Reviews by faerie241


Stacking to a Bigger Goal

faerie241 | May 12, 2015 | Review of Stacking - PC

Stacking is a game made by Double Fine, the same video games company that brought the world Costume Quest. In this game, the player controls the smallest segment of a Russian Nesting Doll and solves puzzles with what may potentially be one of the most innovative and unique mechanics ever to grace a puzzle game. As the smallest doll, the player can "stack" within larger dolls to create sets that have unique abilities to solve puzzles. These puzzles are open to multiple different solutions, with rewards being given if you can solve the puzzle in multiple different ways. Overall, this game was a really fun puzzle experience. The presentation, music, and gameplay are all perfectly solid and enjoyable. My only minor complaint is that the game was really short, with a person easily being able to complete the game in around four hours and then spend a few more hours repeating puzzles to get all the solutions. Even with this complaint, however, this game is well worth the price of admission.


An Amazing Parkour Simulation

faerie241 | April 18, 2015 | Review of Mirrors Edge NA ORIGIN - PC

After finishing Mirror's Edge for the first time, my first instinct was to immediately start the game over, which is a great sign that DICE clearly had a hit on their hands. The characters, plot, and crisp graphics all add up to an amazing experience you won't want to miss. As many likely know by now, Mirror's Edge is a first person game where the primary objective of the game is to simply run. Run from bad guys, run to the next area of the game, and then run some more. It may sound like a boring premise, but the fluidity and speed of the motions as you're running and jumping to your next objective is what makes Mirror's Edge such a fantastic game. There is some combat, but players are actually rewarded for not participating in the combat as much as possible by instead continuing to dodge and run away. Ultimately, I really liked this game because I feel that it fills a gap in the first person experience. First person parkour simulators are few and far between, which is a shame since this game proves that a fully-realized game of this nature is a really great time.


This Game is Gorgeous...but is There More?

faerie241 | April 18, 2015 | Review of Dear Esther Steam - PC

I am incredibly mixed on this game, as are most people who play this game. On the one hand, it is an absolutely gorgeous experience. The way that the sun shines down on the island and the plant life sways in the breezes makes the game a fully immersive experience not often found in video games. That said, there really isn't much to this game outside of its beauty. The game is only about an hour long, and while you may want to play it a few times in order to get everything the story has to offer, it still means that the game will not entertain you for more than around 3-4 hours at the most. Additionally, and most critically, is that there is no real "gameplay" to this game. The entire game is your character walking around the island. Exploration is pretty limited, making most of the game just walking from point A to point B with no challenges or roadblocks. Ultimately, is this game worth playing? On a decent sale, I would say yes. I did deeply enjoy pondering exactly what this game set out to do and why, which is the mark of a compelling game at the least. That said, it is not a good game for someone impatient or a person who expects a lot of content packed into their games. It just isn't that kind of game.


Still the Best Match-3 Out There

faerie241 | April 18, 2015 | Review of Bejeweled 3 NA Origin - PC

As of late, the match-3 genre of puzzle games is definitely getting a little crowded, with seemingly everyone trying to copy the formula to make a hit game. Ultimately, of every match-3 out there, Bejeweled is still the best out there because of the sheer variety of game modes available within this game. This game has eight different game modes to choose from, four that are unlocked from the beginning, and four that you must unlock by beating certain criteria. These game modes are a lot of what you would expect from a match-3 game. There is a classic mode where you play until you have no more moves left, a zen mode that allows you to play until you are bored, a lightning mode that has a slightly faster pace, and a quest mode that allows you to complete a set of challenges that allow you to really test your skills in the game. All these game modes, in addition to the other 4 unlockable modes that I will not spoil here, bring an interesting variety of gameplay that is simply not seen in other puzzle modes. Additionally, the overall production of the game is very high quality, with great music and bright, colorful gems falling and exploding when matched. Overall, this is an amazing game, and if you have ever played a match-3 game and enjoy it, you owe it to yourself to try the best there is.


Great Overall...Not Great Platforming

faerie241 | April 18, 2015 | Review of Type Rider - PC

Overall, I deeply enjoyed playing Type:Rider. The game, for those who have not heard of this game before, is meant to be a teaching tool that takes the player through the history of typography. I admit that, at first glance, this may sound like a bit of a boring premise, but I promise that it is surprisingly interesting. Typography actually has a really rich history and it is really great to play levels based on different eras of typography and really expand your knowledge in an area that you may not know a whole lot about. With all of that said, I will admit that while the premise of the game is great, the actual execution of the platforming elements is not nearly as enthralling. You play as a colon (the punctuation mark), and while it does introduce some interesting platform mechanics (such as "hooking" onto parts of the level by landing so one dot is above the platform and one is underneath), it generally feels very floaty in nature. This leads to a lot of frustrating sequences in which you know what you have to do next in the level, but the mechanics make it nearly impossible to actually execute the necessary steps. Ultimately, at the price point of this game, I believe that this is a great game to pick up and try. It's very short, and in spite of questionable mechanics, not overly difficult to finish. Plus, learning about typography is a surprisingly interesting experience and recommendable just for more knowledge in a new area.


Amazing...If You Like Puzzles

faerie241 | March 9, 2015 | Review of Portal - PC

I love puzzle games with all my heart, but I am aware that not everyone does. That's how everyone reading my portal review should look at this game. If you are a fan at looking at a room with no easily visible solutions and forcing something to work in order to progress, then Portal will be perfect for you. If, however, all you want to do is move through the game quickly in order to get to the next plot point, then you may want to move on. This game gives you the feeling of what it must be like to be a lab rat endlessly running mazes for mad scientists using the portal gun, a "weapon" of sorts that allows you to make portals that will allow you to walk from one room to another It's a really fun concept that will leave you scratching your head more than once while trying to perfect portal placement. The one negative to this game is its length. It's only a 4 hour playthrough, and a good portion of this game is actually a tutorial that teaches you the basics of portal placement. That said, however, there are a lot of recreated harder versions of the levels found in the story that will allow you to really flex your puzzle-solving muscle. In conclusion, if you like puzzles a lot, then you should definitely play this game


A Little Indie With a Lot of Charm

faerie241 | March 9, 2015 | Review of Bastion Steam - PC

I was not necessarily expecting much when I started playing Bastion. Personally, I have never liked games that are from a top-down perspective, and I didn't think this game would change my mind. All I can say is wow, was I wrong about this. Bastion is one of the most mechanically perfect games I've ever played, indie or otherwise. Everything is balanced well so no one part of the game feels too hard or easy. There are no major glitches that cause people to tear their hair out, either, which is pretty refreshing considering how bug-ridden the modern gaming scene is. The game itself looks beautiful, and the narrator for the game sets the tone perfectly. There are numerous weapons to pick up throughout the game and put in your character's arsenal, which allows for endless tweaking and customizing to find your personal favorite weapons. All of this is accompanied by a sweeping and gorgeous musical score. In conclusion, get this game as soon as possible and you will not be disappointed.


Absolutely Worth a Visit

faerie241 | March 9, 2015 | Review of BioShock Infinite NA Post - PC

Bioshock Infinite is one of my favorite games of all time, primarily due to its heavy amount of replayability. The campaign is about 12-15 hours long and as soon as it is over, most players will want to immediately start it over again. The story has so many twists and turns that a replay is necessary to fully comprehend all that is going on in this story. As far as gameplay, it's a blast. Admittedly, towards the end of the game, it gets a tad bit repetitive. Still, lighting your enemies on fire with a "magic spell" of sorts called a Vigor, and then blasting them away with an RPG is a proven way to make a lot of FPS fans happy. In conclusion, the story is fantastic, the characters are lifelike, moral dilemmas will make the players think about their actions and place in society, and the action is just plain fun. What's not to like about this amazing game?


Fantastic Puzzle Adventure!

faerie241 | Dec. 26, 2013 | Review of Tidalis - PC

I have played my fair share of puzzle games, and it is getting to the point where it is very difficult to find an inventive mechanic that has not been seen in every other puzzle game known to man. Tidalis manages the near-impossible feat of offering a refreshing game mechanic outside of the generic match-3 puzzler. Instead of that, Tidalis give you arrows on the blocks, and you must use the arrows to direct a path to other blocks of the same color. It sounds pretty simple when explained like that, but Tidalis constantly shakes things up by adding obstacles throughout the main modes to keep you on your toes. It's a refreshing mechanic, and I highly recommend it to anyone who frequently plays puzzle games.


A Fun...but Frustrating Platformer

faerie241 | Dec. 26, 2013 | Review of Super Meat Boy - PC

Super Meat Boy is a really fun platformer with a lot of great elements to it. Its storyline is just simple enough to set up the game, with you trying to save the one you love from an evil kidnapper, which is pretty standard fare for a platformer. Graphically, its a very cutesy style, obviously meant to contrast with the amount of blood on screen. There is a lot of blood, which considering that Super Meat Boy is, in fact, a pile of raw meat, is hardly surprising. The platforming itself is fun, but VERY difficult. Super Meat Boy has very slippery controls. Now, by slippery, I don't mean loose by any means. The game's controls are fully functional, but they do feel like he will move far faster and further than you initially think he will, which adds to the game's difficulty. Ultimately, if you like platforming adventures, and you are really good at them and want a challenge, you will love this game.


The Best RPG Ever

faerie241 | Dec. 26, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V Skyrim Nexway (1) - PC

I cannot even begin to explain how phenomenal this game is. From the first moment a player sets foot in the open world to the time that they have finished the main plot and shaped the region of Skyrim forever, it is an amazing adventure. The graphics are beautiful even on moderate to low graphical settings, which can be run on a surprisingly low-spec computer. Of course, the best part of Skyrim is the endless number of quests. I have put over 150 hours into the game, and I still have half of the plot-lines left. This game is enormous, and it has something for everyone to do, whether you enjoy assassin-style game play, or if you would prefer to use a sword and shield setup. Ultimately, I HIGHLY recommend you buy this game, no matter what genre of game you prefer. You will love it, I promise.


The Game that Changed the JRPG....

faerie241 | Dec. 26, 2013 | Review of Final Fantasy VII - PC

It is difficult to play any modern JRPG without drawing comparisons with Final Fantasy VII. Its turn-based battle system may seem slightly outdated at first, but after playing for a few hours, the amazing depth and nuance will start to show. Yes, it looks a bit archaic graphically, but once it is taken into account when it was first made, its actually quite impressive. The story is truly amazing and is better than most modern JRPG's. Bottom line: If you don't already own this game, but it now. It's amazing.


Pretty Fun, but Be Warned

faerie241 | Nov. 28, 2013 | Review of Sonic Adventure 2 - PC

I do like this game quite a bit. Sonic is a cute little speed ball as he always is, and the level design is ingenious. The biggest issue with this game is the controls. This is a really poor PC port from the standpoint of actually controlling sonic. The buttons are different from any other standard PC game, and to make matters worse, they do not give keyboard button prompts, only controller prompts. This game is fun, but only if you are willing to fork out money to buy yourself a controller.


Under the Sea...Play this NOW

faerie241 | Nov. 28, 2013 | Review of BioShock NA Overflow 1 - PC

This game is fantastic, and that is really all there is to it. The graphics are fantastic, because even though it was a game released years ago, they still hold up pretty well to modern titles. Of course, the story is the number one thing that anyone picking up a Bioshock title should expect, and it does not disappoint. The game's plot line will take the player on a trip through the underwater dystopian world that will not be forgotten. The only negative aspect to this game is that the combat is a tad bit simplistic and dated feeling, which is probably due to the fact that the game is actually pretty old now and combat mechanics can be done better. Also, this game does sometimes struggle to run on newer machines, so be wary of that when buying this game. All in all, highly recommended for an all-around good time!


The Buggiest Fun You'll Ever Have

faerie241 | Nov. 22, 2013 | Review of Fallout New Vegas Bethesda - PC

Fallout: New Vegas is my absolute favorite game ever, which is why it's difficult to assign a score. This game has an absolutely endless stream of quests to play through, and the world feels so alive and vibrant (a difficult task in a post-apocalyptic wasteland). In most ways, this game is a significant improvement over Fallout 3. Why does it get a lower score if I love it so much? The reason is the bugs. This game contains an absolutely staggeringly large amount of bugs. Some are innocent, or even funny, such as when a group of people kept walking past the edge of a cliff Wile E. Coyote style only to randomly drop to their death after 5 minutes. Unfortunately, there are also a lot of nearly game-breaking bugs, such as corrupted save files, broken quest lines, and frequent crashes. A few tips for playing Fallout: New Vegas from my experience: -Save frequently, and save on a new file every time. Saves get corrupted frequently, so you don't want to be relying on one save. -Turn off the auto-save feature. It makes corruption more likely, and also crashes your game a lot. -Be careful with the DLC. It can lead to frame-rate drops and more frequent crashes if you have too many installed. -When you need to ultimately pick a faction to align yourself with for the end of the game, since I don't want to spoil anything here, make sure you read about the bugs attached with the NCR plot line, as that quest line is notorious for a nearly game-breaking glitch (I've had it happen twice). I know all of these bugs sound terrifying, but this game is really good. Even with the bugs, I do highly recommend you try this game, just take the necessary precautions with it.


Tough as Nails, but Worth it

faerie241 | Nov. 22, 2013 | Review of The Binding of Isaac - PC

I picked this game up for $1.50 around a year ago on an impulse buy, and since then, it has skyrocketed to become one of my most-played games on my PC. The game's charm is in its simplicity. It is remarkably easy to just pick up the controls and play immediately without any pesky tutorial sequences that plague most modern games. While the game does typically run pretty smoothly, I do sometimes run into an issue with the controls sometimes feeling a little loose and arbitrary. Isaac has a tendency to shoot the wrong direction, which probably has to do with the engine it runs on. One word of warning, though: The Wrath of the Lamb DLC makes the game a lot harder, in my belief, so beat the main game before adding the DLC.


The Ride of Your Life

faerie241 | Nov. 16, 2013 | Review of Fallout 3 - PC

Fallout 3 is definitely a gaming experience you'll never forget once you've played it. The atmosphere is tense in the best possible way, the quests are deep and well thought out, and everything you do affects the wasteland in some way or another. It stays true to its original RPG roots by adding in the VATS system, which allows you to turn the game into a turn based auto-aiming game, if you'd prefer that to the frantic first person shooter style you can play instead. It's definitely a wild ride that you can sink well over a hundred hours in. My advice, however, as a word of warning? First of all, be prepared to struggle a bit if you try to run this on anything newer than Windows Vista, because it's notorious for some major issues with being compatible with newer systems. There are ways to make it work, but it will involve some patching and significant fixing one your own. Just be warned. If you're willing to put the time in to fix the game, then you are in for the ride of your life in this game.