Reviews by icole8

80

Great turn-based strategy game

icole8 | Dec. 21, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® V

This game brings back memories of Spartan.

Pros: Different ways of winning a game, unique abilities and units for each civilization, great graphics for such a type of game, eats away the hours you want so desperately to be gone.

Cons: Not enough detail, like diplomacy, for example (at least for the core game), the AIs can be pretty annoying on higher difficulties, especially when they suddenly gang up on you and wage war, and did I mention it REALLY is time-consuming?

Get it though, but along with the DLC at the same time for a complete experience.

85

Excellent TBG!

icole8 | Dec. 21, 2013 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown

XCOM: Enemy Unknown is one of those games everyone simply must play at least once; it's extremely capable of being an excellent time-waster, as I can personally attest to.

You step into the role of a commander in charge of XCOM (an organization dedicated to stopping an alien invasion). The missions you undertake are more or less the same - but how each one goes is up to you, and it is immensely satisfying to see aliens die after being shot/blasted, just as it is to name your soldiers after friends and ensure they live to the very end.

It's cheesy, it's corny, but it's excellently done in that respect, and Enemy Within adds a whole new ton of fancy stuff to play it through a second time.

Get it, you won't regret it.

90

A great reboot

icole8 | Dec. 21, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider

This was my first Tomb Raider game. I came, I saw - and I was stunned.

It's a great game, but one that focuses more on the narrative than the gameplay, although the latter is rather good too, especially when it came to tomb raiding - I rather enjoyed it.

It's the story though, that defines the game as a whole - it tells of Lara Croft's beginnings, and how she transforms herself into a hardened survivor. In a sense, you could say that rather than the narrative being made to fit the game, it was the other way around; this was a game made to tell Croft's story, not a story made to sell a game.

My only criticism of this game would be the constant hot-key sequences, and perhaps the lack of an actual boss - but otherwise, it's well worth playing.

80

A revolutionary approach to gaming.

icole8 | Dec. 21, 2013 | Review of Dear Esther

Dear Esther puts you in the role of a man seemingly shipwrecked, or willingly stranded on an island, while listening to his monologue of fragmented letters written to an 'Esther', or personal thoughts of the island and its past inhabitants.

It's not so much a traditional game per se, but an experience; one walks through the corridors and hallways of a story brought to life in haunting detail. The story is decent, but one you have to piece out yourself, as the winds and waves assail your ears, creating an immersive, interactive experience of roughly 2-3 hours.

Should you buy it? Yes, but definitely not at full price - get it in a bundle, or discounted, as it is at the time of writing this. Otherwise, wait and be patient - it's not quite that good enough to warrant going for it immediately.

75

A return to the past - and all too brief a return indeed.

icole8 | Dec. 21, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite: Burial at Sea Episode 1

Burial at Sea: Episode 1 brings you back to Rapture at the very end of its glory days, starring (again) Booker, along with a seemingly older and more mature Elizabeth.

The story was fascinating, and definitely something to enjoy - but it left more questions than answers. Why was Elizabeth in Rapture? Why was she looking for Sally? Why hire Booker and not go alone? Thankfully, this is only the first half of a whole - perhaps Episode 2 will provide the answers craved.

It was also somewhat too short - 2 hours and a bit more of gameplay is not quite something one expects to pay 14.99 USD for, while the Rapture variant of the Skyhook seems a strange decision to include; it stuck out like a sore tongue, and perhaps a return to the wrench (or an entirely new melee weapon) would have been a better idea. Respawning enemies in previously-cleared areas was also somewhat annoying.

Should you buy it? Well, I'd say yes - but get it discounted, whether you buy the episodes separately or all in one go via the season pass.

85

It's not the Bioshock you know and love - but it's still good.

icole8 | Dec. 21, 2013 | Review of Bioshock Infinite

I'll admit that this was the first Bioshock game I've truly experienced, a brief one-hour sojourn into the first Bioshock game aside, so I hope I can provide an unique POV with this review.

There are also minor spoilers, so beware.

Plot-wise, the game was engaging. It was fun to watch Booker and Elizabeth make their way through the floating city of Columbia, and the latter's wide-eyed innocence makes a great counterpart to Booker's world-weary attitude. The ending, too, is something of a mindf*ck - but you should see it for yourself.

In regards to gameplay, it can be somewhat repetitive, and it was a shame that the game lacked unique bosses, the shade of Lady Comstock aside (it must be said that the shade was genuinely an annoying one to deal with). I found it an interesting challenge, but others may find her screaming and non-stop reanimation of corpses tedious. Any other possibly interesting 'bosses' were either beaten in cutscenes, or turned into allies - something of a killjoy.

The atmosphere though, was superb. The scenery, despite not being Crysis-esque, was fantastic - scenery that told you you were in a fantasy world, but immersive enough that it never felt out of place. The skylines helped add a vast, open feeling as well, a great addition indeed.

Having played the other two Bioshock games now, it can be said that although this Bioshock game definitely didn't conjure that feel the first two games had, it's a worthy addition, and one you shouldn't miss out on; it's an evolution of the Bioshock franchise.

80

Shadow of the Colossus-esque

icole8 | Dec. 21, 2013 | Review of Prince of Persia Other

It's not your typical third-person shooter - this iteration of Prince of Persia is surprisingly rather devoid of enemies, despite you starting out by fighting several 'generic' henchmen, as it were.

No, this game is one that focuses more on the story, and like I've implied earlier, it resembles Shadow of the Colossus - you travel across breathtaking landscapes, collecting light seeds and your only battles are against 'bosses', which in this game are the servants of Ahriman.

Elika and the Prince's back-and-forth snarking is a joy to watch too, and it's a shame that Ubisoft chose not to create an actual sequel to this game, the DS game aside - it would have been a breath of fresh air for this series.

95

A fun and immersive RPG you'll never get tired of.

icole8 | Dec. 6, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim® Legendary Edition

This game is awesome. I repeat, awesome.

Want to be an indomitable warrior who charges into battle armed with a greatsword, throwing Shouts here and there to scatter your foes? You can.

Want to be a sly rogue who moves in the shadows, then comes out of nowhere to end the lives of dragons with several sneak attacks? You can.

A mage who turns ice, lightning and fire into instruments of death, or raises undead servants and dremora to serve him/her? Perhaps even a supporting healer who keeps his/her followers healthy through spells without raising a weapon themselves? You can.

Or maybe, the ways of combat are not for you, and you prefer being a merchant who travels from town to town, seeking out items to buy and sell? Yes, you can!

Skyrim allows you to do almost everything and anything you wish - it's easy to waste hours and hours playing the game. However, it does have flaws; the most notable one for me being just how biased the game was in favor of rogue/mage classes on higher difficulties. You simply cannot play as a warrior on Legendary, as there are foes that can and will decimate you unless you play your cards right.

Otherwise, it's a great game you should buy, if you haven't yet.