Reviews by forgot2shave

97

Pure fun

forgot2shave | Nov. 15, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 4 (NA)

First of all, I have to say that I haven't even touched the campaign but I feel that most of you probably don't care about that anyways. The truth is that BF4 is one of the best multiplayer experiences one could possibly have. You can do it all; fly, ride, boat, destroy and of course shoot all across the massive maps. Commander mode is a welcomed comeback and the UI is also a better experience thatn BF3. The netcode of course is still a problem but that will be ironed out. As buggy as it can be, I have a hell of a time playing this one. A must-buy for any FPS fans.

91

Despite its flaws, very enjoyable

forgot2shave | Nov. 15, 2013 | Review of Call of Duty: Ghosts (NA)

I picked this up day one and encountered the bugs, glitches and framerate problems that many others encountered. It is not the best looking game but I can honestly say I have never gotten into a COD like I have with this one since COD4. Squads mode is a godsend. You can enjoy it anyway you like; alone, with a friend, against another players. The customization is unlike anything before and the cross-play with standard multiplayer mode is awesome. I like being able to level up a soldier in squads and be able play with it in MP.

The single player, as I have come to expect from Infinity Ward, is captivating. Very good story despite being short. I can honestly say I didn't regret picking this one up.

97

Lives up to previous titles

forgot2shave | Nov. 15, 2013 | Review of Batman Arkham Origins

I am a huge fan of the 2 previous titles and like many others, I was little wary that a new group was going to be developing this title. I was pleasantly surprised to discover that not only did they uphold the good name of the Arkham series, they improved on it considerably. For starters, it is well optimized and looks sharper than the previous titles for sure. The voice actors they picked are very fitting and while I prefer Conroy, the new actor that plays batman does a damn good job. It's very nice to see Gotham without it being in a panicked, destroyed state. The world is vast and there is lots of side missions.

Definitely worth picking up if you are a fan of this series.

74

Fans of the series will get a kick out of it

forgot2shave | Nov. 15, 2013 | Review of Law & Order: Legacies

As a huge Law and Order buff, my review may be biased but i sure did get a kick out of this game. Seeing all my favorite detectives made me happy. The animation is top notch, as is expected from Telltale. It's not the best designed game in the world but it will be a hell of a lot of entertainment regardless. It was a bit of a treasure to find this game and I think it's worth giving a shot. Worth the few bucks you will spend on it for sure.

99

Beautiful game

forgot2shave | Nov. 15, 2013 | Review of Contrast

It may be obvious just from the trailers and screenshots but you will be constantly reminded while you play it that this is a great looking game. Beautiful visuals, very good ambience and the shadow play is so incredible. Only Rain on PS3 is anything like it. The story has lots of heart and will keep you captured. The controls are pretty easy to get used to although sometimes falling off a shadow can be annoying. Definitely worth the price (especially on GMG) for the roughly 6ish hour campaign.

91

The game that started a trend

forgot2shave | Aug. 14, 2013 | Review of Red Faction

When this game came out, it was unlike anything else before it. Never had you been able to destroy the world around you and use it to your advantage. While the campaign is pretty fun and certainly had an epic feel to it when it came out, it was the multiplayer where this game really shined. Shooting out walls, finding secret rooms, creating your own fort; all of this made it such a unique experience. The controls are pretty standard and the weapon choices are varied enough to keep it fun. This is definitely a classic that is worth your time.

88

It's like playing a movie

forgot2shave | Aug. 14, 2013 | Review of Max Payne 3

Playing this game, I feel like I am playing as Mel Gibson or Bruce Willis on one of their great action films of the past decade. The mix of story and combat is well balanced. While it isn't the most in depth shooter combat-wise, the gun time mechanic and easy aiming make it a really enjoyable experience. Graphically, it's a good looking game. The character models are an upgrade from games lika GTA4 but not quite as good as LA Noire's MoCap style of design. Controls will be easy to learn for any fan of shooters. There are tons of great gun options and the unlockables make you want to be as thorough as possible. This game does honor to the Max Payne series.

98

the most epic and ambitious GTA to date

forgot2shave | Aug. 14, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas

San Andreas has an incredibly vast and varied world that makes all the other GTA cities look like neighborhoods, even GTA4. There is miles and miles of highways connecting different areas and it will take you dozens of hours to see it all. The customization options with characters and cars are unmatched in the series as well. You can fix up your car however you want, buy property, fight in gang wars or even just cruise around. There's a reason they're going back to San Andreas with GTA5. They set up a great world with real charisma and lots to discover with GTA San Andreas and it's the perfect base for any good open world game like this. A must buy for any fan of the series.

100

BEAUTIFUL Looking game

forgot2shave | Aug. 14, 2013 | Review of Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning Pack (NA)

I picked this one up a couple months ago and I couldn't believe I had waited so long to get it. It's such a great looking game with some beautiful character models. The game world is just massive and the towns are beautifully decorated. The voice acting is top notch too. The talent system offers some great variation in gameplay and unlike titles like dragon age, you can always change what role you take. Loot is randomized for the most part which has its benefits and downsides. The only real complaint I have with this game is the lack of transport. You have to run everywhere that you can't fast travel to. The developers took many great ideas from many great RPGs and ran with it. Truly one of the best RPGs ever made.

92

Another creepy DLC entry

forgot2shave | Aug. 14, 2013 | Review of Dishonored®: The Brigmore Witches™

They did it again. This is just another eerie part to one of the greatest games of the past year. You play again as Daud (also in the last DLC for Dishonored). All the news stuff that is added to an already awesome selection of options made me want to replay the entire game again but even if you don't, you can just carry everything over from a pre-brigmore witches save. As with the main game and older DLC, you have some pretty great options for approaching the game. You can go all out, stealth, gunning, slashing etc. This is definitely DLC done right and easily worth the 10 bucks.

78

Decent stealth game

forgot2shave | Aug. 14, 2013 | Review of Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Conviction Deluxe Edition (NA)

While I think this is probably the best entry in the series since the first, I still find it has its flaws. The controls for a gamepad with PC are uncustomizable and are very flawed. They are NOTHING like the controls gamers are used to with most shooter titles. The screen goes black and white any time you are stealth. Personally, I find it annoying and would prefer it to be full color all the time. Stealthing around, knocking people out is still very enjoyable though. The story isn't exactly the best and neither are any of the animations but you can't hold it against it when these types of games aren't exactly known for great story.

93

Best Modern Combat Strategy game yet

forgot2shave | Aug. 14, 2013 | Review of Wargame: Airland Battle

This game is an extremely well designed game. The combat system and UI are straightforward and put emphasis on gameplay. It can be extremely challenging at times but that keeps me playing personally. The hideable UI options make it so the UI doesn't stay cluttered at all. The logistics mechanic is unique and coupled with the resupplying you have to do during battle makes for some very dynamic gameplay. On top of that, it's just really awesome to call in jets to rain hellfire on tanks you've spotted. This game offers hours of entertainment.

85

Great RPG with minor flaws

forgot2shave | Aug. 14, 2013 | Review of Dragon Age 2 & Dragon Age Origins Ultimate Bundle (NA)

Bioware did a pretty good job with Dragon Age but didn't follow it up as well with Dragon Age II. The first game feels open and as if your choices really matter. You even have a choice of race. This doesn't translate to the sequel very well though. It is far more linear and choices feel more limited. The talent system of DAII does feel very polished though. There's only 3 classes but all the different options still give some great variation. You can tank, deal damage with a greatsword, be a rogue or even a mage with different elements. The story isn't bad and as expected with a Bioware game, the voice acting is top notch. All in all, it's an enjoyable experience and for the 9 bucks its on sale for right now, it's hard not to justify it.

97

Keeps getting better!

forgot2shave | Aug. 14, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Legendary Edition (NA)

If you're a fan of the Elder Scrolls games, you'll be a fan of Skyrim. This open world RPG has the Elder Scrolls feel but this time with more dragons and better graphics. It's very time consuming and is hard to put down once you start, so you'll want to be sure you have time to play, it's not something I would recommend playing for 15 minutes and stopping. You have the main quest line and plenty of side quests, and plenty to explore. One of the main draws of this game is its amazing landscape and being able to roam where ever you want. One thing I was a little disappointed in though was that they took away a lot of the character customization that Oblivion had, which was one part I really enjoyed and attached me to my characters. Still a beautiful and fun game though.

100

Game of the Year contender

forgot2shave | Aug. 14, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider

Probably the greatest reboot of any series so far. This entry into the Tomb Raider series shows us Lara Croft's beginnings. Her journey starts with her as an explorer but she becomes the survivor we all know and love. Graphically, the backgrounds are massive and beautiful. You actually feel as though you are trapped on the island with Lara. The controls are very fluid and you will have no trouble with combat. Lots of gameplay options with different types of guns and upgrades and even some melee options. Definitely quality worthy of GOTY awards.

86

Definetely a favorite

forgot2shave | Aug. 14, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: Vice City

Vice City is perhaps one of my favorite GTA's out there. The missions are fun, and there are so many options for you to do outside of missions. I can spend hours stealing cars and just cruising the beautiful city Rockstar has created, and it doesn't hurt that it has probably the best soundtrack of any of the GTA's. It's not overly complicated either, you don't have to watch your weight such as in San Andreas. The game is old, so the graphics seem a little dated, it would be nice if they would redo it but more importantly it's still a solid game.

90

Casual Fun

forgot2shave | Aug. 14, 2013 | Review of Scribblenauts Unlimited (NA)

The premise of Scribblenauts is to collect "Starites" to stop Lily from turning to stone. You start the game as Maxwell, her brother, however as you progress other characters become available. It is a puzzle game, and requires you to create or alter objects in order to solve them. As you help people, or do quests (which you'll see objects/people highlighted while using Starite Vision) you earn Starites which ultimately lifts Lily from her curse.

The graphics are cute and cartoonish - something that is suitable for all ages. The puzzles are amusing, so even the very easy ones are not boring, but there are a few that make your head scratch. There are so many objects in the game that you can spawn that the possibilities seem endless and sometimes allow for multiple ways to solve a puzzle. You can even go into an object editor and customize objects.

Scribblenauts is suited well for the casual gamer, or for someone who doesn't have much time to put into a game. You can easily pick up the game and play for 15 minutes if you're short on time, but you can also spend hours doing puzzles or creating havoc in the Scribblenauts world.

87

nonstop zombie action

forgot2shave | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Dead Rising 2

This is one of those games that you can just pick up any time and just mindlessly blast or saw your way through countless zombies. Its gory and violent and it's awesome. Graphics wise, it looks pretty good. The killing animations are average. The weapons really help it be a fun game. As always, the chainsaws seem to be the most fun. It's not exactly a scary game in the same sense as resident evil or even dead space but it's still pretty fun all around. The story isn't half bad for this type of game either.

95

Stealth gaming done right

forgot2shave | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

Firstly, I find this game to be comparable with games like MGS. The stealth gameplay is great. You feel tension sneaking around, through vents and back doors. You can hack doors and computers. You can knock out guards. Alternatively, you can go all out and just play it like a shooter. The gameplay options are there and the skills system only helps to increase options.

That being said, the story quality is also great. The voice acting is top notch and the thrill of discovering the truth about augmented humanity is gripping.

90

Best COD since COD4

forgot2shave | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Call of Duty: Black Ops

While the series is known for its numerous entries, this one shines brightly among the rest. Set in 70s and 80s, the campaign offers a wild ride through one man's experience as a secretive soldier. The flashbacks to WW2 remind me of COD2.

The multiplayer is definitely what makes this one of the best CODs ever made. The old guns make it so that it takes more strategy versus it modern warfare counterpart. The attachments and killstreaks offer great variety of gameplay.

95

probably the funnest co op shooter ever

forgot2shave | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 (NA)

Me and my friends are huge fans of co op games. We go out of our way to find good co op but we didn't have to go very far at all to find this great game. The cel shading style of art fits so well with the grungy, rough world and story presented.

Storywise, it's incredibly entertaining. It has some of the most memorable characters you will come across and the dialogue can be hilarious. There are hundreds of guns to choose from and with the varied talent trees, it makes it easy to have a different experience every time you play.

100

This one gave me goosebumps

forgot2shave | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite (NA)

There's not much that can be said about this game that would speak greater volumes than all the buzz around this game. For starters, the art style of the game is beautiful. It makes you wish you could live in Columbia and visit all the shops in the sky.

The story, however, is what really makes this one of the greatest games ever made. Even with the relatively short story, it is incredibly gripping and towards the end of the game, you will have to hold your jaw up from dropping any further. I bought this when it was full price and looking back, it was well worth it. Even more so now at it's current price.

96

A game that does the hero justice

forgot2shave | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year

If you're anything like me, you've played many of the superhero titles that have come out over the past decade - most of which have been nothing but a disappointment and a disgrace to the hero they were based on. This couldn't be farther from that, though.

The world is HUGE to start with and there is even more to be unlocked after that. The fighting style is simplistic but the combos and unlockables make it more and more enjoyable. The graphics are top notch and do justice to the comics. As a superhero game, it is probably the best but that can be said for it as a video game in general. The GOTY version just makes it all so much better. The extra missions are well worth the investment.

83

Great experience from a legendary dev

forgot2shave | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Warhammer 40000: Space Marine

Another great entry from the creators of the Company of Heroes series. This game is incredibly fun to play, whether or not you are a warhammer fan. The game looks great as well. It's very polished and it does justice to the tabletop games that so many love. It's pretty much a hack and slash type game which, to some, can be repetitive. I personally found it worth the money for the great many hours of fun. Definitely a great value.

95

Another story driven masterpiece

forgot2shave | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Alan Wake

As of late, there have been many games coming out that have had a lot of emphasis on story over gameplay (i.e. walking dead) while still doing a great job of creating a good gaming experience. Alan Wake, however, puts great emphasis on story while still putting a great control system. It's pretty thrilling as well. It's got some great elements from shooters and horror games all packaged with high quality story-telling. Definitely one of the greatest games of recent history.

71

Mixed Feelings

forgot2shave | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Ace Combat Assault Horizon Enhanced Edition (NA)

This game's quality depends on what you are after. As a flight sim lover, I found myself disappointed with the games depth and lack of realism. However, as a video game lover in general, the arcade style gameplay was still very fun. The controls are pretty straightforward and the gameplay consists of "go there, shoot this" for the most part. There isn't much of a story to speak of but noone really expected that. That being said, it really isn't a bad buy for the price. Plenty of fun to be had.

91

Hours of fun

forgot2shave | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of 10 000 000

This game is definitely up there with the likes of Angry Birds, Peggle and Plants vs Zombies in terms of casual fun factor. It's got hours and hours of gameplay and it's extremely simple so it makes it easier to just pick up a game and go and leave whenever you need to. The upgrade system always keeps you wanted to go further into a level to make sure that you can get enough points. The difficulty of each level scales well but you always have the option to go back and earn easy points too. It's not a graphics revolution by any means but that's not to be expected. That being said, the cheesy 2D graphics fit the game well and there is a great soundtrack to accompany all as well.

99

Great step up from fifa 12

forgot2shave | Aug. 12, 2013 | Review of FIFA 13 (NA)

While sometimes, some sports game may not change too much from year to year, this is not the case for fifa 13. There's a lot of great gameplay changes that make multiplayer or even the career modes just so much better. Controls are more responsive and realistic. You have the opportunity to pull off some crazy shots that are new to this version. On top of that, the unlockable rewards system is awesome. You gain levels as you play different game modes and you use them to get unlockable items for your career like skill point boosts or gear. It's all really fun and there's a lot to be done here

94

One of the best games of all time

forgot2shave | Aug. 12, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto IV: Complete Edition

GTA 4 is one of those games that has been talked about for a long time now and will continue to be famous for many years to come. It has an unforgettable story and that destructive, open world gameplay that everyone has come to love. Couple that with the 2 great expansions that have come out, and you've got a game that you cannot pass up.

As a skeptic of DLC and expacs in this age of money milking companies like EA, this is extra content done right. Both expansions are basically like full games on their own. They offer you a different view than the one you experience with Niko and they also bring some great characters with just as much charisma. Out of all the bundles in existence today, this one is one of the best. It will keep you entertained for days and when you are done, you can just keep horsin around.

82

Something different

forgot2shave | Aug. 12, 2013 | Review of Miner Wars 2081

This seems to be one of the more popular recent indie games and it is for good reason. Offering an old school action/shooter experience much like the original red faction with a sort of floating mech element, its pretty unique and that's something I like a lot personally. The graphics are very good for an indie game and the controls are hard to learn at first but it is pretty fluid once you get them down. The UI can also be cumbersome but it's manageable. Overall a fun, unique experience

96

Truly, a classic - finally on PC

forgot2shave | Aug. 12, 2013 | Review of FINAL FANTASY VII

This is one of the games that started it all for me. The gameplay style and story style have made it a legend among gamers. From the good days of Square JRPGs, this game is basically the format for a great JRPG. It has an unforgettable story, great mini-games, and dozens of hours of gameplay for anyone who takes it on. Now that it is on PC, of course, there is mods. Mods offer up a renewed experience and/or fresher graphics. Something only possible that its now on PC.

89

It's like Orcs Must Die with guns

forgot2shave | Aug. 12, 2013 | Review of Sanctum

I think the best way to sum this game up is to call it Orcs Must Die with guns, gameplay wise and quality wise. Just like OMD, it's a tower defense with a kind of FPS/TPS element. You defend your base, build towers, shoot stuff and upgrade your gear/towers. That being said, it offers up a refreshing take on the genre and I don't think that anyone can really say that there is a game that is truly like this. It looks great and plays great and on top of that, in can generally be found for little to (almost) nothing in cost, making it a GREAT value.

97

Another great addition in a long line of great work

forgot2shave | Aug. 12, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization V: Brave New World (NA)

They've done it again. If you thought that gods and kings couldn't be beat, there is brave new world. This is DLC done right. As if you didn't need more reasons to spend hours and hours in Civ 5, brave new world adds some great military options. This was especially appealing to me as it seems no matter what my intentions going into a Civ 5 game, i end up going with military strength. This DLC is also especially refreshing for anyone who has put a lot of time into civ 5 and is feeling a bit jaded with it. It will renew your interest!

92

An experience no gamer should miss

forgot2shave | Aug. 12, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 3 (NA)

This game is truly EPIC. In every sense of the word. You just can't beat playing in a match with 63 other players, guns blazing, rockets firing, explosions everywhere and you can do any of it. The controls are great and the graphics support is pretty much unmatched among the shooters that are out now. I think the only thing I have against it is the crappy campaign. I feel almost as if they shouldn't have even bothered. It is forgettable and not even fun. The same can be said for the co op missions but luckily, you no longer have to do them to unlock the multiplayer rewards. All in all, it's a game that all gamers should get to try.

94

The greatest entry in a long time

forgot2shave | Aug. 12, 2013 | Review of Mortal Kombat Komplete Edition

I have this title for PC, PS3, and xbox. That's how much I enjoy it. The art style is top notch as expected from a developer of this caliber. The story isn't half bad and their implementation of playing each character through the story is pretty good. The combos and x-rays are BRUTAL. I flinched the first time i saw them. Their system for unlocking art and costumes can be frustrating at times but if you're putting in a lot of time, then it's not a big issue to unlock what you want. One of the best fighters of recent history.

81

Often overlooked and fun

forgot2shave | Aug. 12, 2013 | Review of Alice: Madness Returns (NA)

For starters, the art style of the game is excellent. It has a kind of creepy cartoonish style that fits well with the developer's take on the classic tale. As many others have stated, the controls can be a little iffy but there has been worse out there. The story is pretty neat regardless though. This is not a game of the year by any means but there is a lot here that can still be enjoyed.

99

Some of the best Co Op fun

forgot2shave | Aug. 12, 2013 | Review of Magicka

Me and my wife got this a while back because we are a big fan of action RPGs and Co Op but we weren't expecting an experience like this one. The element combination mechanic is ridiculously fun and even the friendly fire had us laughing our butts off. The story is funny and actually pretty good along with great voice acting. definitely one of my favorite games.

90

The complete experience

forgot2shave | Aug. 12, 2013 | Review of LA Noire DLC Bundle

I am not always big on DLC but for a price like this and for a game this good, it's definitely worth getting

100

Refreshing DLC

forgot2shave | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite: Clash in the Clouds

I am not sure there is much DLC out there that has this kind of bang for your buck. You are able to go in to these many, many challenges with the setup that is ideal for you and you are rewarded well for completing the bonuses. Definitely a must-by for anyone with Bioshock Infinite.