Reviews by darkbreaker3200

72

Mix Feelings

darkbreaker3200 | Aug. 25, 2013 | Review of Resident Evil 6

I have mix feelings about this game. As it is, it's an okay game. Co-op is cool, but I'll echo what a lot of folks are saying; it does not feel like an RE game at all. But then again the franchise has/is changing, for better or worse depends on who you ask. The atmosphere isn't what I remember. Leon's arc starts with zombies, but the creatures/foe you face become less scary and more obnoxious and annoying as you go. The game is divided into different arcs that revolves around a central plot. I can safely say I'm not a fan of the mission-esque levels.

My personal preference aside, the graphics are great. I've also notice dialog has greatly improved. 7/10, it's worth a buy, it just might not be a home run for everyone.

87

A nice change...

darkbreaker3200 | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Zombie Driver

It was a new perspective on the zombie genre for me, birds-eye view car action. The missions were simple and short, but controlling the cars was the major challenge. Initially I got motion sick from playing, but I got used to it. Supports Eyefinity, a major plus even though it's kinda pointless for this game. All in all, a great example of an Indie game.

93

What a great experience!

darkbreaker3200 | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of LA Noire

I agree with some of the reviewers, arguably one of Rockstar's defining games. Massive world map with real landmarks. Reminds me of a Sega game titled Shenmue, stunning story and graphics, but lacks replay value. Rest assured, the first go-around is quite the experience.

90

"Batman can be anybody" even geeks like us!

darkbreaker3200 | July 25, 2013 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year

This trilogy certainly does a great job at making the player feel like Batman. All the gadgets and gizmos, zipping from roof to roof, kinda makes you wish upon a lucky star for a more vast sandbox to play in. The stealth aspect makes me think of Metal Gear series, observing guards and crawling into ducts and vents. Not to mention the game is fantastic on the eyes, really puts a hurting on my 6950.

87

More Action than RPG

darkbreaker3200 | July 22, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect 2 (NA)

Mass Effect 2 is less RPG-esque than its predecessor. Graphics and controls are more fluid, but I felt it's a much shorter game than the original. They also revamp the upgrading systems; which kinda threw me off. You don't really find/buy a new armor, you upgrade your current one. All in all, It's a great game in its own right, but if you're expecting an RPG, you have been warned.

82

It's Fresh

darkbreaker3200 | July 22, 2013 | Review of Bully: Scholarship Edition DNS

I think the title says it all. It's a fresh perspective on the GTA concept. A solid game all around. I know Rockstar received some social backlash at the release of Bully, but objectively Bully is more...morally sound, for a lack of better words, than any of the GTA games. Not quite sure why Rockstar hasn't expand on the series.

77

What I like about Indie

darkbreaker3200 | July 22, 2013 | Review of Shank 2 (NA)

One of the better Indie titles out there. Controls takes some time to get used to, Shank attacks in the direction of the cursor, so it's not all button mashing. All in all, it's good for killing some time and a laugh, if you're a morbid kinda person.

88

Upset I didn't play it sooner...

darkbreaker3200 | July 22, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect (NA)

I can see why there's a strong, almost cult, following for this Trilogy; had I played it when it was first released I probably would have been blown away. It's a beautiful game, definitely tingled the Sci-fi and RPG geek in me. The prospect of traveling to an uncharted solar system and explore is so grand, that I wished Bioware made the Galaxy, in the game, much more vast.

Mass Effect took about 40 hrs for me to complete about 75% of the game, but I also did a lot of useless wandering around the Galaxy too. Plot started out a bit slow for my taste, but once I departed the Citadel it really took off, pun intended.

90

Revolutionary...

darkbreaker3200 | July 22, 2013 | Review of FINAL FANTASY VII

It's not my favorite RPG, that honor goes to a 2d RPG of the same era and platform, but FF7 was down right revolutionary; it marked the golden age of console RPG. For those not in the know, it's a turn-based RPG that required about 60+ hrs to complete; very standard for the time. It featured some of the most iconic characters ever conceived by Square. Whether it was score or graphics, VII had few weaknesses, if any. If your a fan of the genre and decide to play a game from this period, as much as I would like to drop 2-3 other games, you must play FF7.