Reviews by dawe

79

A brainchild of Dwarf fortress with graphics

dawe | Jan. 9, 2013 | Review of Towns

This could almost be Dwarf Fortress with a graphics mod. The main difference being the simplificated processes and the fact that you're controlling humans. This is not necessarily a bad things if you like DF but can't stand having to restart all the time due to your dwarfs dying in fascinating ways. Anyhow, as this game is in alpha/beta stage it is lacking in som areas, but remarkably complete in others. So if you can't stand the occasional bugs and that everyones seems to get all their nutrition from eating bread go ahead and build your town worthy of some good heroes to clean up those trashy mobs!

35

Seems fun at the beginning but..

dawe | Nov. 21, 2012 | Review of Greed: Black Border

This is a game were there maybe was a good idea to it but the implementatin kind of sucks.. Teh 3 classes are all quite similar and the levelling system is straight out of diablo 2.. I wish they would have spent some more time in doing a game which was more original and less stiff. I remember playing other games like this in the 90s which handled much the same. If there would be a follow-up to it they need to rethink what they are doing, and how. Bottom line, good setting but a crap implementation of the gameplay.

50

Just if..

dawe | Nov. 21, 2012 | Review of Space Empires: Starfury

After star empirev IV my expectations for this game were high. It played ok, fairly easy to handle but it lacked a proper meaning to it, it was missing something. The graphics are workable, nothing fancy now of course, but it is ok for the time it was made in. I just wish it had some of the great complexity of the star empires games... maybe some more squad focus or something. It left me with a feeling of being unfinished and a way to captain the vessels of SE:V. It could have been great with more lore and simply more substance and variety.

85

Old, but a refined 4X pearl

dawe | Nov. 21, 2012 | Review of Space Empires IV Deluxe

This is an old pearl. It's got a steep learning curve, but once you see the different options and get used to the micromanagement it's great fun! To enjoy this game you need time and dedication, but the reward is sweet. This game is by far best played with mods, lots of them. The choices are many, everything from custom races to additional options. Of course you have to get use dto some dated graphics, but in these types of games that is rarely the main focus. Be prepared to lose your initial games even on normal, it's all in the process of learning!

80

It makes mindless killing fun

dawe | Nov. 20, 2012 | Review of Borderlands 2 DNS

The continuation of the acclaimed prequel which is basicly the same. It is still about shooting all the big and small bandits, monsters and now plus robots you can find. And oh, there's a ton of loot and much bigger weapons and lots of stuff to kill (did I mentoin that?). It's fun, I'll give it that, but it's basicly the same as the first game which bores me after a while as it feels like playing the same game all over again. But the victims of my blazing gunrage are getting somewhat smarter in seeking cover.. at least it's improved since the first game.

80

Dated, but still a timespender

dawe | May 22, 2012 | Review of Warlords Battlecry 3

This game may not be the best of the RTS genre, but it has a long life in between the missions. There you manage your hero, see all the tiniest little stat and also carry over good leveled units. Further it has a big variety of factions to choose from.

It had me hooked for many hours.

It would have done a lot better with some bug cleanups and an easier UI. It is quite hard to cast spells at the same time as managing your battlefield as it is now. I would also like to see support for widescreen, but that's just wishful thinking.

65

The 3rd that missed the spot.

dawe | May 16, 2012 | Review of UFO: Afterlight Cap

After playing the 2 earlier games my hopes where high for this game. The first turn off was the cartoony graphics, it felt out of place, made me feel like I was playing som childish flash game. The tactical battles handle real slow, maybe it's the martian atmosphere, but it never got to me. The stategical aspects did have some shiny moments, as when your crew have multiple roles of a soldier and a scientist, terraforming and building mines etc.

This game fails to live up to its predecessor, badly. I give it 65 as I like the genre,

70

A game in between genres

dawe | May 16, 2012 | Review of Anno 2070

FIrstly, this is a good game. I like the different factions and the depth of management, trade etc. I also like to be able to just play a map without a real goal but to play. It also has a fun achievement board.

The aspects I'm doubtful to is firstly the DRM; it makes the game very slow to start, it takes ages on my fairly new machine. Also, I would prefer some more depth in handling your citizens, not just as consumers of more and more advanced products. Lastly the RTS part of the game is somewhat lacking. I would like to see other types of units than naval and air units. The lack of depth is what really puts this game down.

Weighing the pros with the cons, I still give this a 70 as I'm a huge fan of the eco-society in the game.

90

Complete if not...

dawe | May 13, 2012 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (EU)

This game had me sucked in for a long while with its seemingly endless dungeons and quests. Not to mention the foraging for metals and herbs.

As an old Morrowind fan I am saddened by the simplification of the game. It feels like it is made for an xbox controller and not for the pc. The simplified, clumsy menus turn me off. I want the detail and smooth menus back! Also the dragons are pitifully weak, they are stuff of legends, not lizard birds to be one shotted out of the sky!

It would have gotten the full pot if not for the simplification/dumbification, but it still stands as one of the best games I have played this year.

75

The best of the three

dawe | May 13, 2012 | Review of UFO: Aftershock CAP

I'll start out by saying that this UFO game is the best of them all. It has a better look than the first and it runs smoother and is less cartoony than its sequel.

The good parts in this game are the detailed squad system where you get to train your squad to different roles and equip them with all different sorts of guns. The extensive research system is solid with quite a bunch of branches to research into.

The less good parts are the same repeatable tactical maps over and over again. Some of which really make you turn the game off after a hundred times. The AI is quite nonexistent. But it has a steep learning curve; you will probably have to restart a couple of times if you are new to the game as it is quite harsh in the beginning. As you progress it gets very easy but very slow, a great deal of patience is required to reach the endgame.

But even with all its cons it has a rough charm for us who are stuck to xcom/ufo series. It is different from the rest and has some very good aspects.

Another point worth noting is that there are some really good modifications for the game still out there that enrich the game to a completely new level. So if you get it be sure to try them out!