Reviews by crispy52

86

Bioshock...But Is It Really Bioshock?

crispy52 | July 12, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite (NA)

This game is the third installment in the Bioshock Series by 2k and it continues to the everlasting story line that was outlined in the first Bioshock game. Now to the review.

THE PROS: -This game has an excellent story. One that will, most likely, blow your mind once you piece it together and related everything in the game to what you learn at the end. Keeping this spoiler free, i wont say anything. -The gameplay is reminiscent of any Bioshock game as far as character development gooes. -The game probably has one of the greatest female protagonists i have possibly ever seen in a game. There is no such lack of astonishing character development through Emily and how she becomes dynamic from an otherwise oblivious and innocent girl. -The game handles really well as far as graphics go and the combat is generally fun if you use the Vigors.

THE CONS: -Game is lacking the essential feel of the first 2 Bioshock games. By this i mean that Infinite is more linear than the other two. Also less suspenseful and not filled with as many jump scares that came in Bioshock 1. There is a part later in the game that is rather creepy and brings back the nostalgic feel of Bioshock 1, but other than that, the game is all about shooting police practically. And you may be thinking, "oh how about the handy men?" Well. You only fight 3-5 handy men throughout the whole game, which is quite disappointing. -The game is just an average FPS it seems. It plays and feels like a FPS. I mean all you do is practically just go around shooting Cops and the resistance. In Bioshock 1 splicing seemed to be something that you saw constantly. The town of Rapture had a point to splice their genes. They believed it gave them an advantage by doing so. Vigor's on the other hand, you don't really see much of. It is almost as if they are just there for show. Not many people drink the Vigors, at least that is what you see anyway. So it is a shame that Vigors are in the game, yet you seem to be the only one that is able to use them. -There is no boss at the end of the game. You fought fontaine in Bioshock 1 as a big daddy, and Bioshock 2 also didn't have a boss. But i guess if you like that then this really isn't a big con. But i know for some, they may feel disappointed. -Pacing is really bad. The game is full of nothing but, what it seems to be scripted and linear segments. The game basically throws more enemies at you just as you clear one area so the game is definitely not suspenseful in any way shape or form. I think the games color set also kinda depicts this. Bioshock 1 & 2 are both rather darker games which makes you generally feel frightened. It also was more congested, it really attacked your fears. Infinite is lackluster in that way. Incompetent compared to BS1 and 2 in that perspective considering how joyful the game actually is.

CONCLUSION: The game does really well at being an FPS game. It has an extremely nice story line that is, like i said, MING BOGGLING and fantastic! But in all honestly, i don't think it lives up to what Bioshock 1 and 2 were necessarily. I realize you are in a new town, but i think that jump-scares and suspense could have still been something that factored into the game. Maybe even less linearity like Bioshock 1 had. Regardless of that fact that all you do is kill police and the resistance for about 8 hours, unless you wander and look for loot, the game makes for a good story. Does the story carry the game? In my opinion, yes. If you like story, yet you aren't keen on the gameplay. I would get the game on sale and play it. The story is definitely worth the time. The gameplay on the other hand is falls quite shy of anything near amazing. Sadly. But like i said. GREAT STORYLINE. I would still recommend the game on the basis of that. But if you are looking for a typical Bioshock 1 or 2 experience, don't get your hopes up.

95

FINISH HIM

crispy52 | July 5, 2013 | Review of Mortal Kombat Komplete Edition

Mortal Kombat has had a few issues with their series within the last few releases. But Mortal Kombat 9 does not fail to impress by any stretch of the imagination. By deciding to return to the classic side scrolling fun, Mortal Kombat delivers like no other MK hit. The fatalities are just as gruesome as ever and the difficulty is just as high as it was originally. Although the PC version is awesome, Mouse and Keyboard controlls aren't ideal. I would recommend a controller on the basis of it being easier to nail those combos. The game obviously being on PC, it has better graphics and there are a lot of more options to mess with. The game runs really smooth and it delivers an excellent fighting experience.

For the hardcore gamer, this game is both difficult in a sense that you have to nail each combo and stay on top of everything in order to get those big hits, but the game also does not force you to nail those combos. The combos just improve the damage you do significantly. The new X-Ray mode is both satisfying and well thought out, aside from the fact that it is the same move each time, which is to be expected. Although the story mode falls quite far from amazing and forced, you are mostly just here for some awesome, gruesome, action.

The game delivers and for a $30 package that includes all the DLC, it is quite worth it.

91

An Absolute Classic!

crispy52 | July 5, 2013 | Review of FINAL FANTASY VII

This game is a must have for anybody that loved the older Final Fantasy Games. Although, if you already have played this and still have this with your PS1, you might want to think about holding onto it and just playing that version instead. Although you can mod this version, it is EXACTLY the same game as far as I can tell. Just a few bugs were fixed and they added a few things such as cloud saves, and a character progression thing that I think may end up being a let down to some of the hardcore FF7 fans. Although it is optional to use, it can be tempting. The Character Booster as they call it, basically gives you health, mana, and money at the press of a button. Which is lame because one of the best things about FF7 was the difficulty factor. Again you can just not use that though. Another thing is the music. All the files are original MIDI files from the PS1 version but just converted to PC so they kind of sound a little harsh on the listening side. Another thing, the game isn't exactly an HD remake. While the game might look a lot better than the original PS1 version, it is still the same game. The graphics are constructed of nothing but polygons rather than actual NURBS shapes like most newer games are.

Aside from that, the game actually plays pretty well and provides a great sense of nostalgia to current Final Fantasy fans. The turn based combat is precise and due to the difficult factor, it requires a lot of strategy especially during the boss battles. It isn't anything like the newer ones, so if you aren't a fan of FF13 or 13-2 i would recommend this game. This was one of their first big hits and is said to be the game that industrialized their success. It has some of the bigger names in it as well that all of you may be familiar with. Cloud, Sephiroth, Vincent Valentine.

Conclusion: Although the game is lacking in a few things that would make it stand out in 2013, it still represents the original classic that it was back on the PS1 and developed by Squaresoft. It brings a great nostalgic experience to those that played it originally and it provides a new and exciting experience for those that may have not tried it yet. And the gameplay is just amazing as far as strategy goes. You generally feel very rewarded after leaving each battle, unless of course you are just one hitting the mobs, and it provides for a great amount of fun.

72

The downfall

crispy52 | June 7, 2013 | Review of Dungeon Siege III

Obsidian entertainment designed this game in the lights of a fun sequel to dungeon siege 2. Coming from the lead designers over at Neverwinter Nights, you would think this game would be nothing short of amazing. Though it isn't. One thing that ties the deal for me is the fact that there are pre selected classes now. Pre selected classes and a sense of being locked into a linear path without one being noticeable. Dungeon Siege and Dungeon Siege 2 were very good dungeon crawlers that added a nice explorable open world adventure within the maps that were there. Although still enclosed in a small area, there were more things to explore. You never really knew where you had to go, you just went off on the path and by exploring, you found out where you needed to be. Which is something that Dungeon Siege 3 doesn't have. It is VERY linear and there isn't much exploration. Loot doesn't even change the way you look. The game is rather short, although it is a nice multiplayer experience. It still lacks in many ways. The other Dungeon Sieges gave you the ability to be a mage that carries a bow and still deals damage. It leveled you based on how efficient you were with the weapons. After spending many hours on Dungeon Siege 1, this game just comes to bring a false sense of hope. If they have plans on a 4th game, they need to do something better with it. Something that screams Dungeon Siege, because this is one of the worst sequels to such a fantastic game. Visually the game looks nice, and the game is still fun. But in lights of the older Dungeon Siege games, the hardcore fans may be disappointed. The game is fun for a short co-op experience as well, and the graphics are again, astonishing. The spell particles are amazing to watch and it is still a rather fun experience. There are just a few downsides based around the games main focus, exploration and looting.

70

MMO with... a twist? Good or Bad?

crispy52 | June 7, 2013 | Review of Guild Wars 2: Heroic Edition (NA)

This is a great mmo to the casual player. Which is fine, but that is really all this game is. The hype loaded it up and it became a rather fun game to play at first. Although by now the majority of players are at endgame or at the beginning. Not many people are in between so the dynamic events become events that you will probably have to solo and may even die trying. Aside from low population, the game tends to lack in skills. I don't know whose idea it was to only give you a few skills that you will be stuck with for the rest of the game, but it was dumb. Seeing the same animation repeatedly for 80 levels can be very boring. Even when you switch weapons you often ask yourself why would you do that if x/x combination is better? Then you are stuck at watching the same animations over and over. I was hoping for a skill tree. The WvWvW is generally very nice as well, although that has the same problem with the skills. It may be fun because you are with a bunch of people, but the lack of skills makes it boring after a few hours. EVERYONE HAS A HEAL. For any hardcore MMO gamer that wants to play a cleric, this is just bad. I would prefer to use the heal slot as a DPS slot on my thief instead of a smoke screen that heals. It was a good idea for casual players though. And the dungeons are very fun to play through with people, and the PVP is very fun. There is just a lack of gameplay at the end, and even sometimes everywhere else. The crafting system is a charm, and the gathering system is fun. Just a shame that most of the main gameplay mechanics for a hardcore MMO player lack. Not to mention the millions of chests you pickup that give you the option of buying a key for. The game is a huge improvement from GW1 and is better in the lights of a casual MMO gamer, but if you are looking for a hardcore experience with raids and dungeon parties, you should look elsewhere. The game gets old, and after being blinded by the hype for so long, i have come to realize the things that let me down.

62

A huge let down...

crispy52 | June 7, 2013 | Review of Remember Me

Remember me is a game that obviously needed more time which is quite a huge let down. I looked at this game with high hopes and i was very much leaving after a few hours of gameplay. The puzzle elements are nice i suppose, though there are many problems. I liked the idea of being able to reach into someones mind and synchronize with them, the only problem is that there seems to only be 3 or 4 of these segments within the game itself. Which is a shame because that sounds like a lot of fun. The other problem is although there are puzzles within the game, the game tells you where to go and where to jump on the puzzle. How is it a puzzle with those indicators? As far as i am concerned, you cannot turn that off either. The fighting is generally fun in a sense that it takes off of the new Batman games, but it is generally really easy to fight. On the hardest difficulty, i didn't lose one bar of health in the first 3 hours of playing. Mainly because the game makes it completely obvious on when to actually counter an attacking person. Which is another shame. All you do is hit one button and the game pretty much insta-kills the opponent with a counter. The game lacks in a difficulty setting, although it has proven to probably be a fun casual gaming experience to some, in my opinion it is very glitchy and very buggy. Which is a shame, was looking forward to this title.

84

Good to a casual gamer but...

crispy52 | June 7, 2013 | Review of GRID 2

Bad to a hardcore racing fan. From Grid1 to Grid2, a lot of things changed. To a new racing fan, this may be the game for you. It looks good and is generally time consuming to learn how to control the vehicles, though it lacks one thing. A cockpit cam. And rumor goes that they will eventually patch one in, which is good. But as of week 1, there were many glitches and minor bugs that occures. Again, it is a nice purchase and a good game, but day 1 DLC was also another let down. And seeing DLC on day 1? You can only hope the game doesn't become a giant DLC game like Train Simulator. Aside from those problems, it is a good racing experience. Hopefully some of the mistakes will be patched.

89

Borderlands 2 Does It Again

crispy52 | June 7, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 (NA)

A fantastic sequel. The game is quite amazing and it adds a general nice feel of gameplay to the hardcore Borderlands fans. Although the game has its ups and downs, which i will go over in a sec. The game is still a big hit and yet another fun co-op/solo experience. There are few things i have to complain about this game. One of those being that the game is generally a lot like the first one. If you didn't play the first one, well then this game may be a fun new experience, but if you did play the first one and you didn't like it, i wouldn't even look at this game. The game is EXACTLY the same, it plays the same and feels the same. There are even the same classes practically. Just with different move sets. Gunzerker is pretty much Berzerker, Zero is pretty much Mordecai, the new Siren is pretty much Lillith, and Roland is pretty much similar to the Commando in this game. So there aren't really new classes, just new characters. Unless you buy into the DLC of course. Which on the other hand offers a fun new experience. The game also plays exactly the same, there may be new levels and new maps but the game is still the same thing. Although the game does offer the same crude comedic humor and has a very humorous antagonist, due to the reasoning behind my previous statement the game is going to have to be given an 89. Mainly because i just think it is basically the same game. The story line is interesting and Handsome Jack is definitely an antagonist you are going to want to kill. The game just seems like an expansion pack rather than a sequel i mean they advertise new classes but the only thing different about them is that they have different abilities, otherwise they are generally the same thing. But for hardcore borderlands fans or new fans being introduced the game is good.

82

A Nice Game for $7

crispy52 | June 7, 2013 | Review of Waveform

The game is nothing short of a fantastic casual experience filled with colorful visuals and a pretty amazing soundtrack. The concept is pretty cool in the way that you are told to change the waveforms of the map to collect orbs of goodness while avoiding the death contraptions. It is a very good game for those that would generally enjoy fighting it out and working towards perfect scores. Something that is generally very difficult to accomplish based on the concept that takes some time to get use to. The game lacks in a sense that it is rather short. I mean i only put about 30 minutes into the game and i am already halfway through. I'm questioning if it is about a 1 hour long game. Don't get me wrong, it is definitely a nice game to jump right into and play 1 or 2 levels of, but once you get a hang of the game, it is generally easy to play. The real question is, will $7 be worth a game that you could probably complete in 1-2 hours?

91

GRID. The Game That Is One of The Best.

crispy52 | June 7, 2013 | Review of GRID

Alongside the old Test Driver games and Burnout, we had GRID. A new game designed by the masters at racing over at Codemasters. Coming from the perspective of a hardcore racing fan, this game is generally nothing short of amazing. I have played about 12 hours of this game and am still nowhere even close to completing. It is full of content just like any racing game should, and with the same design as something such as Forza Motorsport or Gran Turismo, with a little twist. The game comes packed with the skill needed to manage the equality between gas and brakes in order to turn sharply and execute finesse driving. It does take some time to get use to, and a drift (with the ABS and all that jazz turned off) is quite complicated to complete but once you have done so, you feel very rewarded. Graphic wise, the game looks amazing. Even with some of the current games out there, Codemasters pulls it away with astonishing graphics continuously in all of their racing games. This title is nothing short of a 10/10 graphic wise. Even the details that emit as you crash, the time they put into it to make it somewhat physics based is all astonishing and fun to look at. Sounds are quite good as well. Nothing like hearing the sweet crunch of running into a barrier or another car. That is here. Ramming full on into a barrier by accident or spinning out and being hit by other drivers, either way you can both feel and hear the crunch and almost feel for the driver even though you are just behind a controller/keyboard. Career mode is nice, although i didn't like having to race in top of the line cars at the very beginning of the career in order to create your own team. Though it was still rather fun to manage my own racing team considering i am a hardcore fan and i would love to actually do that in person. The cockpit cam could be a little more detailed, but nonetheless it is still amazing and puts you right into the game. The sounds from the pit are even nicely done in a way that they become muffled which is what should happen. A crash generally feels and sounds rough as well. Although customization is at a low, the game is still rather nice and enjoyable. Unlike GRID 2, this game has a cockpit view and everything is still executed nicely. 91/100. -9 points for lack of customization.

92

This Game Is Worth The Price!!!

crispy52 | June 7, 2013 | Review of DiRT 3

This game is a very nice and fun game. The graphics, like any other codemaster's game, are visually stunning. You can see the dirt kick up under the tires as you drive and the damage is incredibly well done. The textures are smooth and everything is just generally a walk in the park. The game runs smooth and is very well done. The World Rally Championship is alright, the only downside is that some maps are required to buy through GFWL, which i found to be a downer. I wanted to be able to play all the tracks and finish them all in 1st place. It may not be so bad as to buy a track, but they are in every venue which can be, like i said, a downer. There is at least 1 track you have the option of purchasing in each Venue. Overall, there are 100+ races already provided to you as well as a nice Gymkhana DC backlot where you can go and drift for fun with a classic Tony Hawk Classic Mode feel, where you must find hidden tapes and accomplish goals. The Cars handle exceptionally well. It may an arcade racer and is no stretch of a simulation by any means, the cars handle as if you were driving on dirt. Which is kind of the point of this game really. Without that aspect, it wouldn't be anything. But the transition from dirt to concrete in some areas on a course are amazing, it is almost as if you can feel the friction in the tires as you transition. It is quite rewarding to drift past corners with such finesse and be able to have basically complete control over your car. Overall. I give the game a 92/100, with a deduction of 8 points over the fact that there is a lot of maps that can be purchased. Which i suppose is just like any other game. Gameplay wise, the game is a steal and i had a lot of fun with it.