Reviews by cappincrunch

60

Surprisingly... disappointing

cappincrunch | March 6, 2014 | Review of THIEF (NA)

Usually I judge games based on a price I bought it, but even for the $30, I was not satisfied. $15 would have been preferable.

The game starts very slow and to be honest, it stays slow. The types of arrows call for exciting gameplay, but it really comes down to me asking myself, "Should I ignore them, stab them, or shoot them with an arrow," Which just isn't enough in today's standards. Every level feels the same and the thrill of stealing from homes dies off very quickly.

The game is missing a twist or at least more options that gives this game the price tag it deserves. Wait for this game to hit around the $15-$20 mark.

95

Haven't been addicted to single player in a long time

cappincrunch | Feb. 6, 2014 | Review of Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell - Blacklist (Capsule) (NA)

It's very difficult to point out the flaws, but there are some that don't break the game.

Pros: +Levels designed specifically for solo play +Levels designed for solo or coop play +Levels designed specifically for solo play +Multiple personal objectives that call for many hours of replay value +You're rewarded for your preferred playstyle so you don't have to sneak through every mission +Silky smooth animations and killing +Variety of ways to reach an objective with well thought map design and AI placement. This game has you going from point A to B and B to C, but offers a variety of obstacles to get there

Cons: -A lot of weapons, but you're going go find yourself sticking with a couple guns. -Low population on spies vs. mercenaries except during primetime -Never had to use night vision goggles, but I used the other option which acted like infrared and allowed me to see through walls which sounds cool, but made it a little too easy

Overall this game is worth even the $60 launch price. I've dropped many hours into this game and as I write this review, I'm ready to go back and play some more.

There are 3 ways to take on most missions: Ghost, Panther, and Combat. Ghost: Stealth through the whole level and either never disturb an enemy or take them out with non-lethal force Panther: Stealth through the level, but kill everyone in your path without being detected Combat: Go in with loud guns. Kill everyone and let them know you're there

60

Dungeon Siege 1/2 fans beware, you might not be a fan

cappincrunch | Feb. 6, 2014 | Review of Dungeon Siege III

This game is limited to 3 classes, but coop is still working so this could make for some great fun.

Unfortunately, this game lost a lot of points for 2 personal reasons:

1) Gender locking/Character Creation: One of my favorite parts of games is creating a character. My least favorite is gender locking. I'm a guy and I want to connect to my character and I can't do that as a female since I have no interest being a female. The only exception I have is if the story revolves around 1 character and the script and design is meant for a female lead (Tomb Raider.)

2) Limited Classes: Guns, Magic, and Melee. That's almost as bare minimum as you can get. Give me an archer, paladin, necromancer, ASSASSIN?! They tried to push all the voice-acted scenes and animations and left out the most important part of a game and it was not worth the sacrifice.

91

This game reminded me how much I didn't like DS3

cappincrunch | Feb. 6, 2014 | Review of Dungeon Siege II

I have to give it a high rating because of what enjoyment I got out of it for its time. Not often can I go back to a game this old and still enjoy it. Unlike Dungeon Siege 3, this has an archer! I love archers and playing as an archer is satisfying as it should be in a top-down style RPG.

Dungeon Crawler fans should feel right at home with this game. The graphics aren't as pretty as modern dungeon crawlers, but the silky smooth gameplay and battles make up for the experience.

60

A fun, crazy, forgiving shooter that is no longer online :(

cappincrunch | Feb. 6, 2014 | Review of Mercenaries 2: World in Flames (NA)

I would have scored higher because I'm a huge coop fan, but when my favorite feature is scrapped, I can't justify it with a high score.

But if you're looking for one of those games that throw a huge arsenal in front of you and allow for total mayhem, you'll probably get a lot of enjoyment out of this game. It's one vs countless enemies and you're the biggest badass around. Hardcore gamers might get bored and core gamers just might have a blast, so check out some gameplay footage to be sure it's a game for you.

75

Not bad, but not amazing... play it with a friend

cappincrunch | Feb. 6, 2014 | Review of Brink

Co-op vs AI is my favorite way to play games and the AI is very satisfying to play against. The only problem is you're often having to go lone wolf for these missions while your AI teammates just don't really help out (that's a good thing sometimes.)

Unlike the launch, the game runs silky smooth and looks great, but since it had such a poor launch, the game quickly died off and received poor reviews. Thankfully bots are here to save the day, so if you don't want to play alone, I recommend picking it up with a friend on a sale and working together to complete objectives.

72

For old thief players..not so much the new

cappincrunch | Feb. 6, 2014 | Review of Thief Pack

I bought this pack after being overly excited about the new thief game. I had not played the games before, so I knew I was getting into an older game with an older design, but they feel like they were designed for consoles.

The first two thieves are a bit clunky and the combat is subpar even for its time.

The 3rd of the series was a personal favorite because it was visually well done, the controls felt very smooth, and the animations didn't feel like I was playing a game from 1998.

If you can handle the old games that are still new to the 3D designs or if you've played these in the past, then it might be for you. If you want to try out a thief game, I recommend the 3rd game (Deadly Shadows) since it is the most playable. Otherwise they run just find on Windows 7 64bit.

67

Potential to be my favorite game, but not as multiplayer

cappincrunch | Feb. 6, 2014 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare

This game is really hit or miss.. or hit in your screen and miss on the server...

Buyers beware, this is one of those games where the community in your country determine whether or not you get to play this game. If your ping is too high, you won't have a good time.

The only way I can see this game surviving is if they start including bots in multiplayer, but clearly they've moved onto DLC and other projects so as soon as this game dies, it will likely go free to play. Bots would have truly saved this game.

50

What was once free now costs $5

cappincrunch | Feb. 6, 2014 | Review of Borderlands 2: Ultimate Vault Hunters Upgrade Pack

Beware fans of Borderlands 1, level upgrade patches are no longer free, but the amount of entertainment that comes from this game makes it hard to pass up. Lucky for you, Borderlands 2 DLC goes on sale a lot and whether or not it's worth the price is really up to you.

Is your character maxed out? Do you not like the other characters or don't want to start over? Do you have the best weapons you can possibly get and the other DLC completed? If you said yes to any of those, then you're an addict and you should probably get this DLC. I think many people bought it at impulse... I know I have, so be patient and make sure you're actually going to go near the level cap.

90

Don't feel obligated to play because you pay!

cappincrunch | May 23, 2013 | Review of Guild Wars 2: Digital Edition (NA) -

The best part of this game is it's free to play. After you buy it of course. It's the price of a standard game, so treat it like one. Most games these days take 4-8 hours, so you will feel a great deal of fulfillment when you play this game.

The Review: I can go on and on for hours on why you should buy this game, so I will bullet-point the pros and cons so you don't have to read a book.

THE GOOD: +Free to play: The cash shop is not pay to win, it's pay for little things like more bank slots or character clothes.

+Combat: It's smoothest combat system out today. The only learning curve required is the dodge system, but that's easy to pick up. Nothing feels clunky or unresponsive.

+The partying: Are you too late to join a group fight on a world boss? That's okay. Just start attacking and you'll get rewards as well. But don't think people will just jump in and hit it once. You are rewarded for the damage you do.

+No heals required: In a way it makes me sad, but survival is so much better and necessary. No more dragging around without a healer. No more healer for people to blame. Everyone has to take care of themselves and party members can revive you if you can't keep up.

+Rich environments: I hope you can run this at medium to high settings because the art design is beautiful. For once I feel like the map developers didn't get tired of their job and began throwing in the same designs with a new color. I've made new races simply for the new areas to discover. Once you've learned how to transfer from one major city to the other, you can quest anywhere.

+Scaling down in low level areas: This is a pro and con. A pro because you never feel like you're dominating. People can't go to the starting areas and just take down a world boss in one hit. This allows you to travel back to an older area and join other questers without ruining their experience.

THE BAD:

Pvp.. well.. WvW: World vs World is boring for me. Large maps capturing territories. It sounds fun, but the maps are too big.. about the size of a questing map. The maps are too big with not enough players. Usually I see large groups sticking together. It feels more like world pvp in other games except there's really no reason to stay in the zone other than to pvp. What bothers me is the lack of alternatives. No basic team deathmatch, capture the flags, or king of the hill. It really needs variety.

End game: Keep in mind, I'm reviewing this for when I played at launch. The end-game is probably much better now since I've been receiving so many updates about free dlc launches. Once I hit the cap, I just farmed seals for gear and then I found no reason to continue playing. I'm usually an end-game pvper so you can see that wasn't much of an option for me.

Scaling down characters in low level areas: I marked this as a pro earlier, but it's also a con to me because it makes you feel like your big/badass character is a weak low level. You can't just show up and say "I'll help you with your quest!" and wreck everything in your path. The level balance takes away your prideful achievement when the level 10 next to you is putting out a little less damage than you.

30

Most boring game of 2008

cappincrunch | May 20, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto IV

Loved GTA 3, Vice City, and San Andreas. Never been so bored of a game since GTA IV. It was overhyped, overrated, and praised simply because of its title and rockstar's repuation. Rockstar has a great reputation and their games are amazing, but I can see beyond what blinds the fanboys.

The map: It's huge and a great start, but the community is so stale. Walking around is just boring. San Andreas was full of gangster trash talkers and other forms of scum. Vice City was a bit more flamboyant and slapstick. GTA IV is just sadly realistic. People walking, nothing funny about it. There's just no reason to go walk with the pedestrians and get a kick out of their world. Free roam has been ruined by a stale environment, but at least co-op play make it a bit more fun.

Co-op/multiplayer: Multiplayer is about the only thing fun about this game, but the lack of activity, and lack of server customizations ruins it. Bats only in a teamdeathmatch, demolition derby, open-world gang battles for territories (red dead redemption), there was so much potential and their effort was actually well done, but the lack of a few features and gamemodes is the reason it died off.

Co-op such a missed opportunity. Free roaming with a friend is absolutely better than nothing, but you can't fly. You can't do any missions or even side missions. You just roam around, doing stunts, and killing each other which isn't too bad, but it's half completed.

Story: Yawn. It's a realistic approach, but we don't play games for real life.. that's what real life is for. No, I don't want to hear a phone ring every 2 minutes so I can go bowling. I want to rob stores, do drive-by shootings, have gang rivalry, make money, buy property and lots of customization. THAT is progression. This is just a weak attempt at making a boring story into a fun game.

Customization: I shoud leave this blank due to its lack of options. Some pants, some hats, and some jackets. You know something is wrong when Rockstar's throne for king of sandboxes is at risk because of Saints Row.

To sum it up, this game is a giant playground with no toys.