Reviews by coldrefreader

87

A must for 8/16-BIT RPG lovers

coldrefreader | Sept. 13, 2014 | Review of Millennium 2: Take Me Higher

Millennium 2 is an enjoyable game, as much as the previous. The game is smooth, with no bugs ( or very little ), fine music and art work. There are also many quests and the many secret areas are a challenge to be found, so that's gonna keep you into playing it. One thing i personally liked was that we can change difficulty, easy for...you know, being easy, and hard for people who want a challenge. Overall, it has many pros, but very few cons. I would also recommend the other episodes of the series. It's going to be a good spent time.

77

Fun and addictive

coldrefreader | Sept. 12, 2014 | Review of The Escapists

Many would say: "Another boring indie game", like me, but I decided to give it a try. It wasn't a bad choice, i managed to play it for like 30 hours. But it was worth it, I still play it from time to time. I will now share my pros and cons about this game:

Pros: Hard to pass / We choose our path / A fine crafting system / We can save our progress / NPC-s interacting with each other

Cons: Don't buy this if you're into customisation, this game offers you to pick a Name only / Boring music, pick up your own

So shortly, tough, you don't just run around, you craft stuff and if you do a bad choice you can load the game if you saved it earlier. It's also funny watching the prisoners.

34

Disappointing

coldrefreader | Sept. 4, 2014 | Review of Depth Hunter 2: Deep Dive

I got excited when i saw the description, BUT that was the trick. The max time you can play and find new content is 5 hours. Well, i'll point out that this game offers: You enter the game, look at the map and see 3 big areas [( Thailand -> South Africa reefs -> Bahamas(biggest)]. And while you're there, you will aim on Missions, which include spearfishing, taking pictures, finding specific fish and hunting for treasure. They repeat many times and the time to finish them is around 7 minutes. There are a lot of different fish : sharks, jellyfish, sea turtles and many more. Graphics are also quite fine, detailed and unique, makes you feel like a diver. Sounds are also good. The things which are bad, however, are the boring mechanics and gameplay, which is the reason why the game is so not worth it. Hitbox is broken, the game gets very repetitive and un-entertaining. You can acquire gold by killing any type of fish and use it for upgrades like your swim fins. When you upgrade everything, you become the god of the seas, killing everything instantly, also after that the gold becomes useless.

Short version - Pros: Good graphics and sounds Cons: Repetitive, boring and un-entertaining.

The game has a lot of potential, but lacks a LOT of content. I hope they will either make a sequel or focus more on this game. Hope it helped.

74

Get ready for meeting death 1000 times!

coldrefreader | Aug. 27, 2014 | Review of Dark Souls II

This game really knows how to kill you in so many ways, after half minute of playing it I really died. Now, i will show my impressions of the game:

CONTROL : It took me a bit to get used to. Clumsy turning, slow recovery from weapon swings, and more. I would recommend to anyone picking this up for the first time, run around for a few minutes, get used to how your character moves.

COMBAT : The combat is every bit as hard as you have heard. For a beginner like me , it was merciless. However, once you learn HOW to fight, it is one of the most rewarding experiences in recent gaming memory. Going back and totally dominating something that basically has humiliated me on prior attempts is nothing short of pure joy.

And it only gets better. As you adapt to the controls, and the enemies behaviours, you get bolder. You get aggressive. And, you get dead. he he. The game will always remind you if you get to cocky.

STORY : I will be honest, I focussed more on the gameplay than the story. The story is good, but feels a little tacked on. Lots to listen to and read though.

GRAPHICS/WORLD : I really didn't enjoy the graphics at first, but after a while i got used to it. Some places can take your breath out. Also, monsters(they're monsters after all) don't look so ugly.

So this is it, a beautiful world with ugly creatures in which you're gonna die every time you get curious.

100

Most amusing purchase i've ever did

coldrefreader | Aug. 24, 2014 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim®

I saw so many recommending reviews, and they said the truth. I LOVE this game, because..well..it has so much in it: open world, hidden places, and with one of the DLC-s we can even have a home! The workshop has many player-made mods which keep the game feeling new. Also Skyrim seems to be the best of this very succesful franchise, so even if you skipped the other, you will love this, but it's better to play them first, so you can get deeper sense of the game.

94

Best stragedy game out

coldrefreader | Aug. 21, 2014 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® V

This game offers you great ways of experiencing the joy of dominating over your enemies: Diplomany, culture, science and domination. You can play as many different leaders(especially with DLC), learn how they work, what's their weakness and what kind of supremacy fits them. The mod workshop is also great, many people contribute to the game with many mods you can enjoy. Also, if you dislike to play with players, there are AI. They can be set on many difficulties, from Settler(very easy) to Deity(You will never win this by yourself). There is much more of content i can describe, but theres no space for that! The only bad thing is multiplayer - after 200 turns, the game takes a very long time to finish, because of all the units everybody have. I recommend this game highly, and never forget - Never trust Ghandhi.

97

The best multiplayer FPS and RPG out there

coldrefreader | Aug. 21, 2014 | Review of Borderlands 2

This game brings new, and very good version of old together. The characters are great, there are perks, skill trees, and many more. There are secret chests filled with great stuff if you find them, and one special Minecraft easter egg(with bad*ss creepers!). Other thing you enjoy is the fact the game is filled with fun. You can set a psycho on fire, you can troll around when you duel a friend, etc. Customization is also great: you can change your hairstyle and outfit(it changes your hair color) till you find what suits you great. The only thing you won't enjoy too much is the fact if you play with friends, only the one who hosted won't have any problems with lag, but you won't see it much. I recommend this game very much.

39

Well..

coldrefreader | Aug. 12, 2014 | Review of Starbound

Bear in mind that this is a review of the game in its current state.

Well, this looks like Terraria player's dream, but it actually isn't. The game looks funny and exciting at start, but after a while of playing you realise these things:

  1. There is a lot of grinding: The currency ingame is Pixels. It is similar to the xp at Minecraft, but you use that to buy stuff aswell. You will do ANYTHING to get them, nothing else matters.

  2. The combat is boring: Basicly the combat here is just jumping around and hoping you will hit the mob you try to kill.

  3. Bosses are easily handled(They're bosses for a reason, don't you think?) : There are certain tricks you can use to kill bosses fast. All you have to do it place dirt all around it , with some little hole and you have the perfect trap for a boss.

  4. Devs are total idiots : Updates are very slow, with little worthwhile information being released to the public. The official Chucklefish forum is one of the most heavily censored websites you will ever visit on the internet. Every single criticism, how valid it may be, gets brushed under the rug as ''trolling'' and the user has a good chance of getting banned.

I do not recommend this game, because your money will be thrown in the air. Do not support some rotten indie developers.