is a blessing and you can feel the game getting significantly harder during the moments she is not with you. Also, I feel sad that it could have been so much more than what it already was. Despite what could have been though, what it is is still nothing short of perfect.