Reviews by cocoawolf29

82

A nice conclusion to Ezio Alditore

cocoawolf29 | July 28, 2014 | Review of Assassin's Creed® Revelations

The last part of Ezio's career as an Assassin, this makes a great game. Even as an old man, Ezio is an amazing assassin, and this game wraps up his life as a servant of the Assassin's nicely. The map is small and gameplay is shorter than Assassin's Creed II and Brotherhood, making it an easier game to do absolutely everything that can be done. It was also nice to get flash backs to Altair's life as an assassin, combining it with Ezio's world.

I loved seeing the architecture of a new area. It was very different from Italy's buildings, but it was still beautiful.

Overall, everything in this game was much simpler than in previous games. Less to do, though there was still a wide amount of things to collect and buy, a smaller map, a shorter game. However, I didn't find this to be a detraction. I found it nice to have a shorter game compared to the much more complicated predecessors. It's a simple game, but still quite enjoyable. It's a suggested play if you enjoyed seeing the other parts of Ezio's life.

93

The beginning of an amazing series

cocoawolf29 | July 27, 2014 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

This is the beginning of one of my favorite video game series. Arkham Asylum may seem a bit rusty and small after playing the legends like Arkham City, but it holds it's own ground. The mechanics are still well oiled, and the fighting is relatively simple. The map is a decent size, and Batman revisits various areas of the island throughout the night, finding different things every time.

The plot of this game is relatively simple. Joker is being classic Joker, screwing everything up and making life very difficult for The Bat, but it makes a great story and game for the player. The plot is relatively simple and in a straight line, but it isn't just Joker that we run into. There are other great villains like Poison Ivy and Killer Croc that have great boss battles.

The game is simple, but in this case, simplicity is the beginning of something great. It's great to play through over again too, almost like watching an interactive movie. Definitely recommend it for any Batman fan, especially if you plan to play any of the other games from the series. It enhances the quality of all the future games.

99

A night of nightmares for the Bat, but a great game for us

cocoawolf29 | July 27, 2014 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year

This game is one of the best video games out there as far as I'm concerned. Not only do you get to play as The Batman on a most challenging night, a plus all on it's own, but you also get to experience his world. Some of the best villains are present in the game, including Two-face, Cat woman, Penguin, Rhaz Al Ghul, and of course, The Joker. Riddler is also present, and with him comes the hundreds of puzzles and riddle trophies to find throughout the game's map. Riddler is one of the many side quests seperate from the main plot. Though the main story takes about 10 hours when focused, there are many more to be found pursuing the side quests, riddlers trophies, and just exploring Arkham City. Keep an eye out for Crime Alley, probably the most important spot in Batman's, and Bruce Wayne's, life. There are also great challenge maps that can help hone fighting and predator skills, as well as greatly extend the time that one can be Batman.

The Weapons of Batman's utility belt are great and easy to use, and the fighting is improved from Arkham Asylum. The game is easy to follow even without playing any of the other games from the series, though it is definitely enriched when playing Arkham Asylum is already under your utility belt. I have replayed the game 3 times, and I'm still not bored of it. After beating the game, you have the option to start a New Game Plus, which is a more challenging version of the same game, and you keep all your upgrades from the previous play through.

There are too many great things to say about this game here, so I suggest getting it yourself and exploring all the possibilities.

79

The start of a great Assassin

cocoawolf29 | July 27, 2014 | Review of Assassin's Creed® 2 Deluxe Edition

Assassin's Creed was the beginning of Ezio's trilogy in the Assassin's creed series, and for me that means the beginning of the best part of the games. It was a huge step forward from the first game in the series. The map is large with various cities to visit and plenty of things to collect and do. The main plot is relatively straight forward and simple, yet still interesting. Seeing the life of Ezio at the beginning stages of his career as an assassin was very interesting. I also loved having Leonardo Da Vinci along for the ride. The game has beautiful buildings and views, one of the best parts of the game. The Desmond parts were annoying and pointless to me, and the plot did get a bit old after playing it. It did not hook me as easily as the other Assassin's Creed games, though it was still a good game.

86

History with a twist and a lot more assasinations

cocoawolf29 | July 26, 2014 | Review of Assassin's Creed III (NA) Other

As a history lover, I was very excited to personally take part in most of the important parts of the American revolution. Though of course one person wouldn't have had such influence, but it was still great to be able to take part in the great battles and protests. I also loved that it was from the point of view of a Native American. It showed the blending of the native's and the European's culture and lives, the conflicts and the benefits. Along with the main plot of the American revolution and Connor's quest to save his home village was the huge number of side quests. The map is the largest Assassin's Creed map by far, making it more interesting to collect all the trinkets and explore the world than in the past worlds. It also made it more difficult, causing one to tire of finding feathers or new hunting areas. Along with the large map also came new features such as hunting. Hunting brought new features such as snares, and it helped add money to your pouch when looting bodies was unfruitful. The map is expanded even more when the ship is added to the equation, and now Connor can sail over huge areas of the sea. The sailing is fun and easy, and the fighting is a great experience. Along with all the other Assassin's creed games, I found that blending the past Assassin's lives with Desmond and the fate of mankind was a plot that I find stupid and tedious. I hated being forced back to the real world in order to finish the game, and I found that plot line very forced and confusing, not to mention boring game play. The "end of the world" arc also causes the game to be very dated. If the game is played after the all important date, it feels very silly. Despite any issues, it is still one of the best Assassin's Creed games, especially for a history nerd.

72

Frustrating, but still Fun

cocoawolf29 | July 26, 2014 | Review of LEGO Batman: The Videogame

For a Batman game, it was disapointing. It is still pretty fun with all the great cars to drive and characters to play as, but the game's frustration aspect often outweighs the fun aspect. The different suits for Batman and his chum are fun and great to use with puzzles, and being able to play as various villains was exciting. However, when playing two player mode, things become extremely frustrating. There is no split screen, so the two players end up dragging each other to their deaths or away from their task. It does promote teamwork, but it's irritating. It's even worse when it's one of the driving or flying missions. They're very dark, often making it difficult to find out what to do. The boss battles are often very repetitive, boring, and annoying, but I don't expect a brilliant show down from a LEGO game. Despite all the annoying aspects, it is still a great game to play with a friend, easily eating up hours of time.

91

Easily the best Lego game

cocoawolf29 | July 25, 2014 | Review of LEGO Lord of the Rings (NA)

I've played most of the other LEGO games, and this one is easily the best. It has split screen, a very important part of two player mode to make the game less frustrating. When not playing a level, one can explore the entire world seen in the Lord of the Rings movies, though the map is of course not to scale. There are hundreds of things to collect and a lot of great characters to buy. There are great weapons and toys to make, my favorite being the disco phial. One of the greatest aspects of this LEGO game is that, unlike other lego games where the characters speak in almost Sims like language, this one actually uses noises and lines from the movies. The levels are great, though sometimes there will be irritating parts where it is difficult to see what should be done. However, overall, it is a very fun experience.

98

One of the Best games in existence

cocoawolf29 | July 25, 2014 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim®

This game is absolutely amazing. This was the game the introduced me to the Elder Scrolls Series, so it was overwhelming. The game is open world, with a huge map with thousands of places to discover and explore. The scenery in the game is unmatched by any other game. Other games may have better or clearer graphics, but I have never seen a game with such sheer beauty and reality. There are bird songs, sounds of the wind in the grass and trees, northern lights, incredible mountains and valleys and rivers, not to mention the dragons that will occasionally fly across the sky in the distance. The sky itself must have been a pain to create. The clouds move and look unique each time you look up, and the weather is constantly changing. Rain, snow, or sunshine all bring different lighting with them, but the weather never seems repetitive. I never once believed that I had seen this storm or sky before. It was always changing. To make the beauty even more intense, there is always beautiful background music to go along with all your exploring and site seeing. Say you don't want to take advantage of the beautiful scenery. That's fine, even though I'd be satisfied with the exploring and view alone in this game. The main plot is crucial to unlocking skills for the rest of the game, even if the ending is a bit anticlimactic and short. There are hundreds of side quests, whether it's just killing a giant for a jarl to get the bounty or it's one of the complicated quest lines like the Thieves Guild or Dark Brotherhood. The range of weapons, skills, improvements, and items is astounding. There are dozens of different adversaries to confront, and each has their own weakness to exploit and strength to avoid. This game holds hundreds of hours of gameplay. If you want to do everything that game has to offer, better set aside 200+ hours. Though this game is amazing, there are still of course some bugs. There are instances of being unable to complete a quest because the roster bugged or the person that you needed to finish it was killed. However, the glitches can often times be very funny, like a dragon skeleton giggling up into the sky after dying. Problems are to be expected in such a huge game, and they are easily worth it to play such a great game. I hope I can find another game this good in the future.

87

My Favorite Game so far

cocoawolf29 | July 25, 2014 | Review of Batman Arkham Origins

I will admit that it's my favorite because I have a weakness for interactions between Joker and Batman, but it really was a fabulous game. It greatly resembled Arkham City with the fighting style and gadgets, but some of the glitches were smoothed out, resulting in a fighting style that felt smoother and quicker. Some of the fights were repetitive of Arkham City, but others were original and satisfyingly challenging.

There were similar puzzles to the other games as well, with new, more unfamiliar side quests. The new detective mode was a fun and interesting way to view any crime scenes discovered, and the few new gadgets that they added to the utility belt became indispensable during the game, especially during predator mode and the challenge maps. The plot is what set the game above the others for me. Arkham Origins is the origins of Batman, and this left the door open for the player to view Batman's meeting of many of his classic villains first hand. The story and characters made up for any monotonous fights and glitches, and it was wonderful to play another game as the Caped Crusader. It went well beyond my expectations.