Reviews by grunts00

90

Necessary DLC, to me

grunts00 | July 31, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II: Ruler Designer DLC

Crusader Kings II is a game all about running your own kingdom. However, the current game doesn't allow you the freedom of choosing what your character looks like. I found that being able to create my own ruler definitely added to the overall experience of the game. Since I purchased this DLC, I haven't played a single game without using it. It's definitely worth getting and totally adds to game in a positive way.

90

A game to try before you die

grunts00 | July 31, 2013 | Review of FINAL FANTASY VII

If you've never played this game, or any of the Final Fantasy games for that matter, you should DEFINITELY try at least this game. Everything about this game is absolutely amazing (and that's not nostalgia talking for me). The narrative is extremely well written and the characters are very likable and you feel a connection with them. The game came out many years ago, so the graphics aren't up to date, but really that's the only downside. If you can get past the graphics, please try this game. You won't regret it!

90

Very fun stealth/3rd person shooter game depending on your style

grunts00 | July 19, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Blood Money

This game is wonderful as it allows the option of being either a stealth assassin, a passive hitman, or a "guns-blazing" madman.

Each mission, you are provided with an objective which follows the central story. In a particular mission, you may be tasked to assassinate a certain individual. You have the choice of sneaking in through back routes and ventilation shafts, knocking out a guard and disguising yourself, or simply running in throwing explosives and firing guns everywhere.

Regardless of your style of gameplay, this game is extremely enjoyable and has a wonderful replay value to try the other options in completing the tasks set for you.

I definitely recommend trying out this game.

85

Fun RPG game worth trying out

grunts00 | July 19, 2013 | Review of Two Worlds II Cap

This game, to me, feels like a back-to-the-roots style of RPG game. It's very focused around exploration and looting enemies in dungeons and in the wide open world.

The specialization options are wonderful, especially as a mage. There are hundreds of spells to choose from (and create!) and the game feels very well balanced.

The multiplayer isn't great and could definitely have been improved upon before release, but that's about my only downside.

95

The game that got me into real time strategy games

grunts00 | July 19, 2013 | Review of Company of Heroes

Company of Heroes is an incredible real time strategy game and easily one of my favorite games I've ever played.

The game came out in 2006, so the graphics are slightly outdated, however, its hardly an issue when playing the game (only the cutscenes will really stand out).

There are several campaigns to complete, with more added in through the two DLC packs. Each campaign follows a different unit, from different countries. For example, the first campaign follows the Americans, while another follows SS forces from Nazi Germany.

The campaigns have plenty of hours of fun, but what really stood out to me was the multiplayer capability. Both versus and co-op are available, and the outcomes will be different after every battle.

The gameplay is very diverse and you have the options of choosing how you will build your team. You start each game out with an engineer unit, which allows buildings to be built. Generally I begin by building a barracks, which allows me to train infantry units to capture waypoints on the map. Then, with enough resources, I can choose how I want to move forward in the game. I can specialize in infantry and paratrooper units, heavy artillery units, tanks and other vehicles, etc.

The game is very well balanced and each specialization is a worthwhile investment.

I definitely recommend at least trying this game (there's a demo on Steam!).

81

Fun multiplayer title

grunts00 | July 19, 2013 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare

This game is all about the hacking and slashing of knights, archers, and other medieval units on the opposing team.

The game is set in first person view and is based entirely around skill. The game is well balanced for all classes.

If you like first person, skill based, medieval games, this title will provide many hours of entertainment.

85

Open world game with endless possiblities

grunts00 | July 6, 2013 | Review of Just Cause 2

This game is one of the few truly open world games. If you can see it, you can go there. Not to mention the world is absolutely incredible and beautiful.

I love climbing up the mountains in the world and just looking around at the environment.

Although this game has a main story, you can take your time to go between missions and spend time exploring. Your grapple and parachute aid in your exploration. There are no invisible walls (as far as I know), so you can quite literally go anywhere and do anything.

60

Older game, good for Dracula fans

grunts00 | July 6, 2013 | Review of Dracula Ressurection

This game originally came out in 1999, so its hard to compare to today's standards. However, I'll try my best to describe this game.

There are a number of pros and cons to this game:

Pros: - Good graphics and sound effects (for an older game) - Some decent puzzles, nothing was extremely mind boggling - It follows the story of Dracula well. - Controls were easy to figure out, mostly all mouse.

Cons: - This game was a nightmare to start up and shut down - Most puzzles were extremely easy and many were entirely unneeded.

Overall, this game is mostly the outcome of what happens when a lot of money goes into graphics and little goes into gameplay. It's an interesting game to try out sometime.

95

Tough platformer, very rewarding

grunts00 | July 6, 2013 | Review of Super Meat Boy

I absolutely love this game! Although its extremely difficult, every level has a very smooth feeling to it. Once you learn how to complete hard levels, the begin to feel easier and easier.

Once you complete the main game, there are also many player made levels and many are extremely well made and will provide many extra hours of entertainment.

75

A parody RPG

grunts00 | July 6, 2013 | Review of Grotesque Tactics: Evil Heroes

I feel that this game was underrated and it definitely isn't as bad as people make it out to be.

The humor is the main point in it, if you don't enjoy the style of humor, you probably won't enjoy the game.

The game is definitely fun and playable and worth at least trying out.

90

Incredible story telling

grunts00 | July 6, 2013 | Review of Bastion Cap

Probably the selling point for me for this game is the narration. The narrative style of this game is very unique, in how it reacts to everything the player does. The art is visually appealing and the gameplay is fun with all the weapons available to choose.

This game is also very forgiving when you die, so its definitely a recommended game for casual gamers.

95

Beautiful story

grunts00 | July 6, 2013 | Review of To The Moon

This game is very much story oriented, there isn't much gameplay. However, the absolutely incredible story definitely makes up for the lack of playtime.

The time that you're in control consists of exploring and interacting with characters and objects.

This game takes about 4 hours to complete, and once you start playing you won't want to stop.

95

BEAUTIFUL game

grunts00 | July 6, 2013 | Review of Trine

The visuals of this game are absolutely incredible for a side scrolling platformer. The puzzles aren't overly difficult, but the sense of challenge and achievement is definitely there.

The story is easy to follow and its very fairytale-like.

Definitely worth paying for!

85

A game I always return to

grunts00 | July 6, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto IV

Although I've played this game from start to end, all the missions, all the side objectives, I always find myself returning to this game just to mess around.

The open world of GTA4 is exciting to explore and there's always new things to do, especially with friends.

I love returning to this game just to flip cars off ramps at the airport, or to jump out of helicopters high over the city, or just mindlessly rampage through the city with a rocket launcher.

95

Probably one of the best stories in any game

grunts00 | July 5, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

I absolutely LOVED the story in this game. All the choices that you make throughout the playthrough definitely make you feel more attached to all the characters. Your choices impact the events that happen in the game. The game is filled with funny moments as well as absolutely heart wrenching moments.

Even if you've never been interested in the Walking Dead (like me before playing this game), please try it out. You won't be disappointed!

95

Incredible open world adventure!

grunts00 | July 5, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Nexway

This installment of the Elder Scrolls series is just absolutely incredible.

The variety and options you have when you play are so numerous, its impossible to name them all. You could play as a typical mage, a typical rogue, or a typical warrior. Or you could mix and match and decide you want to hold an axe in your right hand and shoot fireballs from your left.

You can mix and match however you want and there's no "messing up a build", so you can level whatever you want and still be satisfied with your game.

The area is massive, with hours of quests and side quests.

If that's not enough, there's countless mods available, so when you're bored of the vanilla game, add some mods and add hundreds of hours worth of player made content!

80

Great multiplayer game!

grunts00 | July 5, 2013 | Review of Magicka

This game is an absolute blast playing as a group.

From the "sim language" speech of the characters, to the accidental deaths caused by combining certain elements, to the encasement of your friends in ice, this game is hilariously fun and is definitely recommended!

95

Always been a huge fan of games like this

grunts00 | July 5, 2013 | Review of Dishonored

I love how you can play this game in whatever way you want. You can play it as a stealth assassin, or you can just rampage through everything. You can play it as a passive thief, or you can play it as a supernatural being.

This game has great replay value, as all the levels (except for the first "training" level) have different paths that you can take to get to your objectives.

You also have the option to just knock guards unconscious or to outright kill them. The addition of supernatural powers allows for even more options - from possessing rats to eat people alive to teleporting from roof to roof avoiding all combat.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this game. I purchased it shortly after it came out for full price, and it was definitely worth it to me. Now that its even cheaper, its definitely worth it!

75

Fun multiplayer game

grunts00 | July 5, 2013 | Review of Dungeon Siege III

This game is definitely a hack and slash RPG, so definitely give it a try if you enjoy games like that. I've been having a blast playing through it with my girlfriend.

The game takes a good amount of time to complete, especially if you read all the dialogue.

The only downside to multiplayer is you're all limited to one screen, meaning you can't venture outside the other players field of view.

Overall, its a very fun experience and I'd definitely recommend it!

80

Always been a LOTR fan

grunts00 | July 4, 2013 | Review of The Lord of the Rings: War in the North

This was definitely an interesting story. I played through first on my own and enjoyed it. My second playthrough I played with two friends and that definitely upped the experience quite a lot.