Reviews by blofeld

80

Hitman still a very good game

blofeld | Dec. 4, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Absolution

As with previous Hitman titles, absolution doesn't fail to deliver.

The game is robust and it is still very amusing to sneak around trying to accomplish the task at hand. You almost feel bad for killing people, this is how good this game is.

Some things are still a problem though. It is too easy to replay a level, just to get the achievements you missed when you played the level the first time. Sometimes you can start a level right at the point where the ach is, get it and be done in less than a minute. Also, after playing a few levels you learn how to spot what the game wants you to do, where to go etc. "Oh an open window, no wonder it is there I should snipe my target from."

Still Hitman Absolution is good looking, solid controls and a great story. Get it for all your FPS needs.

90

Nice update to an already great game

blofeld | Dec. 3, 2013 | Review of Europa Universalis IV

I've been playing Europa Universalis (EU) since the first release and this awesome game just keeps getting better by every installment. In all honesty I was doubting what could be improved on from EU3 except graphics, but after playing this fourth one I can say that a lot of things have become more easy to understand and more streamlined. Often this leads to dumbing-down the game, but I don't feel this with EU4.

The replay value is imense, everyone who has played EU knows what I mean. The option to play any nation at the time together with the competent AI makes every new start a new game.

I still dislike Paradox DLC policy, I have never liked it since they started with it. It has become better, but come on Pdox, stop selling us things that you know you could have included in the game from the start. I still buy your games though, but come on.

If you like grand strategy, and have the time to learn this game then get it!

90

Strategy very well made

blofeld | Nov. 28, 2013 | Review of Wargame: Airland Battle

First of, this game is hard. But very rewarding, once you understand how the game works, and that it is not a standard RTS game.

I read a newbie guide that stated that you need to un-learn all you know about RTS games in order to be able to win at Wargame: Airland battle. This is very true and after 29 hours of game time I can say this with certainty.

What is needed is a military interest beyond the normal "tanks are cool". You need to know almost all NATO and PACT units because when the game starts there is no room for guessing.

If you are familiar with a board game called Tac-Air, and you liked that then this is the game for you.

Some things they could have done better is implementing a save feature when you are running a battle. Not being able to save is sometimes annoying, especially with little kids :) Also, a larger single player campaign would be fun.

There is currently one DLC, offered for free which is nice. Another one is in the making to be released anytime now. This second DLC will also be free. Something that is very nice considering how other companies make us pay for content that should already be in the game.

If you are a serious strategy buff, and like RTS then get this game. If you are unsure, watch some videos on youtube first.

70

Good but could have been better

blofeld | Nov. 28, 2013 | Review of Total War: Rome II

Oh as I was looking forward to Rome 2. I have played Rome 1 so many times I cannot remember how many times it is. Sadly, I was let down, even though I still play Rome 2.

Having been with the Total war games since the start I cannot say I am surprised of the state of Rome 2. Creative Assembly (the games creator) has a tendency to release one good game, followed by a less than good game.

Rome 2 TW is similar to what Empire TW was like. So many lost opportunities and left out functionalities. After launch, it is quite clear why they decided not ot release a demo for the game.

Still, Rome 2 is better today than it was at launch. This due to 7(!) patches to date with 2 more incoming.

Before you decide on buying, check out the official forum for soome insight on the game itself.

If you are a die hard TW fan, you most likely already own the game. If you are a first time TW player, wait until prices drop a bit (and they release more patches) before buying.

94

Groundbreaking game

blofeld | Nov. 26, 2013 | Review of World in Conflict Complete Edition

Even though WiC was released in 2007 it is still a solid game. The Single player campaign is very good and will keep you coming back for more every time you stop playing. Something that several new games lack. The story is well written and makes you feel that this is the way WWIII could have unfolded.

The multiplayer is where the game really shines. Team work is rewarded and a must, which is something that I really like. The different roles makes you choose if you want to play aggressively or sit back and lob artillery on the enemy. The role I like the most is the support role, where you repair your fellow team mates when they are damaged. I found this most rewarding of all. Also being able to provide air cover using SAMs was also something I enjoyed.

The way close air support is implemented is great. You spend points that you earn on air strikes, chemical strikes and even a nuclear strike. The Nuke is something that you must experience.

When it is on 75% sale, this is a no brainer.

85

Broad game that is fun to play

blofeld | Aug. 26, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Absolution

This latest installment in the Hitman series is by far the best. It adds features that the old games lack, as well as a polished graphical presentation.

Again, you are able to decide whether to go stealthy or guns blazing on each map. However you score the most points by going stealthy, as usual. The points are used to lock up things inside the game, which is a nice touch.

Each level also offers challenges, which are specific things that will reward you with more points if completed. However, since you can go back an play each level as many times as you like, you can go back and finish just that specific challenge and then quit, which is a bit of an exploit.

Overall a good game, and is recommended.

95

Nice to have XCOM back!

blofeld | Aug. 24, 2013 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown

I played the original Xcom extremely much so it is safe to say that I was very excited when I first heard about a remake. This game takes the original and makes it better, in most ways.

The graphics are outstanding, maybe a little bit too much cartoony for my taste, but that is just my opinion.

The gameplay is solid, and there are enough missions to keep you busy for a long time. However, the micro management from the original Xcom is no longer there. The base playing paart of the game which was a huge deal in the original Xcom has been dumbed down. There are no longer any base attacks, so it doesn't really matter anymore where you place a new structure, as it did in the original Xcom.

The selecting of the soldiers is also a bit clunky, but still ok. At least you don't have to add ammo, it is taken care for you automatically.

I would very much recommend this game to anyone who likes sci fi and/or turned based strategy games.

96

Best from CA!

blofeld | Aug. 19, 2013 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2

I recently picked Shogun II up after having played other games for a while and wow what a good game this is.

Forget every bad thing you heard of Empire, this game delivers! In my current game I am loosing, but that is actually fun. I am putting up a good fight against the strongest clan, in the support of the current Shogun!

The AI is actually good, and makes good decisions. Sure, it can never match a human, but it is not so stupid as it where in previous CA titles.

My only problem with Shogun is that it is very demanding when it comes to graphics. I am runnung the game on an i7 CPU rig with a 560ti GPU and the noise from my GPU is as high as the graphics setting. Even though it runs great on Ultra, the noise is just not ok.

Hopefully this is taken care of in Rome 2, which is my next buy.

77

Great but takes long time to understand

blofeld | Aug. 19, 2013 | Review of Victoria II

I really enjoy Victoria II. The setting in history is one of the more interesting in my mind, which makes the setup ready for some great real time strategy.

But, as for all Paradox games, be warned that the learning curve is steep. Look at several youtube videos before you decide. Also since the DLC policy of Paradox is the way it is, consider that you will need the DLCs to ensure you have a fully patched game.

A newbie tip is to star with a strong nation the first times you play, since this gives you the possibilities to play around with more of the games features than with a small nation.

If you have the time to invest, this game will give you plenty of hours of fun.

76

Good game, but complex

blofeld | Aug. 19, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II

If you have never played a game from Paradox before, you should really research this game before you buy it.

It is complex, just as every Paradox game. It took me weeks of looking at youtube videos and playing trial and error before I somewhat understand the game, and I have played all other Paradox games before this, including CK1. Also, since the DLC policy of Paradox is worthless, consider that you need to get the 4(?) DLCs offered for this one in order to make sure you have a fully patched game.

If you give it time though it is very rewarding. The role playing of your dynasty is oh so fun at times and the strategy is limitless.

90

Very good but...

blofeld | Aug. 19, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization V: Gods and Kings

This expansion is great, but with the most recent expansion available you should seriously consider buying "Brave new world" instead since it includes all of the things in "Gods & Kings" and more.

This expansion adds religion, espionage, buildings and also tweaks some aspects of the game, which in all makes Civ V an even more enjoyable game.

If your an avid Civ'er, this is a must.

80

Great game with some shortcomings

blofeld | Aug. 19, 2013 | Review of SimCity (EU)

Simcity is a beautiful game, it is very pleasing to look at and the graphics are stunning. The gameplay is also very good, I have spent countless hours plannig and the executing my plan when building new cities.

The bad however is there and this tarnish an otherwise great game. DIsregarding the debacle launch of the game (since the things broken at release has been fixed) the always-online DRM is just stupid and has no merit at all. Still, almost everybody has a broadband connection today, so this is a minor issue. The bigger issue though is all the sims and the vehicles pathfinding troubles. You can see throngs of sims walking around even though there are buses and trams running around empty. THe sims try to find jobs that are available in plenty, All fire engines going to the same fire, same with police cars. This has been tweaked some, but it is still far from logical. The size of the cities is also an issue. Sure, a small size lets you concentrate on perfecting our sity, but when the space is up, you wish there had been just a little more room for that new residential area.

The game is patched regularly which is a good thing. It feels like the devs really care about the game.

If you think of bying the game I say wait until it drops in price a bit.

95

Finishing off an already great game

blofeld | Aug. 17, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization V: Brave New World

Civ V is already a great game without the 2 expansions, but that is not to say they are not needed. Brave new world adds even more options to manage, especially in those late turns where things tend to cool down.

The way ideologies is redone is also great in my mind. It is now more fine tuned and makes it even more fun to tailor the options to your play style.

If you are a Civ fan, this expansion is a no brainer.