Reviews by graspee

90

Great game-totally addictive, but not as good as ffxi used to be

graspee | Aug. 28, 2013 | Review of FINAL FANTASY XIV: A Realm Reborn

This is an amazing mmo, totally addictive and engrossing. It's actually dangerous and hard to tear yourself away because there's always something to do. It really helps that you can level all the classes on one character. There have been some teething troubles at launch but they seem to be mostly over them now and I have managed to put hours upon hours into this great game. The problem for me ist that the game is not as deep as final fantasy 11 was. It could be a sign of the times and the general dumbing down of mmos, but for example you used to have to skill up your weapons by using them, airships you had to wait for and you were active while on them (not a cutscene like now). Only whm got teleport, only blm got warp and only thf got flee. Now everyone gets all three. There are no subjobs although you can select certain skills from other classes on your main class. Death has only durability loss, in ffxi it was -10% of level xp. I could go on, there are a lot of things dumbed down in 14 from 11, but the game is still surprisingly good, and some things that were removed I am glad about, eg in 11 you start with very small inventory and have to level it up. Another consideration is that there may be better mmos for you if you don't love the final fantasy lore.

71

Stealth game rewards you if you persevere with it

graspee | July 7, 2013 | Review of Velvet Assassin

This game has a good setting and story but you need patience. It's one of those stealth games where you have to sit there and watch enemy patrol patterns before moving.

I shouldn't give it extra points for being so cheap but it's hard not to.

96

Amazing DLC

graspee | June 26, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2: Tiny Tina’s Assault on Dragon Keep

This DLC is amazing. The world is completely different- everything is fantasy-themed. There's tons of humour and references and jokes, some fantastic new loot, new enemies you have to learn the special features of and it's quite a large DLC.

To tell you the truth I don't want to leave and go back to the "real" world of the game now. I want to stay in the DLC forever!

75

Great game but quite a different feel to Sniper Elite v2

graspee | June 1, 2013 | Review of Sniper Elite: Nazi Zombie Army

This is a great game and I'm enjoying it so far but it has quite a different feel to Sniper Elite v2. In the other game there's a lot of sneaking around and stealth and the enemies aren't aware of you at first. In this game the zombies visibly spawn near you in black clouds out of the ground and immediately start slowly lumbering towards you. Even when you are inside a building the zombies know where you are and come to get you.

So, there's more enemies than in the other game, they know where you are and come right to you, but they are slow.

I'm glad it's a different feel to be honest since otherwise it would just be like a re-skin of the main game.

There are lots of nice graphic options but I couldn't max them out on a 660Ti and get a decent frame rate, so I turned supersampling off. It still looks great.

I haven't tried the multiplayer yet so I can't comment on that. I tend to be a bit shy and wary of playing co-op multiplayer games.

67

Warning for deaf gamers

graspee | May 28, 2013 | Review of Legacy of Kain: Soul Reaver

If you are deaf like me then be aware that there are "45 minutes of voice over" and no subtitles. If you can't hear the voice then you will still get basic prompts on screen to do with keys, e.g. press space to jump, but you will absolutely nothing of the plot or what is going on and you will be confused about what to do at several points.

Also if you have problems running the game in the first place, try the software rendering mode in the start up box. That fixed it for me.

81

Good gameplay and price

graspee | May 24, 2013 | Review of Skyward Collapse

If you are the sort of person who is snobby about graphics you should give this a miss. It has 2d isometric graphics and the sprites for units are not animated but slide around in a static way like a board game.

If that doesn't bother you- great! Because this is a fun strategy game that does things a little differently and it costs so little that you feel slightly guilty when you buy it.

Each turn you are placing buildings and resources, altering the land and sometimes directly interfering, e.g. leveling a unit up. You don't move the units yourself- they have minds of their own, but you have to tweak the various things you can tweak to meet the goal, for example not letting a civilization get wiped out.

As you win more games you will get access to more stuff, so there is a sort of progress outside each individual game you play.

Really great stuff for the price.

67

It's good but weird

graspee | May 14, 2013 | Review of Carcassonne

It's a good way to play the board game against bots. You can tweak the bots a lot and even make them fight each other. There are tons of different tilesets and even interface looks you can pick.

One weird thing is how the game (at least from greenman) comes with three players already defined: serg, serg2 and serg-multi, which have play stats like times won/lost/played. At first it was confusing, then it felt like I'd bought the game second hand with someone else's data in it. All the bots have a number of times won and lost etc. as well. Did someone just zip up an installed game or something to distribute?

88

Thank-you Greenman for selling this

graspee | Jan. 28, 2013 | Review of Dead Island Upgrade Pack

On steam itself, you can only buy the game of the year edition now, so if you own the base game and want the DLC you are forced to buy the GOTY edition. Now, thanks to greenman we can update our base game to GOTY with this pack at a much lower cost. Instabuy! Thanks!

100

Essential if you play civ v

graspee | Dec. 30, 2012 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization V: Gods and Kings

This expansion adds religion and spies to the game, amongst other things. It's not perfect, but the civ series is so far ahead of other games that my score has to be 100 to reflect this.

80

Great game. Very atmospheric

graspee | Dec. 18, 2012 | Review of IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover

The graphics are really good, with the exception of the moon and a sometimes glitchy-looking mirror (which you can turn off). Hi-res cockpit with pushable buttons and light and shadow effects on it. Realistic on simulator level, it's all just so authentic-seeming and atmospheric. It's great fun shooting people too, in single player or multiplayer.

60

Not as bad as the controversy would imply.

graspee | Dec. 9, 2012 | Review of Miner Wars 2081

OK So there has been a lot of controversy lately, especially centered around Steam, with people upset about the always-online DRM, the fact that this game isn't the MMO despite it having the same name, and some people claiming poor performance (although this latter happens with a lot of new games to be honest).

Anyway, my review, and this is totally based around buying the game with the current 80% off and then slapping the 25% off voucher on top, is that it is worth it.

It's a descent-like game with outside parts and inside parts. It's a lot more difficult than you'd expect when set on "normal". Sometimes you can get saved at a checkpoint with low health, which is annoying. Load times are slow which they claim is because of the dynamic nature of the game. You can drill asteroids to make your own path but it's not as exciting as it sounds and you can't drill all asteroids.

It is quite fun though for the low price. Having played this though, I wouldn't buy the mmo version.