Reviews by brandonm87

93

Great Work Bethesda

brandonm87 | Nov. 24, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim® Legendary Edition

This game lands between the Morrowind and Oblivion for me, its not as loose as Morrowind was where you could just find legendary artifacts at level 5 and use them, but its not as bad as Oblivion where everything scaled to your level either.The character detail is amazing in the game, the scenery graphics require texture packs to make gorgeous due tot the game being made for consoles but they are quickly downloaded from steam workshop so it is no hassle at all. When you have them activated, Skyrim is truly a beauty to behold!

92

Fanboy Dream Come True

brandonm87 | Nov. 23, 2013 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

This game is outstanding if you have any love of the Bat, be it comic books or the cartoons. The sheer number of villains that you go up against will have you all giddy inside. The game plays similar to Splintercell or Hitman, its very much stealth based, you want to stalk your prey not just run into a trap. Although Batman is resilient and can take on numerous thugs at once, when they bring out the guns on you you'll die pretty quick if they see you in the open. Best batman game ever, Rock Steady really did their research.

99

Amazing

brandonm87 | Nov. 23, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite (NA)

Hands down this is a FPS with an amazing story. There were times I was just simply mesmerized by the visuals, while other times I was reeling from the plot twists and surprises. This game is fun, addictive and amazing. This was my first venture into the Bioshock world, so I cant compare it to previous titles, but now I'm so engrossed I want to go back and play the other titles.

70

Improving

brandonm87 | Nov. 23, 2013 | Review of Total War: Rome II Emperor Edition

The game at launch was pretty horrific, but its slowly becoming the game it should have been as they patch it. Which means they released the game before it was even complete. Now they are releasing DLC packs of 3 civilizations for almost 10 bucks and blood textures for 4 bucks. Due to those two reasons I give this game a 70/100, Definitely not the greatest or most innovative title in the series. It in no way shape of form lives us to its predecessor but it is on par with Empire as being very streamlined.

96

Over 600 Hours played

brandonm87 | Nov. 23, 2013 | Review of Civilization Pack

I bought this game when it came out and it has been the most played gamed I have ever owned with over 600 hours logged in. If that doesn't tell you how addicting the game can be I don't know what else to say. The vanilla game it self is not as in depth as the previous civilization (IV Beyond the Stars) but when you add in the two expansions (Gods & Kings and Brave New World) and the considerable amount of mods available. You're looking at one superb game. Highly Recommended!

95

Awesome Game

brandonm87 | Nov. 20, 2013 | Review of Europa Universalis IV

This is the best Europa yet! The game map is completely redone and it is beautiful. If you've never played a Europa game before, this is probably the best one to try and jump into, the learning curve is a bit more relaxed than in past titles. This isn't to say there isn't as much to do because there is, just not as much micromanagement to deal with. You pick a nation, and you assume control of the country and guide it through the development of infrastructure, diplomacy, economic supremacy and world domination. This is however a game of patience and strategy. Things start slow and and politics plays a large role, so you have to plan ahead if you want to expand your empire.

90

One of the Best Total Wars

brandonm87 | Nov. 20, 2013 | Review of Medieval II: Total War Collection

This is easily one of the best Total War games in the series by far. The graphics still hold up even today, They aren't the best but they still have not become an eyesore by today's technology. When you get tired of the vanilla campaign there are also many great TWC (Total War Center) hosted mods to keep the game fresh, from fantastical mods such as Warhammer, Game of Thrones and even Lord of the Rings to historic expansions such as Stainless Steel and Deus Lo Vult.

82

Not as Good as the Past

brandonm87 | Nov. 20, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Absolution

While the game looks good and is quite enjoyable, the game suffers from one major flaw. The disguise system is set up so that any enemy wearing the same disguise/costume as you will instantly become suspicious of you even if you're 50 feet away from them, it really limits your ability to explore and find creative ways to take out your targets like in past Hitman games. More often than not the game ends up in a free for fall gun slinging match than a stealthy take them out game. Other than that, the game is pretty good, just not the best in the series.