Reviews by crankafoo

85

It's Counter-Strike

crankafoo | Dec. 20, 2013 | Review of Counter Strike: Global Offensive

Not much has changed, but that's not a bad thing. Counter-Strike: Global Offensive is a fun shooter with an emphasis on team play. Buy your weapons and take out the other team or plant the bomb. It's solid fun and looks great. Must-have if you are new to Counter-Strike or want an update from Counter-Strike: Source.

90

What a treat.

crankafoo | Aug. 15, 2013 | Review of Dishonored®: The Brigmore Witches™

The story DLC for Dishonored has been nothing but a great experience. When playing the original game I wanted more Daud, and got it with the first story DLC. And now I get more of my favourite Dishonored character. This DLC carries the same graphical fidelity that the main game had plus some. There is some great enemy design here that shows off how creative this team is. The fantastic level design shines here again letting you enjoy every minute you play. I loved playing through every single area because there's always something new to try out, especially with the new Daud-only powers which, in some cases, completely changed how I played the game. I loved the over-arching story between the main game and both DLC's and I hope Arkane keeps this series going. If you liked Dishonored, you must pick this up.

73

Good, but not great.

crankafoo | Aug. 14, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Invisible War

It falls a little flat in the areas the first game excelled in, but it's still a lot of fun and intriguing to play. It is an older game, so don't expect the most advanced graphics to date, but it's acceptable for the most part and good for anyone looking for a retro PC game. The gameplay is solid and I personally found it better than the first, but the story falls flat from the original. You'll still find yourself interested to see what happens, but it's not as compelling as the amazing first game. There's a lot of ways to play, so you can play the game with stealth and easily switch from being in the shadows to go guns blazing. Anyone who has played Deus Ex and Deus Ex: HR who finds themself wanting more Deus Ex, you should pick this up.

98

More grand strategy!

crankafoo | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Europa Universalis IV

If you're a fan of Crusader Kings or any other grand strategy game, I'll make it easy for you, get this. You can even bring over your saves from Crusader Kings II. It's still a little buggy in places, but it's still a really solid experience. You'll be tweaking taxes and making cross-country trades in no time. You can change almost anything, which will kill countless hours. It's not the most graphically impressive game, but it's not what you buy it for. You buy it for the micro-management and great stories you'll tell after playing through a match. I can't wait to try it with friends and see what will happen when multiple people mess around with everything. It's a lot of fun for people who love the little things and messing with a lot of very minor tweaks all the time. It's a must-buy for any fan of the genre.

91

A big comeback.

crankafoo | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Max Payne 3

Max is back and ready to shoot some dudes. You'll be taken to South America and even back to Max's old stomping grounds in New Jersey. This offers up a great variety in level design and some challenging scenarios. This isn't the best Max has ever been, but it's definitely a great action game with a strong story and characters. The gunplay that stood out in the games before it has only been improved to a shine here. You'll be feeling a true badass when you dive through a door and take out three or four bad guys before even hitting the ground. It's gritty, it's gruesome, and it's awesome. If you're looking for amazing gameplay, pick this up. Not to mention it's fantastic soundtrack. (seriously)

88

Easily my favourite GTA.

crankafoo | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas

With a huge landscape to explore and goof around in, it's easy to see why so many people have fallen in love with GTA: San Andreas. You play as CJ, a guy who is infamous with the local police force and coming back home following the murder of his mother. You try to re-establish your gang as a force to be reckon with, and you'll have a blast doing so. You can customize CJ in many ways, from tattoo's to his weight. You can fly in planes, customize cars in tons of ways, and even bike around the multiple islands. The missions and fun and plenty varied, and the characters you come across are just like you'd expect from a Rockstar game, charming in their own way. You can even download SA:MP with is a multiplayer mod for San Andreas where there are lots of people playing online, pulling insane shenanigans. While the game doesn't hold up all too well in graphics and a few bugs, it's still acceptable and you'll easily loose track of time while playing.

93

Blast from the past.

crankafoo | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of DuckTales: Remastered

This isn't for a lot of people, but for anyone who wants to re-experience a classic game, grab this. You'll be jumping around on your cane as Scrooge McDuck, battling his wealthy and otherworldy foes on a quest for booty. It's smooth and how it looks definitely stands out from a lot of stuff out there today. I love how the characters look and how they've grabbed some of the old voice-talent to do some work here. It plays almost exactly like the original with a few minor tweaks, but I couldn't ask for more. I wish they would've included a mode to let it look like the original though. Would've ben a nice throwback. But if you were a fan of the show or the game, I'd advise you to grab this. Very nostalgic, very fun.

87

A good sequel.

crankafoo | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Payday 2

It doesn't offer all of the improvements I was hoping for, but it's still a lot better. Still offers (mostly) the same shooting mechanics as the first, but there's a lot of customization for all of your weapons. There's also an RPG element with your classes. You choose one of four classes and as you level up, your class gets more abilities to use and this helps with smoothing things out with harder missions. You can level up by collecting experience from missions and that gives you the chance to unlock a load of extra stuff from masks to gun add-ons. Aside from that, there's a lot of replayability offered through the missions as they change key things each time you go through. You'll get a lot of bang for your buck here, and if you liked the first, pick this up.

92

Lots of fun.

crankafoo | Aug. 12, 2013 | Review of Natural Selection II

This is one of those games where every match can play out completely different from the last. It's got solid gunplay and it's a ton of fun to play as the aliens. You can be a mere minion/soldier or a commander for your respective team. The commander will set waypoints and direct the team to build things in certain places, along with managing resources for ammo and health packs for a team in need. Natural Selection 2 is a game where conquering the other team actually feels very rewarding and challenging. There's a lot of mod support which is always fantastic. It's also a blast with a group of friends, so find some buddies to sit down and play with. You won't regret it.

80

Not for story, just for gameplay.

crankafoo | Aug. 12, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite: Clash in the Clouds

This is a DLC that revolves completely around the gameplay of BioShock: Infinite. There's no great story here or anything, just some good fun run and gun. You'll be forced to use all of your abilities to their fullest and then some with the challenges presented to you. There's a lot of replayability here in the form of blue ribbon challenges that give you a specific challenge for each wave in all of the levels. You'll be upgraded as you play through a map, but they don't carry over to your next playthrough of said map or any other you choose. It's not what a lot of people were expecting, but it's a pretty cheap DLC for a bunch of content. If you liked the combat in Infinite, get this.

85

Not the sequel we wanted, but a great little spin-off.

crankafoo | Aug. 11, 2013 | Review of Alan Wake's American Nightmare

For a smaller title, this game looks fantastic and plays the exact same as its big brother. You'll control series protagonist, Alan Wake, as he battles through the darkness to find his way back to reality. This is, of course, a smaller portion than the man game before it, but is a great addition. You'll be dodging shadow men and taking them down left and right. It does get a little monotonous, but the story and characters keep you going forward to see what's going to happen. If you liked Alan Wake and wanted more after the DLC, get this. You won't regret it.

90

Brutally difficult, but extremely rewarding.

crankafoo | Aug. 11, 2013 | Review of Super Meat Boy

Play this at your own risk, it's extremely difficult and not for casual players. It's all about reflexes and precise movement, but it's a heck of a time to play! You'll feel incredible when you master all of the challenging normal levels, but even more so when you beat the dark ones, which up the ante. You'll unlock new characters with new attributes who change how you play and you might enjoy playing a bit more, so keep pushing on and unlock them all. You'll be jumping between buzz saws and bouncing off walls like a pro in no time.

88

Needs a bit of work, but good fun!

crankafoo | Aug. 11, 2013 | Review of Rise of the Triad

A great attempt at reviving this old-school type of shooter, with tight controls and a solid look. I have always enjoyed these type of shooters and I'm hopeful this comes back in a big way. The game feels a bit unbalanced in a few places, but it's nothing they can't fix. I've experienced a few graphical glitches as well, but that's another thing easily fixed. I hope they continue to support the game with more content and modes, I'll gladly drop the cash. You should definitely pick this up if you're into twitch shooters.

20

Real ick.

crankafoo | Aug. 11, 2013 | Review of Dark

I'd recommend you don't buy it. It's unpolished, unappealing, and a little sad. It's a fine attempt and I'm always up for more vampire games, because they can do some really great things with the concept of vampires. But this isn't one of them. The controls are wonky and the whole game feels out of place. It's art style doesn't help either, it's far from attractive and doesn't have any flair to it. I wonder how some of these really unrefined games get released and I'm curious to know the budget of this title was. If it's low, it shows and was a good attempt, but I hope that there wasn't much cash spent on this.

85

Too spooky?

crankafoo | Aug. 10, 2013 | Review of Condemned: Criminal Origins

You won't cry yourself to sleep at night from sheer terror, but you will likely jump and shout more than a few times. Condemned: Criminal Origins is a fantastic horror experience with some sweet combat to boot. It may be a little rough around the edges, but don't take it lightly. You'll fight madmen and crazed druggies in mostly close-quarter situations, just make sure you don't let them get the upper hand. There are guns, but your ammo isn't plenty and you will likely end up giving more enemies a whack with the butt of your gun rather than shooting them. Plus, most of the time it's dark and it's not very smart to fire blindly into the shadows. It feels as if you're being hunted by crazies, so be careful. If there's any horror/fps fan out there who hasn't played this game, what're you doing? Buy it now.

85

A classic.

crankafoo | Aug. 10, 2013 | Review of FINAL FANTASY VII

This isn't the best RPG ever made, nor does it hold up very well. But it is exceptional and definitely a game any RPG fan should play at least once. This paved the way for 3D RPG's we have today and should always be remembered by gamers for it's great story and solid gameplay. It's lengthy and keeps your attention for the duration with a compelling story and characters. Sit back and enjoy, this one's a classic.

95

Got Civ V? Get this.

crankafoo | Aug. 10, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization V: Brave New World (NA)

Civilization was definitely a complete game, but when you purchase the BNW expansion, you'll be wondering how you played without it. With even more civilizations and the fantastic additions to the policy and culture systems, it feels like a brand new game. The new civs are a blast to play with their own advantages that make them stand out in the already crowded selection. You'll be trying new things every game and generally be rewarded for it. This is what every game developer should strive to add/change in their DLC. Been on the fence about this? Don't be; just buy it, you won't regret it.

90

Civilization V will be your favourite time waster.

crankafoo | Aug. 10, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® V

The fantastic strategy franchise keeps its addictive formula and shows why it's a force to be reckon with in Civilization V. Not only will you lose countless hours with it's "one more turn..." gameplay, but you'll get a new experience every time you play. With tons of civilizations, map options, and scenarios to choose from you'll be playing long after your purchase. This is a must-have for any strategy fan and is easy enough for newcomers to the genre. I can't recommend Civilization V enough.