Reviews by brandonl

80

Way better than Episode 1

brandonl | Nov. 25, 2012 | Review of Sonic the Hedgehog 4 : Episode II

10 seconds into this game, i noticed the graphics were actually good. and when i jump while running, i dont suddenly stop in midair if i let go of my movement stick.

There are 4 acts with 3 levels and a boss, then the final zone. The level designs are pretty good, tails is actually useful. Physics is great, levels are lengthy (around 2 minutes at least). Time trial for every level to compare records. multiplayer.

Episode 1 was so bad where i didnt even want to finish the game. Episode 2 however, i wanted to finish the game, and now i want to get all the chaos emerald and the red ring in every level.

Also: Xbox360 controller works perfectly if you're wondering.

90

High Octane fun

brandonl | Nov. 13, 2012 | Review of Need for Speed Hot Pursuit (NA) dns

I'm not a huge racing game fan, but I am enjoying Hot Pursuit a lot. You get 2 unique type of style, you can either play as a cop and try to takedown a racer, or takedown an entire race of 6 people. Or you can play as the racers, trying to evade the cops. You get special items like EMP and spike strips to damage others Missions can vary from just doing time trials, to 1 on 1, taking down multiple racers, avoiding multiple cops. You can even free-roam the overworld. And of course there's multiplayer, with hot pursuit mode where it's 4 racers versus 4 cops, where the cops need to stop the racers before they reach the finish

85

Brutally Challenging, will become satisfying

brandonl | Nov. 1, 2012 | Review of Red Orchestra: Ostfront 41-45

When you first start off this game, you're going to be bad, you're going to cry, and you're definitely going to have PTSD. It's insanely easy to die, and insanely hard to do anything else. It's a competetive WWII shooter, so you can expect the type of weapons you'll have. What you can't imagine is how realistic this game is that makes it hard to aim your gun, move, shoot people, adjust for distance. and a whole bunch of other crap. The best part of this game though is that you feel like you deserve your kill. It IS skill based, you wont be blaming "LAG" or "BAD CODING", you shoot someone you will feel a sense of pride, and the more you play, the better you get, the more satisfying this game will become.

90

Old doesnt mean bad

brandonl | Nov. 1, 2012 | Review of Battlefield 2 Complete Collection (NA) dns

Sure Battlefield 3 is out. That doesnt mean this game is rendered obsolete. The game runs great and plays smoothly. Everything you love about Battlefield is here, lots of vehicles, ridiculously large maps that are appropriate for 64v64 battles. The controls that makes you feel great for being able to fly the helicopter properly. The game has a somewhat active community, you'll be able to find matches with full servers with no problem.

90

Different from the first Dawn of War, good for me!

brandonl | Nov. 1, 2012 | Review of Warhammer 40K: Dawn of War II Chaos Rising THQ

The first Dawn of War was more or less a Starcraft clone, which is good for starcraft fans who loves Warhammer. But those types of RTS are not for me. This is somewhat closer to an RPG. You control squads of different units who have their own special skills to kill enemy Orks and bosses. The campaign supports online co-op, there's also PVP and a co-op mode "Last Stand" which makes this a great game to play with a friend. If you liked Dawn of War I, you may not like this game but should still give it a try.

67

Fun, but the worst of the 3

brandonl | Oct. 31, 2012 | Review of Saints Row The Third - Genkibowl VII

There are three mission packs for Saints Row 3 and this isnt the best. It's all about Genki, and who doesnt love that guy? You do some new Reality Climax missions, you also drive Genki around like in a parade in which he loves it when you run over people. You also go in a yarnball and go in a destruction spree and become a professional skydiver. These are fun, but the thing Genkibowl lacks is a fun humorous plot. These missions could've been in the dang game as activities, there's no side-story or anything. and at $7 for about 1 hour of content, it's not priced great.

70

The missions are fun, but really short

brandonl | Oct. 31, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - Season Pass

I enjoy how these are like "episodes", the story doesnt reflect the main plot, but they're short and have a quick fun story. Genkibowl VII comes with some new missions and Gangstas in Space comes with some new weapons. In general, you will enjoy these missions. but they're about an hour each. so the it's pretty overpriced.

80

You can FLLLLLLY.... kind of

brandonl | Oct. 29, 2012 | Review of Just Cause 2

This is definitely the largest world you'll see in a very long time. The world is so large, if you were to use the fastest plane and go from one corner to the other corner of the world, it would probably take 10 minutes. The best part of this game is the controls. it's not just "oh i can walk, jump and run", you can GRAPPLE things, and GRAPPLE THINGS TOGETHER. see 2 cars close together? grapple them together. You also get a parachute which is great way to fly and get around areas. grapple a car and open parachute and have a blast. Only flaw with this game is the missions can feel like "didnt i just do this mission?" and not be as exciting. outside of that, fantastic game.

90

Sandbox game for fun people

brandonl | Oct. 29, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third dns

It's a sandbox game but it's more fun than most of them. There's a lot to do even when you beat the main game, which itself will make you do crazy things like go into a tron-like world to hack into a group's computer. In late-game you get more various missions such as delivering cars and assassinating targets. The entire game is co-op which is great. And it's not just "2 people playing together doing the same thing", many times you 2 are doing different things to help each other, such as one flies the helicopter while the other uses rocket launcher to destroy gangs.

80

Great MOBA, actually FUN

brandonl | Oct. 29, 2012 | Review of Awesomenauts

Finally, a MOBA where you dont "Left Click" to do everything, you control your character. And it's 2D with fun graphics. And there's no premium payments. No one will have better stats than you because they spent more money on the game.

Very recommended to MOBA fans looking to switch things up.

93

Amazing, a true co-op survival game

brandonl | Oct. 25, 2012 | Review of Killing Floor

6 people work together, with 6 classes who each has their respective usefulness. Each zombie type has a class their weak against to help promote teamwork. Tons of official levels, even more community-made levels. This game will take a very long time to get bored of.

85

Amazingly addictive

brandonl | Sept. 12, 2012 | Review of Dwarfs!?

This game is just arcade fun which I love. You dont "beat" this game, you keep playing hoping to get a better score than your last. The game follows a top-down view where you guide (Guide, not control. huge difference!) dwarfs. You make money/points by digging, or running into a water which you have to trap in a cave and a hole, or possibly lava. These are found in caves which you never know what could be in it, could be water or lava, or evil shamans that you have to kill! There's also minerals you have to find and dig up. The game doesnt end when you "die" (which you could if you get flooded), but the game is based on a timer. you can play a 5 minute round, 15 minute round, or even 60-minute round. and there's 4 difficulties for each of these.

90

Genius, stealth at its finest

brandonl | Sept. 12, 2012 | Review of Hitman: Blood Money Capsule

The game follows a level-by-level system. You start off in an area, you have a task to murder some people, and you can do it in any way you want. The ideal way would be never getting caught, killing no innocent civilians, you can even make the murder look like an accident. The stealth isnt "Hiding in the shadows" or anything, it's ranges from just not getting seen, or changing your outfit to make yourself look like an employee, to much more. If you love stealth games, you gotta try this