Reviews by eL_Jay

88

Old but Gold

eL_Jay | Oct. 24, 2013 | Review of Dungeon Siege

One of the great masterpieces of Chris Taylor 0 I played this game pretty late in 2003 and immediatly got hooked on the dungeons&dragons like world. The way your characters level up is superb, you get xp every time a character uses its skill (i.e. stab, shoot, summon, heal, cast a meteor, etc.). The story iself was pretty standard however the adventure itself was immersive and very fun to play. In single-player you could command a 8 character party in total. But I had the most fun playing in co-op. Item farming was hard since it was a linieair game (creatures didn't respawn) but it wasn't needed either since half the gear you use, you buy from traders. In 2003 i rate this game a 9.5

I recently did a singleplayer playthrough on the steam version of this game (50 hours) and the graphics have aged pretty well, it looks like the increased resolution has scaled great and make it look better then it did in 2003. Don't expect groundbreaking graphics but more then sufficient if your not a graphic wh*re. Soundtrack is also more then sufficient but not epic like GTA, Total Annihilation or Guitar Hero.

This dungeon crawler is still the most enjoyable (single-player) example i've played so far therefore I rate this game in 2013 a 8

90

Best in the series

eL_Jay | Oct. 24, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas

Even though the graphics were already outdated a year before this game launched on PC, it still is the best GTA in the series. In this game Rockstar really mastered the Renderware engine and build one of the greatest sandboxes of all time. From the size of the map and the number of vehicles to places to eat and the radiostations. Everything got bigger better and even more ridiculous. The only thing that seemed to be inferiour to Vice City was the story line, therefore most of my playthroughs end somewhere Las Venturas. And of course Rockstar is still a crappy pc-porter. However the sheer diversity and almost limitless amount of things to do more then make up for it. You could work out at a gym, go skydiving, get your driving/sailing/flying-license or gamble. In 2005 i would rate this game a 9.8. in 2013 an 8.2

89

Bigger and better

eL_Jay | Oct. 24, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: Vice City

This game was badass in 2003. Not as groundbreaking as GTA 3, but definitly more refined and fun to play. Rockstar almost seemed to master the 3d Renderware engine.

All in all better graphics, better soundtrack, more missions, more guns, more vehicles including an airplane, bikes and helicopters, better story and a much more lively world. Bigger, better bolder. In 2003 i would rate this game a 9.7

I recently played a playthrough and it aged pretty well, if you can look through the outdated graphics and get used to the fact that Rockstar isn't good at porting games to pc. It's still a blast. The shady 1980's of Miami still come alive. Especially the soundtrack and missions get the nostalgia flowing. In 2013 I rate it an 8.1

79

Decent oldie

eL_Jay | Oct. 24, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto III

Oh boy I can remember the day I first played this game in 2002. (in 2002 i would rate 9.6) It was such a groundbreaking game, the first time i entered a virtual world that felt like a real world. To have do freely whatever you want, have fun on wheels, kill (innocent)people, f*ck hookers and just wreak havoc in a convincing realistic world.

The world was very well detailed and the size of it was huge. The missions were absurd, hilaric, sadistic, diverse and fun to play. The story was about how you got lucky and escaped during a prison transfer and fight your way up to be the biggest Badass in Liberty City. But the thing i remember best, is the Soundtrack. (like most gta's)

On the downside, the world was pretty empty besides the main missions and controls (like al GTA's on pc) were at best mediocre.

I have completed the main story a few weeks ago and most side-missions. To 2013 standards this game is pretty crap. The game hasn't aged well and now i would rate it a meager 6.1. The graphics suck, and also all the other good aspects have been done better. However it still is my favorite GTA after Vice City and SanAn and nostalgic feelings are priceless.So if you had fun with it in 2002, you are likely to have it again. I sure did for 20 hours in the last few weeks. Average rating 7.9

94

Great space game

eL_Jay | Oct. 24, 2013 | Review of Space Pirates And Zombies

I got this game in a bundle and wasn't expecting much of it. This game however surprised me so much it is my most played indie-game in my steamlibrary and only surpassed by fallout en elder scrolls games in playtime.

The game is a strategic space sim, but it doesn't go in knee deep. Therefore it's an easy acces game that provides hours and hours of gameplay with decent replay value.

The goal of the game is to travel through a random generated universe and explore&upgrade your fleet.

There are 3 major resources you want to find rez (like gold/cash/money) data (used to upgrade ship stats) and goons (used to trade, man your fleet, and bribe). It's a pretty simple game and that is this games biggest strenght. Simple yet awesome ;)

Doesn't sound like much but it really got me hooked, even more so then FTL.

Biggest plusses, briljantly simple, random generated universe, hours and hours of fun gameplay. Biggest drawback, no MP, and only 2d action.

Hope they make a sequel.

81

Tropical Sandbox + grapling hook

eL_Jay | Oct. 24, 2013 | Review of Just Cause 2

A decent game, though the gameplay is pretty repetitive and the story is pretty blend, the possibilities the grapling hook offers are almost limitless.

Combine this with an enormous open world and you have a great game that really is a sandbox.

Nothin is more fun to be chased by the army, hook on to a tank, open your parachute, fly around, hook on to an attacking army chopper, capture it and rain down hell on your chasers.

Overall decent game but the addition of the grappling hook makes this a great game. However don't expect other innovations, great story or realism. (this game offers the fun you missed in GTA4)

83

FPS and TD combined

eL_Jay | Oct. 24, 2013 | Review of Sanctum

Great meltingpot of tower defense and fps-action.

Biggest USP however is the awesome multiplayer. This is one of the most fun party-like games the pc offers.

There is nothing really innovative about this game except the great combination of the FPS and TD genre. However the execution of this game is done really well.

Grab some friends and kill those nasty aliens. (disclaimer, strategic capability is required ;))

90

Best fps-game you never played

eL_Jay | Oct. 24, 2013 | Review of Hard Reset

This game is a hommage to oldskool shooters like Quake and Unreal.

It features fast paced skill-based fps gameplay in a very flashy modern skin. It looks fantastic, the action really splashes of the screen.

The gameplay is great and even tough it has a oldskool feel it provides some very great innovative features. Especially the weapon selection and upgrading is awesome: You have to weapons (Q an E button) the first is based on conventional ammo like bullets and rockets the other is based on energy. These 2 guns can be upgraded to provide different attributes in total there are 10 sorts of weapons from a shotgun to rocket launcher from a plasma gun to target seeking plasma bolts.

All in all it is the best single-player shooter i have played in years. Only downside is the lack of a multiplayer.

98

Hands-down the best RTS ever

eL_Jay | Oct. 24, 2013 | Review of Supreme Commander: Forged Alliance

The base-game SupCom is the spiritual follow-up of the game that defined the RTS genre; Total Annihilation.

This game by Chris Taylor sets new benchmarks for skill, micromanagement, scale and complexity in a RTS game (still today no game can rivals this game, maybe Planetary Annihilation can, but we have to wait for it)

Since the downfall of GPG the community has taken hosting and development on itself and the game has evolved to even higher quality in the form of Forged Alliance Forever.

There still is a lively community around this game and every night there are many online games.

Major down-side is the skill of your opponents ;)

For everybody who hasn't played this game and likes the RTS genre. Shame on you. Forget games like C&C and Starcraft, THIS IS THE REAL DEAL!

83

Fun mobster game

eL_Jay | Oct. 24, 2013 | Review of Mafia II

I expected GTA in an old setting and therefore got somewhat disappointed.

However this game is a solid sandbox game with a very good story line, great style and graphics and great gameplay (handling). You do feel like you are a mobster during the 1940's on your way to power and glory.

The biggest draw-back is that the story is really lineair which kinda sucks in sandbox games.

By far superiour to other mobster games like the godfather.

For the Nvidia fanboys, this game features Physx.

94

Flawless, no, EPIC, YES!

eL_Jay | Oct. 24, 2013 | Review of Fallout 3: Game of the Year Edition

This game made me buy a xbox360 and the first time i played it, I was blown away. The first time i got sucked into a game and felt like I was the protagonist, The Lone Wanderer.

However a few years later i played it on the pc and a new world emerged. The very frequent loading times can be surpassed by using a SSD and therefore solving the biggest draw-back of this game. The other draw-back is the lack of iron-sights and the overpowered VATS-system.

Luckily there are a ton of mods to solve most issues.

Furthermore this is a game were the dlc adds such significant story to the game i urge you to buy the GotY edition. (Brotherhood of Steel is the best DLC ever only rivalled by the shivering isles of TES4).

To all you FPS and RPG lovers that dont already own this game, buy the GotY edition and emerge yourself for over a 100 hours in a single-playthrough is the post apocalyptic wastelands.

93

One of the best rpg/fps hybrids ever.

eL_Jay | Oct. 24, 2013 | Review of Fallout: New Vegas

Follow-up of the Epic fallout 3. Though the story is less immersive then the original, the gameplay is improved. For example the vanilla game features iron sights and VATS is less overpowerd, so this game is more played like a realtime fps/rpg instead of the semi-turn-based VATS-action featuring the orginal fallout3.

Bottom-line, allround this game is as good as the orginal fallout3.

SSD and modding is highly recommended, but even vanilla this game will provide over 100 hours of great gameplay in a single playthrough.

Games don't get much better then this. Must have for everyone who loves rpg games and/or fps/thirdperson shooters. (go for the ultimate version because this is one of the few games where the dlc actually adds a lot to the game)

76

A decent TD for free

eL_Jay | Feb. 11, 2013 | Review of Unstoppable Gorg

Got this game during the free give-away @ GMG. In my opinion Unstoppable Gorg is a decent TD with innovative gameplay and a cool retro-sauce which is done fingerlikking good. The gameplay is good (not great) and has some innovative design making use of geostationary orbits. The flicks/Story before and after the mission are really cool if you like the retro design.

US is a decent TD which should also attract the more casual gamers, unlike the imo superior Defense Grid which is more for the enthousiasts.

Get this game for free or a few euro's, but don't pay more then a fiver.

90

Epic Game

eL_Jay | Nov. 23, 2012 | Review of Fallout: New Vegas DNS

Gameplay wise an improved over the Epic Fallout 3, story wise this one is not as good. Nevertheless this game is among my top 10 games ever. If you haven't played it, buy it. (Especially the Ultimate Edition which has all the DLC)