Reviews by cdp_star

95

Flight as batman

cdp_star | April 14, 2014 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year

Although this game is using same game systems which were built for a previous work, except a few new gadgets and actions. However I was able to enjoy myself without getting bored. Because some improvements were found at fine points, such as key configuration of gamepad. And most remarkable change was the design of fields : the batman can fly over the city freely than the previous episode. Depending on our own skill, the batman may be able to keep flying forever, like a real bat in night sky. I can say that enjoying the floating feeling was enough valuable to play this game, although I wanted to watch a little brighter town.

95

Crazy but wonderful world

cdp_star | March 19, 2014 | Review of Saints Row: The Third dns

When I watched the game first, I felt it is too violent. And also my wife forbade me playing it. However I could not stop playing the game till I unlocked all of achievements.

I think there were several reasons, which make this game "attractive game". The main purpose of the game is building high status of my own team in the city, and there are many quests on the map. However almost all the quests are crazy and meaningless. For example I had to crash everything in the city as a huge ball of fuzz, to get applause (exp) points.

And the playing character can get special skills by exp points and money. At last, the character will become crazy superman, who never dies even by attack of tank!!

When I broke everything with co-op player, I could forget everything about real world. It might be one of the best games to forget stress.

50

The bygone work

cdp_star | March 19, 2014 | Review of F.E.A.R

First, I should confess that I don't have any interest in real style war games, for example Battlefield, CALL OF DUTY series. So I have some negative impression about this game. Sorry.

I heard that the game was an epoch making FPS style game at few years ago. Actually AI of enemy was very clever, and I had to care of the surroundings of the playing character all times.

However, although it is not so strange, the graphic level was not so high, compared to recent games. All of objects were plane and didn't show any feel of a substance. Moreover I didn't feel fear in any situations of the game, even if it was a remarkable point of this game. So I had to search the next check point, to fight with the enemies to go next point, without any fun...

It is the true impression of me, who doesn't have any interest in war game.

70

Action game?

cdp_star | March 17, 2014 | Review of Alan Wake's American Nightmare

Although Alan wake was only a writer who runs away from darkness, he became a strong soldier who handles several weapons in this part. Different from the first part of Alan wake series, in which we can enjoy the amazing story, the American Nightmare is pure action game. He does not get tired easily, and he can fight many enemies without fear. And if you want to play this to get the clear answer for the remaining questions, it might be not good choice. You should keep it mind that this game is perfectly other from the original game. If so, you will not be disappointed.

75

A new style of detective game

cdp_star | March 17, 2014 | Review of LA Noire The Complete Edition

Although I felt the total graphic quality was not so high, I imagined they focused all of their skills on the action of face muscle which can indicate the characters' mind. "Is this comment true?" "Is the guy a liar?" I could detect the answer from their face, and it was the amazing experience. However, in summary, the interrogation system was not good. Because the system never allow vague answers. The game system accepts only one answer for each question, even if there are several evidences which indicate same result/truth. It made me irritated in many situations. This game succeeded to make new style of detective game which can display real human feeling on the monitor. But if the judgment system about questioning can include humanity, it may become better.

80

I am a president

cdp_star | Feb. 18, 2014 | Review of Tropico 3

The game system is very simple, but I could enjoy building my own village,where peoples are staying happily, as selfish president. The president can make some buildings, for example apartments, factories, and so on. Peoples living in the island decide working/living places by themselves. And their actions make the village larger and richer step by step. It was like simcity, but caring to each people's basic ambitions was more important. And sometimes the president has to delete peoples who show disobedience to your policy, by secret power. It is a special charm point of the game, which no other games have. But the game system is very simple,as I mentioned first, so it was very easy to lose interest in playing role as president. If there was more variation of village conditions through the game, it will become more attractive.

80

Fear of dark forest

cdp_star | Feb. 18, 2014 | Review of Alan Wake

It was the first 3D action PC game I played and the beautiful scenes made me surprised. However, Alan was walking in dark forest almost all time of main story, so I could not enjoy the high quality graphics. He has to attack enemy by combination of gun and light. And sometimes escaping without fighting from enemies is the best solution to cross the dark forest. Such game balance was not so bad for me. Main story was not so long, and I could finish the game with moderate tension. But the search of meaningless items in the dark places, which are related to achievements system, was terrible. It made the play-time longer, without fun. In summary, the game was made minutely, but not perfect.

75

Necessary for beginner!

cdp_star | Feb. 10, 2014 | Review of Sanctum 2: Season Pass

The DLC pass gives us several new maps, weapons and skills in the sanctum2. And some of them have terrible power and can make the game easier a little. They are necessary to beat difficult mode for beginner, like me. Of course we can choose weapons and skills which we carry in the stage, so the DLC never destroy the game balance. And even if I used the new weapons, I felt the game was too difficult for me. About new maps, I didn't experience so amazing discovery so much. However, at least I can declare that the DLC can give you a chance to retry difficult stages.

85

Understanding of intentions with co-op partners is important.

cdp_star | Feb. 10, 2014 | Review of Sanctum 2

Although this is a sequel of the game which combined FPS and TD, our own shooting skill is needed more than TD knowledge. Because of my poor FPS skill, I could not finish difficult mode (which is called FoS in the game) without additional DLC and co-op members' help. However lengths of almost all stages were 10-20 min, so I didn't feel stress for repetitive trials. And I felt the limitation of resource which is important for TD could make the game exciting. If the co-op partners didn't have similar hopes about TD construction, the game will become insane difficulty!! But I think it is a funny point about this game.

90

Great game!!

cdp_star | Feb. 7, 2014 | Review of Civilization V: Gold Edition

First, we have to learn many rules to expand our kingdom to win the game. But the main rules are simple, and the game prepared detailed help pages containing some ironical comments. I could spend long time only reading the help pages. By following their suggestion, I could beat the game in low or middle level. However, in the high level game, I could not recover small mistakes and lost game easily. Com never passed over my mistakes. So I am playing middle level (prince or king) only. It is enough exciting for me. At least I can say that the level design is excellent, and almost all people can enjoy the game, even if beginner. And maybe because of several upgrades, I have never met severe bugs.

80

Jump into the heavy metal world.

cdp_star | Feb. 7, 2014 | Review of Brutal Legend

In this game that aims at recovery of social status of true metal music, the prominent musician is appearing here and there as important characters. And the game has the feature to use music like magic by using a musical instrument as arms. Although it seems to be strange game, the game balance was not so bad and I was able to enjoy this battle system.
However, for the sake of a setting of the game, since the dark world with particular color sky continues, a game scene is sometimes obscure, and I cannot mention the 3D modeling was beautiful. At least I felt the heroine was enough attractive and I can recommend to play it, if you like action RPG.

90

Great moment

cdp_star | Feb. 7, 2014 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

Although I am not familiar with batman, except some parts of movies, I could enjoy exciting time because of this game. Especially it was fun that my character can show amazing scene which is like a movie by the addition of fighting skill and the progress of my own technique. Through the game play, there are many situations which battle against many enemies. To tell the truth I felt the batman is not a special hero because he was beat easily by their attack in the first few hours. Then, I recognized that it was important to use skills with right timing continuously, rather than push the button quickly. And because of moderate game length, reaching to the ending without getting bored was possible. At least I could clear without also giving up the search sub quests, thanks to an index and hints.
Moreover, it is about the technological impression, I felt the PhysX function could make real atmosphere on the display. I hope I can play next episodes which can excite me more and more.