Reviews by bibboorton

82

Lovecraftian Super Meat Boy

bibboorton | Sept. 21, 2013 | Review of They Bleed Pixels

That's probably the best way to describe this game.

It can get quite unforgiving, as a lot of other platformers do. What sets this apart is its lore. It has a story where many other games of its type do not. That is already a big plus for me. I recommend this to anyone who loves challenges but wants the full package of gameplay and story.

78

Adorable in its own way

bibboorton | Sept. 21, 2013 | Review of Quantum Conundrum

The best way to enjoy this game is to probably not compare it to Portal. Because it is not Portal.

And yet, comparisons to Portal just won't end.

Take Portal and remove all portals. Then replace those portals with dimension shifts. So, think not with portals. Think with dimensions.

Yeah.. Maybe this is Portal. Only without the Portals.

In any case, it is an adorable game that is worth a play-through if you like relaxing puzzle games. There's quite a lot of gameplay here too despite the simple mechanics.

88

Not your ordinary Grand Theft Auto clone

bibboorton | Aug. 28, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Limited Edition

Wanna know the big hint? There are not a lot of guns here.

Not a lot of guns? In a video game? Whaaa?

Because gunplay is not the most fun part of this game. It's kicking and punching the heck out of your enemies.

Seriously, it's much more satisfying punching your enemies than shooting them. This game makes that feel good and is a great stress-reliever. Plus, it has a great story as well.

Must-try!

82

This! Is! XCOM!!!!!

bibboorton | Aug. 28, 2013 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown

This is an incredibly hard game. You not only need to plan your immediate moves, but you also have to plan a long game where you must make the world happy and free from alien attacks. Think it sounds easy? Well, maybe, if you're playing on easy, but WRONG!

Two times I was permanently left behind by alien technology.

Three times I ran out of able-bodied soldiers.

I beat the game twice. Once on easy.

Maybe I'm just an idiot, but this is a very tough game only for those up to the challenge. Not saying that it is bad. It is just brutal.

90

The lore will lure you in

bibboorton | Aug. 28, 2013 | Review of BioShock

This game is not just an ordinary shooter. No, sir, this is one of the best games you will ever play.

Why did a sprawling underwater city suddenly plunge into darkness? Why are these cute little girls stabbing those dead bodies? Why are you blindly following orders from some man you just randomly encountered?

Oh, it will melt your brain. Saying more would do you a disservice when you play this for the first time.

Fair warning, there are some parts that feel like blatant padding. Not that they're not fun to play through, it's just that they seem to be there to prolong the game time without helping build the story. And the game suffers from bad pacing in the sense that the most climactic event happens about 75% into the game.

But, ultimately, if you like getting immersed in lore, this is the perfect game for you.

95

Also known as Ms. Bang-Bang and Mr. Kill-All-The-Baddies!

bibboorton | Aug. 28, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2: Mechromancer Pack

Picture this. Axton's Turret. That moves around the battlefield swiping enemies. And also sometimes restores your shields like Maya. While you either hide in the back like Zero, or use your own guns as a second weapon like Salvador' Gunzerk.

All in one character.

Your Borderlands life will never be the same if you try this character. You will love her and you will hug her while Deathtrap just does his thang somewhere. Just relax and rack in the XP.

85

Bang for your buck

bibboorton | Aug. 28, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 Season Pass

Your Borderlands 2 experience not enough for you? This will solve all of your problems.

It gives you 4 great campaign add-ons, each 4-7 hours long and tells a good story on their own. Each with completely new areas to explore that is very different from what you would find from the base game. And it raises your level cap by 11 AND gives you a third playthrough, to boot!

Gearbox has recently created controversy about a second season of DLC coming for Borderlands 2, but you can be sure that you are getting your money's worth in this DLC pack even if it doesn't contain every DLC released. Highly recommended add-on for a highly awesome game.

99

All kinds of perfect all over again

bibboorton | Aug. 19, 2013 | Review of Bioshock Infinite

If you played the original Bioshock and loved it, you owe it to yourself to play Infinite.

I thoroughly enjoyed BioShock Infinite. So much so that it now probably is my favorite game ever. I can't say that with certainty right now but if I still remember it strongly in a couple years, then it definitely is.

The game improved everything I loved about the first BioShock (the great writing and storytelling, smoother gameplay, impressive set pieces, even the main characters), removed some parts I disliked (portions that feel like padding; Infinite keeps the story moving), and added new things to love (the skylines and fighting with it, Columbia itself, its variety, and its living, breathing world) all while telling an immensely better story than the first one. And it's all wrapped up together in a beautiful, classy and detailed package with love.

I absolutely loved every moment I spent in Columbia. There was always something new and beautiful to see and experience. From the great outdoors to the dark interiors, I didn't find myself forcing through any of the levels. Even just walking around is a delight. Everything is just... Amazing.

My only complaint was that Elizabeth is a tad overpowered. Having her with you is a blessing and you can feel the game getting significantly harder during the moments she is not with you. Also, I feel sad that it could have been so much more than what it already was. Despite what could have been though, what it is is still nothing short of perfect.