Reviews by crazybear86

85

Dark and atmospheric FPS

crazybear86 | Oct. 27, 2012 | Review of Metro 2033 PRE

In Metro 2033 you play as the 20year old character Artjom who lives in the undergrounds of moscow - the metro station. On your journey through the 7 chapter campaign you encounter a lot of different monsters and enemies which you eventually have to fight against.

Metro 2033 can most likely be compared to the game Stalker as it has a pretty similar atmosphere. The main difference is the fact that is a pretty linear game, it plays underground (or at least 95% of the time) and that is has a lot less bugs. The graphics are great, the voice acting is very good and the controls are modern standard of fps. The things that raise it off from the normal fps game are still really great atmosphere which definitely scares you more than once or twice, the interesting story and the cool and unused setting.

If you are looking for a dark and atmospheric first person shooter - i can fully recommend this game!

70

Decent RPG, but sadly no Gothic

crazybear86 | Oct. 26, 2012 | Review of ArcaniA DNS

Arcania is the 4th part of the Gothic series. As the name already implies the game sadly has nearly nothing to do with its predessors. We get a new protagonist, a new area and a story which is more or less completely detached from the first three gothic games.

The pros of Arcania are the pretty good graphics (like in the first parts the whole world seems to be handcrafted and not generated like in oblivion), the sound (music as well as voice acting) is gothic-like pretty good, the world looks pretty interesting and fun to explore and in a break from tradition the game is actually pretty bug-free. The cons on the other side are the pretty dull story, the stupid combat system (permanent left clicks like in Gothic 3) and the horrible skill system.

But don't get me wrong - Arcania is not a bad game - I actually had fun playing it - but there are so many factors which got totally screwed compared to the great first three parts, that I feel kind of sad. Still it is somehow enjoyable.

82

Pretty enjoyable old school shooter

crazybear86 | Oct. 25, 2012 | Review of Hard Reset

At first glance Hard Reset looks like a mix of Blade Runner and Unreal Tournament. The colorful graphics with lots of lighting effects, explosions and other special effects, drag you in from the first minute. The rock music soundtrack in combination with the gameplay (which more or less consists of only shooting, running and shooting) is able to convey an incredibly satisfying feeling. The story is totally irrelevant and therefore could be summarized in 1 or 2 sentences. The robotic opponents vary from small monsters to giant screen filler ones (which could derive from a god of war game). People who are keen to shoot through nicely designed levels and do not mind a non existing story should immediately grab this game!

84

As good as the first part

crazybear86 | Oct. 21, 2012 | Review of Syberia 2

Syberia 2 is the sucessor to Syberia 1 (who would have known that .) and continues the story of Kate Walker and Hans Voralberg. They are both still on their journey to find Syberia and who knows if they will actually find it....

The gameplay mechanics are more or less completely the same as in Syberia 1. Like in the first part we navigate Kate through beautiful designed 2d-backgrounds which in combination with the great voice acting and music are able to convey a great and unique atmosphere. The puzzles fit very well into the setting and atmosphere and are never too hard nor too easy. In my opinion they are even a little bit better than in the first part. The story is not able to keep pace with the first part but it still pretty enjoyable. Fans of the first part should definitely grab this one as well!

80

Not as bad as everyone says it is

crazybear86 | Oct. 11, 2012 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever

I have to admit I was not one these gamers who were waiting for years and years to finally play this game. Still I tried it out when it got released and I have to admit: I actually enjoyed it. Sure the graphics are totally outdated (textures, effects and environment), the gameplay is absolutely old school (with all its ups and downs) and the artificial intelligence is kind of stupid. The sound on the other hand is pretty great - the voice of the Duke fits perfectly and I even enjoyed the humor (but this is purely a matter of taste). There are lots of different things in the environment with which you can interact with (even some minigames) and the boss fight are - although not challenging at all - fun. Overall I have to say that I enjoyed this game a lot more than some of the modern day shooters (homefront, battlefield 3 or Fear 3) and therefore did not regret my purchase.

80

Atmospheric adventure with a good story, but poor puzzles

crazybear86 | Oct. 6, 2012 | Review of Still Life

Still Life is a classic Point & Click 2d horror adventure. The player slips into the role of detective Victoria McPherson who investigates a murder series in chicago in the year 2004 as well as Gustav McPherson - the grandfather of Vic - who investigates a similar case in prague in the year 1929. One of the main clues of this adventure is the fact, that you regularly switch between both roles while you uncover the story. Although the graphics are little bit outdated, Still Life is still able to create a very dark and mysterious atmosphere. The puzzle mainly cover investigating crime scenes and using tools to collect evidences. While most of the puzzles are pretty consistent there are also some pretty pointless ones which do not make sense at all and only seem to be included to extend the game. Still I would say that everybody who is looking for dark atmospheric adventure game which mainly focuses the good and interesting story, should take a look at Still Life. If you are looking for an adventure game with good graphics and clever puzzles instead - you might want to skip this, as it only mediocre in these aspects.

84

Good sequel to a great game!

crazybear86 | Oct. 5, 2012 | Review of BioShock® 2 DNS

Bioshock 2 is the sequel to the gorgeous first part. It is set around 8 years after the end of the first part, and this time you are not only able to fight Big Daddies but this time you are actually are ONE! As you progress in the storyline you will find out that there are actually even scarier enemies than the normal Big Daddies. But I won't spoil that here. Be curious to find it out yourself...

Although Bioshock 2 is not as good as the first one, it is still a great experience. In contrast to the first Bioshock the second part focuses the shooter and action aspect a little bit more. While technical aspects (graphics, sound, controls) are still as great as in the first one, the story, the characters and the atmosphere do not reach its quality.

Still it is a very good good which stands out of all the modern day ego-shooters. If you like shooters with a fresh setting - be sure to grab this game!

84

Nice Adventure with an unique atmosphere

crazybear86 | Oct. 5, 2012 | Review of Syberia

Syberia a nice adventure game, produced and developed by Microids. The game covers the story of the young lawyer Kate Walker who is whose mission is to find out about the whereabout of Hans Voralberg.

The pros are the lovingly graphics which totally convey the "lonely" Benoît Sokal atmosphere, the tricky puzzles which neither are too easy nor too hard, the great music and the interesting characters (Oscar is just lovely!). The cons on the other side are the pretty short length of the game, the backtracking of visited locations and the "kind of rushed" ending.

Although I fully understand people arguing about the game being a little bit tedious, I for myself absolutely loved the setting and atmosphere and was curious to find out about Hans and his story. In short: If you are able let yourself into this great atmosphere, I am sure you will enjoy this adventure as much as I did.

86

A great german rpg with a poor story and dull combat system

crazybear86 | Oct. 4, 2012 | Review of Gothic 3: Gold Edition

While Gothic 3 had some really heavy issues shortly after its release (constantly crashes, countless bugs, dull combat system ...), the game nowadays is not only playable but also a very enjoying experience for every rpg fan. It offers a large area with different weather zones (snow, dessert, woods), tons of different items, quests with multiple possible solutions, 50hours+ of gameplay, lots of different skills and many more. The only real downside are the (very) poor story and the still flawed combat system. But if you like rpgs, don't get repelled by its bad reputation and definitely take a look. I for myself had a lot fun with it!

90

Breathtaking underwater experience

crazybear86 | Oct. 4, 2012 | Review of BioShock DNS

In Bioshock you descend to the underwater city rapture - back to the 1960s. The game is a kind of first person shooter with rpg elements like upgrades (tonics), spells (plasmids) and such. The story is very interesting and has some nice surprises and twists to offer. The graphics - although already 5 years old, are still quite good (beside some low res textures) and the sound - especially the voice acting is superb. It is only topped by the gorgeous atmosphere which totally let's you feel this underwater city. Therefore I can only say: Get into you diving suit and enjoy this great underwater adventure.

88

Beautiful little plattformer

crazybear86 | Oct. 3, 2012 | Review of Trine

Trine is a beautiful little indie game which let's you play 3 different characters: a strong warrior, an agile thief and a clumsy mage. Each of them offers different strategies to complete the levels, so there is a great replay value. In the later parts of the game, you even have to combine these 3 sets of skills to proceed. Besides the stunning graphics, the music and the (rare) voice acting are pretty good and the controls are almost perfect (both with a gamepad or with a mouse and keyboard). Be sure to grab this nice little gem!

82

Old school adventure with unique characters

crazybear86 | Oct. 3, 2012 | Review of Edna & Harvey: The Breakout

Edna & Harvey: The Breakout is funny and pretty challenging old school adventure game. The hand-drawn 2d-graphics are stickled with details, the characters and dialogues are great and the humour is just superb. The only downside for me were the puzzles which - although most of the time fair - sometimes were too hard and a little bit too absurd. But if you like adventures - definitely grab this one. You won't regret it!