Reviews by drakaenae

59

Not worth playing

drakaenae | Nov. 14, 2011 | Review of Alex Kidd in the Enchanted Castle

Alex Kidd In the Enchanted Castle is a retro side-scrolling platformer. The goal of this game is to help Alex (the monkey/kid) find has father by defeating enemies and surviving. You can get powerups by challenging monkeys in the houses in rock-paper-scissor games.

This game has a lack of plot and annoying music. The punches and kicks may sometimes miss the monsters even though it appears to have hit. The levels are boring and repetitive. After finishing the first stage, each stage on will be nearly identical; the monster may look different and the background may change, but the gameplay is essentially the same. The bosses are random and pointless; you have to beat them in a rock-paper-scissors game which requires luck and if you lose you have to go back to the beginning of the stage and try again unless if you have the powerup that tells you their move. The only difficult stages are the last two stages. I would not recommend this game, Sega has a lot of better games, you should not waste your time on this one.

59

Not worth playing

drakaenae | Nov. 9, 2011 | Review of Alex Kidd in the Enchanted Castle

Alex Kidd In the Enchanted Castle is a retro side-scrolling platformer. The goal of this game is to help Alex (the monkey/kid) find has father by defeating enemies and surviving. You can get powerups by challenging monkeys in the houses in rock-paper-scissor games.

This game has a lack of plot and annoying music. The punches and kicks may sometimes miss the monsters even though it appears to have hit. The levels are boring and repetitive. After finishing the first stage, each stage on will be nearly identical; the monster may look different and the background may change, but the gameplay is essentially the same. The bosses are random and pointless; you have to beat them in a rock-paper-scissors game which requires luck and if you lose you have to go back to the beginning of the stage and try again unless if you have the powerup that tells you their move. The only difficult stages are the last two stages. I would not recommend this game, Sega has a lot of better games, you should not waste your time on this one.

80

Excellent Casual Game

drakaenae | Oct. 14, 2011 | Review of Columns III: Revenge of the Columns

This retro game is a lot like playing tetris with an AI but the rules are slightly different. Unlike columns I, in columns III you have to defeat the AI instead of racking up a high score. Unlike Tetris, the object of the game is to match 3 or more jewels vertically, diagonally or horizontally and only 3 vertical jewels drop at a time. There are power ups in this game. When you have 10 or more points (you get points by matching jewels), you can use the special ability "crush bar" which moves up the base of your opponent and shatters their current jewels.

Overall, its a fun and addicting game. I would recommend reading the rules before playing because I would never have known about the "crush bar" ability which is crucial for winning. The difficulty of the game increases after each level, in the final levels, one mistake can be fatal. At first it may seem hard to beat the harder AI's but with practice, you will learn new strategies to beat them.

Speed and accuracy are generally the key to winning. There are several games modes in the game (e.g. 2 player mode) that you can enjoy after finishing the story mode. The music in this game is not bad but is kind of distracting. I would recommend this game to casual gamers.

75

Based on the game Breakout

drakaenae | Sept. 16, 2011 | Review of Krypton Egg

This classic game is based on the classic game breakout. The objective of the game is to keep the egg in the air to hit the bricks by using the paddle. There are several powerups in this game such as multiple balls and getting a larger paddle.

Although the game is not too original since it's based on breakout, it is still quite fun. There are many challenging levels, but the game does get pretty repetitive. Still, I would recommend this game if you like retro games or casual games.

60

Very Linear

drakaenae | July 23, 2011 | Review of Altered Beast

Altered Beast is a very repetitive game. The goal is to defeat all the monsters in order to save the god's daughter. There are powerups available in this game which can transform you into a bear, dragon, tiger or wolf (there's two versions of wolf) and give you special abilities which help greatly for defeating monsters and bosses. There are five levels in this game.

Although this game is somewhat challenging since you have a limited number of lives, its just too repetitive. Once you get one of the powerups, the level is no longer a challenge since the powerups are too overpowered. The plot of the game is not interesting and there is not a lot of variation between levels. I would not recommend this game.

73

Classic Arcade Style Game

drakaenae | July 22, 2011 | Review of Alien Storm

This game is like one of the typical fighting games at the arcade. You can choose one player or two player mode and you can choose between three different characters. Instead of inserting a quarter every lose a life, you have 3 credits which act as quarters; once you run out of credits you lose the game.

Just like the typical arcade fighting game, the main objective is to defeat your enemies- the aliens, and each stage ends with a boss fight or challenge (where the speed increases or you switch to first person mode). This can is pretty challenging overall, since you have a limited number of lives, and sometimes, its impossible to evade all attacks from the aliens in one player mode. Two player mode is a bit better but is still pretty challenging. Overall, I would recommend this game to people who like arcade games or coop games.

86

Great Classic Coop Game

drakaenae | July 18, 2011 | Review of Gunstar Heroes

Gunstar Heroes is a great platformer. You can choose to play single player or coop with a friend. You play as one of the gunstar twins and your objective is to destroy all your enemies. You start the game with one of four weapons (Lightning, Chaser, Force and Flame), but you can combine two weapons to form new weapons later in the game.

Although this is a retro game, you definitely should play it. This game takes skill and strategy. There are several bosses in the game and each require a different strategy to defeat effectively. There is a lot of variety between levels in this game. I would definitely recommend this game to people who like action games of platformers.

68

Simple Game

drakaenae | July 7, 2011 | Review of The Rise of Atlantis

The Rise of Atlantis is a lot like the game Bejeweled-when you match three or more shapes on the screen, they disappear- but the objective is to get the artifact pieces to the bottom of the screen. There are power-ups such as the bomb, thunder and the sun, which destroy shapes to help you get closer to getting the artifact pieces to the bottom of the screen.

There is not a lot of variation in this game. All the levels are similar and the difficulty barely increases when you get to higher levels. I would still recommend this game to people who enjoy casual games though.

74

Unique Casual Game

drakaenae | July 7, 2011 | Review of Crystalix

Crystalix is a unique casual game. The goal of this game is to match the shapes/gems on the bottom of the screen with the large figure (cosmic debris) above. If you are stuck, you can use the space bar to rotate the shapes at the bottom, you could use the hammer to destroy a shape at the bottom or you could use the wand to destroy a gem on the figure. Once the scroll on the bottom stops moving because you have to many shapes at the bottom, you lose the game.

Although the game starts off easy, its gets pretty difficult when you get to later levels since its more difficult to find matching shapes. I would recommend this game to people who like games that train their logical thinking and casual gamers.

75

Great Sega Classic

drakaenae | July 5, 2011 | Review of Columns

This is a great classic game. The objective of this game is to match 3 or more gems (vertically, diagonally or horizontally) which drop in columns of 3 in a "tetris-like" manner. Although the graphics are not too great, its still a great game. I would recommend this for casual/puzzle game lovers and retro game collectors.

78

Just Like Arctic Quest 1

drakaenae | July 4, 2011 | Review of Arctic Quest 2

Arctic Quest 2 is identical to Arctic Quest 1 but with more/different levels and more obstacles such as the water and fire elements which could wipe your pieces. Just like Arctic Quest 1, the goal is to cover a figure with shapes/crystals. If you have too many unused crystals (which fill up the river), you lose the game. I would recommend buying this game instead of Arctic Quest 1 though because of the additional features and levels for the same price and I would recommend Arctic Quest 1 to fans of this game.

81

Very similar to Bejeweled

drakaenae | July 2, 2011 | Review of Jewel Quest II

This game is a lot like the popcap game Bejeweled but instead, you have to match tiles until the entire game-board turns to gold (the spaces where a match occurs turns gold). Just like Bejeweled there is a timer, but in Jewel Quest II, the game board also changes into more complicated shapes to increase the difficulty of the game. Overall, its a pretty addicting games. I would definitely recommend this game if you like casual games.

76

Great for learning new words

drakaenae | July 2, 2011 | Review of KrissX

This is a great game for improving your vocabulary. There are several game modes in this game, where you have to unscramble letters to form a specific word. If you're stuck, the game will give you clues (refer to last picture) which can help you unscramble the word; even if you don't know the word, you could randomly arrange the letters and eventually unscramble the word (although it would be much harder for long words) and learn a new word in the process. The music and atmosphere of the game is not bad. I would recommend this game.

50

Alien Swarm is much better

drakaenae | June 11, 2011 | Review of Alien Shooter

This game is a lot like the free steam game Alien Swarm except its a lot worse. The graphics are bad, there isn't much of a plot and the game is glitchy. The only thing I like about the game is the title itself because in this game, all you really do is pointlessly shoot aliens.

The graphics of this game looks like the games that came out before 1999 even though this game was released in 2005. If you walk up to a wall, your guns with cut through the wall and you could shoot the aliens on the other side. Likewise, when an alien walks into a wall, their head passes through the wall and you could shoot them on the other side of the wall without getting damaged.

I really wouldn't recommend buying this game. Instead get the free game Alien Swarm from steam and experience a similar but better experience.

65

Not Really Fun

drakaenae | June 5, 2011 | Review of Beat Hazard

This game is like the asteroids arcade game but with music. The game gets harder at the intense parts of the music and easier towards the slow and less intense parts. This game is too repetitive. There is a limited number of enemies and after playing for a while, no matter what song your choose, the game is pretty much the same. Rather than playing this game, I would rather put some music on and play just any other less repetitive shooter.

If you want to play a game with music I would recommend Audiosurf. If you want a shooting game, I'm sure there's a lot of better ones out there. I wouldn't recommend this game.

80

Great Coop

drakaenae | June 4, 2011 | Review of Borderlands

This game is like a fps game and a rpg game combined together. It has a variety of weapons you can choose from, great music and a unique art style. There are also many DLCs which can extend the game. The multiplayer coop is pretty fun, especially when you're playing with friends with a mic.

However, the game doesn't have much of a plot after the intro and its very repetitive.

79

Short Game

drakaenae | June 4, 2011 | Review of Bob Came in Pieces CAP

This is a pretty unique game. It has a decent story, okay music, okay graphics and okay puzzles. You play as the protagonist, Bob, who must find all the parts of the spaceship and go back home.

There are many physic puzzles in this game. In order to solve these puzzles, you have to attach the parts that you find on to your space ship. You can probably beat the game in about 2-4 hours and you could always replay the game and beat the time trials.

If you want to play a short and funny puzzle game, I'll recommend this one.

90

Same price as non-deluxe version

drakaenae | June 3, 2011 | Review of Assassin's Creed 2 Deluxe Edition

The regular/vanilla version (regular Assassin's Creed 2) of this game costs exactly the same so you should definitely buy the deluxe version.

In this review, I'll just talk about the content which are available in the deluxe version and not the regular version. Please read my review on Assassin's Creed 2 (regular edition) if you want to know my opinion on the base game.

The new maps provided 3 extra locations where you can find Templar Lairs. These are just like the Assassin Tombs - easy puzzles where you climb walls and navigate until your each the treasure. What makes them hard is the camera-constantly angling you in the wrong direction.

I would rate the new maps 70 out of 100 because they are not very significant and they don't really enrich your experience except allowing you to reach 100% Sync. I would rate the entire game 90 out of 100 though because its a great game.

85

Donate To Charity

drakaenae | June 1, 2011 | Review of Magicka: Nippon DLC

You should definitely buy this DLC if you own Magicka since 50% of the money will go to charity for Japan. And if you buy it before June 5th, you will also receive a Team Fortress 2 Hat (The Conjurer's Cowl ) if you own Team Fortress 2. You get 2 weapons and a new look for your mage via this DLC. Support the developers, support Japan. Buy this DLC.

15

Buy it if you are a collector

drakaenae | May 31, 2011 | Review of Mafia II DLC: Vegas Pack

This DLC pack contains 2 new cars and 2 new suits which are just skins. This DLC pack does not contain additional missions. Thus, its not worth it unless if you are a collector and you want all the DLCs, you really like the new cars and new suits or you want to support 2K Games. Personally, I don't think its worth it.

90

Great for People Who Know How to Play Chess

drakaenae | May 31, 2011 | Review of Battle vs. Chess Cap

Battle vs. Chess is a great game for people who already know how to play chess but it will be a huge challenge for people who do not know how to play. The artwork is well done and the music is okay.

There many modes you can choose from in this game. There is the traditional way of chess but there are also many variations such as duel and slasher modes which are better for beginners in chess since they require less skill to win. There is also a campaign mode where additional rules are added to chess to make the game more challenging.

I would recommend this game. TopWare definitely made chess more fun with this game.

91

A Classic

drakaenae | May 29, 2011 | Review of Deus Ex: Game of the Year Edition DNS

Deus Ex is an amazing rpg fps game. It has an amazing storyline that changes based on your actions in the game. The game takes over 20-30 hours to complete and if you want to try out all the possibility, it will take even longer.

Although the graphics are bad compared to the games today, there are several graphic mods that improve the graphics greatly and enrich your experience.

This game also supports multiplayer so you can play online with your friends or other players.

Overall, this game is great. It is definitely worth its price. Just remember to play the tutorial because it helps.

50

Not worth playing

drakaenae | May 29, 2011 | Review of Alpha Black Zero

Compared to the third person shooter games of today, this game is terrible. The graphics are terrible compared to the games that came out the time this game game out (in 2004). There is a lack of colour and lack of variation in this game. The AIs are not very intelligent. Your AI teammates can't really do much against your enemies and the AI enemies seem to miss most of the time. Even though the game takes place in the future (2366) the weapons do not seem futuristic. The levels are also very long and repetitive. I definitely would not recommend this game.

84

Great Simulation Game

drakaenae | May 29, 2011 | Review of Tropico 3 DNS

Tropico 3 is a great simulation/strategy game. It is a great city builder with good graphics, good music and some humor. It also also somewhat historical based. It allows you to experience how a leader can change an island into a utopia or dystopia.happy.

The only problem I have with this game is the repetitiveness. After playing a few games from the campaign, when you get the hang of the game, everything you do would be the same; the campaign starts off challenging because you aren't used to the gameplay.

Overall, I would say this game is worth playing but if it had more variation in gameplay, the game would be much better.

70

Meh..I Guess It's Worth it

drakaenae | May 28, 2011 | Review of Magicka: Wizard's Survival Kit DLC

I guess this DLC is worth the price but it doesn't do much. The weapons/hat provides a new outfit to customize your looks. The new Magick Meteor Shower makes this DLC worth it. If you bought Magicka before Jan 31, 2011 you should have gotten this DLC for free.

Buying this DLC is an excellent way to support the developers. I would recommend buying it if you really like magicka or if you want to support the developers and spend a minimal amount of money.

88

A lot like WoW

drakaenae | May 28, 2011 | Review of Rift - Free Trial

Rift is a lot like the popular mmorpg World of Warcraft but it has more "mature graphics" and is generally more graphic demanding. Make sure your computer reaches the minimum requirements before downloading.

Just like World of Warcraft, there are classes, two opposing teams/fractions, pvp, skills (e.g. crafting) and skill points. There are also numerous quests, but a lot of them are glitchy since the game is relatively new.

I would recommend trying this game since its almost as good as WoW, so give it a try.

72

Decent Game

drakaenae | May 27, 2011 | Review of Just Cause 2

This game is way too repetitive. Sure, it was fun for the first few hours but everything after that seems the same. The plot in this game is terrible, its too cliched. All the missions seemed to be copied and pasted, everything seems the same. The voice acting is terrible. The scenery in this game is also copied and pasted over many times.

I wouldn't recommend purchasing this game at its full price, its not worth it. Its a pretty big improvement from Just Cause 1 but that's not enough. I would recommend buying this game at a discounted price though because it is worth the experience.

80

Great Casual Game

drakaenae | May 27, 2011 | Review of Ziro DNS

Although the graphics are too great, the main thing that matters for a game is its game play. This game is great for casual gamers looking for a puzzle game. The puzzles in this game start off pretty easy but at the end the puzzles get pretty hard. The rules of this game start off simple but get more complicated when more rules are added. The main objective of this game is too eliminate dice by sliding matching dice together and subtracting or adding dice together. This game has a lot of levels so it'll definitely last a long time.

90

Buy Assassin's Creed 2 Deluxe Edition instead

drakaenae | May 27, 2011 | Review of Assassin's Creed 2

First of all, don't buying Assassin's Creed 2 from Green Man Gaming at the moment, but buy Assassin's Creed 2 Deluxe Edition instead because they both cost exactly the same (they both cost $29.99 at the moment) since it has bonus content which is not included in the normal version.

I would say Assassin's Creed 2 is the best game of the Assassin's Creed series up to date (latest one out is Brotherhood at the moment.) I love the complicated plot/ deep story. There are more weapons and better controls compared to Assassin's Creed 1 and the story is a lot better than Assassin's Creed:Brotherhood in my opinion.

If you want to try out the Assassin's Creed games, I would recommend starting with Assassin's Creed 2.

90

Reminds me of the Classic Sonic Racing Games

drakaenae | May 27, 2011 | Review of Sonic & SEGA All-Stars Racing CAP

I was always a fan of the classic sonic games. Out of all the classic sonic games, I enjoyed the racing ones the most. Sonic & SEGA All-Stars Racing is an improved version of the classic racing game. With more characters to choose from, more tracks, fewer glitches and better graphics, this game is a must buy for sonic/sega fans.

93

Great Casual Puzzle Game

drakaenae | May 26, 2011 | Review of World of Goo

When I first played this game, I didn't believe it was an indie game. The game was too perfect. The graphics were beautiful, the music was well done, and the gameplay was amazing. Although there technically was no storyline, a story can be pieced out my reading the signs in each level.

I would recommend playing this game during short breaks because the levels are short and not too difficult.

93

One of the best pc games of all time

drakaenae | May 26, 2011 | Review of BioShock DNS

Bioshock is one of the best games I have ever played. The game is short (10-20 hours). The atmosphere is great and the plot is compelling and full of twists. You can set the difficulty of the game so it wouldn't be too hard for beginners or too easy of experts of fps games. Unlike some fps games (e.g. Half life) I never got lost in the game since is a map that I can follow.

Overall, this game is great. The only thing missing from this game is a multiplayer component.

63

Broken Game

drakaenae | May 26, 2011 | Review of Imperium Romanum: Gold Edition DNS

I have played and enjoyed several games by Haemimont Games Games, but I was definitely filled with disappointment when I played this game. The a lot of content was borrowed from their previous games Celtic Kings, Nemesis of the Roman Empire, and Imperivm III. This game is also filled with game breaking bugs and is too repetitive. This is a game I won't recommend unless if you want to kill time.

86

Repetitive

drakaenae | May 23, 2011 | Review of Assassins Creed

Assassin's Creed has a great plot and excellent and unexpected ending. The graphics are great compared to most a lot of pc games today. But the main problem of this game is the gameplay - its too repetitive. After you assassinate the first leader, everything that follows will be nearly the same. Sure, the guards may be stronger, and it may take longer to assassinate your target but nothing other than that changes. This game is worth playing for the plot but if you just want to play the game for its gameplay, I wouldn't recommend playing it after assassinating the first leader.

91

Best Indie Game

drakaenae | May 23, 2011 | Review of VVVVVV

The unique title VVVVVV was the first thing that caught my eye when I decided to purchase this game. The title of this game is not the only unique thing. The music, game play and retro style are all unique aspects of the game.

The difficult finger-hurting levels and catchy retro music got me addicted to this game. This game was challenging because it is extremely hard to control. If you move a bit more right, you could land on a spike and lose a life. Through hours of playing, i managed to beat this game and collect all the trinkets. I would recommend this game to people who like games similar to Super Mario and Braid.