Reviews by fearon

80

Can it be really harder?

fearon | April 11, 2011 | Review of Hearts of Iron III DNS

Yes. HoI3 is greater, more complex and harder than absolutely amazing second part of series. It brings tons of new opportunites to survive in second World War. But don't be so scared. There is new system, that will help new players with this complicated world of great politics. Now you can give to AI control of all major parts of game and focus on the battles. But is HoI3 better than second one? In my opinion no - but its still great game.

92

Geat game

fearon | April 11, 2011 | Review of Europa Universalis II

Europa Universalis 2 is classic game. The real mother for all latest Paradox products. It's giant, it has lot of historical events, it's complex and it's still living. Even now - when there is sequel and lot of spin-offs, EU2 has giant army of fans. EU has lot of modification, addons and tons of addicting gameplay that will prove you, that this is the diamond you must have in your collection.

72

Hacker simulation

fearon | April 11, 2011 | Review of Uplink DNS

Have you ever wanted to be a hacker, like in movies? Uplink gives you a great opportunity to that! Maybe you won't break into Pentagon, after playing this game, but still is very interesting and fun-giving product, that'll give you a taste of stereotypical movie hacker. Good choice if you like original ideas.

67

When we wan't to rest

fearon | April 11, 2011 | Review of Sniper: Ghost Warrior PRE

Sniper is great potion for all new FPS games like Call of Duty, where're lots of explosions and stupid actions. Sniper is quite, slow and very nice. Killing silently never been so much fun. Also multiplayer is a new experience. Now all players are this hated snipers. Good, solid game. Worth buying.

80

Preview of Silent Assassin

fearon | April 11, 2011 | Review of Hitman: Codename 47 Capsule

Codename 47 - the first one of HItman series gives us hard action game, where shooting isn't a priority. In the first adventure we don't have so big non linear action. Even more - Codename 47 has one solution for each mission. But is this a disadvantage? Maybe nor - if we like shooting, we can do that without any penalties in game grade system. Best choice to start with Hitman series.

45

Revolution?

fearon | April 11, 2011 | Review of Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Double Agent

New look to Splinter Cell series. Was it necessary? I don't think so. Double Agent is forced revolution, that made from deep and rewarding gameplay just another action game with stealth elements. This game looks like poor copy of previous parts of series. Even Sam Fisher looks like low-budged clone of himself. Only for blind Spliter Cell fans.

90

Stealth thriller

fearon | April 11, 2011 | Review of Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell

He comes from shadows and kills silently. Sam Fisher - secret agent, solution to hard and comlicatied situations. Splinter Cell is brilliant stealth game. In this game shooting is boring - the main fun is when we avoid detection. Deep game system, interesting scenario with charismatic protagonist and lot of clever fun. Must have!

84

For freedom!

fearon | April 8, 2011 | Review of Mount & Blade: Warband DNS

I've always wanted to be a knight. Have sword, horse and band of companions, who will die for me in the battle. In real life it is impossible, so i've looked for a game, that will bring my dream to reality. Only the Mount & Blade managed to complete this task.

Really - there isn't more fun, than ride on a front of your army and smash enemies. In this game you can do it. Now you can fight epic battles with friends like in history movies. But of course Warband is better than movies. This time you're a hero!

60

Kill'em all!

fearon | April 8, 2011 | Review of Alien Shooter

Fine relaxator. Bad mood? Put your brain in the closet and try Alien Shooter. You'll stand alone and fight with hordes of brainless aliens. And you'll have a good fun. Only if you didn't except more. Alien Shooter is the best title for such game. You shoot to aliens. Nothing more. Oh... Yes... There are small rpg features of course.

90

Fabulous ending of Hitman saga

fearon | April 8, 2011 | Review of Hitman: Blood Money Capsule

What is Blood Money? It's everything, that was good in Silent Assassin and much more. I have problem, when I must to decide which part of the series is better. When sentiment decide, I choose second one, when everything else is in mind - Blood Money is better one. I think, it's the best recomendation, but when you're still unconvinced, I must add, that ending of this game is simply awesome. Really - you should play this game only for last minutes. You won't regret.

78

Deus Ex Action

fearon | April 8, 2011 | Review of Project Snowblind CAP

Project Snowblind is fast, interesting and full of action. If you're bored another modern war shooter, you should try this game. This cyperpunk FPS gives you lot of fun and scenes, that you'll never forget. Yes - when you compare it with Call of Duty or another new FPS, you'll see, that Project Snowblind has old-type gameplay. But is this matter, when game is so good?

79

Have fun with destroing entire world!

fearon | April 8, 2011 | Review of Defcon: Everybody Dies DNS

Defcon is strange game. Funny and scary. Funny - because this little strategy game brings you a lot of easy to learn gameplay and hours of matches with other players. Defcon is best in multiplayer. You can play with AI, but treat it like a practice before the real game. Game rules are easy, but before you'll begin beating armies of enemies, you'll spend lot of time practicing. And you'll have fun all the time. This little game is very addcicting. So why Defcon is scary? Because killing entire continent never was so fun.

70

Broken Sword 3(D)

fearon | April 8, 2011 | Review of Broken Sword 3: The Sleeping Dragon

Third part of Broken Sword story brings series into third dimnesion. But this isn't only new feature in this game. We can find stealth missions (very annoing stealth missions), lot of jumping (like in action adventure games) and main atraction - logical puzzles with boxes! Yes! Broken Sword 3 is game about moving boxes from place to place. You can find more traditional clues, but still box-gamplay is dominating.

Don't be so dissapointed - it's good game with interesing plot, but better for series would be staing in 2D.

60

Wait for sequel

fearon | April 8, 2011 | Review of Assassin's Creed

What is Assassin's Creed? It's a game about wasted potential. You have fascinating historical era, amazing cities and professional killer. Good recipe for hit? Yes, but producents of Assassin's Creed failed even when they had good idea for game. Still you can have fun with Altair - the main protagonist - but this game is best for 30 minutes sessions, not more. Sequel is better choice.

65

Harder than ever

fearon | April 8, 2011 | Review of Commandos: Beyond the Call of Duty

Addon to first Commandos brings new missions and new challenges. More, better, harder. This game is only for Commandos veterans, who think, that there is no goal, that they can't achieve. Now they'll beg for mercy. This game is very difficult and you must have this in mind, when you'll decide to buy it.

70

Born of great series

fearon | April 8, 2011 | Review of Commandos: Behind Enemy Lines

Is worth buying first part of Commandos series, when we can buy amazing sequel? Yes. This game still offers lot of fun and complicated tasks, often more difficult than in second part of Commandos. Mayby graphic isn't so good now and characters can't do as much as in later games, but if you want to spend very long time with brain-challenged taks.

60

Sneaking with explosions?

fearon | April 8, 2011 | Review of Commandos 3: Destination Berlin

Commandos 3 is different than past games. Party is smaller, maps are smaller and game is faster. You also wouldn't find any secret missions. What is Commandos 3? It's a combination of action and sneaking. Now you must think fast and run your party throught explosions in the first line. Is this a better concept? I don't think so, but still it is a quite good game.

90

Behind enemy lines. Again...

fearon | April 8, 2011 | Review of Commandos 2: Men of Courage

Commandos 2 is what we can call a perfect sequel. It turns tactical sneaking on brand new level and gives an opportunity to acomplished goals in lots of ways! You'll challange lot of mission, each one unique and with personal atmosphere. You'll find enormous references to the classic war movies, such as Bridge on the River Kwaii. But it's not everything. You can unlock bonus missions, each for one normal. If you ever wanted to command you're own deadly dozen, Commandos 2 is the best choice.

80

All roads lead to Rome

fearon | April 8, 2011 | Review of Europa Universalis - Rome Gold DNS

I played all Europa Universalis games and always wanted to see one part of series in the ages of Roman Empire. When I had an oportunity, I quickly felt in love with this game. It has all features, that made EU series so popular and gives new and so fascinating historical era. Now all of us can make from the republic geat empire and call himself ceasar. But if you choose staing in the republic, you'll challenge senate with each character named and with personality. Political games never was so fascinating.

70

Sequel is always worse than original

fearon | April 8, 2011 | Review of Mafia II dns

Godfather 2 is better than first one. What about sequel of Mafia? It's sad, but this game isn't as perfect as it's older brother. But still is a good story about crime families in the past USA. Memorable characters, beautiful city, great soundtrack and lot of shooting. Is there more things, that we can want? Maybe better ending. Mafia 2 ends sudenlly, leaving dissapointed gamer alone with credits. It could be a good sequel, but somebody failed the task.

100

Classic!

fearon | April 8, 2011 | Review of Deus Ex: Game of the Year Edition DNS

If want to make a list of best games of the all time, you must put on it Deus Ex. It's a cyberpunk thriller with really complicated and fascinating plot. The gamplay is very non linear - if you want to be a stealth and quiet agent, you can do it. If you prefer action and explosions, there is a way for you. Hacking? Yes, you can be a hacker! This is the game, that you'll never forget. Facinating adventure in dark and pessimistic future.

54

Just another action game

fearon | April 8, 2011 | Review of Dark Sector

I didn't excepted much form this game. You can look on few screenshots and you know everything. It's another cheap action game, low-budged clone of Gears of war. But is it a crap? Absolutely not! It's only a quite good game, without any original concept. Yes - there is a throwing blade, but it can't offer much more fun. If you desperately look for a action game, you can play Dark Sector.

80

It's a kind of magic!

fearon | April 8, 2011 | Review of Trine

When I first saw Trine, I thought that it will be a typical platformer with fairly atmosphere. But this game offers much more! Phisical riddles, difficult fights and fantastic acrobations. One for each character: mage, knight and thief. If you're looking for a game with fantastic atmosphere, difficult challenges and lot of humor, you must choose Trine. This will be a choice, you won't regret.

100

King of indie games

fearon | April 8, 2011 | Review of World of Goo

You can find great number of indie games, but only one is masterpiece - World of Goo. Funny, clever and addictive. And this soundtrack! This game sounds absolutely perfect! But great atmosphere isn't the only thing, that makes good game. In your journey with little Goos you'll challenge a lot of amazing levels - every one unique. Must have!

90

Deeper than 3D

fearon | April 7, 2011 | Review of Europa Universalis III Complete DNS

Europa Universalis is back with new, 3D engine. New map and new graphics comes with new interface. Very good and easy to learn interface. But is the game easier? Absolutely not! This is still EU, whit all complicated features, that everybody loved in recent games. Conquering the world never been so satisfactory.

80

Perfect ending

fearon | April 7, 2011 | Review of Thief: Deadly Shadows Capsule

Deadly Shadows is final part of Thief trilogy. Mayby it's not as good as Metal Age or Dark Project, but it still has features, that has made this series so popular. Dark atmosphere, main character and this specific fealing of beeing real thief. Good ending of brilliant series.

100

The best part of Hitmans history

fearon | April 7, 2011 | Review of Hitman 2: Silent Assassin capsule

Silent Assassin has everything, that can be told about a perfect game. Good storyline, charismatic protagonist, non linear action, phenomenal music and beautiful graphics. In this game you can be brainless killer, who makes lot of noise or real silent assassin - choice is yours. My personal best.

95

Real combination of RPG and RTS

fearon | April 7, 2011 | Review of Spellforce 2: Gold Edition DNS

Spellforce 2 is brilliant game for any cRPG and strategy fan. This isn't a RTS with roleplay elements or RPG with strategy battles. It's both. And any aspect of this combination is really expanded. You can have a big fortest, giant mass of loot and good character progress. In other way - there're three races, like in any good RTS. Also - game is very long, so you can enjoy it for very long time.

100

Painkiller - no brain, no pain!

fearon | April 7, 2011 | Review of Painkiller Black Edition DNS

This is what we call fun - without any stupid quick time events or silent sniper missions like in Call of Duty series. Only one protagonist and hordes of bloodthristy monsters to kill. This and crazy, dark atmosphere makes this game fantastic choice to relax.

80

Intrigue on the map

fearon | April 7, 2011 | Review of Crusader Kings Complete DNS

Have you ever wanted to be a great noble - live in luxury, have few bastards and make couple of intrigues? If you say 'yes' you must try Crusarder Kings. This game shows king live much better than any movie, game or book, and use for it only a typical for Paradox games map! Once you entered this world of conspiracy and intrigues, you won't stop playing your own game of thrones for a long time.

85

New hero

fearon | April 7, 2011 | Review of Kings Bounty: The Legend

Kings Bounty is a remake of classic game - inspiration for Heroes series. Whit such roots comes great responsibility, but creators of KB don't dissapoint. Even more - this game is simply better and more addictive than famous Heroes series. If you want a RPG with lot of tactical fights, you must choose Kings Bounty

97

A real Godfather adaptation

fearon | April 7, 2011 | Review of Mafia

If you expect from games deep and exciting story, you must choose Mafia. History of a man, who has been involved into crime family is much more better than gameplay. But when you play Mafia, you don't watch a movie - there' s a lot of unique missions and living city, that you never forget for a long time.
Story, level design and great atmosphere of Chicago '30. That is Mafia.

90

As hard as plain

fearon | April 7, 2011 | Review of Hearts of Iron II

Hearts of Iron II is one of the most intuicional games from Paradox. With plain interface goes a lot of fun and high strategy level.

Like a typical Paradox game, HoI2 has giant campaings, including years before and after second World War. You can find also lots of scenarios, so you can play small games, that can easily relax in a brake from the complicated plans of domination.

Summarazing - Hearts of Iron II is the best choice, if you want to test your strategy skills and have a lot of fun with it.