Reviews by damienjameswebb

100

A remarkable experience!

damienjameswebb | April 1, 2014 | Review of GMG Simulator

OH MY GOD! from just playing the QA Alpha, this was the most surreal experience i have ever had. The level of realism in the graphics was just amazing, and the physics engine is nothing i have ever seen before!!!! the pre-order cost seems very reasonable considering the final project will be the most amazing thing ever! my only concern is the leveling system... it just seems very biased to other NPC's and i couldn't really get any higher in the office ranks for some reason. I even spent 16 intern hours making photocopies and taking coffee orders and i still only got a company branded key chain out of it, and it wasn't even from Green Man Gaming Ltd!! it seemed a little unfair to be honest, but maybe i was doing it wrong...

I was able to eventually trade the key chain for a washroom break a few days into my first work week (which was very much needed let me tell you), and i even got to go to the company BBQ! (well i got to clean up the left overs...)

regardless, it was still a very fun and exciting time, and i wish i could play it over again.... unfortunately as soon as you finish your first three weeks the game degrades and disappears from your hard drive. seems that the 999.99 gets you a one time use code and you don't get hired back if you never get promoted into the regular staff levels. Oh well...

77

proper bike control done right!

damienjameswebb | April 1, 2014 | Review of MXGP

Not a lot to say except that it has beautiful physics! The game really does shine on realism! (note: as soon as I launched the game I put the game on realistic difficulty so not sure about the other skill levels) You can ride the bike in the recently made ruts to help turn the bike around corners and you can pull up on the bars to traverse across If you know how to dirtbike in real life you will appreciate the dual stick control. You can lean the rider forward and to the side to get him to put his weight on the front wheel while sticking the foot out of the direction turned.

Warning: If you are not familiar with dirtbiking than you may find yourself frustrated and not understanding why the rider keeps falling around turns or on ruts. Just keep at it, don't give up and say the game sucks. It is done correctly it just takes practice!

77

It's an alien themed action shooter... end of story

damienjameswebb | March 27, 2014 | Review of Alien Breed: Trilogy

Ok so these games don't give way much in terms of individuality... but they look great and play like a dream. i think the whole space alien thing died out for me a few years ago though and thats why i don't enjoy these as much as i should, but over all they are still amazing games and need to be played. the amount of detail and texture in the graphics is unbelievable, and even the character movement and shooting mechanics feel perfect in all of these...i guess when you don't have a very interesting story line you need those kinds of things.

Worth playing, but i would wait for a sale. 20 bucks still feels high for an iso action shooter.

91

a good version of angry birds star wars

damienjameswebb | March 27, 2014 | Review of Solar Flux

So this is what i wanted out of a game when the star wars angry birds came out. I wanted gravity manipulating puzzles that made me frustrated but also made me awe over how good the last shot was. The graphics are very smooth, but there is a little slow down if your settings are too high on a laptop or low end. other than that the look of the game is great... SPAAAACE. And you can waste hours of your time easily with the progressively challenging levels. user created content would be nice and if i could have multiple ways to finish a level that would be a way t extend gameplay as well... but anyway, i still loved this game and would suggest it in a heartbeat!

86

Cid the what?

damienjameswebb | March 27, 2014 | Review of CID the Dummy

I had honestly never heard of this game at first, but i bought it on a whim cause it was like 2$... OMG. Such innovative gameplay an characters... i couldn't believe what i was playing to be honest.

It plays out like your standard platformer... you need to rescue your girl but you have to crash, bang, and thump your way to her. Defeating enemies and solving puzzles along the way. The graphics are very playstation era, and the gameplay can be chunky at times... but still a very unique and interesting game that i was glad i spent the money on.

60

A side-scrolling brawler with a DMC feel? I guess

damienjameswebb | March 27, 2014 | Review of Dusty Revenge: Co-Op Edition

This is a 2d adventure style brawler. the graphics feels very flat, and i know that is what they might be going for but it feels like this should be a browser based flash game. although, this game still looks pretty and runs like a dream on any system.

The best part is probably the co-op mode though and as with most brawlers, really helps to get you through the game without dying a billion times. game can feel short, but re-playing it with a friend can add to it, but not by much. The game really lacks in regards to the feeling of value. The controls are tight and are nice and button-mashy (just how i like my brawling games). however, some street fighter style combos would be cool and even the chance to use bigger and better weapons would be nice, but everything just feels very mundane in that category.

over all, not bad, but still needs a lot to make me convert from something like castle crashers.

88

a top down need for speed

damienjameswebb | March 27, 2014 | Review of Little Racers STREET

This is a classic top down style racer, but it takes a lot of elements of need for speed and midnight club as well. it has good drifting, but poor vehicle handling in my opinion, but seeing as it is more of an arcade driving type of thing, i'm not too un-happy with it. the car choices and performance options are very broad and makes for different play-throughs more enjoyable and interesting. the cities that you race in are fairly big as well and make for endless combinations of tracks and can sometimes confuse you as to where you are and where you're going. the real awesomeness is the multiplayer though. you can play against up to 12 people and can be a little rediculous at times, but still very fun and challenging. the main story is a little meh and isn't really worth it to play on your own. your better off finding some friends and having a good time that way.

the graphics are nice and smooth looking but can run a little slow on low performance machines due to the amount of particle physics going on... but as long as you can get the setting just right, this game is as smooth as butter and doesn't really need all the bells and whistles it comes with.

82

Noir mystery at its finest

damienjameswebb | March 27, 2014 | Review of Face Noir

This point and click adventure was actually pretty good. the story was engaging and the action response was pretty good. Not perfect mind you, i had some trouble navigating at times, but still very good.

the writing is very much like the classic noir detective style and the graphic match perfectly with it too. the dark smoky colors and the bleak surroundings of 1934 New York are spot on. The characters are even properly fleshed out and feel like they could have been real people, and not over the top characters of what the 30's were like. The game runs smooth, but can stutter from time to time when moving between screens, but nothing that you can get past easily. would love to play more written by the same team and can't wait to see if they keep making more like this!

77

some snes era awesomeness

damienjameswebb | March 27, 2014 | Review of Explodemon!

This game is like a mix between sonic, and mega-man, two of my favorite games rowing up. The graphics are nice and smooth and the levelling up ability is a nice touch to some classic platforming goodness. The levels get harder and harder as you play along, and the basic platforming gameplay is mixed with some mind bending puzzles as well.

Although he graphics look nice, the controls for me felt a little weird. soft almost, with very feeling of response. it could have very well have been me because i don't really care for the sonic style of movement in the first place, but it was fine enough to muscle past to get the game finished. that's the other thing, this game can feel a little short. Only 12 levels and even if you take your time, you can easily push through the game in no time. User created levels could have been a nice add-on to make re-play a little more fun.

80

A thrilling experience

damienjameswebb | March 26, 2014 | Review of Driver San Francisco (NA)

Driver san fran is a fast paced, over the top,mind swapping experience. the driving physics felt great to me, and the cars handled with good weight and speed. The graphics are smooth too, and even on my laptop ran great!

the real awesome part is that you never really slow down through the whole game, you just keep driving fast until the point of destruction, and then just shift into a new car and go about doing it all over again. I can easily waste a few hours and not realize it. My only issue with it is that its an Ubi game, and requires you to use its silly DRM, online connecting must have. which is clunky and can ruin the experience to be honest. But if you can work past it, it really is a great game and worth your time. especially if you can get it for under 10 bucks!

88

the best yet in the series

damienjameswebb | March 2, 2014 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

This game is sooooooo addicting and I made sure to play through it a few time just so I could see how things could play out all the different ways. I just wish the story was a little bit longer or if you could create your own campaigns or add ons.

Either way, the setting is great and very reminiscent of the cyberpunk era. The upgrades are pretty sweet and I found that the longer I played the game the more I was trying to play through it in ghost mode. Using all my abilities to the fullest and trying to figure out the best way to finish the levels. The graphics are great but can run a little slow at times (would probably run better on a desktop than a laptop).

81

good game for its time

damienjameswebb | March 2, 2014 | Review of Alpha Protocol

Alpha Protocol was an odd game to play. it was a spy action/thriller type of game... with a hint of RPG thrown in for good measure. i didn't really know how to play this game at first... was it an RPG? an action shooter? It was kind of an awkward play. Either way, the gameplay was smooth and the graphics were nice for a game from its time. i never ended up finishing it, however, as it felt sluggish at times for me story wise and i couldn't really get into it.

it can run very well on laptops as long as you comp the graphics a little, but it will still look good and play smooth. and the broadness of your character customization and re-play ability with different methods is really what makes this game a strong one.

90

the real horror meets FPS game

damienjameswebb | Feb. 22, 2014 | Review of Doom 3

this game literally made me not want to play this game. at time is can scare the crap out of you, but at others, it can be an intense fps that can overwhelm even the best of players. the story is so-so, and the graphics aren't the greatest, but its still an older game and can be forgiven with is finely tuned gameplay and atmosphere.

works great on laptops and should really be played with a mouse and keyboard.

100

soooo good.

damienjameswebb | Feb. 22, 2014 | Review of Dishonored

Bethesda never disappoints me in respect to finding great IPs to take under their wings. the re-playability of the levels, mixed with amazing story and truly beautiful art style made this game so unique and memorable, tat it will always be one of those top 100 games of all time.

the engine is buttery smooth and performing acrobatics with your powers feels seamless and very much like it should. the atmosphere and the soundtrack will keep you on edge throughout the whole game. it really is intense to try and sneak up on three guards and not get caught.

plays great on my laptop, and i loved all the extra dlc and expansions that were put out as well. a must play for everyone who loved the THEIF games or DEUS EX.

61

looks to be decent, but couldn't get it to run smooth :(

damienjameswebb | Feb. 22, 2014 | Review of Deadfall Adventures

ok, so this looks awesome, and would be very cool to be a real indiana jones (in a good game) but i could not for the life of me get this game to run smoothly... it will take a very good comp to really play this game right (even though my specs should cover it on med) i liked the puzzle solving and the gunplay was smooth(ish) but what really did it for me was the story of the game. it was like reading a good book.

however, this should really not be worth 40$... its good, but not 40$ good. it just has too many kinks to really make it in my top 10, and i really wish it could. would have liked it better if it was built on a smoother game engine.

88

good game, but the kid was just sooooo annoying.

damienjameswebb | Feb. 22, 2014 | Review of Dead Rising 2

ok so i get why the kid is part of the story... it helps you move along and not get stuck playing with zombies for hours on end.... BUT THAT'S ALL I WANTED!!!!! ugh... in any case this was a vast improvement over the original and it felt a little more crazy/wacky and that's what really made it an entertaining game to play. the hud kind of felt in the way at times, and the story progression is meh at best, but man.... killing zombies with knife-gloves is so satisfying... the graphics are good and don't really have to be super great either because it's not what holds this game together. the gameplay is spot on (aside from that darn girl) and i really liked playing alongside my friends in the co-op modes.

needs some improvements, but still fun and entertaining!

92

Makes the good, better

damienjameswebb | Feb. 22, 2014 | Review of Darksiders II

the first game in this series was good, but this took all my favorite parts and made them better. the story is all new and doesn't really feel like a continuation of the first while still making it feel like its in the same realm. the graphics and gameplay are again, still great, but i had a hard time trying to get it to run smoothly on my system. took a couple tries to get the settings just right to make it run properly.

in any case, with the dlc and the expanded story and world, this park of the darksiders world is the more preferable and will always be much loved in my eyes.

83

Zelda, with a touch of darkness...

damienjameswebb | Feb. 22, 2014 | Review of Darksiders

This is really what Zelda games should be. this game is focused around some very dark subjects and uses a good mix of hack and slashy stuff with good use of puzzles here and there. i wouldn't say that the gameplay is as dialed in as Zelda is, but the combat is much nicer for sure. the graphics are very well done and even though the characters and environment have that slight sense of non-realism... the world as a whole feels real is some aspect to allow you to become drawn even further into the story.

over all a great game,could use a little more length to it, but still a good, involving game.

97

rocket packs and rocket launchers

damienjameswebb | Feb. 22, 2014 | Review of Dark Void Zero

WHAT MORE COULD YOU WANT! this is a great little platformer that feels like the metroid games mixed with a little jetpack action for good measure. the difficulty is nice and high and can really make it a challenging play. this is truly platformer gold.

its a throwback to the 8-bit era, and it does it very well, you wouldn't even know that this was actually made recently. the sound track is great and soo catchy. and even the game play is nice as it helps you along if you get lost or stuck in a certain area.

very good game and worth a play

71

really.... prepare...

damienjameswebb | Feb. 22, 2014 | Review of Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition (NA)

this is the most unforgiving and extremely difficult rouge-like to try and master. the enemies can just come out of no-where, or you can play for hours and make it really far, to simply be pushed off the edge of a cliff by accident....

however, this game is soooooo addicting in the sense that when you die you get angry, throw the mouse across the room... and then walk over, pick it back up, and start all over again in anticipation to be able to try and get farther the next time around.

the environment is nice and spooky, makes you really play on the edge of you seat, and the graphics can run pretty low and works well on my laptop even (after some tweaking).

good game but not for those who get angry very easily.

97

must be played with a wheel

damienjameswebb | Feb. 22, 2014 | Review of Crazy Taxi

i grew up playing this on the arcade and i found when i switched to playing with a controller it just wasn't the same. the game is fantastic and runs really smooth for a port. the soundtrack is fantastic and the gameplay is solidly addicting. my only issue is that i don't have a good wheel to play it with... you really need some good force feedback if you want to really play this game right.

in any case, very much worth the money, even though is an older game, it is still an arcade classic.

70

an odd step for the IP

damienjameswebb | Feb. 22, 2014 | Review of Call of Juarez: The Cartel (NA)

loved the other CoJ games. they really felt like i was in a western movie... but this was just a weird modern-day kinda western thing that i didn't really understand all that much. i get it that its clever... but meh...

the graphics are nice , but the engine can be slow on some computers from time to time. the story is really the main showman, however, because the gun-play is only so so compared... i would have thought they would bring some truly groundbreaking gameplay with re-vamping the setting :(

over-all, not a bad game, but could use some improvements an the places it really counts.

85

feels like GTA meets an old adventure paltformer

damienjameswebb | Feb. 22, 2014 | Review of Bully: Scholarship Edition

always thought this was just an over complicated gta clone. it has all the things you would expect from one, but seems to just surpass it enough to make it its own thing. The graphics are nicely updated in this version and the gameplay is always fantastic. the only thing that bothers me sometimes is the camera ( it might just be me but it likes to jump around from time to time).

albeit the graphics are still very out dated, and the voice overs could use some work... still a very enjoyable play through no matter what.

77

A little too much to handle at times...

damienjameswebb | Feb. 21, 2014 | Review of Assassin's Creed III (NA)

I did like the enhanced gameplay and story depth.... but there was just too much stuff to do there was an almost GTA level of over complexity in regards to extra stuff you can do. the assassin's games to me are much better when it's focused more on the story, i didn't like getting sidetracked by managing your estate. Assassin's 2 was probably the best use of estate management in the fact that it was a simple, straitforward way to make extra money to buy weapons, ammo, etc. AC3 just never got close...

in any case, this is still a good game. the free running is fluid, and the story is really intense and makes you wanna keep playing. it has some flaws, but it's still worth playing (especially for the sailing parts).

100

like a good book you can sink your eyeballs in :D

damienjameswebb | Feb. 20, 2014 | Review of Mafia II

First off.... i strongly believe that this game is still worth the 30$, and i will say that my only issue is that i wish it was longer and more linear.... it does do some story cutting and "6 month's later" kind of things, but i'll live.

anyway... this game WAS AMAZING and deserved every bit of your attention. It is an open world Gangster story from beginning to end. it starts you off as a new recruit into the family and sees you all the way to your rise and fall within the belly of the mob. the graphics - great. the soundtrack - great. the cars - gorgeous. and the story was so mouthwatering-ly intense i never wanted to put down the controller. I hope one day they release another chapter of this amazing IP

30

this should never have seen the light of day

damienjameswebb | Feb. 20, 2014 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever

the big issue with this game is that the way we play games has changed over the years and this style of humor and game play is just not the top market anymore. so, when it was announced that the Duke would make a return, a lot of people were expecting just a really raw, dirty, testosterone powered FPS (the kind we play now-a-days).... what people got was a classic Duke Nukem style gameplay with a new glossy coat of paint.... really... that's it. the graphics ARE GOOD. but i just couldn't do it.... the stupid campy style of acting and gun play worked well for me when i was younger.... but now it just felt like it was trying too hard to be something that it already was at one point, and trying to get NEW players into the mix who just didn't understand the type of humor that existed in the early 90's didn't work well for them.

sorry, but i'd rather play the classics than this dolled up garbage.

100

Throw back to hardcore platformers

damienjameswebb | Feb. 20, 2014 | Review of Super Meat Boy

I doubted i would enjoy super meat boy for the fact that i had heard it was extremely hard... but oh was i wrong. it was challenging enough that it made it interesting, but didn't make me feel defeated every two seconds (even though i really was). the art style is fantastic and the little nods to classic gaming in the levels and playable character design is great. the game can crash from time to time however on pc. the game was really made for xbox in the first place, but i'll forgive team meat for that one considering the trouble they had with that hot mess in the first place.

One of my all time favorites, and a must play for any true gamer.

90

very short

damienjameswebb | Feb. 7, 2014 | Review of F.E.A.R. 2: Project Origin

this could have easily been an extension of the first game... it was pretty much the same with a few graphical enhancements. the story however was interesting and very scary at times. the add-ons however make this game and allow you to really get into the lore and extend the game quite a lot.

it feels like a very standard fps with military style gameplay. that being said the engine runs very smooth and it is very immersive at times (a little too much at some scary points) the controller support is iffy and is best played with a mouse and keyboard. i would also suggest to play on the hardest difficulty if you can because it makes the gameplay more constant. otherwise you tend to have to wait a while between enemies. other than that, tons of fun and would play it over and over again if i could :D

99

a confusing romp in the mind of an artist

damienjameswebb | Feb. 7, 2014 | Review of The Bridge

i didn't understand what this game was at first... was it a platformer? a puzle game? i just didn't get it... until i was getting mad at it.

this game is so hard to try and figure out that i spent almost 6 hours trying to get one puzzle... and i enjoyed every minute of it. it has an interesting mechanic mix of using gravity, color, optical illusions, and platforming. you have to get you the end f the level (or through the next door) but its not as easy as just walking up to it at times.

it's hard but very pretty. the art style is like a sketch that's come to life. and the graphics are light enough that the game can be run very well on under powered machines.

good game... very hard to finish

95

almost the same as the originals...

damienjameswebb | Feb. 7, 2014 | Review of Fallout: New Vegas

the gameplay and engine is the same as fallout 3. it throws in some country western feeling and adds gambling... but it could almost just be an expansion to Fallout 3. the only really good improvement is the fact that the writing feels a lot more like the original fallout games. it just seems a little more dirty and raw. it doesn't shield itself with censors like 3 did. the modding is greats always and allows you to add tons of options and content thanks to the online community. the main story however is really the key, with all its twists and turn and choices, you could almost never play the game the same twice.

it takes a while to really get into it, and there can be times when you get lost trying to help save some random people from a wolf attack... but its entertaining as hell and provide hours of amusement. a must play for any real gamer.

95

forget what you were doing fast...

damienjameswebb | Feb. 7, 2014 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Nexway

so the main storyline is actually quite fast if you burn through it, but the side quests are endless and with the dlc this game is almost never ending. never mind the fact that there is an infinite amount of random encounters and odd things to do and find throughout the game.

the engine and graphics were an improvement over oblivion, but it should really be played on a powerful pc. Mid range and laptops CAN do it if persuaded, but you don't really get the whole picture without maxing the resolution.

over all its an excellent improvement on the old games and continues on bethesda's legacy of amazing games.

90

the only one that is worth it

damienjameswebb | Feb. 7, 2014 | Review of Dead Space (NA)

i had gotten all the dead space games for pc in a bundle recently, and this was the only one that was good play. the second one has a game breaking flaw about halfway through and the 3rd one has to run through origin, AND has a terrible sound bug in it.

Given all that, i loved this game. it could have been a little scarier in places, but it did very well for its time (enough to spawn 2 sequels at least) its a simple you vs aliens 3rd person shooter with some unique gameplay elements like a hud that actually makes sense looking like a projection display coming from your armor.

the controls were a little slow and i found it much better to play with a mouse, but other than that it ran like butter on my laptop and gave we very little trouble (it did keep crashing at fist but i just updated my drivers and all was well)

a great game (better than the newer ones for sure)

80

the best burnout yet

damienjameswebb | Feb. 7, 2014 | Review of Burnout Paradise: Ultimate Box (NA)

criterion made the burnout series even better. it has an open world feel so you can cruise around for hours without racing anyone, and this allows you to practice tricks or track times on your own without a ton of loading screens. it uses the traffic lights as starting points of the races and then picks one of 8 directions for you to go in. first one there wins... that's it. go any way you want, no boundaries.

i loved the cars as well. they are all based off of real cars, but given their own names and fake model manufacturers. there is also a nice selection of muscle, trick, speed, and just plain weird and crazy cars. the dlc also adds quite a lot of fun with bikes, micro cars,and even some movie cars that are defiantly worth the money.

the game runs good... although it can be a little laggy at times for me (that may just be my pc though)

80

much loved rougelike

damienjameswebb | Feb. 7, 2014 | Review of The Binding of Isaac

this was my fist dive into the world of rougelikes, and at times it was frustrating, but i loved every second of it.

The art style is the coolest thing about this game. it has a very hand drawn feel almost and it makes it feel very much like the old flash games the creator used to make. it needs proper controller support, but it does link you to a program to use if you wish to do so.

its a fast paced twin stick shooter basically with rpg-like elements almost... kinda...but not really. And its hard... like really hard. i've been playing since it first came out and i still can't get to the ending. however, it makes me want to play it more and more. the gameplay is easy enough to learn and it runs very well except for when there are a lot of enemies on screen at once moving around (but it takes quite a lot to do so). It wasn't until i downloaded the dlc that it started getting really good because before then the bosses were a little too repetitive, and the enemies were getting pretty predictable. wish there was a way to build your own levels to test your friends, or an online or co-op mode would be cool.

there is defiantly more ways to make this already great game even more great... but its still pretty great... yeah

100

a pure classic

damienjameswebb | Feb. 7, 2014 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: Vice City

probably one of the most enjoyable GTA games i have ever played. i still have the original disks that i jacked from my brother back in the day. it was also one of the only games i had for the pc for the longest time growing up so i have played this A LOT. the graphics were great for its time ad even today some of the player models and even the cut-scenes are great. the controls are a little weird for me still and i found it better to use an external program to bind my controller.

the game is small and boots fast, which is nice for under powered PC's. i remember playing this on a laptop over 10 years ago (which was a feat in itself).

overall i love this game, the missions are diverse an actually hard, but at the same time you can lose yourself for hours just driving around causing chaos.

100

it was like being a part of a good book

damienjameswebb | Feb. 3, 2014 | Review of The Walking Dead

with every second of this game, every instalment, i was at the edge of my seat. i never knew what to do or how to react and it all felt very real. i learned a lot about myself and what i would do in those situations. i would definatly want to play it over and over to try and figure out the different ways things would happen.

the graphics are nice and they remind me very much of the graphic novel (even if it feels a little too cartoony). i did like how they used some characters that were included in the books as an almost back-ground story type thing. the gameplay was an interesting mix of QTE and point and click adventure, and it worked very well with the kind of story telling it was doing.

all in all i would love to play more kinds of games like this. it's visceral and exciting without having to do the cop out of a FPS/RPG like every other modern game these days.

90

a wonderfully whimsical romp

damienjameswebb | Feb. 3, 2014 | Review of Stacking

when i was reading pre-views for this game i was sooo excited. it has everything that i think enjoyable. puzzles, pantomime, family, and Victorian era whimsy. the gameplay mechanic is simple, you use the talents of yourself and others to solve puzzles and save your family... by taking over their bodies!

its simple enough but that's what makes it so good. you can finish levels many different ways and at your pace. there's enemies to defeat, but no fighting, this is a family game remember?

the only flaw is that i wish it was longer. there is an add-on, but it wasn't enough once you figure out all the different ways to finish the puzzles.

85

the beginning of something great.

damienjameswebb | Feb. 3, 2014 | Review of Red Faction II

now, this wasn't the first of the red faction games, but it was my favorite. there was a lot of basic fps ideas that were then expended on and evolved into what we know red faction to be today.

the enemies felt very real and intelligent thanks to the brilliant AI used this time around. this made that game feel actually difficult compared to the first game which felt a little too run and gun and never die.

the graphics as well are much improved and they feel a lot more realistic (for the era) and much more enjoyable to look at. the story isn't the greatest, but it sets up a lot of things for the more modern games later on that have made me love this IP.

60

like Portal, with a twist. needs work.

damienjameswebb | Feb. 3, 2014 | Review of Quantum Conundrum

first off, it took forever to try and get this game to run smoothly. wasn't sure if that was just me or if the game just isn't optimized fully. but, when i finally got it going, wow was i impressed. it did feel a lot like portal. one room then the next then the next, but it wasn't at the same time. instead of portals, you use dimensions which radically change how things act in the world. it makes for some interesting a difficult puzzles.

the games engine, while innovative, is very slow (at least for me) if i had a more powerful pc, i'm sure it would have been better,but i can get portal 2 to run like butter, and this was more like a thick chunky poo.... i did get all the way through it, however, and the difficulty of the game with all its weird mind bending puzzles was well worth the effort.

this game would probably be better experienced on a console or better PC, but should defiantly be experienced.

100

perfection

damienjameswebb | Feb. 3, 2014 | Review of Psychonauts

this game is nothing if not weird. its a crazy trip into the minds of some of the weirdest people ever imagined... wait, what?

the art style is amazing and works perfectly with the twisted mind melting story that it goes with. the character designs and levels are just so ridiculous, you couldn't even imagine how they were dreamed up in the first place. this all makes sense though seeing as all the levels take place in the minds of the characters that are in them.... uuuugh head hurts... the gameplay is a simple platformer. you collect items, buy upgrades, fight monsters and try and defeat an evil genius boss monster. there's also some ridiculous jokes added in for good measure. don't be fooled though because this is NOT a little kids game. the enemies and puzzles can be very hard, and some of the subject matter that they deal with can be very dark and deranged, but that's really who double fine is when you think about it. Loved this game, and i think everyone at some point should play it. not just for the cultural references, but for the amazing experience that it provides.

70

not really scary until the end.

damienjameswebb | Feb. 3, 2014 | Review of F.E.A.R

for the time that it was release the graphics are very good. the game engine is very smooth and made the game feel very real. The effects of the "haunting" set the mood perfectly but didn't really scare me until i was right at the end of the game. that being said however, the gunfights were well paced and spread out. it wasn't just a constant fire-fight throughout the whole game. it made it feel like i was trying to investigate what was really going on. story was hard to follow, but that was really the point, and other than that i enjoyed this game fully. would defiantly play it again and ramp the difficulty up.

80

Short but sweet....HA

damienjameswebb | Feb. 3, 2014 | Review of Costume Quest

So this is pretty much just FF with kids and candy. the game is short, but soooo entertaining at the same time. it does have a good base in the art style. it works perfectly, and that you go into the kids imagination for the fight sequences is hilarious. There are cards to collect that give you power boots or defensive advantages, and the bosses can actually be really hard to try and battle at times. the downside is that this game is terribly short. it does have an expansion of sorts, but i wish it could have been more of an RPG in the way of FF.

75

An epic adventure of epicosity!

damienjameswebb | Feb. 3, 2014 | Review of Brutal Legend

the gameplay is chunky and they throw you for a loop when it turns out to be a RTS, but this game is amazing for story alone. your a roadie that gets thrown into a mystical land driven by rock and metal music. this game works a little bit better on console than it did on pc however. the optimization was not all that great with is a shame because the RTS style would have worked perfectly. That however is the only downside i have with this game. the characters are well written and voiced, and the art direction was spot on for what a rock and roll god fueled amazingness should be.

100

Not the best, but pretty good.

damienjameswebb | Feb. 3, 2014 | Review of BioShock® 2

Bioshock 2 has nothing on the original, lets say that first. story wise, the first was way more interesting story wise, but this one hits the nail on the head just as well. it has all the best parts of the first, but continues the story to give you a more fleshed out idea of what Rapture was and is. My favorite addition is the ways that you encounter enemies. It seems a little more random if you re-play the same levels over, enemies will spawn in different locations and at different times. The range of enemies as well have gotten a lot better too. not only do we have to deal with splicers and big daddies, but now there's tank like people (very strong) and a big sister (who is scary as, to have to deal with).

its a great game and deserves your money.

80

A surprise, wrapped in a bat cape.

damienjameswebb | Feb. 3, 2014 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

I had played Arkham City before i did this. I thought i should see what made the series what it was. The game play was very familiar: clear a room of enemies, move to the next room of enemies, then a boss battle. I'd suggest cranking up the difficulty so that it is a little challenging though. the graphics are really nice, and even with it's own look, reminds me of some of the more serious comics.

The gameplay, although strait forward, is challenging if you crank the difficulty up. Even going after all the achievements and challenges will add some play time and interesting experiences. matched with the fantastic voice acting and original gameplay style, this makes this game a classic. It will always be something i come back to.

90

Can't hold back the feels...

damienjameswebb | Feb. 3, 2014 | Review of Bastion

Ok, so when i fist started playing this game i was like "ya cool, its a brawler". you try to get through the level filled with monsters to find crystal pieces to save the world.... NOPE instead your thrown into wonder as your trying to figure out who you are, how did you survive, why did this happen, and who was responsible. Lets just say that this game could have easily been a paperback book that i read in junior high for book report week.

As thought provoking as the story is (which i am trying really hard not to give away), the real drive for this is the classic throwback to the iso beat-um-ups of old. The gameplay is smooth and you really feel like your having to work at defeating your enemies (even on the easy settings). The best part by far is the narrator, who literally talks about everything your doing as your doing it, and not just the main story line... if you decide to stop for a minute and start breaking pots, he'll say something about it. if you leave your game running and say go and get a drink from the fridge, he talks about how your character has stopped to stare into the oblivion that is the eternal abyss...

the only downside i have for this game is the leveling system.i didn't like how limited you were with ability stacking, and that you had to change your weapons at the hub rather than on the fly (you only get 2 weapon slots). however, this ends up being a plot point so.... i'll forgive them.

All in all, Bastion is a great game. It was like a good book that i never wanted to finish, but would defiantly read again.

100

a perfect expansion on the origional concept

damienjameswebb | Jan. 30, 2014 | Review of Portal 2

Portal 2 made a great improvements on an already perfect game. The story-line this time over is well fleshed out and very entertaining. The puzzles are challenging and the ability to play with someone in the multiplayer testing chambers makes this game perfect. my only wish is that the story was just a little bit longer. The game runs great on even low powered machines and could even be set to max on my older laptop.

Just as entertaining to play as the first one, and even more fun to play with a friend.

60

Good game - very graphic heavy

damienjameswebb | Jan. 30, 2014 | Review of Far Cry 3 (NA)

Far Cry 3 is one of those perfect games. Something that you can always come to again and again and enjoy thoroughly. The story is solid, the game-play is solid, and the world is absolutely beautiful. The only issue i came across was trying to get it to work on my laptop. I got it working only after a little tweak here and there and even still was not the best it could be. If run on a decent computer it would would would be an amazing experience. The pacing of the game is very well done and the missions keep the options fresh and interesting (even if the main missions are a little strait forward)

Overall, a good game but needs a little more work in the way of performance compatibility.

100

One of the must play games of every gamer.

damienjameswebb | Jan. 30, 2014 | Review of Just Cause 2

Just Cause 2 could be a great game in its own standing. Put on top of that the fact that its the sequel to a just as ridiculous game makes it even more worth the money to play. Basically, your a secret agent with a grappling hook arm, who works for the government, but doesn't, hunting for a man (who then becomes your ally) so that you can help liberate an island by going under cover as a criminal (which is what you really are). How do you do this you may ask... by blowing up everything and anything you can see, that's it. Sure you can go and do the missions and help kill off government slack-jaws, but why do that when you could just tie a boat to a jumbo jet and park it on top of a floating night club thousands of feet in the air. The size of this game is amazingly huge, and the graphics are quite beautiful. the engine runs amazing on even a toaster. You will spend hours just para-sailing across hundreds of thousands of miles of beautiful, lush, and deadly terrain.

The missions are very repetitive, and the story is very straightforward and uninteresting, however that's not what your there for....really... i promise you. Flying a tank... that's what your there for.

80

New experience, well worth the leap

damienjameswebb | Jan. 30, 2014 | Review of Hitman: Absolution

I never really liked stealth games. I had always felt that they were extremely hard. However, when i read the synopsis of this game i had to at least give it a try. the missions are quiet similar, and you really only need to use one weapon throughout the whole game. Although, finding new ways to kill your targets and complete the challenges helped make it a little more complex. The graphics were gorgeous and played very well on my laptop that was a few years old. The disguise system i thought was genius, and well executed, along with the ability to plan out your killing order of a room in slo-mo. Overall the game was interesting to play, and made me feel like i was really the greatest assassin that ever lived. However, the boss missions were a little to difficult for my liking. When at one point there was a classic "boss room battle" type of mission rather than being able to just hide around a corner and head-shot him, i died a little inside. it just didn't feel right and kind of threw me off at first. I got over it eventually and found that the Contracts mode was the best thing that could be. It lets you play user created missions and gives a little more variety in the game. I would recommend this game in a heartbeat to anyone, and although it has is tiny flaws in its collision mechanics from time to time, it's still one of my favorites.

70

An interesting experience...

damienjameswebb | Jan. 30, 2014 | Review of Red Faction Guerilla

Red Faction Guerilla takes the IP to a whole new level of what a sandbox game is. The story line isn't the most interesting and the missions can be somewhat mundane, but when you can throw away hours of your time by blowing up convoys or finding new ways to destroy a building brick by brick you know that this isn't any ordinary game. The new engine they brought to the table was one to marvel over. Almost perfect physics and random particular deconstruction come together in a way that is almost poetic to watch while you blow the bridge supports and watch as a whole army falls hundreds of feet to their deaths in a fiery explosion at the bottom of a cavernous ravine. Your selection of weapons is OK at best however. Don't get me wrong, a few timed explosives and maybe a sledgehammer is really all you need... however you only get four weapon slots, and your ammo seems very limited at times. The "ammo crates" that are spread around the map are placed at least in places where you will be blowing stuff up, but there's not enough of them. Once it gets used that's it, you can't go back and use it again. There are vehicles as well in this game, and although the driving mechanics aren't the greatest, they are very useful. each vehicle has health on top of your own health, so if your about to die, you can just jump right into a new vehicle and BOOM full heath again.

All in all, the game is good. It's not great, mind you (it still needs a lot of work and a decent modding capability) but its passable. Regardless of how mundane the story and missions are. All i really wanted to do was grab a few pounds of C4 and see just how big of a mess i could make (and really thats all that should matter).

100

Shaped the way I Play Games

damienjameswebb | Jan. 29, 2014 | Review of Fallout 3

Before playing Fallout 3, I was a platformer kind of guy. I NEVER played FPS or even RPG games, but i just couldn't help myself. I borrowed it from a friend the first time I played it upon his recommendation, and by the end of the day I had to go out and buy a copy of my own. The story is amazingly detailed and enthralling, the mechanics are an excellent mix for FPS and fantasy RPG and the art direction perfectly captures what Washington DC would be like if we had nuclear fallout in the 1950's. The character creation was really what drew me in. Being able to internally decide how you wanted to play the character would then change the way your character answered questions, or behaved in certain circumstances. I also enjoy how the traits that you choose for yourself such as LUCK or INTELLIGENCE would make people talk to you differently, or treat you differently in battle. The graphics, although not really that great, work well for the game. The original Fallout games were not very graphically heavy and they didn't need to be. The game was carried by the creative dialog and story lines. The connections between characters, and the effects that actions had on the world around you were what made the games great. The same can be said for Fallout 3. If you want an immersive, time consuming experience, this is the best choice you can make without a doubt.