Reviews by coldrefreader

83

One of the best classic games

coldrefreader | Dec. 12, 2014 | Review of Sid Meier's Covert Action (Classic)

It's great, even in times like these where apparantly many favor graphics over gameplay. The controls might be confusing and irritating until you get used to them. You can create a character, who is male or female, and then you can choose 4 "skill sets" - Driving, Crypto, Electronics and Combat. It is a bit similar to Payday 2, the skill sets, choices of going loud or stealthy, but you can also drive here. It's pretty much worth it for it's price, and it will give you a lot of experience, so i recommend this.

86

An old-school strategy game

coldrefreader | Dec. 10, 2014 | Review of iO

In this game you play as a ball named O, where you can become bigger or smaller to help beat some puzzles. It also has a leaderboard so you can brag if you beated your friends and is good for everybody, since it's both easy and really hard sometimes.

Your goals are simple: get O to the other end of the platform, wheres a portal and you can proceed to the next level. As i said, you can come smaller or bigger and beat different puzzles. The graphics aren't one of the best, since it's just basic shaping and no colors at the background, but the gameplay makes it up for them. The Audio is also not one of the best, but if you use your own music you will be fine. Overall.. a very simple, yet challenging game, where graphics and audio really won't be very likeable.

85

A little addition to a lot of Civilizations

coldrefreader | Dec. 9, 2014 | Review of Double Civilization and Scenario Pack: Spain and Inca (MAC)

In addition to the civilizations there is actually also a scenario called The Conquest of the New World Scenario (original version). Spain and Inca have some interesting gameplay.

Spain is all about luck into finding Natural Wonders so you can become a great civ(a.k.a a lot of exploration), so lucky Spain game would be great and interesting(500g for being first to find a Natural Wonder and doubles it's tile yields[Like if it gives 8 faith, it would give Spain 16]) than the unlucky Spain, because everybody would have already been settled near them/found the wonders first and you get 100g. Of course they have 2 unique units. The Tercio instead of Musketman and Conquistador instead of Knight. Conquistador has something really good in it - it can found cities on foreign land, but it is a medieval unit, so i guess it's settlers before it. The Inca are also into exploration, since they ignore the movement delay Hills(for example a 2 moves unit goes into a hill and looses both moves, not just 1 like at Grasslands).Also, they don't have any maintenance for having improvements at hills(roads, etc) and it's half maintenance everywhere else. They have the Terrace farm, which you can build only on hills. It has a trait, which gives 1 bonus food for every nearby mountain, giving the Inca some advantage than others if your cities are near a lot of mountains(mountains are un-workable). So the Inca would do great in a 3 billion aged world(More mountains/hills) while others would have a harder time.

94

Another good Telltale Game

coldrefreader | Dec. 1, 2014 | Review of The Wolf Among Us

I got the game, started playing it immediatly after it got installed and the minute i started it i knew i won't be disappointed. The thing with Telltale's games is that they never disappoint. The Wolf Among Us in particular has a really good storyline, and in the way you act/respond you change every bit of it and how you're seen by the others. The characters are really interesting and well-created(a whole bunch of them), graphics are also made in a good and unique way. One thing i found really good is that the music actually adapts to the atmosphere really fast and in a good way. The best thing tho is that you have multiple choices of how to end the game and show off what your character really is. TL:DR: Play the bad cop or the good cop and everybody will remember everything you did.

84

Best of Civilization

coldrefreader | Nov. 29, 2014 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® V: The Complete Edition

I got it on sale, and so far, i think i might've been one of the best purchases i've made, it doesn't require a strong PC to run and yet it runs really smoothly. Pros and Cons: +Great music(When at war and when it's peaceful) +Somewhat tricky AI players - the joke of Gandhi nuking you never gets old +A lot of ways you can win (Politics, Religion, Domination, etc) +Some units which can change the tide to go to your favor ~Multiplayer has issues, but you can play Offline ~Somehow the strategy is not that complex: if you go at war you don't need to be experienced to defend yourself, etc.

The price value is good, but i would rather wait for a sale, it's worth it.

77

Keeps up the humor of the series

coldrefreader | Nov. 21, 2014 | Review of Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel

Like it feels like a re-skin like Civ: BE, it actually shows of it's good parts as you play it: Pros: -With the new gravity, you jump like you have a jetpack, -Obviously the sense of humor it's precedessors have, -More and more different guns in any aspect -New playable characters Cons: -Of course, it feels like BL2 as it has so big similarity to the design layout -Repetitive missions(but not so much) Overall a great game, don't get your hopes skyhigh for totally different game than BL2, and it's not that pricey, so i guess it's good.

72

A good sequel

coldrefreader | Nov. 19, 2014 | Review of Worlds of Magic

It's the sequel of Master of Magic, and it really fits with nowadays's standards. Of course, MoM and the sequel are quite different in some ways, like: The spell book section. It's really random(i guess) and you will need to look at the internet for most of it, like how you rank and obtain more spells. Other is this - you can make artifacts without actually casting overland spells, which means you can do both separately at the same time. The unit attributes are more complex and complicated, which is something.. annoying.

TL:DR:Overall, it's a good sequel, has a lot of content, obviously better to be different, not a lame re-skin(like CoD franchise) and is still in early access, which is actually good, because it will get even better at release. I am not sure if now or later is better to buy it, but, your choice.

87

Wow

coldrefreader | Oct. 21, 2014 | Review of Hatoful Boyfriend

It all starts in a high school for birds, yes, that is really unusual for anyone. There you can talk with..birds and overall you have to find your true love, or get killed. Anyways, my pros and cons are these: Pros -enjoyable characters -you can date birds -our choices might get us killed, it's not all about talking with birds. -graphics are fine, but gameplay > graphics -music won't make you feel like instantly muting and using your own Cons -you have to play the same line all over to get multiple endings -gameplay is simple, fitting just for casuals

87

A must for 8/16-BIT RPG lovers

coldrefreader | Sept. 13, 2014 | Review of Millennium 2: Take Me Higher

Millennium 2 is an enjoyable game, as much as the previous. The game is smooth, with no bugs ( or very little ), fine music and art work. There are also many quests and the many secret areas are a challenge to be found, so that's gonna keep you into playing it. One thing i personally liked was that we can change difficulty, easy for...you know, being easy, and hard for people who want a challenge. Overall, it has many pros, but very few cons. I would also recommend the other episodes of the series. It's going to be a good spent time.

77

Fun and addictive

coldrefreader | Sept. 12, 2014 | Review of The Escapists

Many would say: "Another boring indie game", like me, but I decided to give it a try. It wasn't a bad choice, i managed to play it for like 30 hours. But it was worth it, I still play it from time to time. I will now share my pros and cons about this game:

Pros: Hard to pass / We choose our path / A fine crafting system / We can save our progress / NPC-s interacting with each other

Cons: Don't buy this if you're into customisation, this game offers you to pick a Name only / Boring music, pick up your own

So shortly, tough, you don't just run around, you craft stuff and if you do a bad choice you can load the game if you saved it earlier. It's also funny watching the prisoners.

34

Disappointing

coldrefreader | Sept. 4, 2014 | Review of Depth Hunter 2: Deep Dive

I got excited when i saw the description, BUT that was the trick. The max time you can play and find new content is 5 hours. Well, i'll point out that this game offers: You enter the game, look at the map and see 3 big areas [( Thailand -> South Africa reefs -> Bahamas(biggest)]. And while you're there, you will aim on Missions, which include spearfishing, taking pictures, finding specific fish and hunting for treasure. They repeat many times and the time to finish them is around 7 minutes. There are a lot of different fish : sharks, jellyfish, sea turtles and many more. Graphics are also quite fine, detailed and unique, makes you feel like a diver. Sounds are also good. The things which are bad, however, are the boring mechanics and gameplay, which is the reason why the game is so not worth it. Hitbox is broken, the game gets very repetitive and un-entertaining. You can acquire gold by killing any type of fish and use it for upgrades like your swim fins. When you upgrade everything, you become the god of the seas, killing everything instantly, also after that the gold becomes useless.

Short version - Pros: Good graphics and sounds Cons: Repetitive, boring and un-entertaining.

The game has a lot of potential, but lacks a LOT of content. I hope they will either make a sequel or focus more on this game. Hope it helped.

74

Get ready for meeting death 1000 times!

coldrefreader | Aug. 27, 2014 | Review of Dark Souls II

This game really knows how to kill you in so many ways, after half minute of playing it I really died. Now, i will show my impressions of the game:

CONTROL : It took me a bit to get used to. Clumsy turning, slow recovery from weapon swings, and more. I would recommend to anyone picking this up for the first time, run around for a few minutes, get used to how your character moves.

COMBAT : The combat is every bit as hard as you have heard. For a beginner like me , it was merciless. However, once you learn HOW to fight, it is one of the most rewarding experiences in recent gaming memory. Going back and totally dominating something that basically has humiliated me on prior attempts is nothing short of pure joy.

And it only gets better. As you adapt to the controls, and the enemies behaviours, you get bolder. You get aggressive. And, you get dead. he he. The game will always remind you if you get to cocky.

STORY : I will be honest, I focussed more on the gameplay than the story. The story is good, but feels a little tacked on. Lots to listen to and read though.

GRAPHICS/WORLD : I really didn't enjoy the graphics at first, but after a while i got used to it. Some places can take your breath out. Also, monsters(they're monsters after all) don't look so ugly.

So this is it, a beautiful world with ugly creatures in which you're gonna die every time you get curious.

100

Most amusing purchase i've ever did

coldrefreader | Aug. 24, 2014 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim®

I saw so many recommending reviews, and they said the truth. I LOVE this game, because..well..it has so much in it: open world, hidden places, and with one of the DLC-s we can even have a home! The workshop has many player-made mods which keep the game feeling new. Also Skyrim seems to be the best of this very succesful franchise, so even if you skipped the other, you will love this, but it's better to play them first, so you can get deeper sense of the game.

94

Best stragedy game out

coldrefreader | Aug. 21, 2014 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® V

This game offers you great ways of experiencing the joy of dominating over your enemies: Diplomany, culture, science and domination. You can play as many different leaders(especially with DLC), learn how they work, what's their weakness and what kind of supremacy fits them. The mod workshop is also great, many people contribute to the game with many mods you can enjoy. Also, if you dislike to play with players, there are AI. They can be set on many difficulties, from Settler(very easy) to Deity(You will never win this by yourself). There is much more of content i can describe, but theres no space for that! The only bad thing is multiplayer - after 200 turns, the game takes a very long time to finish, because of all the units everybody have. I recommend this game highly, and never forget - Never trust Ghandhi.

97

The best multiplayer FPS and RPG out there

coldrefreader | Aug. 21, 2014 | Review of Borderlands 2

This game brings new, and very good version of old together. The characters are great, there are perks, skill trees, and many more. There are secret chests filled with great stuff if you find them, and one special Minecraft easter egg(with bad*ss creepers!). Other thing you enjoy is the fact the game is filled with fun. You can set a psycho on fire, you can troll around when you duel a friend, etc. Customization is also great: you can change your hairstyle and outfit(it changes your hair color) till you find what suits you great. The only thing you won't enjoy too much is the fact if you play with friends, only the one who hosted won't have any problems with lag, but you won't see it much. I recommend this game very much.

39

Well..

coldrefreader | Aug. 12, 2014 | Review of Starbound

Bear in mind that this is a review of the game in its current state.

Well, this looks like Terraria player's dream, but it actually isn't. The game looks funny and exciting at start, but after a while of playing you realise these things:

  1. There is a lot of grinding: The currency ingame is Pixels. It is similar to the xp at Minecraft, but you use that to buy stuff aswell. You will do ANYTHING to get them, nothing else matters.

  2. The combat is boring: Basicly the combat here is just jumping around and hoping you will hit the mob you try to kill.

  3. Bosses are easily handled(They're bosses for a reason, don't you think?) : There are certain tricks you can use to kill bosses fast. All you have to do it place dirt all around it , with some little hole and you have the perfect trap for a boss.

  4. Devs are total idiots : Updates are very slow, with little worthwhile information being released to the public. The official Chucklefish forum is one of the most heavily censored websites you will ever visit on the internet. Every single criticism, how valid it may be, gets brushed under the rug as ''trolling'' and the user has a good chance of getting banned.

I do not recommend this game, because your money will be thrown in the air. Do not support some rotten indie developers.