Reviews by hellinperson

80

Not bad

hellinperson | Oct. 26, 2014 | Review of The Evil Within™

The Evil Within is an horror game developed by Shinji Mikami, creator of the Resident Evil series. This game is a love letter to the survival horror genre. The gameplay reminds me of Resident Evil 4, but a lot scarier and violent. The black bars give it a more cinematic look, but if you don't like them, there are patches to remove them. You need a high end PC to play this game due to its optimization. Even though of its technical flaws, I think that it's a great game that you should play if you like this genre.

70

Great

hellinperson | Nov. 2, 2013 | Review of Dungeon Dashers

Dungeon Dashers is a turn-based dungeon crawler. This game is not bad. It is fast-paced (something that I like). There is a lot of unlockeables. The pixel art style is well done. The story is humorous. So are its dialogues, and if you don't like them, you can skip them. You can speed up AI turns. And the thing I like the most is its high difficulty level. Despite all these great things, the interface is not the best and there is no mouse and controller support.

80

Great game!

hellinperson | Nov. 2, 2013 | Review of Typing of the Dead: Overkill

Typing of the Dead: Overkill is a typing game and it is the sequel to the original Typing of the Dead game. The game is really fun and you can get it cheap too. It also comes the original Overkill game, which you can play using the mouse or a gamepad. The words that you have to type are hilarious! Sadly, there are barely any video options (you can only turn antialiasing on or off).

90

Excellent Gem

hellinperson | Aug. 30, 2013 | Review of Ace Patrol

Sid Meier's Ace Patrol is a pretty good, but small, strategy game. If you are looking something original, you should play this. Ace Patrol can get really addictive and has really fun gameplay. All these things compensate the fact that the game has some glitches and "phone" graphics. Ace Patrol is a port of an iOS game, but if you get this game, get it on a PC.

90

Awesome game!

hellinperson | Aug. 25, 2013 | Review of Skullgirls

Skullgirls is a 2D fighting game developed by Autumn Games, a independent developer. This game is pretty good. It has fantastic gameplay, controls, art-style and sound. The game play has a lot of depth and it is really fun. The art-style and the animations are incredible. The characters are well balanced. This game lacks a movelist sadly, but you can find it online. Get this game!

83

Great!

hellinperson | Aug. 19, 2013 | Review of Shank 2

Shank 2 is a 2D beat 'em up game and it is the sequel to Shank. Shank was a good game and Shank 2 is even better. The graphic style remains the same. The story is better presented in comparison to the first game. Controls could be better, but I still enjoyed the game. Play it!

80

Great!

hellinperson | Aug. 19, 2013 | Review of Shank

Shank is a 2D beat 'em up game developed by Klei Entertainment. Shank is a fast paced game with enjoyable platforming and gameplay. The graphics are cartoony and really good. I enjoyed this game, but it is quite short.

81

Really fun!

hellinperson | Aug. 19, 2013 | Review of Eets

Eets is a downloadable puzzle game developed by Klei Entertainment. I did not expect much from this game, but when I played it, I found out that it was quite good of a game. This game mixes gameplay elements from Lemmings and The Incredible Machine. There are many community-made leveles that you can play after the ones included in the game!

90

Great game

hellinperson | Aug. 19, 2013 | Review of Fallout 3

Fallout 3 is a Action RPG game developed by Bethesda. It marks the return of the Fallout series. Fallout 3 is a pretty immersive game, due to its world and atmosphere. Its game engine is not that good. It could have better optimization and graphics. The story is meh. There are too many glitches. Some game mechanics are unbalanced. Despite that, Fallout 3 is a great game. Play it!

90

Excellent

hellinperson | July 14, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization V: Brave New World

Sid Meier's Civilization V: Brave New World is the second expansion of Sid Meier's Civilization V. This expansion is great. It makes an excellent game even better! It updates the gameplay making it more balanced. And it includes new gameplay mechanics. Presentation is excellent, the new scenarios are awesome. The gameplay is magnific!

90

Quite a Surprise!

hellinperson | July 13, 2013 | Review of Ring Runner: Flight of the Sages Cap

Ring Runner: Flight of the Sages is space shooter RPG developed by two people. The game is really good and its story is quite deep, I enjoyed it. The skills are easy to use and every ship has its own aspects that makes them unique. The controls are good. Keyboard & mouse are better than using a gamepad. Replayability is excellent. And so is the presentation. Multiplayer is fun, but it's better if you have a nice ship before playing multiplayer.

68

Ok

hellinperson | July 7, 2013 | Review of Horseshoe Curve Add-On

Horseshoe Curve Add-On is a Train Simulator add-on that add a 45-mile line from Altoona to Johnstown via the Horseshoe Curve and Gallitzin Tunnels and some new railroads. The route is recreated quite nice and it is pretty detailed, so are the railroads. I recommend it if you are a hardcore Train Simulator fan because the add-on is expensive.

70

Ok Add-on

hellinperson | July 7, 2013 | Review of London To Brighton Expansion Add-on

This an add-on for Train Simulator. This is an add-on that includes the route from London Victoria to Brighton and includes the Class 377 Electrostar. The route is recreated pretty nicely. The graphics are what you expect. The only downside is its high price

90

Must Buy

hellinperson | July 6, 2013 | Review of Cities in Motion: Metro Station

Cities in Motion: Metro Station should have been included with Cities in Motion, or at least added later as free DLC. You must have it if you are running a big metro. If you have this DLC, you can avoid the overflow of people and unhappy customers Cities in Motion: Metro Station lets you run two lines, making you increase revenue and making the customers happy and you can even run a crossed platform. This DLC is a must buy for any CiM player.

80

Great DLC

hellinperson | July 6, 2013 | Review of Cities in Motion: German Cities

This DLC is pretty good. It includes two German cities. Cologne and Leipzig, in comparison to the other Cities in Motion DLCs that only include one city. The developers made a good job making this cities look real. I recommend this DLC to every CiM fan.

80

Nice DLC

hellinperson | July 6, 2013 | Review of Cities in Motion: Tokyo

This DLC is great, as I love Tokyo. Tokyo is recreated beautifully in this game and I love it. It makes me to go to Tokyo even more. I reccomend this DLC for any Cities in Motion and Japan lovers.

53

Meh

hellinperson | July 3, 2013 | Review of Necronomicon

Necronomicon is an adventure game inspired by the works of H.P. Lovecraft. The game begins in 1927 in Providence, Rhode Island (the birthplace of Lovecraft), where you play as William Stanton. The presentation is not great and the only resolution supported is 640x480. Some parts have really nice production, but others don't. The game has some prerendered graphics and they look quite nice for what they are. Necronomicon has quite a nice atmosphere and ambient sounds and that's awesome in this type of games. Gameplay is really linear, but I couldn't expect anything else. Its puzzles are quite frustrating and some of them don't make any sense! This game had potential, but it has really poor execution. A sequel could make things better.

81

Get It

hellinperson | July 3, 2013 | Review of Apogee Throwback Pack

Apogee Throwback Pack is a collection of four awesome games: Rise Of The Triad and Extreme Rise of the Triad, which is an addon that has many extra goodies, such as some harder levels, map editors, a random level generator and many other things. Blake Stone: Aliens of Gold and its sequel, the not-as-known Blake Stone: Planet Strike. These are really good and underrated games. These games are in their original form, and if you want, you could use, for example, WinROTTGL to enhance ROTT. The collection as, a whole, could be better, but it is good enough.

70

Nice game.

hellinperson | June 23, 2013 | Review of Dracula 4: The Shadow of the Dragon

Dracula 4: The Shadow of the Dragon is a point n' click adventure game. This game is actually quite fun, but it's pretty short. Some of its puzzles are hard and well made. Gameplay is fine and so is the inventory system. Sound is good and it makes you feel you are in the game.

72

Good game.

hellinperson | June 23, 2013 | Review of Pro Cycling Manager 2013

Pro Cycling Manager 2013 is a cycling management game where you are the owner of a group of cyclists that race around the globe and you have to manage them. This game has quite nice graphics, very in-depth management, good AI and addicting gameplay. Sound is alright. Sometimes the management can be hard and this game is more multiplayer focused.

70

Decent Racing Game

hellinperson | June 23, 2013 | Review of Moto GP 2013

Moto GP 2013 is a motorbike racing game. The graphics look quite good. So does the presentation. It's like what you see on the TV broadcasts. Gameplay is decent, but sometimes the bikes can be quite stiff. Sound is decent and the music does its job. It's a nice addition to the franchise. But this game could be better.

90

Great game!

hellinperson | June 9, 2013 | Review of LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4

LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4 is a LEGO platformer developed by Traveller Tales. It's pretty fun actually. The story is well presented and it follows the story of the movies, but twistes them a bit. The character models and the overall graphics are nice. The soundtrack is quite good, with songs of the movies. The gameplay is awesome and really entertaining. Get it!

95

Must Buy

hellinperson | June 1, 2013 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year

Batman: Arkham City is an awesome game. It has a rich atmosphere, world and great character development, satisfying gameplay and combat. The soundtrack is incredible and so does the graphics. And the story makes you want to keep on playing. The good thing about the GOTY edition is that includes all the DLC, including a new chapter called "Harley Quinn's Revenge." So if you are going to get this game, get this edition.

85

Quite Nice

hellinperson | May 29, 2013 | Review of Governor of Poker 2 - Premium Edition CAP

Governor of Poker 2 Premium Edition is a poker game. I have never been into poker at all, but this game is too awesome. And I love it! Before playing this game, I didn't know nothing about poker, but the tutorial was excelent and the game is simple and very, very addictive. You are new in town and you have to get reputation until you earn enough money to buy the town. And there are many more goals!

71

Decent

hellinperson | May 29, 2013 | Review of Stoked: Big Air Edition (NA)

Stoked: Big Air Edition is a skateboarding game. Presentation-wise is okay, the graphics are not bad: weather effects are good, but physics and models aren't that great. The soundtrack is nice and it catches the feeling of skateboarding. The gameplay is solid, it could be better though.

65

Regular game

hellinperson | May 28, 2013 | Review of Industry Giant 2 Gold

Industry Giant 2 is a business tycoon game. The gameplay is ok, but the interface is terrible. The graphics are not bad, but they are boring to look at. The sound fits the game, but it's not something special. The presentation is average.

31

Unfinished mess

hellinperson | May 28, 2013 | Review of Hunter's Trophy 2

Hunter's Trophy 2 is a hunting simulation game. The presentation is bad, the graphics are okay, but there are a lot of graphical issues. The hunting is really arcade-ish, it's not realistic. Missions get repetitive really quick. Do not get this.

60

Not bad

hellinperson | May 28, 2013 | Review of Hotel Giant

Hotel Giant is actually not a bad game. It isn't great, it has its flaws. Hoter Giant is a sim game where you manage a hotel. The presentation is meh. The tutorial is awful. But if you are patient, you can find a nice game.

80

Good DLC

hellinperson | May 28, 2013 | Review of Flight Simulator X: Air Hauler

Flight Simulator X: Air Hauler is great. In this DLC, you are the head of a flight company. It lets you manage it and you can choose a base of operation to fly from. This gives a new life to the game. Buy this if you own FSX and if you like flight sims.

89

Awesome soundtrack!

hellinperson | May 28, 2013 | Review of Krater Original Soundtrack

Krater's OST, composed by Christian Gabel, is incredible. It's more based around synths and it reminds me of Blade Runner's OST. Krater, the game, was mediocre, but the soundtrack always shined. The soundtrack makes you feel what it wants you to feel. There are some dramatic songs, and you get that feeling. Even if you don't own the game, the soundtrack is worth it!

80

Nice touch

hellinperson | May 28, 2013 | Review of Hamiltons Great Adventure: Retro Fever DLC

Hamilton's Great Adventure is a incredible game. And so does this DLC, especially for the asking price The Retro Fever DLC adds more levels, and even more hours of fun. The easter eggs included with this DLC are awesome! Buy it if you're a fan of Hamilton's Great Adventure and if you like retro games!

80

Buy this!

hellinperson | May 27, 2013 | Review of EVE Online - 30 Day Time Card

EVE Online - 30 Day Time Card is something you must buy if you want to keep on playing EVE Online. And I must say that it's worth it, EVE Online is an awesome MMO, that's something coming from someone that doesn't like MMOs. The atmosphere is great. So does the graphics and the gameplay!

20

Ok game

hellinperson | May 27, 2013 | Review of Youda Marina

Youda Survivor is a casual game with farming gameplay, but this time is centered around the marine. The gameplay is not bad, but not it's not as good as Youda Survivor. There are a lot of levels and all of them seem the same. The graphics and the music are okay. Play the demo first.

72

Good

hellinperson | May 26, 2013 | Review of The Last Remnant

The Last Remnant is a RPG game developed by Square Enix. It not the best RPG game out there, despite being developed by Square Enix. The combat system is repetitive, but large battles are fun. The loading times are slow and there's a lot of texture pop-in. Despite all that, the world is really nice and the music is epic. And so does the story.

40

Do Not Buy

hellinperson | May 26, 2013 | Review of Safety Driving - The Safety Simulation: Car

Safety Driving - The Safety Simulation: Car is a sim game. And it's really bad. The graphics are terrible, but graphics aren't everything in a game. The gameplay is awful and it's not really realistic. If you want a driving sim game, do not get this one.

78

Awesome

hellinperson | May 26, 2013 | Review of Luxor 2 HD

Luxor 2 HD is a remake of Luxor 2. It's a casual puzzle game. The gameplay is really addictive. But it's really repetitive. The only problem with the game is that all game modes seem all the same. The music and graphics are decent. And I apreciate the fact that the game is widescreen now.

95

Play This!!!

hellinperson | May 26, 2013 | Review of Another World: 20th Anniversary Edition

Another World: 20th Anniversary Edition is a re-release and remake of 1991's Out of This World. It's an adventure game. You need to play this game. It's a masterpiece and it had a great influence on games back on its day. Another World doesn't have pixelated graphics, instead it uses vectors. The game creates a storytelling experiences with barely any dialogs.

72

Not bad

hellinperson | May 26, 2013 | Review of Thunder Wolves

Thunder Wolves is a game where you control an helicopter adn it reminds me of 1980's action movied (like Rambo). It's a pretty fun game and the missions are good. You feel really powerful when you destroy stuff with your missiles. On the other hand, the game is short, some may not enjoy it's over-the-top nature and it has little to none replay value. But I enjoyed it anyways.

70

Decent

hellinperson | May 26, 2013 | Review of Puzzle Agent

Puzzle Agent is a point and click adventure game. The artwork is amazing and it makes the game to have a personality. The voice acting is pretty good. And the story, while not the best, delivers what it has to. The puzzles are easy and not that good. Some of them didn't make sense for me. Puzzle Agent has potencial and it's a nice start for a series of games.

75

Good platformer

hellinperson | May 26, 2013 | Review of Zack Zero

Zack Zero is a old-school 2D platformer game. As an old-school game, it's pretty difficult, but it's not frustrating. Its graphics and sound design are spectacular. You control Zack, who has a suit, which you can use to do many things. But despite its great things, the game is prety short and some may find it really hard to beat some levels.

93

Classic game

hellinperson | May 26, 2013 | Review of Thief: Deadly Shadows

Thief: Deadly Shadows is a stealth game where you control a thief called Garrett. This game is one of the inspirations of Dishonored. In this game, you can free roam, something you couldn't do in the prequels. Thied: Deadly Shadows is so good. The art style is awesome for its age, the level design is amazing and the game is really inmersive: you feel like you are a thief!

90

Awesome bundle!

hellinperson | May 26, 2013 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line & The Darkness 2 Pack

This bundle contains Spec Ops: The Line and The Darkness 2, games that are underrated (for me, at least). Spec Ops: The Line is a Third Person Shooter that has one of the best campaigns in the last years. It has an awesome narrative, theme and it's really violent. The character development is awesome and it makes you feel bad for them. It has a multiplayer mode, but it's not really good. But these kind of games are for the campaign. The Darkness 2 is a FPS Horror game that has a little bit of RPG elements. It's a secuel to 2007's The Darkness. It's a graphic novel and its art style is awesome, using cel-shaded graphics. This game more lineal that it's predecessor, but it's more violent. The narrative is awesome, I think that it's on par with Bioshock. And that's saying too much.

90

Excellent!!!

hellinperson | May 26, 2013 | Review of Resident Evil: Revelations

After playing the dissapointments that were Resident Evil 5 and 6, I played RE: Revelations. And I loved it! Resident Evil: Revelations is the best RE game in years and it's true to its PS1 roots. There aren't any really scary moments and some places feel uninspired, but still it's a great game. The story is set between Resident Evil 4 and 5. There's no real character development, but I think that it's a game more about the gameplay. RE: Revelations is not the best game ever, but it's a good step for the Resident Evil franchise!

75

Decent Racing Game

hellinperson | Feb. 11, 2013 | Review of SSV8NC Superstar V8 Next Challenge

SSV8NC Superstar V8 Next Challenge is a racing sim, that reminds me of the good ol' TOCA days. It is surprisingly quite good and the graphics aren't bad either. I would recommend it to Sim Racing fans and casual players alike. It's best to play this game using a steering wheel.

75

Nice DLC for a good game

hellinperson | Dec. 10, 2012 | Review of Who Wants To Be A Millionaire: Sci-Fi DLC

I love this game and I'm also a fan of Sci-Fi things (novels, TV shows, etc) There are a lot of questions in this DLC (500) and despite I know a lot about the Sci-Fi genre, there were really hard questions. I recommend getting this DLC if you own already the base game and if you love Sci-Fi like me!

95

Masterpiece

hellinperson | July 28, 2012 | Review of World of Goo

World of Goo is a physics puzzle game. It's a game where you basicallly stick goo balls together to reach a certain place. I love this game, it's really fun and unique. It has that little charm that not many games have. Its developers deserves a lot of credit because they developed WoG on a budget. It has a great visual style and you are going to love its soundtrack. World of Goo is a challenging, fun and addicting game. It is a must-play between all indie games. You will like every second of it.

68

Not that bad, but it doesn't live up to its predecessor

hellinperson | July 25, 2012 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever

Duke Nukem Forever is an average FPS, with outdated graphics and it isn't the best shooter out there. It has some flaws, such as performance glitches and the two-weapon limit. Despite its flaws, this game can be sometimes fun and enjoyable, but old-school Duke fans will feel dissapointed with this game. DNF is worth picking up at a low price. So if you want to play it, wait for a sale

90

Excellent experience

hellinperson | July 19, 2012 | Review of Dear Esther DNS

Dear Esther is more like an experience rather than a story. You can beat in less than 2 hours. But you'll want to play it several times. Each time you discover new things. This game has amazing graphics. If you have a nice PC and you can play it maxed out, it will look incredible. Despite this is a remake of a mod, it is well worth the money.

75

Good

hellinperson | June 23, 2012 | Review of Three Dead Zed CAP

Three Dead Zed is a zombie comic-styled platformer. It is a refreshing and innovative game. It's pretty fun, but the controls may turn you down , specially in the later levels, where it gets really frustrating to control the zombie. Sound is decent. This game has a lot of personality of its own.

60

Meh....

hellinperson | June 23, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - Purple Ops Pack

The Purple Ops Pack DLC includes some costumes, vehicles and weapons at a high price. Well at least this isn't like the Maximum Pleasure Pack, where you pay for cheats. That's really lame. The things included in this DLC aren't bad, but this should be free.

60

Not much to say

hellinperson | June 23, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - Maximum Pleasure Pack

The Maximum Pleasure Pack DLC just includes some costumes, vehicles and weapons at a high price. I'm not saying they are bad, just they aren't worth of your money if you aren't a fan of this game.

70

Not bad

hellinperson | June 23, 2012 | Review of Battle Group

Battle Group is a simple shooter, but challenging and fun at the same time. You can beat it in a few hours. A nice thing is that it has a story with a voiceover. It's not a bad game, but if you want it, you should get the Android or iOS version.

50

Mediocre

hellinperson | June 23, 2012 | Review of J.U.L.I.A

J.U.L.I.A is a sci-fi adventure game. It's a puzzle game and they are kind of good. They will keep you busy for some hours, if you don't get bored before that. It has some graphical glitches and gameplay issues. J.U.L.I.A lacks quality and its gameplay is very repetitive.

80

Pretty Good

hellinperson | June 23, 2012 | Review of RooGoo

RooGoo is a really fun puzzle game. RooGoo might look like a Tetris-clone, but it changes after playing 1 hour or so. Its 45 levels are refreshing and you won't feel bored with them. Multiplayer is good, specially with a friend and its soundtrack really matches the game well.

50

Mediocre

hellinperson | June 23, 2012 | Review of Poker Simulator

I like poker, but this game isn't good enough for me. Graphics are kind of lame and so does the music. Gameplay is dissapointing. I thought this game was going to be better. I had problems running this game on Windows 7.

70

Good, but it's not a must-play.

hellinperson | June 19, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - Gangstas in Space DLC

It's a story-based DLC for SR3. It's pretty fun, despite its lenght. I beat it in one hour. It only has 3 missions, but they are really good. This DLC is better than Genkibowl VII. If you really like SR3, you should play it.

95

A Must Play

hellinperson | June 16, 2012 | Review of VVVVVV

Games these days don't have something: Difficulty. This game has that and much more. VVVVVV is an 8-bit styled game. The composer of this game did an excellent job. The songs are catchy and really well done. Controls are perfect. I shouldn't spoil any of this game. Just play it and see for yourself.

75

Not that bad

hellinperson | June 16, 2012 | Review of Scarygirl

Scarygirl is an 2.5D platformer. It has a wonderful art style. The levels have different paths and they are very big. The music is decent and the narrator has a cheesy voice. If you like platformers, you should get this game

98

This is a MUST PLAY!

hellinperson | March 4, 2012 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (UK)

I first played this game at my friend's house few years ago. At first, I didn't found it that great. But then, I started playing it a lot and I found it amazing.

This is a huge game. I already played it more than 100 hours and I still find it fun. There are a lot of quests that will keep you entertained for a long time.