Reviews by cedarson

93

Wonderful Game

cedarson | April 15, 2014 | Review of Syberia

To me, Syberia is a classic.

I remember picking it up probably 10 years after release not expecting much. However, I was sucked into the story and, like a good book, I couldn't put it down.

It is a point and click adventure. If you are a fan of the old LucasArts / ScummVM point and click adventure games, you can't go wrong with Syberia. The environments are beautiful, and by the end, there is still enough mystery to keep you wondering where the story is going to end up.

Highly recommended.

92

This is How to Reboot a Franchise

cedarson | April 15, 2014 | Review of Tomb Raider Game of the Year

I was one of the most devout Tomb Raider fans back in the day.

When I bought a PS1, Resident Evil and Tomb Raider were the primary reasons. So my standards for the Tomb Raider franchise are always pretty high. When I heard they were doing a reboot, I was a bit skeptical, but I decided to give it a shot. Man, am I glad I did.

I love just about everything with this game: The pacing, the realism, the combat, the puzzles. It's all here. The sense of adventure is here, too, thanks to the wonderful environments. This is how to reboot a franchise. In fact, I might just fire it up today after beating it a few months ago after writing this review!

42

A More Expensive Version of a Mobile App

cedarson | April 14, 2014 | Review of Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Phantoms - Standard Issue Bundle (NA)

It is Free to Play, but, in its essence and gameplay, this is basically a militarized, more expensive version of Shadowngun: Deadzone which you can find on most smartphones. The combat is a lot of sit and wait for someone to peek from around the corner then shoot. The animations are a little plastic, and I would honestly prefer to play SG:DZ. I like the Tom Clancy series made by Ubisoft particularly the Rainbow Six type games, but this feels like an afterthought compared to those games. The AAA membership cost is laughable. It was a decent effort, but not worth my time. Pass.

88

Great Alternative to GTA

cedarson | April 14, 2014 | Review of Sleeping Dogs Digital Edition

I really liked the way this game made you feel like you were an undercover cop. The story is well paced, and there is enough variety to keep you entertained. The DLC was great, too. It takes on a sort of supernatural twist. The combat is fine - a little reminiscent of Arkham games. I also liked how it gave the ability to alter Wei's appearance with Valve items like Left 4 Dead shirts, Portal shirts, etc. In all, a great experience I recommend.

84

More of the Same Which Isn't a Bad Thing

cedarson | April 14, 2014 | Review of Batman Arkham Origins

A lot of the reviews for this game have had one common gripe: It is more of the same. In my mind, however, that is not a bad thing. Arkham Asylum is one of my favorite games of all time. I actually wasn't a huge fan of Arkham City. I liked it, but it seemed to have too much going on to really get immersed in it like the first one. I think this is a good balance of the two. My biggest disappointment of the game is that this really isn't an "origin" story. I thought we would get to take part in the rise of Bruce Wayne into Batman, but it seems like the "origin" part was just slapped on an already near complete game to give it some identity over the other two. In all, you're not wasting your time if you pick this one up.

83

More of the Same, with a Little Refinement

cedarson | April 13, 2014 | Review of NBA 2K14 (NA)

2K set the bar high when they came out with 2K11. From that point, it seems that their PC ports have been just coasting with minimal updating. This season, however, that's not entirely a bad thing. There are some tweaks to the gameplay that are barely noticeable but they make a huge difference in how someone enjoys this game. For example, when chasing someone down the court on a fast break with Lebron, there is actually a good chance that you can block their dunk from behind instead of past years where the players just kind of jump in the air. In all, it is the best basketball sim ever, but there is still some work left for 2K to do.

98

One of the Best Storylines in Gaming History

cedarson | April 13, 2014 | Review of BioShock (NA)

I never really got into Bioshock when it first came out. Later last year, I ended up getting Bioshock Infinite in a bundle just because I really wanted the other game at a great price. So, one night I decided to give Infinite a go, and I was sucked into the universe from there. Bioshock is a classic in modern gaming. Rarely have I played a game that drew me in and kept me in such immersion as the storyline and gameplay of Bioshock. It is a rare treat to play a game such as this. Highly, highly, highly recommended.

90

One of the Best Open World Games

cedarson | April 13, 2014 | Review of Just Cause 2

Having never played JC1, I had no idea what I was getting into when I got this at a bargain basement deal. This turned out to be one of my favorite open world gaming experiences in a long time. The parachute/grapple combination allows for scaling the maps at rapid speed and the action is contagious. I find myself going back to this game having already beaten it just to go from town to town to find all the upgrades. It's a good time!

85

Not What I Expected, and That is a Good Thing

cedarson | April 13, 2014 | Review of Lara Croft And The Guardian Of Light

I've been a die hard tomb raider fan since the first one came out on the PS1 years ago. Pretty much the formula has not changed much. So when this was announced, I was skeptical. I'm glad that my worries were alleviated in the first 10 minutes of playing. It is a scaled down version of Tomb Raider with a little more action and a top down view. The puzzles are challenging but not impossible, and the pace is really good. I recommend giving this game a look if you are a Tomb Raider fan or even a Diablo fan.