Reviews by caspica

90

Yes!

caspica | June 22, 2013 | Review of Knights of Pen & Paper: +1 Edition

Knights of Pen and Paper is an old school game with humour about a group of persons playing character's in a game of DnD. With its pixelated graphics this game will charm you to death. Gameplay-wise there's nothing to complain about. Actually I was surprised by how fun it actually is. Basically, it has all the ingredients for a fantastic RPG. I would recommend this to anyone interested in DnD or DnD-esque games.

At last we finally have another DnD-inspired game. Sadly there have been too few of these lately. Knights of Pen and Paper do know, however, how to reinvigorate a genre and hopefully entice other studios to make their renditions of other tabletop RPGs.

93

An Incredible Title

caspica | June 19, 2013 | Review of To The Moon Cap

This game is fantastic. Let's just get that out in the open. This game will make you feel all the possible feelings the human being is able to feel. It is one of the most atmospheric, engrossing gaming experiences I have ever come across. The 2D old-school graphics is not only a good way to get the story across but will actually contribute to the game's character in a major way. Since this is a game heavily reliant on the progression of characters the game mechanics themselves become subpar but, as is the case with for example Journey, that is a meaningless flaw. To the Moon is a game I would recommend to each and everyone that is even remotely interested in video games.

81

Surprisingly fun

caspica | June 16, 2013 | Review of Anmynor Puzzles

This is a game that took me by surprise. I saw it and was instantly intrigued by the weird character models and interesting sceneries. However, my prejudices told me to stay away because it is a game I had never heard of. As it is I still bought it and consequently really enjoyed it more than I should have. Anmynor Puzzles is a puzzle game set in a fantasy-esque world. It doesn't offer the humour that Portal offers but what it lacks in story it takes back in the puzzles. They are borderline genius at times. I really am impressed by how a low-budget game could have turned out to have so intricate puzzles. The gameplay mechanics themself may become repetitive from time to time but all in all this is a great puzzle game.

72

Great with Limtations

caspica | June 16, 2013 | Review of ORB: Off-World Resource Base

ORB is marketed to be a hardcore RTS and that is indeed, arguably. Some of the more hardcore gamers will still object to a gameplay system that could be, whilst still advanced, more complex. That aside the game the game can still boast with quite fantastic graphics all across the board, from the ships to the asteroids to the nebulae clouds, given it's a near decade ORB released. The mechanics of the game, as I mentioned earlier, are great - although I should give a warning for the repetetive nature of it - to those looking for a challenge but it's not The Hardcore Space RTS we've all been looking for. The game is still fun though in places and I can definitely recommend it to any one remotely interested in a rather cheap space or RTS's.

55

Don't be Fooled

caspica | May 31, 2013 | Review of Youda Safari

I admit I never had high hopes for this game when I first played it. I always liked the tycoon games and so hoped this was like those but kind of worse in almost every aspect. However the game is more compelling than you might first think. The charming graphics is one of the points where I get the feeling that the game might be for kids and not for me. But they are cutesy and that can ensnare even the most cold-hearted man. And so, I fell for this. With funny animals and a charming approach to gamers I feel its a welcome change. The game itself doesn't offer the sharpest or most developed gameplay but its still charming enough to play through for a couple of hours. I would recommend this for someone to relax to on a saturday afternoon.

75

Of course its a fantastic game

caspica | May 31, 2013 | Review of The Night of the Rabbit

I agree with the precedented talker Stebsis that Daedalic has dont it again. They really have. I still believe Amanita is the best game studio on making Adventure games but that is a very competed slot at the moment. The Night of the Dead Rabbit has one of the key elementals for a good Adventure game: the game looks fantastic. Once again Daedalic have produced high quality textures and making the art style take its place within the game. It can also boast with an extremely compelling story about rabbits and the overall feel is almost redundandt to speak of. Both Amanita and mainly Daedalic in this context continue to create fantastic and compelling adventures for us to explore.

80

Wow...

caspica | May 31, 2013 | Review of Trine

Before I say anything else this game is gorgeous beyond belief! The indie production might show at times but the overall aesthetic of the game is so wonderfully beautiful you might as well be in a fairy tale, which is also what the game is mostly about. The game takes place as a saga about the Trine in which three souls are captured. These souls now have to co-operate to save the world they live in. Utilising puzzles and platforming it creates a compelling game to play through. As I mentioned before the main argument for this game is the fantastic visuals. Never before have I played a game like this. The graphics will have you hooked just so you can see what happens next.

88

An Impressive but Unknown Title

caspica | May 31, 2013 | Review of Grand Ages: Rome

Grand Ages: Rome is a RTS set in the time of the First Triumvirate and its one of those games you will long for every now and then. The gameplay and story might be a bit shallow and the AI might be easy to fool from time to time but the nice graphics combined with the ability to build your own Roman city set this game apart from others in the same genre. Also, if you are into building grand cities without the hassle of gathering resources the game offers a Sandbox Mode. This is an option I wish more games had since you do not always have nearly as much time that is needed. All in all its a fun title which deserves more praise than now.

58

A Surprisingly Decent Poker Game

caspica | May 26, 2013 | Review of Governor of Poker 2 - Standard Edition CAP

This is a game all about Poker. That's the concept, really. Now, it is funnier than it seems and the whole Poker concept has been proven successful before with games like Poker Night at the Inventory. The key to a good game in this genre is good characters, good graphics and a progression system which makes you want to play just one more round. This game does have some interesting characters with decent graphics. Not amazing but they do the job. However, what will have you hooked throughout the game is the progress you make as you win in various Poker games, going from town to town. Still, if you already own Poker Night at the Inventory I'm not sure if I can justify a purchase of this game.

42

Disappointing Compared with its Predecessors

caspica | May 18, 2013 | Review of Tales of Monkey Island

The games of Monkey Island's are classical. They invented the point-and-click genre and were in the early 90s crucial for LucasArts success as a game developer. Sadly, as have been with other series produced by LucasArts, the games have been progressively worse and Tales of Monkey Island is no exception. Lacking the original's amusing and witty dialogue - the thing that has always defined the Monkey Island games to many of its players - ToMI appears to be nothing more than one of many mediocre games LucasArts produced at the end of their life time.

85

Back to the Future will take you by surprise

caspica | May 18, 2013 | Review of Back to the Future: The Game

If Amanita is the noble rulers of point-and-click games then Telltale is at least the rulers of episodic games. They make fantastic point-and-clicks too, don't get me wrong, but they are so amazingly great at striking that exact balance with how to plan out the episodes of their games that they are unexceeded by anyone else, as is shown by Back to the Future: The Game. Back to the Future: The Game is an adventure placed in the Back to the Future universe, which is a terrific setting to begin with. The real drive, however, is the main characters' relationship to each other and other NPCs. True to the film the game is funny as well as exciting and with the art style the game is all in all a treat to play.

60

More of the same

caspica | May 18, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2

I have always loved the Borderlands universe and setting, and consequently, I loved Borderlands. The comic book-esque art style was for its time revolutionary and even though the gameplay and AI was not the best the game never lost pace because of the game's hilarity and fun mechanics. That's why I enjoyed the first Borderlands so much. Now, with Borderlands 2, I wanted something else. I wanted to see the universe to evolve and grow with maybe new game mechanics or at least improve the AI. Sure, the PC port is better, but as it is Borderlands 2 could have as well been a stand-alone expansion for Borderlands rather than a full-on game.

73

Lovely premise but bad execution

caspica | May 16, 2013 | Review of Smooth Operators: Call Center Chaos

Personally I love the idea of building my own call center to run and improve as time progresses. Become a call center multinational company with thousands of employees. Sadly this game can't fulfill my hopes to the fullest. It's still a pretty good, don't get me wrong, but it's a bit restricting for my liking. This is a consequence of a lack of options and items. For a casual game it's quite fantastic but if you're looking for more of a serious game then I think you can skip this. Also the pixely artstyle is extremely fitting to the premise. I think they did a really good job with nailing down that modern but still retro pixely art style.

39

A disappointment in the least

caspica | May 16, 2013 | Review of RADicalRoach Cap

When I first saw this game I thought "Great, another shoot shmup game, I love those". And I do. Games like Sine Mora and Beat Hazard are games I've put a reasonable amount of time into. This one does not meet my expectations. The art style is definitely cool. I like that a lot. Sadly, that's the only thing to it. Repetitive, boring gameplay and not able to sustain entertainment all the way through. Since it's a steep learning curve in the game you will have to refine those reflex skill to progress and to be honest, I think you can do that somewhere else and be more entertained in the process. Try for example Jamestown instead.

69

A good Indie racer? Who've thought that?

caspica | May 16, 2013 | Review of Headlong Racing

This is a fascinating racing game. Graphic textures are mediocre, the driving handles average at best and I wouldn't say the level design is on par with what is expected from these types of games. But there there's that litte extra, "nichefactor" or whatever you want to call it which can transform a game from being average to something beyond average. That is the strongpoint in this game. The cars and vehicles in this game are incredibly well designed. No matter if you have amazing texture graphics and vehicular handling if the feel isn't there. Luckily that is precisely this savior: its a game with nice atmosphere and feeling. It's not GOTY-material but certainly worth your time.

34

Mediocre at best

caspica | May 14, 2013 | Review of Little Kingdom

This really is a quite mediocre economic strategy game. Its appeal is more for those looking for a casual game than anything else. I think they could have evolved the strategical aspect of the game much more than they did. Also the graphic is not exactly appealing or gorgeous in any way. This is a point where I think the developer could have really turned it awesome. If they had went with a Sleeping Beauty art style then it would have been more pleasing for the eye and a more pleasant experience. What I got now was mediocre at best.That might be stretching it but I do that primarily because we need more game like this.

78

Fascinating! Enduringly fascinating!

caspica | May 14, 2013 | Review of Fester Mudd

This one was an interesting one. I'm usually more of a mainstream player and play more FPS than anything else. My friend bought this for me as a whim and I didn't really though about all that much about it. A while later I tried and installed it just to try it out. Truthfully I enjoyed this game more than I should. At least a few hours a week is spent on this special game and you should really try it out even though it might not look like your type of indie.