Reviews by damodarko

70

Timeless Classic

damodarko | April 15, 2014 | Review of FINAL FANTASY VIII

This game is a must, out of the entire series, I believe it is the only rival to master piece that is FF7.

Final fantasy 8 excels through its story, a complete journey through Squalls mercenary life. This game comes with twists and turns that leave me guessing to this day. The characters all have something to add to this epic. So many hours have I invested in this game. Not only does the plot keep you engaged, but the side missions, the collectibles and the mini games like cards that will keep you addicted. It is a truly complete game.

It introduces you to the junction system, which allows you to completely customize your characters strengths. So much content that you are likely to miss out on something that will keep you coming back for multiple playthroughs.

This however is only a re-release, nothing new and many of you will have played it before or already own it. I have bought it for the sole idea of having a digital copy so I can rest my weary overplayed discs. It's a better and less buggy re-release than FF7, but it could still do with a face lift.

Easily, an 85-90 if it wasn't showing its age.

70

Pacing to make your heart jump

damodarko | April 15, 2014 | Review of F.E.A.R

FEAR is a classic, I am not afraid to call it that as it is one of those few games that make me jump to this day. It's pacing is great, despite being a full on shooter. The effects and visuals hit you when you least expect it and build you up for terror around each turn as jump scare become just set in fear.

The story gives you a little something extra than your normal horror and certainly the game has been crafted with care. It is a great introduction to the series and even if the graphics don't hold up, they are not ugly. However, I enjoy to play games like these on a controller and the PC integration for this is outdated and doesn't quite map, it is a pity.

I would recommend this for any gamer looking for something that's engaging while not leave your light on at night for a month scary.

80

Batman Meets GTA

damodarko | April 15, 2014 | Review of Sleeping Dogs Digital Edition

This game is superb.

A comparable to GTA but with a twist. Wei is a damaged undercover cop, embedded in the seedy underbelly of the Japanese crime scene. He tries to infiltrate the notorious Triad that he hold personally responsible for deaths in his family. Wei has spent so long in this way of life that it has taken a mental toll on his character and morality starts to become blurred and his motives unclear.

The fighting in this game really sets it apart. An open world game that is not focused around gun, sure they are there, but the game beautifully sways you from their use. It's gritty and very engaging and certainly makes every encounter engrossing. It really has that fluid motion that the batman games have recently captured. The driving may be a bit tedious at the beginning, but I find like all games, you just have to learn what's best for you. Once you get the hang of driving, you are in for some spectacular car chases, it is one of my favourite getaway games.

I highly recommend this for any GTA/Batman/Saints Row gamers.

60

Dis-appointed

damodarko | April 9, 2014 | Review of Dishonored

Dishonored, is a good game, not a great game and it saddens me as it comes so close.

Playing an assassin with a morally ambiguous decision tree should really sell a game hands down, however, the decisions never really effect anything really. Dishonored is a great looking game and the controls are fluid and easy to master. However, it feels like it's lacking finesse or heart. The story never really engaged me and I feel it's largely due to the quiet man in the iron mask, you'd swear they kidnapped his personality rather the Empresses daughter.

This is the shell of a great game and in that sense it ceases to be anything more than good. The environments are nice, but over used and become boring. There are a lot of collectibles but no real push to collect them as most are hiding in plain sight. The entire world leaves you claustrophobic and wanting more, but it never does.

The plot is lazy and un-engaging. A good comparison would be, it's like a Fable world, but dark a dreary and not as fun. I say Fable because the art style is similar and they always looked better than they were and that is exactly what I felt playing this game.

70

Bordering Brilliant

damodarko | April 9, 2014 | Review of Borderlands

This game is ridiculous, it's fun and made for a party, of friends that is. Borderlands is a great game, the writing is witty and it doesn't take itself seriously. This game is light hearted, explosions and action with childish humor in every mission or sentence.

The characters themselves are diverse enough to want to try out all play styles and the bonuses really add to a group. The only problem is, if you don't have a group to play for, this game can seem like a large grind with very diminishing returns.

Get this game and play with friends, don't have friends? Get friends, then get this game. You can ditch them once you've gotten your money's worth of chaos and witty banter!

76

A beautiful game

damodarko | April 9, 2014 | Review of Bastion

Bastion is one of those rare games that comes along quietly and knocks you off your feet.

It's simplistic play style makes it easy to flick on for a fun smash and bash, but the level design, the narration and that soundtrack? Every time I sit down to play this game I am absorbed into it's beauty.

This is a game that plays well and invokes all the right emotions. A small tale that pulls you in and immerses you in a deep story while the vibrant designs and quirky game play keeps it nice an light.

A special mention has to go to the original soundtrack to this game. I rarely buy music separate to the game, but I have bought this game and soundtrack multiple times just to spread it among my friends.

This game is for everyone and should be played by everyone.

70

Essential MegaDrive classic

damodarko | April 9, 2014 | Review of Alien Storm

Alien Storm? Just wow, what memories! This game is just fun. As a kid I would sit there for hours with my buddy and get my alien busting ass handed to me by this game, but I always came back for more. This game is arcade gold, right up there with golden axe. If you're a fan of classics, this is money well spent.

This has a feature most modern games don't have, the ability to grab a second controller and co-op side by side, as it should be!

75

Strife

damodarko | April 9, 2014 | Review of FINAL FANTASY VII

Final Fantasy 7 is my all time favourite game. As many will agree it was a childhood foundation to my love of RPG's and gaming. This is a game that has saved "Square" from hard times and really pushed the bar in terms of games content. It is fantastic and I could not rate it high enough, it's a must play and that's the end of it. If you haven't you are in for a treat, don't argue, just buy it.

HOWEVER, this re-released version to make it playable and readily available for todays market, is not perfect. A few things have not traveled very well and the biggest mistake has to be the music. This game has a beautiful score, but sadly this port has failed to them justice. I hope modders have fixed the bugs along the way, I however have defaulted to my old copy on the ps1. For those of you unlucky enough to have missed that boat, I still implore you to buy this game. With all it's little bugs, it's not a deal breaker, it's just a little pity.

TL;DR: This is one of the greatest games ever. Even if the port has a few minor issues, if you don't have this and especially if you have never played this, buy it and do so asap. FF7 is a right of passage to every RPG fan. I have only lowered my rating for square enix's poor handling of this port.

80

A Wake Up Call

damodarko | April 9, 2014 | Review of Alan Wake

Alan Wake really surprised me. I am not a big fan of horror games. I picked this up as a friend recommended it and I haven't looked back since. This game is more of a thriller than a horror. I scare easily, I jump when things go bump and this game had me chasing shadows again, but all while being fun.

It's not your typical, if we scare them our job is done thriller, this game has depth. Wake is a game really well written, the dialogue is funny and witty. Alan himself is a writer going through a rough patch, and he's not afraid to moan about it. His cynicism and empathy is actually charming and I really warmed to him as a character early, along with his unconventional sidekick/agent.

It's a game driven by it's mechanics and story telling. Nothing is ever really scary except the unknown and this game literally leaves you in the dark. However, this is the only game I have played in a long while that made me want to explore and find out more. This game is a shining light in terms of solid pacing and content behind the main story.

75

Murder Most Howl

damodarko | April 9, 2014 | Review of The Wolf Among Us

This game sunk its teeth in from the very beginning, the art and music are just astonishing. The range of dialogue is both witty and humorous. The characters and their traits that mirror fiction really come to life in this story.

You play as the big bad wolf, a detective in a "grimm" less than fairy tale world. There is no glamour and glitz to this tale. We join our antihero, at shocking time for our fictional cast, a Fable has been murdered. With your spotted past and less than pleasant demeanor, it makes it a struggle to uncover what's really at the bottom of things.

The writing and direction of this game is superb and each variable leaves a considerable impact to the outcome. Telltale have really delivered a neat package with this series. I am hooked and I await each passing episode. Episode one, gives you a large introduction to the story and world, however epsiode two is very short. Both are packed full of content and with the only complaint being I want more... I think this tale will be told for some time yet.

80

Apocalypse Now

damodarko | April 9, 2014 | Review of Fallout 3: Game of the Year Edition

Fallout 3 is one of the most fantastic games I have ever played.

Grown in an ideal and dated society; ignorant of what the world really is. Your life is turned upside down in a matter of moments and you are flung to the harsh wasteland that is the new reality. Nuclear war has ravaged the wastes and the world as man knew it, is no more. A desolate place where anyone and everything is out to kill you. With no home to return to and only the goal to hunt down the father that abandoned you, the only way is forward.

This games is packed full of amazing characters, dialogues and features an incredible plethora of exciting/dramatic and funny scenarios for your character to get in. A wasteland catered to how you play, an amazing soundtrack and with DLC that keeps the game fresh and still catches you off guard.

Fallout 3 is a timeless game, one from the past, for the present and has much life in the future. I still play it regularly as do many. If you are missing this game, your library is not complete.

75

Humor over gameplay

damodarko | April 7, 2014 | Review of South Park: The Stick of Truth

The Stick of Truth is South Park at its best.

It is in essence an interactive episode of the show; packed full of edgy humor and all of your favorite characters at their best.

As a game there is nothing really special about it, it's basic but functional. Although, the entire map is revealed to you at the start of the game, I have to give credit, they really use the space and pack each few steps with content. However, don't expect to buy this game and expect it to re-invent the RPG.

If you are a fan of the series, this is a must have. I laughed my way through the entire game and I hope this is extended regularly with DLC. Hopefully, they can keep this laugh a click series alive with new and regular content.

85

X-Com-plete

damodarko | April 7, 2014 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown - The Complete Edition

Being new to the XCOM series when Enemy Unknown was released I had no idea what I was missing out on.

This neat strategy game has it all; a decent story arc, characters you get invested in and upgrades that really make the difference instead of basic stop gaps. Enemy Unknown kept me playing for hours, I was lost in that "one more level" fever.

I felt that it was so complete in itself, that when Enemy Within was released, I was skeptical of how they could improve the game. With instant action, all new story missions, new characters and brand new map objectives, Enemy Within, was no add-on, it was a completely different game in itself.

The sheer amount of content in this game is enough to keep me entertained, but bolstered with addictive and challenging game play for all levels, it is a must have for anyone's games library.

90

Murder most foul

damodarko | May 8, 2013 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line dns

This was my hidden gem of the year, left aside as a mindless shooter and another dilution in the market. I could not have been more wrong.

I picked this up on a dry gaming month, GMG had it on sale and for dirt cheap, I figured i'd knock a few shots out of it. From the start, it had me hooked.

Without giving away anything, this game is action packed, fun and most of all, thought provoking. This game has the best story arc I have seen in a shooter in a very long time. The game play is basic and intuitive, letting you get on with what you're doing and pop in for some fun, what keeps you are the characters and their story.

Unsure of who your friends are, who your enemy is, you dig and dig with an ever escalating consequence to your actions. Three quarters in I felt myself having to justify my own actions and choices. I felt I had to race to the finish, that ends will justify the means, I needed something to alleviate the burden that I had placed, through my own choices, on my shoulders.

This game is a must play. There as some wonderful little dynamics added to environmental combat (Using your surroundings). The soundtrack is chunky and really elevates with aggression and tension. You feel for the characters and you want them to make it out alive.

Just to close, I loved it, it was original, it had it's own freshness to add to the market. It was the first shooter in a very long time, that as soon as I finished, I just hit play campaign again without exiting so much as the title screen. It can be picked up cheap, get it. My only regret is not paying more so the developers got as much as they gave.

TL;DR Cheap to buy, worth every cent and if nothing, love the story/soundtrack.