Reviews by faerie241

89

Fantastic Puzzle Adventure!

faerie241 | Dec. 26, 2013 | Review of Tidalis

I have played my fair share of puzzle games, and it is getting to the point where it is very difficult to find an inventive mechanic that has not been seen in every other puzzle game known to man. Tidalis manages the near-impossible feat of offering a refreshing game mechanic outside of the generic match-3 puzzler. Instead of that, Tidalis give you arrows on the blocks, and you must use the arrows to direct a path to other blocks of the same color. It sounds pretty simple when explained like that, but Tidalis constantly shakes things up by adding obstacles throughout the main modes to keep you on your toes. It's a refreshing mechanic, and I highly recommend it to anyone who frequently plays puzzle games.

82

A Fun...but Frustrating Platformer

faerie241 | Dec. 26, 2013 | Review of Super Meat Boy

Super Meat Boy is a really fun platformer with a lot of great elements to it. Its storyline is just simple enough to set up the game, with you trying to save the one you love from an evil kidnapper, which is pretty standard fare for a platformer. Graphically, its a very cutesy style, obviously meant to contrast with the amount of blood on screen. There is a lot of blood, which considering that Super Meat Boy is, in fact, a pile of raw meat, is hardly surprising. The platforming itself is fun, but VERY difficult. Super Meat Boy has very slippery controls. Now, by slippery, I don't mean loose by any means. The game's controls are fully functional, but they do feel like he will move far faster and further than you initially think he will, which adds to the game's difficulty. Ultimately, if you like platforming adventures, and you are really good at them and want a challenge, you will love this game.

95

The Best RPG Ever

faerie241 | Dec. 26, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Nexway

I cannot even begin to explain how phenomenal this game is. From the first moment a player sets foot in the open world to the time that they have finished the main plot and shaped the region of Skyrim forever, it is an amazing adventure. The graphics are beautiful even on moderate to low graphical settings, which can be run on a surprisingly low-spec computer. Of course, the best part of Skyrim is the endless number of quests. I have put over 150 hours into the game, and I still have half of the plot-lines left. This game is enormous, and it has something for everyone to do, whether you enjoy assassin-style game play, or if you would prefer to use a sword and shield setup. Ultimately, I HIGHLY recommend you buy this game, no matter what genre of game you prefer. You will love it, I promise.

90

The Game that Changed the JRPG....

faerie241 | Dec. 26, 2013 | Review of FINAL FANTASY VII

It is difficult to play any modern JRPG without drawing comparisons with Final Fantasy VII. Its turn-based battle system may seem slightly outdated at first, but after playing for a few hours, the amazing depth and nuance will start to show. Yes, it looks a bit archaic graphically, but once it is taken into account when it was first made, its actually quite impressive. The story is truly amazing and is better than most modern JRPG's. Bottom line: If you don't already own this game, but it now. It's amazing.

70

Pretty Fun, but Be Warned

faerie241 | Nov. 28, 2013 | Review of Sonic Adventureā„¢ 2

I do like this game quite a bit. Sonic is a cute little speed ball as he always is, and the level design is ingenious. The biggest issue with this game is the controls. This is a really poor PC port from the standpoint of actually controlling sonic. The buttons are different from any other standard PC game, and to make matters worse, they do not give keyboard button prompts, only controller prompts. This game is fun, but only if you are willing to fork out money to buy yourself a controller.

90

Under the Sea...Play this NOW

faerie241 | Nov. 28, 2013 | Review of BioShock (NA)

This game is fantastic, and that is really all there is to it. The graphics are fantastic, because even though it was a game released years ago, they still hold up pretty well to modern titles. Of course, the story is the number one thing that anyone picking up a Bioshock title should expect, and it does not disappoint. The game's plot line will take the player on a trip through the underwater dystopian world that will not be forgotten.

The only negative aspect to this game is that the combat is a tad bit simplistic and dated feeling, which is probably due to the fact that the game is actually pretty old now and combat mechanics can be done better. Also, this game does sometimes struggle to run on newer machines, so be wary of that when buying this game. All in all, highly recommended for an all-around good time!

75

The Buggiest Fun You'll Ever Have

faerie241 | Nov. 22, 2013 | Review of Fallout: New Vegas

Fallout: New Vegas is my absolute favorite game ever, which is why it's difficult to assign a score. This game has an absolutely endless stream of quests to play through, and the world feels so alive and vibrant (a difficult task in a post-apocalyptic wasteland). In most ways, this game is a significant improvement over Fallout 3.

Why does it get a lower score if I love it so much? The reason is the bugs. This game contains an absolutely staggeringly large amount of bugs. Some are innocent, or even funny, such as when a group of people kept walking past the edge of a cliff Wile E. Coyote style only to randomly drop to their death after 5 minutes. Unfortunately, there are also a lot of nearly game-breaking bugs, such as corrupted save files, broken quest lines, and frequent crashes.

A few tips for playing Fallout: New Vegas from my experience: -Save frequently, and save on a new file every time. Saves get corrupted frequently, so you don't want to be relying on one save. -Turn off the auto-save feature. It makes corruption more likely, and also crashes your game a lot. -Be careful with the DLC. It can lead to frame-rate drops and more frequent crashes if you have too many installed. -When you need to ultimately pick a faction to align yourself with for the end of the game, since I don't want to spoil anything here, make sure you read about the bugs attached with the NCR plot line, as that quest line is notorious for a nearly game-breaking glitch (I've had it happen twice).

I know all of these bugs sound terrifying, but this game is really good. Even with the bugs, I do highly recommend you try this game, just take the necessary precautions with it.

90

Tough as Nails, but Worth it

faerie241 | Nov. 22, 2013 | Review of The Binding of Isaac

I picked this game up for $1.50 around a year ago on an impulse buy, and since then, it has skyrocketed to become one of my most-played games on my PC. The game's charm is in its simplicity. It is remarkably easy to just pick up the controls and play immediately without any pesky tutorial sequences that plague most modern games. While the game does typically run pretty smoothly, I do sometimes run into an issue with the controls sometimes feeling a little loose and arbitrary. Isaac has a tendency to shoot the wrong direction, which probably has to do with the engine it runs on.

One word of warning, though: The Wrath of the Lamb DLC makes the game a lot harder, in my belief, so beat the main game before adding the DLC.

86

The Ride of Your Life

faerie241 | Nov. 16, 2013 | Review of Fallout 3

Fallout 3 is definitely a gaming experience you'll never forget once you've played it. The atmosphere is tense in the best possible way, the quests are deep and well thought out, and everything you do affects the wasteland in some way or another. It stays true to its original RPG roots by adding in the VATS system, which allows you to turn the game into a turn based auto-aiming game, if you'd prefer that to the frantic first person shooter style you can play instead. It's definitely a wild ride that you can sink well over a hundred hours in.

My advice, however, as a word of warning? First of all, be prepared to struggle a bit if you try to run this on anything newer than Windows Vista, because it's notorious for some major issues with being compatible with newer systems. There are ways to make it work, but it will involve some patching and significant fixing one your own. Just be warned. If you're willing to put the time in to fix the game, then you are in for the ride of your life in this game.