Reviews by borgiswa

91

Cool idea, decent delivery.

borgiswa | Oct. 19, 2013 | Review of Dungeonland

I haven't seen a game this neat in a while.

The main mode plays out a lot like Gauntlet or any other dungeon crawler, with you attempting to make your way through levels while defeating enemies. The real attraction here, however, is the Dungeon Maestro mode. In this mode, you take control of the evil side, and the game plays a little more like a tower defence. You are able to set enemies, spawners, and traps down along the path of the heroes. As well, at any time you are able to take control of a minion (or even a boss) and fight the heroes in combat.

I haven't had the chance to play it with friends yet, but it has shown itself already to be quite the good game.

74

Not much moments to F.E.A.R., but still a good shooter.

borgiswa | Sept. 12, 2013 | Review of F.E.A.R. 3

Contrary to the basis of the series, this game is not scary. However, I found the gameplay to be excellent. The controls were tight, the gunplay was fun, and the AI was only as dumb as they are in every other game today.

The multiplayer/arcade modes, such as F**king Run, add tons of fun to an already well made game.

The story is well written, but don't get your hopes up. If you are looking for horror, I recommend you go in the way of the Amnesia series.

77

Very good!

borgiswa | Sept. 11, 2013 | Review of Alan Wake

Alan Wake is a game that should be played by anyone who enjoys a good story. With elements of Stephen King, among other authors, a reader would feel right at home within the horrifying atmosphere of the game.

Gameplay is fun, but repetitive.

98

Great bundle, great price!

borgiswa | Sept. 11, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex Pack

This series is one of the greatest ever created. To have all of the games in one cheap bundle is awesome, and you will not be disappointed by the amount of playtime you get out of it.

This series set the tone for what stealth gaming should be.

87

Great game - tons of fun to play with friends.

borgiswa | Sept. 11, 2013 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare

Buy this game!

The mechanics are fun and challenging, the gameplay is decent, and the visuals are nice. Customizable classes and different game modes help keep you playing for hours on end.

Also, there is nothing more enjoyable then chopping the opponents head clean off.

93

Incredible

borgiswa | Aug. 2, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite (NA)

This game is one of the greatest of this generation. Normally I feel like story-based shooters are lacking in the gameplay department, but this game was one of the most solid experiences I have had in a while. The AI was nice, the story was great (whelp, the ending) - I couldn't put it down.

91

Great Game!

borgiswa | Aug. 2, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

Until I started playing The Walking Dead, I didn't have a very good relationship with point and click video games. The ones I played had a mediocre story at best, and there were no significant action segments to keep you involved.

The Walking Dead changed my opinion. The game really immerses you within the story - and the story is not one to be missed. It also throws enough action at you so that you do not feel bored.

I look forward to Season 2!

85

Entertaining characters create a good game

borgiswa | Aug. 2, 2013 | Review of Poker Night at the Inventory

If you ask me, there can only be a small difference between gameplay and mechanics when it comes to poker, and Poker Night doesn't change that. Instead, it puts you in front of some of the most known characters from both Telltale and non-Telltale games. The character dialogue is well written, and it gives you the option to turn it off if it's not your kind of thing. The collectables add a nice touch, giving you a reason to come back for more.

I do recommend this game.

84

Very Fun Game

borgiswa | Aug. 2, 2013 | Review of Stealth Bastard Deluxe

This game managed to impress me on multiple levels. I appreciated the stealth-platformer elements, while the atmosphere was on the level of some of the greatest stealth games out there. The controls are tight, and this game always leaves you wanting more. Stealth Bastard Deluxe is a must buy - especially when on sale.

76

Fun but short addition to DE:HR.

borgiswa | July 26, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution – The Missing Link

I thoroughly enjoyed the recent Deus Ex game, but I was informed that The Missing Link was not very great. However, I was quite satisfied when I played through the game.

The gameplay was exactly the same (it is a DLC). The story was sub-par, sadly - the plot to Deus Ex Human Revolution was one of the greatest I have seen.

As a standalone DLC, you can expect certain things to be different. The "boss" is hardly a boss at all - but that is what I wanted. The only qualms I had with HR were the boss fights, which prevented you from doing a truly "pacifist" playthrough.

The game allows you to attempt different paths from the original game in terms of augmentations - so if you are looking for a bit of a training ground before your second playthrough of HR, this game works fine for that as well.

Overall - the game was decent and fine for DLC, but don't expect blockbuster gaming like we got from Human Revolution.

69

Not worth the wait, but a decent game.

borgiswa | July 26, 2013 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever

The game isn't actually that bad - it's holds it's own as an arcade-style shooter in the vein of the old Duke Nukem franchise.

I did have some problems with the game, such as the health regen and the fact that the game seemed quite easy (that might just be me though) - but I was able to overlook that because I found the game fun.

For a game 10+ years in development, I do not think it lived up to expectations - but we had planted our expectations very highly. If you are a fan of fps games, I recommend at least giving Duke Nukem Forever a fair trial.

89

One of my highest rated indie games!

borgiswa | July 26, 2013 | Review of Super Meat Boy

Super Meat Boy is a spectacular game. The mechanics are well made and feel balanced, the levels are well designed, the character is a very humorous introduction. All components of this game play incredibly.

I always enjoy a game with difficulty - and in my opinion, SMB delivers just the right amount of it.

98

It's like playing an entirely new game!

borgiswa | July 26, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization V: Brave New World (NA)

Civilization is a game that me and a group of friends always get together and play, so we had to throw a LAN party to celebrate the release of BNW. Immediately, we noticed that the game was much more held together and vastly improved. The new civilizations were welcome, and the new addition of trade routes and the new cultural aspects gave the game a very welcome change.

If you own Civilization V (with or without G&K), this is a must-buy.

95

Well worth the money!

borgiswa | July 9, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® V

Let me start by saying I've put over 100 hours of playtime into this game.

Civilization (as a series) was one of my first entrances into the strategy genre, and the fifth main release does not cease to drag me into the immersive world that it creates for me. Every time I play the game it feels different, and the AI, albeit sometimes flawed, helps very much. On a PC with relatively decent specs, this game runs like a charm on high graphics and looks beautiful. Gods and Kings was an amazing release and added much to the early game, I am very excited for tomorrow's release of Brave New World!