Reviews by crazygrouptrio

10

Not Even Worth a Few Laughs

crazygrouptrio | Jan. 27, 2014 | Review of Guise of the Wolf

This game is horrendous. There is no other way to put it. This game is simply awful in every meaning of the word. It isn't worth the time, the money, or the aggravation you will face upon purchasing this "game".

First off, this isn't an Early Access game. The countless bugs are part of this game's full release. It's pretty clear no one play tested this game. You will find yourself clipping through trees, boulders, walls, and occasionally falling through the ground into the infinite void.

The graphics are intended to be cel-shaded, but the art style fails as the black outline is never rendered properly. Character models are straight up ugly to look at. They will contort and bend in strange ways, the guard's faces have sections literally missing. Sometimes characters will appear completely transparent or black. Even some of the animations are literally missing. If you attack a person as a werewolf, the person will scream, blood will come out, but they will retort to the standard "angel pose" of a basic character model, meaning the animation is literally MISSING.

In terms of story, there isn't much of one. Characters vaguely tell you what to do, and when they do it's ridiculous. At one point you are intended to pickpocket a key off of a guard to progress, but the game doesn't tell you that pickpocketing is even a function.

If you MUST buy this game, for the sake of wanting to become a werewolf, you will need a guide, and then pray that you don't instantly die from falling through the floor, followed by regretting you thought this game was worth the time. Save your money, or buy something else.

83

Amazing Experience - Be ready for the Long Haul

crazygrouptrio | Aug. 5, 2013 | Review of Ecco the Dolphin

Ecco the Dolphin is a fantastic experience. The game looks and feels beautiful. If you don't buy this game, download the soundtrack, because it is possibly the best soundtrack ever composed for a video game. The story is so otherwordly and flows beautifully like the game.

Ecco is a casual puzzle game at heart, so be ready to play it for a long time. Puzzles aren't exactly hard if you're used to them, but take a lot of time and riddle solving. I would recommend this game to anyone and everyone, but I know it's not for everyone.

96

The Best of Sonic, and the Best Experience

crazygrouptrio | Aug. 1, 2013 | Review of Sonic 3 and Knuckles

Sonic games have plummeted over the years, I don't think anyone can argue that. The games just lack the speed and pure fun that the older Sonic's had. This game combo was the pinnacle of Sonic's greatness.

This game is near perfect with its game play, although constantly running can be boring after awhile, you'll soon find that the levels all have secrets that hold power ups, lives, and bonus stages to get the chaos emeralds and eventually become Super Sonic. This is where most of the game's difficult lies.

The stages themselves, as well as the bosses, aren't that difficult, but they aren't supposed to be difficult. The games keeps a steady pace that allows even new players to run and dash through the stages without much effort. This difficult gradually increases (around the Marble Garden Zone speed won't help you much) and becomes a pretty solid experience. But, once you slow down and begin to realize you can collect chaos emeralds and become Super Sonic, the game has a whole new element of discovery that will make you play the game again and again.

If I didn't still own both of these titles for the Sega Genesis, I'd buy them again.

75

A Brilliant Game, but Mind Numbing

crazygrouptrio | Aug. 1, 2013 | Review of L.A. Noire: The Complete Edition

LA Noire is a fantastic game, utilizing new ideas and gameplay elements to make the game feel as close as it possibly can to solving cases in an early crime-ridden America. The feel of the time period is great and convincing.

The gameplay itself is interesting, however after playing for a few hours you'll begin to feel the grind of doing cases isn't really much different. Cases try to add variety and turns and twists, but it can only do so much. The mystery of "who did it?" doesn't add much to drive players, because you're caught up in the grind and you'll be less interested and more annoyed.

If the game sounds interesting to you, it might be worth the price, but I would wait until it is on sale for around $10.

65

Interesting, but Wears Off Fast

crazygrouptrio | July 29, 2013 | Review of Lucius Cap

In this game you play as a young kid, given demonic powers by Satan himself (his shadow has horns, cool effect) and you basically spend your time figuring out ways to use your powers and craftiness to kill off members of the household one at a time (butcher, maid, etc). This starts off really interesting, and being able to explore the entire house is neat, but the experience wears off fast. By about your third or fourth kill you will have gotten the gist of the game and it becomes monotonous, and puzzles become more annoying than clever. If you like creepy, puzzle games, you'll enjoy Lucius for at least a little while.

76

A great Rogue-like, if you like them.

crazygrouptrio | July 29, 2013 | Review of Teleglitch: Die More Edition

This game has a fantastic survival feel, more so than most top down games. The high 3D models black out areas that your character couldn't see as well, giving that feel of "what is around the next corner?" and it works very well. If you like rogue-like style games, you will love Teleglitch. If you're looking for a more long term adventure, probably not.

96

Best Civ Game Since Civ 3!

crazygrouptrio | July 28, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization V: Brave New World (NA)

I was a huge player of Civilization 3 and its expansions. It has its flaws, but for the time it was pretty amazing (enough that I ignored the release of Civ 4 and kept playing 3). But with the release of this expansion Civ 5 is simply fantastic. The game is incredibly well balanced and interesting from beginning to end. It's much better to play with friends, but for single players the AI is drastically improved from previous Civ games. The expansion really refines the Civ 5 core game to make this great. I recommend it to anyone who likes the Civ series or world strategy games.

92

Still One of the Most Beautiful Games ever Made

crazygrouptrio | June 3, 2013 | Review of NiGHTS into Dreams HD

When I was a kid, I saw the commercials for NiGHTS and always wanted the game, but the high Sega Saturn price tag made that dream never come true. For me this game is packed with nostalgia of that want, enough that I bought a Sega Saturn and this game, but the HD remake may even be better.

The objective of this game is simple, gather points to kill the boss of each round in each level within a time limit. Its both simple and challenging.

The best part about this game is the fluidity and beautiful visuals packed into the fast game play. This HD remake does have a few problems with stretched graphics and controls (face it, nothing beats it playing on the original Saturn with a NiGHTS 3D controller.) Even today this game stacks up as a great title, and easily worth the low price tag.

93

Fun for Macabre/Platform Lovers

crazygrouptrio | May 28, 2013 | Review of Alice: Madness Returns (NA)

If you like 3D platform games or the American McGee games in general, you will love this game. The story is pretty well crafted, but nothing you probably haven't heard before. Alice's goal is revealed pretty early in the story and you find yourself traversing many different worlds to accomplish that goal.

The game itself isn't that challenging, but I think it works in this case. The game is built so that you focus on progressing rather than mindless hacking and slashing. If you're looking for that, look somewhere else. Alice has a story to tell, and wants you to unfold it.

The worlds themselves are incredible, and the graphics are stunning. (Just watch Alice's hair flow in the wind, it's magical). The game has some problems, though these have been tweaked since the games release. I HIGHLY recommend playing with a controller. I played this game with a keyboard and gaming mouse, and it was a bit frustrating.

If you like the "dark" style or platformers, get this game. You will not be disappointed. Whether its the story, presentation or the graphics, you'll fall in love with Alice.

65

Interesting, but still a Shooter

crazygrouptrio | May 28, 2013 | Review of Bulletstorm (NA)

This has many interesting aspects that a lot of shooters don't have. A special grapple, slow motion move, walking on the sides of buildings, etc. It really changes up the genre, but everything else is fairly mediocre.

The characters are swear-happy men that swear so often that no matter who you are you'll get tired of hearing it. I understand that they're rebellious pirates, but still. It's a turn off and makes me not care about them at all.

But this doesn't stop the game from being blood splurting, gun shooting fun, and a lot of people will have fun with that and the new ideas the game sets forth. The setting is pretty interesting (like a more populated Borderlands setting) but still interesting. Personally, I would get this game on console or wait until it is on sale. I picked it up at a local resale store for $5, and it was worth that.

65

If You Liked Bioshock 1, Don't Buy this.

crazygrouptrio | May 28, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite (NA)

I'll cut to the chase, this game is pretty cool. It looks amazing, the fictional world it creates is phenomenal. The graphics are beautiful, the voice acting is decent, and the AI is actually good.

So why don't buy this game? It's very, very boring. The story does almost nothing to pull you into the story. You're given menial tasks that are made difficult by mowing down hundreds of cops and robots over and over again. Quite often I forgot what I was doing by the time I reached my objective.

Some interesting concepts are thrown in to make you think, but I wager that most average gamers wouldn't pick up on it, unless they loved Bioshock 1 to death. Then they might catch it. I thought hooking onto the monorail lines was neat at first, but it quickly becomes tedious and its easy to get lost.

The game is fairly fluid, like how Elizabeth will toss you ammo and such, but the combat is laughably basic. Shoot, shoot, you win. There is nothing to it, and you have to do it through the entire game. If you get bored easily, don't buy this game. There is nothing to pull you in. No story, no challenge, no fun. However, the game is made pretty well in other aspects, and some will probably enjoy it. I just wished there was more.

75

Good Game for the Genre

crazygrouptrio | May 28, 2013 | Review of Just Cause 2

If you're looking for an alternate game similar to GTA, this is the game for you. The game is action packed with all the car stealing with fast paced shooting and grappling hook action. There really aren't many games that allow you to explore an entire island by hooking onto the wing of a plane flown by an NPC. That being said, there isn't much else to offer. The missions get old pretty quick (though there are some pretty exciting ones later) and you'll find yourself escorting dumb NPCs from point A to point B time and time again. You might find yourself getting bored once the action wears off, but its still a pretty decent experience. I also recommend playing a controller not the keyboard.

70

A Decent Title if you like the Genre

crazygrouptrio | May 27, 2013 | Review of Reus

For the price, Reus is a pretty decent God game in which you control giants and manage a world by terraforming the landscape and helping native beings live. The graphic style is okay, it looks a lot like a flash game, which isn't my cup of tea, but it's done well so it's okay. The best part is how you can zoom out and see the entire world. Spinning the world can be hectic if you have far to move, but it's bearable. The game starts off very simple, then becomes more complex as you advance, but nothing so complex as you've seen in other games in the genre. This is a decent game to play for a day or two, but you'll probably not come back to it once you finish it. Overall a nice experience, and the low price tag makes it worth it.

89

Back to the Good ol' Days!

crazygrouptrio | May 27, 2013 | Review of Resident Evil: Revelations

Resident Evil games have been changing over the years. The puzzle/survival games they once were have become action schmups that have caused the loss of fans, but I hope the fans haven't given up just yet because this game is pretty great. Fans of Resident Evil 4 will recognize the great combo of puzzles, action, and survival. The graphics aren't the best, but they still look great, and makes the game more easily compatible with your machine. The story is what you would expect from the RE series, nothing extraordinary but far from bad. I definitely recommend this game to anyone who loved the older RE games, they will not be disappointed.