Reviews by eduardXD

89

Magnificent compilation for all lovers of RTS games

eduardXD | Nov. 19, 2014 | Review of Warhammer 40000: Dawn of War - Master Collection

Warhamer 40.000 is one of the best franchises in the RTS genre. From the developers of the glorious Company of Heroes, Relic gives us a pack with the first 4 parts of this franchise. With each expansion, the game have mores races, with more types of units and constructions and a non-linear story mode, where you must choose a faction and start to invade enemies' territories to your choice while you must defend your own territories from enemy counterattacks. I recommend this pack because you'll have the best of the franchise, and you can enjoy some of the best strategy games ever made.

80

An essential dlc pack

eduardXD | Sept. 28, 2014 | Review of BioShock DLC Bundle

I think Bioshock is one of the few franchises that can be forgiven its use of downloadable content because the product offered has great playable value. Is remarkable the effort that developers put in these dlc, because they are not the typical bonus missions using repeated material, but its function is to expand the story of bioshock showing different stories occurred in Rapture. Obligatory purchase for anyone who wants to know more about the rich universe of bioshock, because everyone who buy it, will be satisfied with this pack.

67

Perhaps the worst of the franchise, but it is still interesting

eduardXD | Sept. 7, 2014 | Review of Silent Hill Homecoming

Silent Hill Homecoming is the only game of the series that can be enjoyed on Steam. The game changes its mechanical focusing in the fight against monsters. A lot of people severely dislike this change, but I think it is still enjoyable. Monsters that appear are very original, graphics are quite acceptable and the soundtrack is very enjoyable (thanks to Akira Yamaoka). It is certainly not the best Silent Hill, but I think you should give him a chance to this game, because it has many aspects that are very good. Thus perhaps Konami decides to launch the other games on Steam

82

An excellent cooperative game

eduardXD | Aug. 27, 2014 | Review of Resident Evil 5

Resident Evil 5 is a fun game to play together. It is true that the game lost direction since resident evil 4, but it still being a good game. First of all do not consider it an oldschool Resident Evil, because in that way you wont enjoy it. The game offers lots of stages and duration. will have many alternative modes that increase replayability and graphics are quite acceptable. It has a huge variety of weapons, the designs of the enemies are fairly original and there will be collectibles that will reward us if we find them. I recommend you buy it together with a friend, because co-op is the best part of the game.

73

Not the best, but still good

eduardXD | Aug. 25, 2014 | Review of Worms Ultimate Mayhem

Worms Ultimate Mayhem is the evolution of the franchise from 2D to 3D. The game is not as good as it was Worms Armageddon or Worms World Party, but still being a good game. In this release developers strove to offer a better story in the campaign and other game modes (like siege, fortress, etc...). I recommend this game for those who want more worms experience in other game types. But do not expect so much fun as the first games.

88

An excellent game to play with friends

eduardXD | Aug. 25, 2014 | Review of Worms Armageddon

Worms Armageddon is the best game in the franchise.It offers fun online and offline. There is a great variety of weapons and equipment.Maps are infinite and editable. Campaign is hard and only for hardcore players. The best of the game is to play it with friends in one computer taking turns and trying to crush your enemies. It is very addictive and funny, so it is a must buy for gamers who want local multiplayer fun assured

81

An old school RPG for classic players

eduardXD | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of System Shock 2

System Shock is a RPG game from the creators of Bioshock franchise, meaning it is a great game. In the game, you can choose to be between marine, navy and OSA (in simpler words warrior, technical and magician). The game is old, so its graphics are not the best, but still acceptable. The story is about a super artificial intelligence that becomes self conscious and wants to destroy the human race. The game has long duration and allow us to develop the skills of our character through the use of modules. Highly recommended for lovers of pure and well done RPG games.

68

Worth it only if you love Hitman Absolution

eduardXD | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of Hitman Absolution DLC Collection

This pack features 7 new weapons and 4 new costumes for hitman absolution. Within the pack, we can get dlc characteristic of Deus Ex Human Revolution game or the movie Public Enemies. The rest are elegant costumes and special weapons created by the agency. Overall, this pack offers nothing additional to the campaign. I think the developers could have created a special mission, but, considering that the contracts Mode offers many custom missions, I think it was better that these dlc do not offer any experience that should have been in the original game, so we can make sure that developers put every effort in the base game and they do not cut material. (thanks!) In conclusion, you can ignore this pack, or if you want, buy it on sale.

85

An awesome survival horror game

eduardXD | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of Metro 2033

Metro 2033 is a game of post-apocalyptic environment in which survivors of a nuclear disaster Must to survive against mutant animals, other humans and a race of beings who try to extinguish them The game has good graphics, although not as good optimization. Environments and effects in the game are very well made. There are variety of enemies, including mutated beings, dark energies, soldiers (communist and fascist) and the next evolutionary step of human being. The story is quite interesting because it is based on a book. The game has a long duration, it is very realistic and original. I recommend it to those who want an experience of survival horror fresh and well made

86

A great game to play with friends

eduardXD | Aug. 1, 2014 | Review of Killing Floor

Killing Floor is a survival game where a variety of mutants will try to kill us. The fun is concentrated in the cooperative mode, because we have to help each other unless we want monsters surround us easily. A normal game is divided into waves that progressively increase in difficulty until the final wave where we must beat the patriarch, the boss of the game. The game offers many maps, weapons and costumes to wear. It also incorporates steam workshop, so we can download a large amount of mods easily. Its graphics are acceptable, the soundtrack consists in heavy metal and its price is affordable, so you will find a lot of people playing continuously. I recommend it to people who want a fun cooperative experience.

93

Infinite entertainment

eduardXD | July 30, 2014 | Review of Portal 2

Portal 2 is one of those games that hook you from the first moment. Like it is predecessor, the game is based on puzzles through the use of portals, rays, cubes, turrets, buttons and walls, but now added bridges, liquids, flow conveyors, glass cubes, among other things. The campaign now has a more interactive story and will be a lot longer than Portal 1. There will be more characters, more types of scenarios and situations that will leave us short time to act. Also Valve added cooperative mode, which will increase the difficulty we have to complete the chambers with many more possible routes. Best of all is that the community can create its own camera and share them with others people, which makes this game practically endless. If you like Portal 1, you will love Portal 2. Is the greatest demonstration of the potential that Valve developers have.

48

Just a casual and simple tower defense

eduardXD | July 30, 2014 | Review of Selknam Defense

Selknam Defense is an indigenous culture based game which stood at the southernmost region of America, exactly in Magallanes. The creative team had the opportunity to create a unique game because no other game had been based on this tribe, but they just decided to create a typical tower defense game with cartoony style, which has no special feature. In the game, units are divided into typical army types (warrior, healer, archer, shaman, etc) that fight against European colonizers. After a few stages, the game becomes extremely repetitive, even sometimes our units will not respond as they should, making gameplay very frustrating. It is a shame that developers have not taken this opportunity to make a special game. Perhaps through this game other developers will discover the selknam culture and decide to make a game worthwhile, but for this game, I recommend you to purchase it on sale.

88

An excellent and realistic RTS

eduardXD | July 29, 2014 | Review of Company of Heroes

Company of heroes is a RTS based on World War II which offers excellent graphics (for the year it came out), good gameplay, realistic ambience, many variety of units and machines, many types of scenarios, very good effects on the shots and explosions, good soundtrack and 6 campaigns of long duration, which will put us in the perspective of the different factions who fought in western europe. It is a game made with a lot of dedication, which will be remembered in gaming history as one of the best RTS ever made​​.

83

Perfect combination of shooter and rpg

eduardXD | July 29, 2014 | Review of Borderlands

Gearbox offers us a very interesting game that blends very well the shooter genre and rpg games. The game is located in a dangerous planet called Pandora where bandits, monsters, robots and lunatics will try to kill us. The game offers a near infinite variety of weapons, many primary and secondary missions, a cooperative of up to 4 players and a very cartoony art style. I recommend playing with friends because is more fun. There will be many types of bosses, the ability to use vehicles and dlc that will extend its duration. The story is uninteresting, especially the end. But that does not matter much. I recommend you to give it a chance, because it is very enjoyable playing with friends.

89

More entertaining than the previous one

eduardXD | July 29, 2014 | Review of BioShock® 2

Bioshock 2 is the next step in the franchise.The game does not innovate enough to surprise us as the first one did it. The graphics are almost identical to the previous one. The environment still being the fantastic Rapture. So, why is it special? Because it improved in the most important aspect of a videogame: the fun. In bioshock 2 we will pass of playing from a mere human to a Big Daddy, so all our weapons will be more powerful,but it does not mean that the game will be easier, on the contrary, there will be new enemies that will test us our use of weapons and plasmids. Also we will have the responsibility to protect our little sisters to collect adam that will help us a lot. The story is the continuation of the first game, but maybe it will leave us many doubts because of the differences that will appear. Bioshock 2 is for those who needed to return to Rapture to appreciate it a little more. It is not so impressionable as the previous release but still being a great game.

90

Tired of generic FPS? Bioshock is your salvation

eduardXD | July 28, 2014 | Review of BioShock

Bioshock is a breath of fresh air for the shooter genre.Its story is about utopian world, human organization, scientific research, ethics, genetic evolution and how they can destroy humanity.The gameplay is excellent and mix the use of normal weapons with genetic powers to help us in our objectives. Enemies are varied, the campaign has a long duration and allows us to improve our character through genetic tonics and plasmids. Bioshock is a masterpiece because it is very original and creative. I recommend it to anyone who wants a new and entertaining experience because the bioshock franchise was, is and will be a gold nugget in the history of video games

92

A great successor for a great game

eduardXD | July 28, 2014 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year

Just like Batman AA , this game is more of the same but in a good sense. Batman Arkham City has improved in many aspects more than the great Batman Arkham Asylum. First, the story incorporates many more characters and villains that will make arkham city a very dangerous place. The map is more extensive than the first game, being able to compare it with many sandbox games. The story mode will last at least 15 hours to complete it without mentioning that the amount of side quests and expansions that brings the game will greatly increase its duration. There are more playable characters, each with their own story. In conclusion, if you like batman arkham asylum, this is a must buy, and if you have not played it, I recommend you give it a try. It's a great game.

91

A masterpiece for all audiences

eduardXD | July 26, 2014 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

Overall, it is a great game. Excellent graphics, good soundtrack and fluid system combat. Although the game focuses only on an island scenarios will evolve according to your progress, making the game very original. The story is very interesting and the variety of characters (allies and villains) enrich the game. Separate from the main goal of the game, there will be secondary missions and a lot of collectables that increase the duration of the game. This is a game for all audiences, regardless of you like or not batman, because the game is a masterpiece of gaming. Give it a chance, because you're missing a great game.

77

A worthwhile game for fans of the franchise

eduardXD | July 26, 2014 | Review of Aliens vs Predator

A very entertaining game.Despite being rather linear, is very enjoyable. Good variety of weapons and options that make a good gaming experience. It has great gameplay and the possibility to play the campaign with every character (Human, Alien, Predator) makes you see what is happening from different perspectives. Graphically it is quite impressive, being their lighting effects and high resolution textures the most remarkable aspect. The duration of each campaign is short enough to make the entire game not heavy. Totally recommended for those who want to experience the franchise with a game of acceptable quality

92

Everything you want in a game!

eduardXD | July 26, 2014 | Review of Far Cry 3 (NA) Other

The story grabs you from the beginning, you can see how Jason evolves, gaining experience, integrating with the island and everything in it. The campaign is long but is not boring, and adding the many quests you can releasing towers and position , we will have many hours of entertainment! A graphic aspect very well done, day, night, rain, storms, spectacular sunrises. Many weapons to choose from bows, pistols, shotguns, sniper rifles, flamethrowers, missile launchers and thousands more, many of these modifiable. Besides all this features , it also has cooperative and competitive online mode, making Far Cry 3 one of the most complete games ever!

79

Fantastic graphics and atmosphere

eduardXD | July 24, 2014 | Review of Alan Wake

Excellent game. Interesting gameplay, excellent atmosphere accomplished, a story worthy of the best author and best of all, an unforgettable story. I do not consider it a horror game, but an adaptation of a book of terror, because its objective is to surround yourself in a world full of danger where a mysterious evil power trying to manipulate you to engender the evil. There are parts of the game that are repetitive and boring, so it is understandable that some people might not like this game. but the strong points of the game are its history, its lighting effects and its originality. I recommend this game to people who wants to play something different.

84

Masterpiece in survival, exploration and originality

eduardXD | July 19, 2014 | Review of Don't Starve

Do not Starve ... One of my blind shopping Summer Sale. Was it a good buy? - Of course It is a "must" that you can not miss in your collection of prized games. Why I recommend this game? For lovers of the exploration will be a gem ,for those who like to suffer and continue with the game will love him, and the fact that it does not have guides makes him a perfect game to spend time discovering little things every moment. Challenge yourself and discover how long you can survive.