Reviews by fredward93

93

Addicting with great replay value

fredward93 | Jan. 24, 2014 | Review of The Binding of Isaac

I started this game thinking I could get a couple hours of entertainment for a low price. However, it is unbelievable how addicting this game gets after a few tries. It is really good at getting you to say "maybe just one more run". Each run is different from the one before with random rooms and items that either help or hurt your chances of getting to the next floor. This game is super fun and you will not regret spending the money on it.

85

Good for RTS fans

fredward93 | Jan. 24, 2014 | Review of Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion

I have always enjoyed strategy games, and Rebellion really takes it to the next level. I found it to be extremely difficult at first to know what was going on. The interface and amount of things going on at one time can really get overwhelming. However, the best part of the game is the massive fleet battles you can have. It gets really intense when there are literally hundreds of ships going at it over one planet. Overall, it is a really fun game with some great mechanics and game play, but if you aren't an RTS fan, you probably will not like this game.

92

Extremely frustrating, impossible to put down.

fredward93 | Aug. 19, 2013 | Review of Super Meat Boy

This game is one of the most difficult and frustrating games I have ever played. It will suck the will to play games out of even the most hardened gamer. That being said, this title actually has a lot to offer. I do not know how the long the game is supposed to take to beat (it took me a VERY long time) but it is definitely a longer game than I had originally thought.

Don't let the cute art style fool you, this game is not for those who are easily angered. The game is so hard that, on many occasions, I nearly uninstalled it out of pure frustration. However, I always came back in a couple of days. The controls on this game are incredibly tight. It felt like every mistake I made was all my fault. Although the game was very hard, it never felt like it was being unfair. There was always a solution to the puzzle. The real struggle was seeing how long it took to figure it out and then actually executing properly.

The gameplay is also very fast paced. There is really no down time between actions to think about your next move. This reaction styled gameplay was actually really fun and it felt completely unique to me. I have played platformers before but this one seemed different than all of them.

Overall, the story is entertaining enough, the controls are fantastic, the puzzles and platforming is soul-chillingly hard, and it is definitely a long experience. I think it is definitely worth the time and money to play this game.

80

Short but not bad

fredward93 | Aug. 19, 2013 | Review of Fallout 3: The Pitt

The Pitt takes place in Pittsburgh while the main game is taking place in Washington.

Gameplay in the Pitt is pretty much the same as it was in the main release of Fallout 3. Not much is different (which is not a bad thing because it is just an expansion). There are some cool new weapons and a very short new quest line that has been added.

The quest line in this expansion took maybe a few hours. There are still some decisions to make, but it feels like there is much less weight in each decision made. There is a bit of a twist that makes the "good guys" seem less good and the "bad guys" seem less bad that I thought was absolutely brilliant. The side quests are okay and might add another hour or two to the game but it is again quite short. However, for the price, the expansion will add a little bit more gameplay to the Fallout 3 experience and is worth the few dollars you will pay for it.

91

Great game with good expansions

fredward93 | Aug. 19, 2013 | Review of Fallout 3

Fallout 3 is one of the first games I ever played that was able to mix RPG with entertaining shooting and fighting. The gameplay is absolutely fantastic. Shooting feels good, killing enemies looks good, and the sheer amount of stuff to do is unbelievable.

The story campaign is pretty entertaining, but the real fun is in the ability to do pretty much whatever you want for a while. It is easy to find stuff to do around the area by just exploring for a few minutes. It also feels like your actions really matter. You can make decisions that will either save people, or leave entire towns decimated. I think that really adds a lot to the game. It is also pretty cool that your actions will be remembered and some people will not even talk to you or do business with you because of some of your actions.

Questing is easy and most of the time the reward is worth the task. A lot of times, looting the places where the quest was at is even more fun than the quest itself. There are secrets hidden around the world as well as locked containers and computers that you can hack to gain entry into more places.

The graphics are fun, although they are a bit cartoony. However, that is not necessarily a bad thing for the game. The gory and over the top death animations and the interesting perks that allow even more gore actually added a lot to the atmosphere of the game.

There are a few things that may be a little disappointing. For example, a lot of the time you will be put in situations that feel like boss fights. However, more often than not the "boss" is quite easily killed with a few shots to the head and kinda leaves you with a anticlimactic fight. Also, the leveling stops at level 20 in the main game. It doesn't take very long to get to that level and it makes questing less rewarding.

Overall this game is still fantastic. The problems are so minor compared to the huge strengths of the game. It is definitely well worth the time and money.

92

You're crazy not to get this

fredward93 | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect Trilogy (NA)

If you like anything sci-fi or 3rd person shooter, you are going to like these games. The immersion into the story is fantastic as the game really makes you care about your decisions. I remember feeling sad about certain consequences to my choices. It is not easy for a video game to grab you like that. The story of the first two games is stronger than the third, but I think the third has the best gameplay features. It is really cool to play them in order, especially since each one ties into the next, and is really worth the money.

83

Stands the test of time

fredward93 | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Mount and Blade Collection

Mount and Blade was one of the first role-playing kind of games I ever bought and it did not disappoint. I felt that it was an altogether good game with some cool party management and battlefield features. However, it was Mount and Blade: Warband that really impressed me. They took everything that I thought was great in the original and made it even better in Warband. Small things like the possibility for treason, marriage, personal wars, and even the possibility to become king really makes the game a cool experience. Better than that, combat is improved, party management is made better, and a brand new nation is involved.

Fire and Sword is not by any means better than Warband, nor is it in my opinion as good as the original Mount and Blade. However, that doesn't make it a bad game. Guns can be infuriating as they are usually one shot kills, and after a certain point in the game you can pretty much have an army that cannot be beaten. However, it can entertain for a little while.

None of these games have really any story. It is pretty much just you and your band of merry men doing whatever you want to do. The lack of a story isn't necessarily a bad thing, but it can be a turn off to some people.

The modding scene for the series isn't too bad either. Warband seems to have a pretty hefty amount of mods that can give huge replay value as well.

Overall these games are totally worth trying out, especially for the 30 bucks you will pay, if you are a fan of RPG or medieval style warfare games.

89

Gives me hope for the next Rome: Total War

fredward93 | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Medieval II: Total War

This is by far my favorite of the whole series. This game is incredibly advanced and you can sink dozens of hours in the management system alone. The castle and civilization management is extremely fun and it is, to me, one of the better parts of the game. Battles are very interesting especially when it comes to the strategies, such as flanking and baiting.

I think one of the greatest strengths to this game is the fact that you really do not need to play any of the others in the series in order to get the hang of it. The unlock system and many civilizations to play give it huge replay value. Much of the fun was playing each of the starting civilizations in order to see who fit my style the best. Each nation has different strengths, weaknesses, strategies and overall identity compared to the others.

Certain game features can be a bit annoying at times, such as only a few soldiers of each battalion will engage at a certain time, but they really do not hinder the game all that much. Battles can be massive but even with the huge amounts of units on the screen, it is my experience that it can run on even low end computers, which is not always the case with Total War games.

Modding is also fairly easy and the mod list is pretty fantastic.

I have played all of the Total War games but seem to keep coming back to this one. It remains one of my favorite all time strategy games!