Reviews by hotmando1

80

Best RTS war game

hotmando1 | Sept. 12, 2011 | Review of Men of War: Vietnam Cap

Men of War is fantastic. It combines realism and RTS almost perfectly. sure, there may be some balance issues but it does it's best to illustrate the realism in war. Unit combats are great, letting you hide your units in bushes to taking cover behind a tree. With every Men of War release, you see better and greater improvements. It's always a great buy. However, I feel that it may be splitting the multiplayer community apart. The plot as always is generic in Vietnam, nothing really special. It's the multiplayer that makes Vietnam really stand out. From Vs to Co-op, it makes a great experience. Being able to play the main campaign with your friends is fun indeed. Visuals look great and if not, better than previous titles. Bugs are all but squashed out, only a few minor details need fixing. Unit combat has really been improved. It feels better and more natural unlike previous titles. If your a fan of MOW, then Vietnam is a must-buy.

80

Good for history junkies

hotmando1 | Sept. 8, 2011 | Review of Pride of Nations: Franco-Prussian War 1870

Whenever you play games like Pride of Nations, you get a general overview of everything. Like the time line and history. Things like the Franco-Prussian war can be covered in about a few turns. No biggie. For some people, it's fine. For others, they want more. Pride of Nations: Franco-Prussian War does just that. It simulates the war in it's entirety. Real time events are pretty sweet! And it teaches players as well. But it's not entirely accurate, since YOU get the choice. YOU get to decide how it all ends. Just like the base game. As you would expect, there are very little bugs and glitches in the game. Just like the first. Graphics are not the finest out there but for some looking for realism: this is for you. If your interested in this specific war and time period, then it'll be more than just a great buy.

85

Dig dig dig

hotmando1 | Sept. 8, 2011 | Review of Dwarfs!?

Game feels like Terraria. Lots of digging involved. and I do like some digging. It feels like a mix between sims and terraria. There's some sweet action involved too. Anyway, when you first start off to play..it's pretty boring. Because it's slow. And that'll tick some people off. But to progress, you'll have to deal with it. But it is rewarding. You'll eventually have a vast....network of tunnels..and then..terrible things happen. Lava will spill over and kill your poor dwarves unless you stop it. enemies can pop up! Visually speaking, dwarf's looks pretty good---on the same level as some high quality flash games....but you can zoom in. It's neat to watch your little minions work up close! A great time sinker and hassle free! No bugs or problems. Just start and play. Well worth my ten dollars.

50

Not feeling it

hotmando1 | Sept. 8, 2011 | Review of The Ball

Game wasn't that great. Even though the pre-order for it gave a skin for killing floor: I'm afraid that's all it had going for it. It's a nice hack/slash/puzzle game, but it's slow and boring. Environment is pretty..bland. I did like the soundtrack..till it played over and over again. Plot..is pretty new but it's generic. If you know and read Indiana Jones: then you'll know the plot base. Controls are pretty hard too. Mess up once and it's all over. Thanks keyboard! you fail. An okay game, good for a sale buy.

70

AWESOMENESSSSS

hotmando1 | Sept. 8, 2011 | Review of Killing Floor

This is THE BEST zombie/ZEDS co-op game out there. It needs skill, it needs practice, it needs everything you can think of. Practically every steam user has killing floor. It's amazing, it's fun, it's a blast. Because first off, it's wave based. It sounds boring right? Not! It takes a ton of skills to actually beat it! Sure it's easy in normal/hard/easy. Try sucide/hell on earth difficulties and you'll know: killing floor is no solo game. From being a medic to a berserker, you'll have a lot of roles to play. They're all different and they all fit different roles. Try support for massive AOE damage, or try commando for easy take downs. Medic for healing, DUH! Secondly, the variety among zeds/specimens is insane. From fleshpounds( tank/dps) to simple weak clots. They all have a purpose and a role and all they want to do is eat you. Survive all ten waves? fight the boss? Easy? NO! TEAMWORK is needed! You'll see when you play. Visually speaking, killing floor is a bit aged but it has aged perfectly. It looks and plays perfectly fine! It is still being balanced as well. DLC PROBLEMS? NOPE. Just skins! Content is never charged! So far, tripware has made every content free! amazing! Great game.

75

Regret

hotmando1 | Sept. 8, 2011 | Review of Dead Island

After playing warhammer:space marine, and now Dead island. I feel Dead Island is much better. Content-wise and replay-ability. There is a lot to do. So far, it's over ten hours! I like making my own weapons, but it's not like Dead Rising. There are a limited number of combinations. Graphics are a nice step up! Much better than games like left for dead. Melee combat is the best thing ever. Range..not so much. There isn't much of an effort to use ranged weapons. In melee combat, you can't mess up. Every swing uses stamina. No more stamina? your out of luck. I like the singles or horde zombies. Sometimes you'll only encounter a couple zombies, no big deal. But when you run into a horde, better run. And there is a VARIETY among zombies. Some zombies require you to fire at their backs and such, might as well call them tanks. I haven't encountered any bugs besides the day 1 progression reset. But that was fixed already, it's nice to see the company so responsive. The open world is pretty awesome, it's not enclosed. It feels like your really in a zombie fest! As for the plot, it feels made up as it goes. From saving a girl to getting her a teddy bear..it's pretty random. Dead Island is one of the best games of the year, and for good reason too,

80

Revup

hotmando1 | Sept. 4, 2011 | Review of Majesty 2: The Fantasy Kingdom Sim

Basically, Majesty 2 will play and feel like the first game. Really, it plays out on it's fine points and tries to fix it's flaws. It does that, to an extent. First off, you can already tell Majesty 2 has made SOME improvements via graphics. An improvement engine really shows. The lines are more evenly smoothed out and the terrain detail is much better. Higher details can also be seen, much better than before. Small stuff like barely noticeable bugs have been stamped out. Patch notes will show that. Gameplay is more or less the same though. Combat hasn't changed much. Plot will be as you expect it to be, the next chapter in the series. And if you ever get bored of single player, you can always go online. A neat game for the price tag it carries.

50

Mix

hotmando1 | Sept. 2, 2011 | Review of A Farewell to Dragons

It's hard to describe the genre as either fantasy, punk, or just rpg. It has a little of everything. Even from other games. It has a party system that'll remind you of games like Neverwinter and Dragon Age. Gameplay will feel similar. Sadly, graphics are not at all close as well as the characters. I've never seen a dwarf clone..look so human. Also, magic and guns don't make sense. Plot doesn't explain much of it...But sadly enough, you'll find yourself playing just for the plot: nothing else. But once you've beaten the game, you won't want to play it again. Lack of content and such makes this a game for a rainy day.

80

Dlc?

hotmando1 | Aug. 31, 2011 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® V - Civilization & Scenario Pack - Korea

This is nice for players looking for a change of pace in the base game. By change of pace: I mean new maps, scenarios, and units. Heck, you might even like the soundtrack too. Unlike most of the other dlcs: this feels like it was worked on and is well worth it's price tag. A nice buy, for those hungry for more Civilization.

38

Just another sequel

hotmando1 | Aug. 15, 2011 | Review of Alien Shooter: Vengeance

There are so many sequels and ties in with alien shooter. This sequel can really be just called a patch. It's everything better from the first game. Still, being a low-budget game: you have to give the company some credit. The game can be highly addictive sometimes, but just not enough. I got bored of it soon enough, and so will you. Probably.

58

Mehh

hotmando1 | Aug. 15, 2011 | Review of Penumbra Black Plague

Hardly a scare. I've played better horror games. The game has too many overdone attempts to scare players. This is so cryostasis i'm afraid. No gun? No action! The music wasn't that creepy, it was just weird. Monsters? Nah, just dogs. If you want a real scare, look somewhere else.

54

WoW

hotmando1 | Aug. 15, 2011 | Review of Sonic Adventure DX CAP

This game is amazing. But I prefer the 2d. Sonic plays out like you would expect it to play out. But personally, 3d isn't all that fit for sonic. It's okay. Sometimes you can't see where your going, but those air times are pretty awesome. Just running off a ramp is fun and amazing. Graphics aren't that solid but good enough for any sonic titles! Storyline...you can just wiki it. The story really feels like it's for kids. so I don't think it'll appeal to adults much. Still, a lot of good fun!

66

Ported with no one

hotmando1 | Aug. 15, 2011 | Review of Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days

Another console port. Another disappointment. Don't even expect an online community. There isn't any. Getting a game running takes longer than to buy Kane and Lynch. Also, the numerous dlc make the game seem like a cash cow. Expect a lot of disappointment. But still, the gameplay is pretty nice. You actually need to take cover. No UI or anything, pretty hardcore? Maps are pretty linear though. No sense of direction? Kane got you covered. Guns are bland and the music score is not off the hook too. An okay buy...just don't expect it to be your most played game.

50

Not very realistic

hotmando1 | Aug. 15, 2011 | Review of Buccaneer: The Pursuit of Infamy

There are better naval games out there with more ships. This is just a preview of whats to come. So for anyone new and looking for an entry into this genre, I would suggest this game as it does a lot of good introducing players to simple ships and such. Let's not forget the insane multiplayer! Still, don't expect any realistic gameplay. Pirate is for fun! You get to loot..and kick some ship sails. Singleplayer is not fun, the real fun is in the multiplayer. But there are not a lot of people online. That's a big down size...Still...one of the better naval games out there.,

67

Familar

hotmando1 | Aug. 15, 2011 | Review of Airborne Troops

This is very similar to games like Hidden and Dangerous. So if you ever played games like that, then you should know what to expect. Gameplay that is fun sometimes and gameplay that is out right annoying. Your character is third person. Meaning, the camera is behind or around him. But the camera is not placed very well. Sometimes you can't even see your character because of walls and such, very annoying if your in a fight. But on the side, it lets you see a broader range. So it has it's own pros and cons. Expect more issues like this, so play at your own risk. Graphics are not a must-play level, so nothing really special. It is bearable though. An okay buy.

70

New type

hotmando1 | Aug. 15, 2011 | Review of Really Big Sky

This is really a new type off space shooter. It's like space invaders revamped. But both can get boring more or less. First off, random levels do not make player experience any better. They don't have a variety, thus they can be called the same every time. Level design is really left to a bunch of coding really. I enjoyed the graphics, they're colorful to watch, very nice. Still, it feels a little unpolished. Maybe a patch or two would fix that.

69

Woah

hotmando1 | Aug. 13, 2011 | Review of Alex Kidd in the Enchanted Castle

Want a revisit into the past? And actually have a good time? Alex Kidd is one of those games where every adult must at least play once. It's a given and it should be in any game collection. It's like mario with rpg elements. Still..graphics are old and such but that is to be expected. If you can get over that MAJOR wall, then this is for you.

55

Yet...another one

hotmando1 | Aug. 13, 2011 | Review of Hearts of Iron III: For the Motherland DNS

Another game with barely any new features. It's really just a redo on previous titles. At this point, it feels like it's being milked. It's not fun anymore. These titles feel like experiments or betas for the next game and so on! If you already played any past titles, your not missing out on much in this one. Think of this as a revisit except with one or two newer features. An okay buy....for fans that is.

70

Nice feel

hotmando1 | Aug. 13, 2011 | Review of Alter Ego

The game instantly gives off a dark, moody feeling the moment you play. You should already know what your expecting though. Your average point and click game with a taste of mystery. The game is pretty large, very uncommon. A lot of things to do and see. But only two characters, they could have done with more. Alter Ego doesn't always apply just to "Two" but more. I really thought the cinematic cut scenes were done nicely but not as good as companies like Blizzard. Game tries hard to scare players at some points, but being point and click: it's very hard to actually be scared. But still a good buy for those into mystery games!

69

Sins

hotmando1 | Aug. 13, 2011 | Review of Sword of the Stars: Complete Collection DNS

Looking for an alternative to games like Sins of a solar empire? Then you'll find yourself pleased with Sword of the Star. Think of Sword as a game with more focus on the action part, less about the economy and such. What's better? It's RTs as well, so you'll feel right in. Did I mention you get to suit up your own ships, even up to how they look? Really, this game is more about fun instead of skill. It's for people that want ships to fire laser beams nonstop. Not to mention the fantastic plot that trails behind it! Visually speaking..it is pretty sweet. Not annoying or too old for anyone! Has a little cartoony feel to it though. Good buy!

43

Not scary

hotmando1 | Aug. 12, 2011 | Review of Penumbra Collection

The series fails to deliver. Hardly ever scary. The developers think that not having a weapon makes you afraid. On the contrary, it's the biggest hint to players everywhere. It means, there is always a way out. Therefore, I zoomed through the game and it's "pop up" enemies in less than four hours. Great atmosphere? Maybe. Maybe not. Considering it had trouble adjusting to me computer, I say not.

54

OFF TRACK

hotmando1 | Aug. 12, 2011 | Review of Jekyll & Hyde

Everyone knows Jekyll and Hyde. But from what you play here, is totally off track. Does anyone remember all these deadly weapons and traps? I don't even remember half the scenery! Seems like some people decided to use the name as an attraction. If you've played games like Monster Hunter and disliked it's camera. You'll probably dislike this camera too. So unless you can get used to it, your beat. The game can crash at random intervals too, be vary of that alongside with lag. It's either my computer or the game. Still..this game feels like it was released while in production. Not very high quality. Then again, it seems like it's a trend for companies to release half baked games.

39

Overdone

hotmando1 | Aug. 11, 2011 | Review of LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4 DNS

Harry Potter is overused and overdone. There are far too many lego games out there....and they tend to reuse the same resources. As you progress..you can tell from the lack of features and gameplay. They're just reused resources from the previous lego potter games. Visually speaking, nothing too beyond greatness. However, I do like the co-op feature. Very nice for friends or family. Still, as this is a lego game: this is aimed at kids. Adults will find this quite boring as I did.

72

Just in time

hotmando1 | Aug. 11, 2011 | Review of LEGO Batman: The Videogame DNS

With the next batman game "arkham asylum" coming up for a more mature group, lego batman is just what younger people need. Less of a serious tone, more of a carefree child-like tone is what this game is about. Plot is your typical go-figure villain and batman! No need to go further, and no need for spoilers. Bugs and glitches are low in count, barely anyone complains except the occasional individuals. Visually speaking, it's perfect. It really looks and feels like lego's style. Camera issues need to be worked out though. Also, things like fx,voices,sounds tend to get drowned out. However, these are little things, nothing more. If you played any of the past lego series games, then you know what to expect in another high quality lego game!

40

Cash Cow

hotmando1 | Aug. 11, 2011 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2 DLC - Sengoku Jidai Unit Pack

What your seeing here is a good example of how CA treats it's customers at the moment. For one, the game is still VERY buggy in many aspects. There are still drop hackers and retainers do not work. Only ONE balance patch has been released and that been months before. So you can see, this dlc is pretty much a good sign of cash cowing the players. Also, you only get a small variety of units. Secondly, you can only use them as vets online. That means, one of each. Very boring isn't it. I do not recommend anyone to get this dlc or the game. At the very least, not until CA learns to charge reasonable prices and make reasonable games.

34

Sexist

hotmando1 | Aug. 11, 2011 | Review of The Rockin' Dead

Nothing to see here besides an annoying half naked woman who likes to show off her assets. Really...it feels like your playing a hooker. So unless your REALLY INTO HOOKERS and mystery games. Not a lot of action too, humor is utilized far too poorly. Like sometimes, the game throws you a joke that you might not even shrug at. Really done too badly. It's not even cute too. Rockin Dead isn't pleasing to the eye at all. I've seen better game sin this genre. But if your looking for a bland storyline with bland gameplay, this is for you.

73

Better

hotmando1 | July 23, 2011 | Review of Supreme Ruler: Cold War DNS

I do like the wider range and innovative ideas in this. first, you get a globe and a map. While other real time games are more limited to just "one" single area such as Europe, this lets you spread across the world. Neat and huge play time is already shown through this. Although there are only a few factions to play, they're the main ones that most people like to play as. United States, etc. Who wants to play as a small weak nation? Technology research, trade, etc is very common, so players should know what to expect. The ai ministers can sometimes screw up..so be wary. Visually speaking, game is nice so to say. But I've seen better. Ai does what it is supposed to do..most of the time. I enjoyed multiplayer, always fun in a lan party.

64

i just have to

hotmando1 | July 20, 2011 | Review of Deus Ex: Game of the Year Edition DNS

One of the best games of all time that should have never have a sequel. Why not? Because none can live up to the first game. Visually speaking, it is a little bit weaker thanks to it's old age. But it has aged BEAUTIFULLY. The plot and the gameplay is what runs the show here.Got a locked door? Pick your choices..hack..lockpick..etc. got an enemy?...kill or ignore. The plot in this game is one of the best I've seen. Mainly because it is affected by your choices. And choices..you make a load of these. Basically..you write the plot as you play. You alter the game. I love that..and so will you.

48

Seen better

hotmando1 | July 20, 2011 | Review of Agricultural Simulator 2011

This sim can be defined as a ton of waiting...and waiting..and just clicking. You don't do much at all, REALLY. You drive a tractor...around a pretty surreal farm and just..drive. You don't do anything else. sometimes..these actions take forever too.  And the visuals don't make up for it too, they are bland and boring. Soundtrack is equally as lame. No saving graces sadly. What I liked..was that the animals shake their ears. Pretty cute but not realistic enough. This doesn't even run in some of the highest resolutions...below average sims.

76

Much better

hotmando1 | July 20, 2011 | Review of Multiwinia DNS

Darwinia and Multiwania are some of the best rts games out there. They hold their own unique visual style and don't even put a strain on pc rigs to run! You'll still have awesome battles without losing fps. Barely any bugs, crashes, etc. Great soundtrack and tons of open world in the game. You can pretty much what you want to do Of course..you'll encounter the invisible wall some time or another but this is still pretty reat. Truly a good sequel.

70

Nice looks

hotmando1 | July 20, 2011 | Review of Chernobyl Terrorist Attack

I like the style of Chernobyl. I don't know what it is but it's the visuals that get me really hooked. It's sorta cartoony and realistic at the same time...very attractive. Still, I'll give it an eight out of a ten..It looks better than most shooters today in my opinion anyway. Level design is a little bit average but not totally horrible. At the very least,  it's not super buggy or anything. There is a lack of variety though. Seven weapons and no multieplayer is a huge let down. Ai doesn't replicate that human feeling in multiplayer games. Good game for  the price though.

74

Super cool

hotmando1 | July 20, 2011 | Review of Darwinia DNS

One of the best RTS games of all time. Darwania is one of the most unique games there for anyone. First of all, it doesn't require any heavy pc rigs to run it. That is already awesome. Sadly, the visuals aren't as much as an eye catcher as you would think it would be. Bugs and glitches are few in the game as well, almost no crahes whatsoever. Plot was pretty good, and kept me going. The soundtrack is also one of THE BEST i've heard so far too! Good game.

65

May not be worth it

hotmando1 | July 20, 2011 | Review of Revolution Under Siege

For thirty dollars, you can get a lot of higher quality strategic games. Well..as the name implies: it's a civil war within Russia. Pick a side, it doesn't really matter: it just advances the "plot" or history. Visually speaking, it could be better. It looks almost polished but not quite. It is not visually stunning to say the least and there are better world maps than this. However, the core focus of the game is in the gameplay. The ai is one of the best I've seen. Your going to need to use your wits to survive. Some pet peeves in this game can be the load times...the turn times.. etc. Sometimes you'll get into a battle without knowing too. If you feel like your Russian history is lacking, I suggest getting this game. But for thirty dollars..maybe less.

71

Reminds me

hotmando1 | July 20, 2011 | Review of UFO: Aftermath Cap

This game is some ways reminds me of Half life 2. Of course not the game, plot, or anything. The aliens are very similar in a way that make s it remarkable. It's your typical rts that requires a degree of microing. Of course, you don't need to micro as much as you need in games like starcraft. Take it as a rts but with dnd gameplay. It's a little fast paced but a little slow at the same time. Slow can depend since you can pause. So take your time picking what your squad does, your success depends on it. This way, combat is pretty nice and easy on newbies. Sadly, the plot is not as great as the combat. It's a little average, but enough to play through the game. Visually speaking, it is average to say the least. It is certainly not up to today's standard of quality though. Also, rpg, levels, items, etc make the game immersion even better. I recommend this to anyone looking for a good strategic game that plays like dnd but rts at the same time.

72

Neat in a way

hotmando1 | July 20, 2011 | Review of Kings Bounty Armored Princess Cap

This addon doesn't feel like an addon at all but more of an expansion. For 20 bucks, it sure cost like one too. New additions to the game adds new life to it. So if you ever feel bored with Kings Bounty, get this. New skills,spells, and whatnot will surely reintroduce the features that made players love the first time. Although it's turn based still, it still holds as much weight as Heroes/might and magic. The "new" addictions aren't even reused models and such. The developers really put effort onto making this addon a great experience for those who enjoy the series. I recommend this to everyone who enjoys a good turn-based action game.

50

Hmm..same

hotmando1 | July 20, 2011 | Review of Dawn of Magic 2 PRE

It feels like this was made to simply to make side money for the companies. First off, you won't find a lot of "upgrades" in DOM2. Visually speaking, it looks almost the same with a few quirks. Some "new" options are pretty pointless like increasing number of resolutions and what not. They still haven't fixed the chat bubble spam too. So in return, combat will still be clogged by that. You'll find everything that was in the first game and barely much more. Still..you get to advance on the plot. But if by now the lack of technological advancement in the engine has turned you off, I wouldn't recommend this game.

57

Biggest Problem

hotmando1 | July 19, 2011 | Review of Dawn of Magic

My biggest problem with the Dawn of Magic series is that it tries to do everything and doesn't do all of them above and beyond ofo what is expected. First..chat in the game is so messed up. If there are like 6-10 different npcs talking, you can't see anything besides this mass of chat bubbles. This disturbs your combat experience sooo much. Anyway, visuals are okay and look sorta "next-gen" but not really. I agree the plot is worth playing..but the necessity of playing the sequel for the next part of the plot is pretty lame in my opinion. The rpg focus alongside action/rts/ is well done. The game is a challenge too. The stater enemies to the end game enemies are all hard. Really..it'll take some time and patience to learn how to deal with the, If you like this game, you should look at the sequel.

59

Innovative

hotmando1 | July 19, 2011 | Review of Beat Hazard

I really like this because it uses your own soundtracks. but there are pros and cons to that too. I totally like the idea of using the player's soundtracks. But what if some people don't have music on their computer? So that is a letdowner. i recommend this to only people with a vast storage of music tracks. Since the music is the highlight of the game, it interrupts YOUR music pretty nicely. Enemies come and go and you'll still get a good feel. Visually speaking, it is over the top. It's really colorful. I wouldn't be surprised if anyone got headaches after playing for hours. The game at times can get boring because all you do is shoot and kill. Well that is the point int it? It's up to you to make the game more interesting. Anyway...if this type of genre/shooting doesn't interest you: why not try audiosurf? It seems that music is entering gaming these days tooo.

97

Lots of options

hotmando1 | July 19, 2011 | Review of Just Cause 2

To define Just Cause 2, a lot of words can be said. But I think: options is the best way to define JC2. If you liked games like GTA, you'll like this. Imagine JC2 as a revamp of GTA. Free roam, a HUGE map, numerous guns and vehicles, transport using various things, hell you can even latch onto a plane and go with it. You can do almost anything. Plot is your average joe. Friends become enemies, enemies become your friends. your typical spy theme. But missions start off the worst way possible. The person drives up..talks..and there is your mission. And this occurs FOR EVERY MISSION. It is so annoying. I wish there was more variety to that. Visually speaking, game looks much more Superior than the first game. Bugs and glitches are limited as well. Developers also took notice of the lack of vehicles in the first game. You can tell by the numerous additions of band new vehicles. The black market is still here and all. Buying guns and all that, you know the deal. But what I really like about JC2 is the vast size of it. The map is just so huge..it'll take a load of time to explore. You'll also find references to things like LOST. It is always nice for a couple giggles here and there. Great game.

54

Like Dante

hotmando1 | July 19, 2011 | Review of The First Templar DNS

This game can't help but remind me of Dante's Inferno. It's gameplay and feeling feels so similar yet so distant. Mainly because of the horrible dialogue and horrible level design. Combat feels smooth and ongoing just like Dante's infenro. But the level design..is really just bland. It's not very memorable and unique to fight in. I just didn't get the vibe that other games give me. Anyway..the AI in this game varies. i don't understand why can't all your enemies can't just rush forward and kill together. It always has to be a 1v1 huh? Your companion ai is bad. Play with a friend. The companion ai does nothing but the most simple things. Sometimes it'll neglect your health and let you die. Other times it'll simply die reaching you. Visual quality is good and bad at the same time. You'll find that it's average with it's cons and pros. Look at the texture quality and fx quality and you'll see what I mean. anyway..an okay good if its for an okay price.

55

Different World

hotmando1 | July 19, 2011 | Review of Lost City of Z

This is one of those rare point and click games. It takes you to one of the places where most games don't bother to visit at all. Visuals are unique in their own way because you don't normally see settings like ancient ruins in point and click mystery games. Plot is overly simple though. People have gone missing, go find the, It's really overused, so no kudos for that. Music is really exotic, its memorable to say the least. Production quality would be better if it was more polished before release though. Some puzzles require little thinking to be honest. Overall, an average game.

55

Ah..not for males

hotmando1 | July 19, 2011 | Review of Hostile Makeover

I don't think this is at all target for a male audience. Picking your clothing..and the like is all too picky for people who just want to solve the murder. Speaking of the murder, it's lacking on the plot. I don't really believe in the "Quirky characters" part because a lot of the characters introduced to the players are very..mundane in part to their half-dead nature. Anyway, with a lack of a challenge and some puzzles: you'll find that the game is pretty short. But well worth 5 bucks. Replaying the game is not very high in my book though. Not my cup of tea.

69

Wow..really old

hotmando1 | July 19, 2011 | Review of Gobliiins Trilogy

Compared to games like duke nukem when this was released, it's hard to say that this was overlooked. First of all, this is a trilogy. So really, it's a 3 in 1 pack. A great deal for only like 5 bucks. Visuals are great reminders of the old days and they're not too shabby too considering the date they were released in. Soundtrack is pretty fun to listen to. It's a good filler for those puzzles. But sometimes it becomes repeating and boy..does doing puzzles take a long time. As in all puzzle games..some are easy and some are outright hard. you might even need to resort to the internet for answers. Good buy! 3 for 1.

52

Pretty cute

hotmando1 | July 19, 2011 | Review of Find Your Own Way Home

This has the feeling that it's MADE for kids. I don't recommend this to adults or even teens. It's plot,visuals, and soundtrack is pretty bland compared to other point and click games. but it is bearable enough for kids. Challenges...are not even hard. you'll find the puzzles to be a breeze. Hidden objects do not feel hidden at all. For hardcore puzzle gamers, this game would be a bad investment. there are better games out there.

58

Hmm okay

hotmando1 | July 19, 2011 | Review of Egypt 3 - The Egyptian Prophecy

This game at times can amusing..to some. Soundtrack is amazingly boring and not very memorable. Visuals..are below average with today;s standards. Plot..is so mixed up. Puzzles..at times can be very easy and requires almost no logic. Still.you'll find yourself stumped by one after a WHILE. The introduction of the game is poorly made to hook the player. So give it a whirl and have some patience. You might just like it.

75

Pretty..unique

hotmando1 | July 19, 2011 | Review of Darkness Within 2: The Dark Lineage

I like the feeling this game gives off. But let's start it off by praising the amazing soundtrack and a new level of visual quality. Physics in the game feel more "realistic" if that is how you want to word it. I have a couple pet peeves with the game. why not just name the difficulty levels easy,normal, and hard? Standard, Detective, and Senior Detective mode is just plain silly. Well..puzzles in this game aren't much more of a challenge than the ones in Half life 2. So if you have played HL2, you'll know the feeling. The usage of darkness is very nice too. It gives off a scary atmosphere. Something that is required in almost all horror games in my opinion. Good game.

57

Errr..weird

hotmando1 | July 19, 2011 | Review of Colour of Murder

First off..this game is crudely made. Visuals look like the work of Photoshop. So hats off to anyone who thought they could make a few bucks turning it into a point and click. No challenge at all in this game. Not a lot of riddles or clues. Plot doesn't even egg you on or advance. It's..plain bluntly boring to a huge extent. Sometimes you'll feel like you'll want to ragequit. Not a recommended buy.

50

Hmm..missing

hotmando1 | July 19, 2011 | Review of AGON - The Lost Sword of Toledo

Something about Agon4 feels lacking what the last three titles had. It has the look and the edge but missing the core. First off..to anyone new: this one gives you a pretty bad recap of the last three games. So it already feels like a cash cow: it tries to appeal to a lot of people. You can tell by the easily solved clues,puzzles, and etc. Challenge? Maybe for kids. The story isn't that great this time around too. I suggest people play the previous titles before trying this. Save for spoilers.

72

Nice ole game

hotmando1 | July 19, 2011 | Review of 80 Days

This is NOT for those looking for an action filled experience. this is for the more casual players like myself. Anyway, this game is very slow paced. It features LONG CONVERSATIONS and graphics that aren't very eye catching. Sometimes..these conversations will run over 3-5 minutes...yes..that long. Mainly, if the sole reason for anyone to play this is to "discover" the world. Then look away because this game doesn't offer much of a realistic interpretation of real life. Just read the books and movies instead. You'll find some...overused comedy and small skits in this too. Always nice for a chuckle. This is a nice time sinker..if you have the time to listen to people talking for minutes...

63

Pride

hotmando1 | July 19, 2011 | Review of Pride of Nations

While I agree that Pride of Nations is more or less a historical accurate representation of "History", it is only accurate to some degree. Visuals look bland and morbid because even in most simple strategies, the overview world map is made to look pretty. Since there is no actual onscreen combat, it would not have hurt to place a better map. Ai is one of the better ones but not without flaws, you'll see once you start playing. The world economy is also a addiction and increase to increase the realism but above all, multiplayer is the best feature. Why play alone when you got friends?

68

One of the best puzzle games

hotmando1 | July 18, 2011 | Review of Hamilton's Great Adventure DNS

I have to say, I really like the cartoony style of this game. Especially the over sized body and a clear mockery of Indiana Jones. Level design looks amazing and really polished and being able to play with my friend is a huge plus. Whats better than a cheat in a puzzle game? Two brains! While I don't agree that this is very "addicting" like WoW, it is good fun for buddies if your bored. So if your looking for a change of pace in gaming, try this.

67

ahh..the start

hotmando1 | July 18, 2011 | Review of Just Cause Capsule

Wow..this is the start..of a great game and series with a solid plot. You can do a lot here too! From grappling to plain old shooting. Its a sandbox, but it is VERY HUGE. YOU'LL need planes and trucks to get anywhere. Lots of guns too! Parachute..you'll find lots of love there too....really..this game is so massive..it feels like a mmo but it isn't. Bad thing is that there is no co-op. Visuals are a little outdated too. Get this for some good old fun.

70

Never got into this

hotmando1 | July 18, 2011 | Review of Hitman 2: Silent Assassin capsule

I never got into the Hitman series because I found it dull and lacking. Plot was pretty thick though but gameplay just turned me off. It was pretty slow and checkpoints were placed at the wrong times. Like the first game, Hitman2 is just another visual upgrade with amazing music I admit. But, I still have trouble playing this due to it's outdated visuals. Gameplay is pretty dull compared to games like Conviction too. Well, if your a fan of this series: you might as well try this. Also, I don't like buying a game just so i c an find out what the plot is. Buy to know? Not my cup of tea.

66

If you liked...

hotmando1 | July 18, 2011 | Review of RHEM 4

If you liked the past three games/Trilogy, then you'll enjoy this. You know what to expect. Puzzles, no violence, good old visuals, etc, etc. Graphics aren't the best because this is a point and click. Solutions will come slowly but you'll get the hang of it. I don't recommend this to people new to the series. I only recommend this to those seeking a good puzzle game.

82

Good deal

hotmando1 | July 18, 2011 | Review of RHEM Trilogy

This is one of the best point and click mystery adventures out there for all ages. What's better? It has all three games. Although you'll have to buy the fourth game in the series lineup, this trilogy will give you some good insight on the story and plot and how it all plays out. Really liking the visuals, they're not much to look at but remember: this released in early 2000s. Also, not a lot of real "action" such as killing zombies and the such: so I do not recommend this to people looking for a fast pace game. Still, a good buy for the buck.

35

CRaptastic

hotmando1 | July 18, 2011 | Review of Sniper: Ghost Warrior PRE

The first thing you'll notice is that it looks pretty. Looks can be deceiving indeed. There are a ton of bugs. But the core of my irritation from this game is the STUPID AI. Sometimes they'll be aimbots, and sometimes they'l be dead AI. One person can die nearby and no one can hear a body thump or anything! Really, I think the multiplayer saves this game by a bit. Hell...even the multiplayer is crap. It's a lot of base camp. Stand in one place and hope to NOT DIE. So much potential wasted on this game. Sigh...

89

Not creed

hotmando1 | July 18, 2011 | Review of Thief: Deadly Shadows Capsule

This series provides of the best "theif/assassin" gameplay out there. While it is compared to Assassin Creed a lot, they are nothing unlike. Theif requires a LOT of skill and stealth. Visuals are pretty average considering the year it was released in but it is still pretty fun to play on. It is also a bit sad seeing Deadly Shadows the ending to a great series. anyway, gameplay is superb. The plot is even better.... If you like just bluntly killing to completing your missions in total stealth: this is for you.

77

No real co-op

hotmando1 | July 17, 2011 | Review of Trine

The lack of online co-op is the biggest flaw in this game. Luckily it will be fixed in the sequel. The game is pretty fun to solo though, just not as much as you would think it would be. You get three heroes. Ones a tank. Ones an archer. And ones a wizard. From shooting or tanking or just plain creating shortcuts, you wizz past levels within hour. Before you know it, the game is over. The plot is pretty straightforward. I'll admit, the castle level is pretty sweet. Level design is pretty, very pretty. So if your into physics and the like, try this out!

82

Break

hotmando1 | July 17, 2011 | Review of Lara Croft And The Guardian Of Light

This game is a huge breakaway from the previous Lara Craft titles! Top-down? You don't like it? You probably will or not after playing it. Indeed, the puzzles are still there and the gunning is there as well. But for some, top-down is an entirely different world! I'll agree that I too was turned down but co-op in this makes it way better. Co-OP is actually CO-op. You need to help each other to actually get past traps and puzzles. I like that. It's not much of a breakthrough but because of the lack of it in so many games that make the co-op in this game better. Level design and visuals are pretty average but very decent. Boss fights are like magicka boss fights, fun stuff. I'd recommend this to any buddies with spare time!

70

Amazing

hotmando1 | July 15, 2011 | Review of Gothic 3: Gold Edition

Gothic3 is by far not the best but ONE of the best among the four. Gothic3 is really vast..really. The world looks amazing..the view distance makes you feel amazingly small. If it weren't for the maps, you wouldn't know where to go besides the signposts. It is YOUR world! However..there is a lack of equipment. There is barely any armor variety in the game. Weapons are the same as well. There is no lack of trolls or spells though. You'll find plenty of enemies throughout the world. It is not easy...A pack of dinos can easily tear you to pieces. The game is a challenge and it appeals to both casual and hardcore gamers! Rpg fans should totally check this out.

80

THE game

hotmando1 | July 14, 2011 | Review of Rome: Total War Gold Edition

Rome:total war is one of the best! It's pretty much the flagship of the Total War series. It is still being played online which is one of the best things about total war! Visuals are below average with today's standard but gameplay is till amazing. A Calvary charge does what it is meant to do, crush units! This did not happen in medieval2 and as it went easy on players. Rome:total war still requires a lot of logic to win! Get this for good old classic fun!

80

I love this series

hotmando1 | July 14, 2011 | Review of Medieval II: Total War Gold Edition

I have over 200 hours on Medieval2 total war. That speaks for itself. This game..is amazing. The mods make this game 50x better than it really is! The mods are what keep this game alive. It is great! From third age to the warhammer mod..this game has made many dreams come true. Besides the mods, the game is pretty fun and all. I like the sync kills but the lack of naval battles is pretty sad. Either way, get this game for the mods!!!

79

Just empire

hotmando1 | July 14, 2011 | Review of Napoleon: Total War

This game is basically empire:total war reskinned. All the patches that should have entered Empire:total war went into Napoleon instead. This is why the game feels so polished and etc. The new units are not really super-exciting or anything of the sort. Visuals are improved but not as much as shogun2 was improved. Still, glitches and bugs are extremely low compared to Empire:total War. If you like empire, you should just stick with it. If you got extra cash, get Napoleon! Total war never lets down players nevertheless.

80

Like MOW?

hotmando1 | July 14, 2011 | Review of Men of War: Assault Squad Cap

The game this time focuses more on infantry. I agree that it should have too because the infantry in the game were not as well designed as the tanks. They had pretty bad shooting animations and reacted badly in shootouts/cover. Graphics and gameplay have not changed a whole lot too! But the AI has totally changed. It's no longer dumb, really. In MOW, it just sent troops to their deaths. Now it really thinks it out. No more push over AIs. Assault Squad is a good game, get it only if you really loved MOW though. Also, it's stand-alone. Even better!

60

Better than the second

hotmando1 | July 14, 2011 | Review of Jewel Quest Solitaire 3

This game is best for those new to the Jewel quest Solitaire series. The third is vastly better than the first and second! There are few rpg elements in the game and some hidden items in it. I liked the puzzles and the use of logic in it this time. Not a lot of of new concepts though. You can use powerups by that is nothing new. Visuals look better this time though. This is better than the first and second, much better buy.

70

Addiction!

hotmando1 | July 14, 2011 | Review of Jewel Quest II

One of the best match-3 games ever! This is a huge improvement over the first game. Basically, you combine gems again and again until you solve everything. But there is a lot more to it. The game looks fantastic and the music is sweet. Unlike the first game where it was dull. This game does not get dull. It gets HARDER! But hard to the point where you don't rage quit! You'll want to keep playing because it never really punishes you for losing. Lots of great fun.

60

Detective

hotmando1 | July 14, 2011 | Review of Hidden Mysteries: Buckingham Palace

For those looking for an interactive detective-like mystery game, look no more! This game has a lot of secrets for you to uncover. Visuals look average though. Freedom is pretty limiting too. But beyond it's cons, I really like the romance tied into the game! The game tries to keep you on the edge with tips and hints, I really like that aspects. Sometimes the game feels a little out of place with some bugged objects but you can ignore it. Also, the game slumps at some parts but the climax is much better.

50

I like physics

hotmando1 | July 14, 2011 | Review of Bob Came in Pieces CAP

I love this game! For an indie title, it sure is beyond just average. Visuals are cute and lovely. Puzzles at times can be very hard but some are just outright easy. More so on the funny side. The goal is simple, find your parts and go. There is almost zero plot. The game is focused on puzzles while entertaining you: the gamer. The game does stump on some parts where it gets boring though! But the audio is fun and easy to keep up with. The price is a little higher than it should be though.

70

Sweet

hotmando1 | July 14, 2011 | Review of 7 Wonders II

Awesome! Being adapted into other platforms really shows just how popular this is! It's basically for the casual or most hardcore puzzle player. It's not really about winning but more so about just having fun. Sure its similar to other games but it's a puzzle game. All puzzle games feel or look the same to some degree. Some tips and hints are in the game which are always nice. Nothing really innovative though which is a little sad. Still, good fun for friends and family!

100

Love

hotmando1 | July 11, 2011 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2

Shogun2 is way better than the previous games! It runs better and makes better use of youur system resources. Unlike Empire:total war where it simply lagged on higher settings, shogun2 doesn't. Graphics are amazing even on lower settings and the voice acting is superb. Watching units fight is now way more pleasing. However, there is still no blood as in all total war series. Bugs and glitches are few and hardly noticeable. Tactics and role playing is now more wide spread. From treaties to assassinations, they are now greater than ever. The campaign is now easier to understand with taxes and such. Hero units really make the game fun, it opens up another aspect! Multiplayer is now much better since you can now dress up your general. Custom generals make all the difference if your as shallow as me. Great game, buy.

85

Okay

hotmando1 | July 11, 2011 | Review of Men of War Cap

Singleplayer is a challenge, it has an underdog concept. You get a small number of troops against hundreds of enemies and tanks. A lot of the single player missions are like this so expect to get tired. Graphics are nice and bearable, some glitches and bugs here and there though. For an example, pathfinding for waypoints is horrible..especially for tanks. Multiplayer is harsh on new players. Some people have over a thousand games and can easily crush you. Lots of different factions but germans and soviets are the most played. You can tell by almost every game you join there is at least on german faction. One good thing is that there is co-op for single player. MOW is better than faces of war so it's a better buy. Like MOW? Get assault squad too.

81

Good old fun

hotmando1 | July 7, 2011 | Review of Men of War Cap

The game is pretty outdated by other titles but still retains a lot of players online. Some players have over a thousand games played, which can discourage new people in multiplayer. Graphics are okay but gameplay is heavily more focused in this. Balance is a key word in this game. It is extremely balanced between factions. It's really just a rock-paper-scissors mechanic. Snipers for long range, machine gunners for rifle men, etc etc etc. The game isn't a simple spam war too. You don't send your troops to die. You put them in buildings and cover. Sometimes that determines the entire game. The map isn't just a level, it's your playing field. You need it to win which is something I really liked. Bugs and glitches are patched by now too! While singleplayer is nice and all, I prefer the multiplayer because that is where the real game is at. Buy it for never ending fun.

83

Real

hotmando1 | July 7, 2011 | Review of ARMA II

First off, this game is the entire opposite of games such as call of duty and whatnot. It centers on realistic militaristic combat simulations. You can see your body, your arms, and everything in the world except your every-day commonly seen UI ( Examples:Map, obvious health bars, etc ). Arma2 does has a single player, but that's not the cream of the pie. The single player is obvious and your typical go kill this and that. The real game is the multiplayer and the MODS. Some mods let you have over a thousand enemies, just like a real war. But in regular multiplayer, you've got to actually think like your in a real war. Maps are extremely huge to the point it's hard to see someone, teamwork is a must. Multiplayer however takes a long time to do. Bugs and glitches are very few in Arma2. There is an expansion if you want to enhance your experience as well which is always nice. Graphics are extremely nice when they're in HD. Other than that, they look bland when the settings are set lower. Also, ARMA2 recently re-released as F2P but if you buy the game, you unlock everything. Good buy if your looking for a break from meat grinding games such as Modern Warfare.

76

Jenga

hotmando1 | July 5, 2011 | Review of Tower Bloxx Deluxe

This game is like Jenga except as a pc game! What's great is that it's on an entirely new level with a twist. Graphics are okay since it's a casual game. Glitches and bugs appear to be missing as far as I can tell in the game. The demo for this really shows the quality put into the game. I played for ours on just the demo alone. Level design is also worth mentioning. From the surface of Earth to space is really just fantastic and funny. Split-screen fun is also a winner for the family. Got three family members? No problem, compete with all three! Try out the demo before you buy it though. It may not appeal to certain gamers and people alike.

70

Empty

hotmando1 | July 5, 2011 | Review of Faces of War CAP

Singleplayer is fun. but what is lacking is multiplayer. Sometimes I give this a run but sadly no one plays it online anymore. I would buy this game just for the single player. The mechanics are really done nicely. It's almost like company of heroes except cooler. Shooting animations need some work. Lots of animations are static. The story is also your typical go-figure WW2 story. Enemy there, do this, and that. Lots of destruction in game, get a rocket launcher and boom! It's like Bad Company 2 except TPS. Rock,paper,scissor mechanics are also in play. This kills that and this is weak to that. Graphics are okay and bearable, gameplay is what makes thee game attractive. Get the game for good old fun.

35

short

hotmando1 | July 5, 2011 | Review of Battlestations Midway

Single player was really short. It lasted only a few hours for me. The only thing that extends the number of hours you spend playing is death. Checkpoints are used wrongly in the game, sometimes you'll have to restart an entire level for the sake of just giving up. Gameplay can be better but it is pretty smooth. No crashes or anything which is a good sign. Graphics are done nicely for it's release date. I can't really see casual players playing this but hardcore fans of aerial combat will enjoy it. Get it for the kicks, not value.

50

smash

hotmando1 | July 5, 2011 | Review of Ninja Blade

Yet another poorly done port from console to pc. There is a LOT of focus on pressing the correct button combo just like God of War for executions. It's done very nicely in a movie-like way in both gameplay and graphics. The plot is pretty weak though, not very enticing to people who have already played games such as Dragon Age. The game requires you to button smash the same button about a couple hundred times before killing a boss. By the time your done the game, your keyboard/controller might as well be dead. AI is not the best, sometimes it'll just stand there. Weapons are a given, but a small selection. For a single player game, it's pretty short. It's lacking on multiplayer. Good buy on sales.

50

Same

hotmando1 | July 5, 2011 | Review of Battlestations Pacific

A bad sequel to an already bad game. This genre has been so overused, it's really annoying. The graphics aren't even that good! The single player is lacking, just like the first one. Like Midway, multiplayer is still bland. Sometimes you can't even see who your fighting because of the ui! Quality is really low, you can tell from the numerous crashes,graphic bugs, voice acting, and etc. But hey, get it if you really like airplanes..and if it's cheap.

40

Not

hotmando1 | July 5, 2011 | Review of Bus Driver

The city is not attractive nor pretty to look at. Sure, some aspects of the game may appeal to you such as pleasing your customers but that gets boring later. Driving is more or less boring than other sim games. Graphics are below average. The ai feels scripted with no real individual thought. With nothing else to do, your just a bus driver. The expresses boredom in it's own special way. This game should only appeal to a small amount of people.

85

Okay?

hotmando1 | July 1, 2011 | Review of Rift - 30 Day Time Card

A nice way to increase your time in Rift, but it's pretty much the same as just subbing per month. These make great gifts for RIFT players if your not buying it for yourself. Also, a lot of sites sell keys for cheap prices but they're illegal. It's nice to know your buying a cheap time card and it's legit.

50

turn-Off

hotmando1 | July 1, 2011 | Review of F.E.A.R. 3

The FEAR series died off at Fear 2. The introduction of mechs and whatnot really killed the mood. How can you be afraid in a giant hulking piece of metal with two gatling guns? Visuals of course have improved, smoother frame rates but comes at a cost. The first fear requires a lot less processing power to run compared to FEAR today. High system requirements may turn off those with a lesser pc. No one wants to play on low settings. Co-Op is a nice addition, playing with friends increases the experience. However, the introduction of "powers" in Fear3 really just kills the mood. To me, it was a sad disappointment. No longer am I afraid, after all: I have powers that can break doors open and smash your brains. The world FEAR3 presents itself to you is very detailed and dead. Animations are weird. Watching your friend move is not pleasing. Animations for characters are choppy. It is just one of the many things that kill the mood. I didn't really have any bugs or glitches when I played, so that's nice. FEAR3 isn't scary, just boring.

50

Not for mainstream

hotmando1 | July 1, 2011 | Review of Hearts of Iron III DNS

This game isn't mainstream and for obvious reasons. The game has a HUGE learning curve and one that requires patience. For those looking for an easy win in a game such as this, do not get it. I didn't have the patience for the learning curve and the lack of any on-screen action turned me away. The map looks accurate so to say, a shame it isn't 3d. Not much eye-candy to look at. To be what you want and what you do is nice and all, but it really lacks structure. It requires a ton of attention, something I'm unable to give and i'm sure a lot of other people wouldn't give either. Like I said, this game isn't mainstream. Some bugs here and there like random crashes at time. I'd get this game for a price other than twenty dollars. Maybe five. Unless your a fan of this genre of course.

75

Great time killer

hotmando1 | July 1, 2011 | Review of World of Goo

When you have time to play, I'd suggest playing this as it is one of the best games to play during short breaks. You can tell it's an indie game and that it was done on a budget. But the you can also tell that the quality of the game itself matches up to big name companies. It's done almost perfectly. Smooth gameplay and an easy learning curve allows everyone to have fun. Don't worry if you want a harder challenge, the game has that and more. Both casual and hardcore gamers will be pleased with World of Goo. You even get to show off your high score online! This game is a good buy for those looking for short time killers.

60

Huge

hotmando1 | July 1, 2011 | Review of RailWorks 2: Portsmouth Direct Line Expansion Pack

The world the game presents itself to you is HUGE. Long train rides and long game play. New trains and tracks is to be looked towards to. Time restrictions may be tougher on casual players, but also favored by hardcore players. Graphics are okay, I've seen better in other games with a similar genre. A limit of only ten scenarios may seem average but remember, this is an expansion. The expansion provides a bigger idea of our world today between 2000-2011. Some people may never see a train in their life time, thus making this game a good experience. However, I'm a bit sketchy about the thirty five dollar price tag. It's a little too expensive for an expansion but nevertheless, a good buy for a time sink.

80

The best

hotmando1 | July 1, 2011 | Review of BioShock DNS

Bioshock is one of those games that stay in your mind forever. It makes you think and wonder. Who? Why? Where? When? These are the questions that will reappear in your quest for answers when you play. The lore in the game is one of the best. It makes it worthwhile to keep playing. And when it ends, you'll want more. Visuals are nice, very nice. On very high settings, they create a world as nice as any other games like Crysis. Gameplay is not ridden with bugs and glitches. It is smooth and exciting. Shooting has never been better. Although at times, it is annoying to use only one hand. Difficulty can be easily adjusted, thus making it open to hardcore and casual fans alike. The level design is just amazing, you can follow it,explore, etc. Worth buying if you want a classic.

25

Boring and not worth it

hotmando1 | July 1, 2011 | Review of Hacker Evolution Duality

There is barely any sense of real hacking in this. The closest you'll get is the typical voice of "accessing", "engaging", "complete", etc. You only get eight choices to hack from as well. There is almost no action in this game. Also, the game appears more or less an offshoot of "Uplink". The game-play mechanics, graphics, etc all feel similar. While stealing money, hacking computers, etc seem tempting: it is not all that worth while. you do all this in one or two clicks of a button. It is utter boredom under the guise of action and adventure. It's better to just read articles about hackers than to pay twenty dollars for this.

50

Really..bad

hotmando1 | July 1, 2011 | Review of Conflict: Denied Ops CAP

  I tried having fun with this game since I rented it once but it was amazingly buggy and ridden with glitches to the point where I stopped after a few minutes. For an example, my character bugged out of the map and I had to restart. The game is very plain and graphics don't really stand out. The level design feels like it was done randomly. The story is a go-figure and anyone can guess what will happen. However, the game's combat mechanics are average. Either way, the game is a waste of money.

100

AWESOME

hotmando1 | June 28, 2011 | Review of Cryostasis

The game held on to my wit's end the entire time! I didn't know what to expect half the time! Gameplay is really nice as it forces you to pick, flashlight or a weapon? Weapon choices may be small but fitting. What do players expect to find in a normal ship with a normal crew before everything the supernatural events? A BFG? The game doesn't throw countless enemies at you. It places them in places where it knows you'll be shocked or scared. Puzzles are in the game as well, another touch well executed as I had fun with them. The environment is entirely too good. You go outside, you'll freeze and you can barely see anything. Just like a real blizzard. Too cold? lose health. The game forces you to find or make a fire. The story is executed all too well with things like notes and flashbacks. The ending to the game is entirely random, another nice surprise, but I won't reveal that for now. For ten bucks, it's a good buy for the best scare.

19

Story is boring

hotmando1 | June 28, 2011 | Review of Aliens vs Predator Pre

The first time you play through the single player, it's really awesome. The second time as an alien, you get another view of the first time as an alien. The third time as the predator, your really just bored. Sure, there may be some new things here and there between all three, but they're the same thing in the end. It was a nice concept but not executed nicely enough.

Multiplayer is a sham. You can barely find anyone online these days. The lack of maps and bugs is the cause of the dead community. But the lack of maps is later fixed but dlc. Still, you must buy the dlc. Thus, it turns off more people. The demo was sadly more fun than the game itself. Playing as human is probably the best experience. Anything else is not a scare. The only thing you should be afraid of are the numerous bugs located in the game. Be wary, this is a game you should get during sales only.

80

Like the ending

hotmando1 | June 28, 2011 | Review of BioShock® 2 DNS

The game simply delivered lore and story at it's finest. It kept you wanting more and more but ended it with not a bang but a little sizzle. Choices can be made for your end game "karma" and the actions of your "Daughter" but they're your usual to save or not to save. Game play wise, it was fun and such. You get a ton of different ways to destroy your enemies from freezing to simply shooting them to death. Not a lot of bugs in the game which makes for an enjoyable bug-free experience. The world of Bioshock is present at it's best here. You can see the marine life underwear compared to life inside. The sequel really lived up to the first Bioshock! Multiplayer is an added bonus. Get the game for the story, not the multiplayer.

86

One of the best

hotmando1 | June 28, 2011 | Review of Empire: Total War

Empire:total war is one of the most played games on steam and anyone can tell why. The animations are amazing. Graphics are beyond just plain good. Line battles are by far one of the most fun i've had. Siege battles are a bit of a letdown since the ai wastes time surrounding you. The sea battles are where the game really stands out. The ships really represent damage as the hull, bridge,etc falls or breaks down. Sometimes your ship will even catch on fire. The variety of ships in the game is also amazing! Numerous mods make the game even better. Although community-created, they make the game beyond just good. The grand campaign is a fun experience but consumes a lot of time. However, it is easy to learn and play unlike previous titles such as Medieval2. Empire:Total War, a good buy for the buck.

19

Huge MISTAKE

hotmando1 | June 28, 2011 | Review of Elements of War

I advise anyone looking to buy this to NOT buy this. The game is currently on the way to free play as it seems. http://elementsofwar.gamigo.com/ I've played it and it is not worth thirty dollars. Animations for troops is terrible. Game play is mundane. It feels like the developers tried to mix a lot of ideas but failed miserably. Factions do not feel unique at all. You cannot play as anyone other than the United States which leads to a very dull game. The ai is beyond dumb. When you play against the ai, you can tell how scripted it is. It captures the points and doesn't attack you if your not in it's way. However, you can simply avoid it and win. It is obvious as to why the game would be free to play. Did I mention the choppy animations? Units don't look like they're running or shooting, they look like they're robots.

60

WOW

hotmando1 | June 28, 2011 | Review of Avencast: Rise of the Mage DNS

I actually bought this when it came out and it was great..for a time. Combat is very nice! However..it can also be very boring and long. Sometimes you'll need to spend a minute or two on a single COMMON enemy.

The game is very time consuming. But the extra puzzles and lore make up for the game. Spells are very diverse and nice but divided in two areas. Hybrid builds get the worse because you'll never see the best of the best end game. Armor and trading is nice but summoning the trader can get overly expensive over time. - Every time you summon the trader, it costs a little more. It's a pity the game's forums are now virtually useless because it's filled with bots.

81

Fun fun fun

hotmando1 | June 28, 2011 | Review of Borderlands

An amazing game that is still played by hundreds today. A fps with rpg concept is simply amazing. The graphics are really welcoming. There are virtually no bugs or glitches since they've been worked out by now. The game itself is a warm experience for anyone. With the ability to play with friends as well, it's a blast.

40

Same old same old

hotmando1 | June 28, 2011 | Review of Virtua Tennis 4 DNS

Another console port to the pc that uses GFWL. This series is almost like Madden where it releases a yearly edition of the almost same concept and ideas. However, given the number of tennis games on the market for pc: it can easily be named the best since there really is no other tennis game to compete with.

75

Good

hotmando1 | June 28, 2011 | Review of The Stronghold Collection [Capsule]

The stronghold series is a very nice castle simulator with custom games and whatnot. New players may need to learn the ropes to the game before playing but once they get the hang of it, it's a fun casual experience. Game can be fun or boring depending on the way some people play. Nevertheless, an enjoyable experience.

74

Tower Defense

hotmando1 | June 28, 2011 | Review of Sanctum

It's great to see this genre advance so far. The game really feels like team fortress 2 combined with tower defense. Gameplay is very innovative by itself. Although it takes a little time to learn to play, it is well worth the effort. Co-Op is big a bonus. Why play alone when you got a friend? Hours of enojoyment can be well invested in a game such as this.

33

Hyped

hotmando1 | June 28, 2011 | Review of Super Meat Boy

THe game can be hard at times but is does not furfill me as a gamer. I feel the game is only popular because of the scandal generated in the veggie vs meat battle. Gameplay is sub par. You can find games like this anywhere. The only difference is the overly expensive price of fifteen dollars for a game of this level.

75

Cannot connect

hotmando1 | June 28, 2011 | Review of Magicka

Singleplayer can be fun for only so long. Even though Magicka is defined for it's "co-op action", you can barely get a game going with your friends. Even though the company has been very hard at work trying to fix connection issues, it is still not fixed. THere is no lan or direct connect. Steam browser does not help at all. Chances are slim if you wish to host and actuslly suceed. Overally, besides the multiplayer issues: the game is beyond fun. More so if you can actually get a multiplayer game going.

10

Crap

hotmando1 | June 28, 2011 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever

The game is buggy, multiplayer is boring because you die seconds after you respawn, it is not fun. Graphics are nothing like you see in screenshots. I had some texture errors as well, very annoying. Load times can be extremely long sometimes. Game is twisted and creepy at the "Alien" paraody part. Not needed. Wall boobs are not needed as well. Game feels very sexist even though that is "duke's life." Gameplay feels very mundane. Turret scenes are done way too much. No health bar? No buy. Not duke.

46

Company of Enix?

hotmando1 | June 28, 2011 | Review of Order of War

This is basically another clone of another game in the same time setting. The gameplay becomes the same old rock,paper,scissors, no big deal. Only two factions but what is to be expected since it is WW2. Gameplay feels a little like dawn of war and company of hroes, but nevertheless: still boring because it lacks it's own flavor.

50

It is..okay

hotmando1 | June 28, 2011 | Review of Pro Cycling Manager 2011

Obviously not for the average joe but for anyone interested in biking. Graphics look subpar, gameplay is probably what you would expect. Multiplayer with twenty other bikers is nice and adds a touch. What I don't get is, why not just ride a real bike? May serve as a joy ride or something of the like. I don't know about thrilling but over 170 competitions sounds nice.

35

Not very nice

hotmando1 | June 28, 2011 | Review of Earthrise

Game would've done better as a buy to pay rather than use a pay per month. It doesn't introduce any radial ideas. The game feels like it hasn't gone through a beta test yet since the game is filled with tech issues. Pvp in Earthrise can be found easily in other games like Face of Mankind. Personally, I found the game to be dull and underrated thanks to the rising tide of f2p games.

41

Already sorta free

hotmando1 | June 28, 2011 | Review of CrimeCraft: Bleedout

The game for the most part is already free. Pve is basically the same. Bleedout episodes are basically the same old pve. Nothing really different. Crimecraft only excels in it's pvp. Looking for an alternate to APB;RELOADED? Look no more..crimecraft is here.

50

Daka DAKA

hotmando1 | June 28, 2011 | Review of Alien Shooter

Enjoy mindlessly killing aliens! Then this is for you. If you don't care for deep immersive story lines and lore but more about plain old slaughtering for hours and hours. Then alien shooter is the best place to be at. Mind the graphics though, a little dated but bareable. Some rpg elements to fix it up a bit, but nothing more. Get your gun and start mowing.

80

Okay

hotmando1 | June 25, 2011 | Review of Deus Ex: Invisible War Capsule

Scaled down from the first game but still reaches out to a larger crowd. Game still retains some elements of the first game and thus, makes it beyond good for new players in the series. However, some may find it harder to play the second one once they've played the first due to a huge difference in game play. Loading is a hassle but every game has it. Lots to do and explore, overall: good game.

50

Let Down

hotmando1 | June 24, 2011 | Review of Dungeon Siege III

This was a huge let down for me. You could only have 1 out of four characters. ( But I suspect massive character dlcs on way) The controls felt like they were made for consoles. The action was okay and felt like it was designed for console players in mind yet again. Story was pretty generic. Basically, you meet the other three characters along the way and you kill the oh so bad boss. The end. Worth getting as a time sinker. Worth getting on a sale. Not really worth full price. Unless your a fan of course.

74

Weirdly enough

hotmando1 | June 24, 2011 | Review of Rift

Rift makes full use of player interest of instances and raids to rifts. Combat and UI is similar to other mmorpgs out in the market already. Questing is already a given in the game. The game goes on sale more than once, which is good because it increases the player base. Dynamic events and gm events make the game all the better. However, sometimes they'll screw up because of mismanagement such as the invasion held a few months ago. The game is good. It''s good enough to draw people from lotro and Wow.

45

fun for fans

hotmando1 | June 23, 2011 | Review of Drive a Steam Train

A game meant for train lovers and the like. Not your usual slice of blood and gore. However, it'll serve in place of a casual game and for those looking for a time sinker. With only three locomotives, it seems a tad empty but dlc may fix the problem. I'm not sure as entertainment for an entire family unless that family enjoys locomotives as much as the player. The graphics are dated as well compared to other locomotive games already released in today's market as well. Being not too mainstream and seeking to please fans. It is in it's own right worthy to play for anyone with the cash and time.

39

Set to Fall, not Rise

hotmando1 | June 23, 2011 | Review of Gods & Heroes: Rome Rising

The game was closed once before. I was in hopes of it rebooting as a f2p giving it some chance in the market today. I don't see how it could ever compete with p2p games such as Rift,Wow, and numerous other quality f2p games. The graphics are not eye candy, the game play feels similar to many already preexisting mmorpgs, and having an army to fight your enemies is very innovative but has many flaws incoming. How will it deal with parities and such armies? An army of five for each player? I think not. Auction and crafting is to be added later. Features that should be in the game already. It really feels like a rushed release. The beta didn't really shine for me as well. Although it was different, different isn't always better.

70

The Start?

hotmando1 | June 23, 2011 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2 DLC - Ikko Ikki Clan

As with the recent trend of overloading the player base with dlc, this dlc may be the start of many. However, it offers more than your average horse armor, two cars, and whatnot. A new race and some bonus items is nice, but not needed. It has a nice balance for players. But the price itself is worth almost the same as some quality games. Surely it could be cheaper? no? But perhaps it may be the start of a chain of dlc...

51

Didn't like

hotmando1 | June 23, 2011 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® V

The game was a letdown. It was only enjoyable to the point multiplayer didn't work and the numerous dlc has made it quite the annoyance. The game is slow and there's not much thinking to do. Basically it's a tech war that doesn't test your skill but how long your willing to wait it out. Worth getting for a time killer.

13

Nothing much

hotmando1 | June 23, 2011 | Review of Mafia II DLC: War Hero Pack

Buy it if you REALLY love the game. Or buy it if you have loads of cash to spare because you'll be buying a lot more. The military cars and clothing don't seem to hook anybody onto the other dlc though. A shame they're all priced three bucks.

16

Another bad move

hotmando1 | June 23, 2011 | Review of Mafia II DLC: Vegas Pack

Prices are too high, cars are too few, and utterly pointless. It would have been in better understanding if they had packed all the car dlc into one and priced it ten dollars. At least then, it would have made somewhat of a sense. But three dollars for virtually nothing. Not worth it. Bad gain.

20

Waste

hotmando1 | June 23, 2011 | Review of Mafia II DLC: Renegade Pack

I don't get this, why do they sell cars as if they're selling actual content packs? Two cars don't make much of a difference. But really, three dollars? As great as the cars may be, they don't equal up three dollars. Not even digital clothing.

48

Free? No

hotmando1 | June 23, 2011 | Review of Mafia II DLC: Joe's Adventure

Go here, go there, and buy this dlc. This dlc isn't worth getting. It shouldn't have even existed. It should have existed in the base game. It really explains why the game is so short. Want more? Pay more? Get bored. This is pointless. It would've done at the very least better as free dlc to egg buyers on for the others.

19

Another dull pointless dlc

hotmando1 | June 23, 2011 | Review of Mafia II DLC: Jimmy's Vendetta

The base game is short and lacking due to the many and plentiful dlc that comes along. The game feels unfinished and unpolished but that is completed with all the dlc. While it seems like mafia2 tries to copy how dlc is worked in games such as Dragon Age: Origins, it utterly fails. This dlc feels like a side quest rather than a dlc. It should have been in the base game instead. For ten dollars, you get nothing but boredom.

2

Pointless

hotmando1 | June 23, 2011 | Review of Mafia II DLC: Greaser Pack

Three dollars for vehicles? This is almost like the Horse Armor dlc, another company following suit. No one should have to pay for this, not even fans. A price of a dollar or so would have been easier to understand but three dollars is plain stealing. I wouldn't get this.

30

Bad

hotmando1 | June 23, 2011 | Review of Mafia II dns

You got cover, you got nudes, you got mafias, you got the same old same old Mafia story rebooted in better graphics and game play. The game even ends without much of a hook. But of course, there is always dlc to fill that wanting feeling if you ever get one. Plenty of dlc to drive the game price up, in fact, the dlc themselves feel like they were missing from the base game to begin with. Another money scheme. It's a mafia, go figure.

65

Okay

hotmando1 | June 23, 2011 | Review of Fantasy Wars DNS

Well worth it if your low on cash and your computer rig is outdated. It'll entertain you to some degree. Graphics are not much to look thanks to this generation's boom in gaming. A progression system is in place, monsters to kill, an army, magic, and nothing really new. A good time killer.

50

Another Risk

hotmando1 | June 23, 2011 | Review of STORM: Frontline Nation

Elements of the classic war game RISK are evident in STORM: Frontline Nation thanks to it's basic functions. You got troops and spaces to occupy, but there is more. Weather effects, troop variety including tanks and mortars. A twist would be the research as it now involves more time and thinking. But this isn't anything new. There are plenty of other games that already invoke such systems. Storm tries to attract a broader audience with it's combat mechanics but it looks mundane as any other. All in all, this game doesn't appeal to me as a gamer.