Reviews by darklyfallen

94

Fantastic

darklyfallen | Aug. 23, 2013 | Review of Teleglitch: Die More Edition

DOOM meets QUAKE meets roguelike-likes

What I like about this game is how you have to switch up your playstyle to survive as you go along.

Hit level 3? Prepare yourself!

Level 5? Change it up! Or you'll die.

Level 7? Get re- OH MY GOD THERE WAS A GIANT SQUID AND IT ANNIHILATED ME WITH A LASER BEAM

Pros: Great and addictive gameplay, awesome aesthetic and feeling, text logs give a good feel of the story, combining items are cool, finding secrets are great, enemies are interesting and make things frantic. The level select system is cool, rewarding progress.

Cons: Map could use a bit of work( scrolling takes a while in the larger areas). Could use some more enemy types (towards the later levels, it's always the same 4 or 5 kind of enemies with palette swaps).

FOR THE LOVE OF GOD DO NOT ALT-TAB THIS GAME IF YOU DO IT WILL GLITCH AND YOU WILL HAVE TO SHUT IT DOWN

I've done this a couple of times and it's frustrating to lose a run just because you wanted to check the internet.

Hopefully they'll patch it soon (the devs are super responsive :D )

Still, it's amazing, and you should try it. Seriously.

I can't stop playing

Please send hel-

KSHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH Connection has been lost

100

Don't miss this game, whatever you do

darklyfallen | June 10, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

Let's make things straight - I'm not a fan of point-and-click games.

Telltale has released some mighty fine games - l've watched people playing them, but can't bring myself to do the whole "click on this, drag it to use on that".

However, l am a fan of the comic series, and this game was on sale, so l picked it up.

And l was absolutely stunned.

The gameplay is fun - it's not what you're expecting, it's something different, but it's great. The story is fantastic and the dynamic choice/response system is implemented really organically, so it feels a game being tailored to what you choose.

The game focuses on the people - the zombies are window dressing. They're the narrative framing device and the characters really shine through.

This is the future of games - deep, fun, intuitive, and with great storytelling.

82

Under the sea

darklyfallen | June 5, 2013 | Review of BioShock® 2

Pros: The game looks and feels fantastic, and is a blast to play. It definetely has a better storyline than other FPS's out there. Basically, everything that was good about Bioshock the first is present in most ways.

Cons: The gameplay is pretty much the same as the first, with a couple of different weapons and plasmids. The characters aren't as compelling as in the first, and the story's a bit weaker.

There's a game-breaking bug towards the end of the game where if you go inside an asylum cell, it'll close and won't open (hopefully you saved not too long ago!)

Also, a bit short.

In summary: A well-polished shooter that adds to its predecessor's gameplay, but doesn't quite hold up to it. Still great in it's own regard.

95

I did indeed ask for this

darklyfallen | June 5, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

Hey, you! What kind of games do you like?

Shooters? This has you covered in spades. Stealth? Got it. Good storyline? Yup. Great gameplay mechanics? You betcha.

Music? Graphics? ROBOTIC FRIDGE-THROWING AND WALL-SMASHING ABLITIES!?!?!

How about yes to all of these. There's enough to go around!

The only downsides is that the game was a bit too easy (even stealthing gives you enough experience points to upgrade almost all the augments, and enemies are one-shotted by later weapons), and the boss fights were kind of meh,

Nevertheless, I'd recommend this to anyone that enjoys action games and interesting stories.

Now if you'll excuse me, I have candy bars to eat in order to power up my robo-arms to go break into someone's apartment, in order to steal their black-market weapons.

85

Fun game!

darklyfallen | June 5, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Game of the Year Edition

Although it hasn't aged the best, Deus Ex is a fun action stealth FPS hybrid thing.

Somewhat different ways of playing, depending on your choice of augments and style. There were a whole bunch of small touches that added to the game. The weapons were interesting, althought the Dragon sword was a bit overpowered (that + stealth = pretty much instakill most enemies). Speaking of enemies, they have pretty decent AI, and the boss battles (or boss choices) are good.

The music is fun and the plot, although a typical conspiracy-type deal, had enough twists and turns to keep things fresh.

Definitely worth a play, for gaming history as well as being geniunely great.

79

OH MY GOD DINOSAURS

darklyfallen | June 3, 2013 | Review of Primal Carnage

THERE'S VELOCIRAPTORS AND T-REXES AND I THINK I SAW A SPINOSAURUS SOMEWHERE

RE-PTERA-DACTED A PTERADON JUST GRABBED MY BEST FRIEND AND THREW HIM OFF A CLIFF

TWO DIFFERENT GAME MODES AND FIVE DIFFERENT CLASSES FOR EACH SPECIES

SURVIVAL OF THE FITTEST HAS NEVER BEEN MORE INTENSE

UHH I JUST GOT STUCK IN A WALL THOUGH I GUESS LIFE ISN'T ALL GREAT HERE IN TRIASSIC PARK OR WHEREVER WE AT

BUT ITS OKAY BECAUSE LIFE HERE IS IMPROVING WITH MORE ALLIES WHO PLAY THIS GAME

OF LIFE

DINOSAUR LIFE

Does not run well on old computers.

90

Fantastically Poignant

darklyfallen | June 3, 2013 | Review of Bastion Cap

Bastion - what is it? It's a place. It's a feeling. It's a home. It's a fantastic game.

Gameplay is general top-downish 3D action platformer, with fun weapons and pretty decent enemies. Enough variation to keep things interesting, and the combat is always fun. The story's real good, accentuated by a great Narrator and a stellar soundtrack.

Replay value is okay, once for maybe different weapon styles and some extra narrative.

It does what it sets out to do very well, and will leave you thinking, and most probably humming its tunes.

95

If this is the Basement, I never want to leave

darklyfallen | May 30, 2013 | Review of The Binding of Isaac

I wasn't a big fan of Roguelike games, but I picked up this game since I was a fan of Super Meat Boy (especially the soundtrack artist, Danny Baranowsky). However, over 100 hours later, l'm totally hooked - even though the game is so hard, so frustrating, so mysterious, every time you figure out something is amazing. Visuals are fun and game is easy to pick up, hard to master.

The only downside is that you can't save and pick up your game later. Also there is an occasional glitch, but it's pretty rare.

Overall, great game, great soundtrack, hours of fun. Prepare yourself for a challenge.