Reviews by igzaustion

70

Great story, nothing special about the gameplay

igzaustion | Jan. 9, 2013 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line dns

Spec Ops is an average shooter at best. If you're looking for fun gameplay, look anywhere else. If you are looking for a good story, and feel comfortable playing a movie instead of a game, this is a definite purchase though. As you progress, Spec Ops will twist your stomach and screw with your brain up to a point where you just feel bad about the whole game, which weirdly is kind of great.

80

Minor improvements over its excellent predecessor

igzaustion | Jan. 8, 2013 | Review of Pro Cycling Manager 2012

As far as sports manager simulators go, only Football Manager is better. I am not particularly interested in cycling, but my basic understanding of the sport is enough for me to enjoy the tactics and strategies needed in this game. It is not very challenging unless you make it hard for yourself, but the management aspect is nice and the race tactics are fun. 2012 might not be worth a purchase if you own 2011 though.

95

Good game, excellent commentary

igzaustion | Jan. 8, 2013 | Review of Bastion Cap

Though a nice enough game in itself, the narration is what really makes this game stand out. I cannot think of any game I've had so much fun listening to as this one. The gameplay itself does not even matter for me.

The narration is entertaining, on point and quite humorous most of the time. Everything from wild fighting to standing around afk is covered and commented on with well written soundbytes. Given the low price, I think I would recommend this to everyone.

67

Lesser sequel

igzaustion | Jan. 8, 2013 | Review of Alan Wake's American Nightmare

Not much to say about this game except it does not live up to its predecessor. You buy this if you, like me, absolutely loved the first game and need your Alan Wake fix. You avoid it if you don't want to lessen your impression of the franchise and the Alan Wake character.

89

Late night fun

igzaustion | Jan. 8, 2013 | Review of Alan Wake: Collector's Upgrade

Few games capture the horror genre better than this. The only game to scare me more was Silent Hill many years ago, but that might be because I was so much younger back then. The story and design of this game is just brilliant, and if you feel comfortable playing a scripted story, buy this right away.

65

Good for what it is, which is not much

igzaustion | Jan. 8, 2013 | Review of Naval War: Arctic Circle

The game is well designed and well balanced. Decisions matter, and as movement takes a good amount of time, you can completely whack yourself with a bad battle plan. However, the missions feel repetitive and not rewarding at all. I would recommend getting this only if you have friends to play with, as the multiplayer experience is great. It adds much needed unpredictability to the game.

Thanks to a nice guy at a Paradox event, I got this game for free, but for €20 I would probably look elsewhere for entertainment. If you can get it on sale and bring your friends with you you might have a good time though.

76

Like Paradox, but want more of a challenge? HoI's the way to go.

igzaustion | Jan. 8, 2013 | Review of Hearts of Iron III: Their Finest Hour DNS

HoI was, along with EU, my first introduction to Paradox. I remember back then, I found HoI2 impossible to understand. The franchise is really complex and challenging to play. However, after enjoying the EU, Victoria and Crusader Kings franchises, I got back to HoI when Their Finest Hour released. Now, as I am familiar with the Paradox way and the Clausewitz engine, I found HoI engaging and fun. It is still the most challenging and complex Paradox game I've played, but this is a good thing if you want more of a challenge after playing the others.

79

More polished, more fun

igzaustion | Jan. 8, 2013 | Review of Victoria II: A House Divided DLC DNS

After playing this expansion, you will wonder how you could play Vicky 2 without it. The new features seem small for the steep price, but it is definitely worth a purchase if you want to play Vicky 2.

Most notably, the game runs smoother, quicker, and the interface feels more polished. The flickering is still there on some Intel graphic chips, but gone on NVIDIA chips.

My favorite new feature is the ability to manufacture a casus belli. Finally, expanding your territory made possible without hitches. The feature is of course balanced by using your "spies" to create the claim, thus taking enough time to limit your new powers, so the game is not at all ruined.

Great buy for all who own the base game.

67

Recommended for Paradox fans

igzaustion | Jan. 8, 2013 | Review of Victoria II DNS

This is not a game for everyone. There is just too much to learn before you can succeed here, and hours of trying and failing will weed out the weak ones. If you are familiar with other Paradox games, you will know the basics already, and appreciate the challenge this game brings to the table.

The main difference from its predecessor seems to be that you have less control over your own country. The population in many ways affects your options, and the industries lie at your pops mercy. Especially in big countries, you will have to adapt more instead of doing what you deem is best.

70

Dig and build

igzaustion | Jan. 8, 2013 | Review of A Game of Dwarves

AGoD is really fun to play. If you like games like Dwarf Fortress and Dungeon Keeper, the gameplay is engaging and entertaining. Even the graphics are fun. At the same time, you quickly run out of things to do in this game. Dig a lot, fight a few monsters, build a nice base, dig a little more, expand your base and you're done. It seems the developers will keep adding to the game for a while, and it won't cost you too much, so overall this game is worth buying, but it won't be your favorite game, at least not for long.

10

Completely useless

igzaustion | Jan. 8, 2013 | Review of A Game of Dwarves: Ale Pack DLC

Though it seems this DLC will make it easier to keep your dwarves happy, it's really not needed. As the game is balanced, just covering the floor with the most basic of wooden planks will fill your happiness meter to the max, thus rendering these happiness boosters useless.

90

The perfect game for sandbox players

igzaustion | Jan. 7, 2013 | Review of Europa Universalis III Complete DNS

EU3 spans over a long time period and opens up the whole world to the player. This, combined with easy modding and a great community, makes this game the best sandbox playground of all grand strategy games. Furthermore, this game is well supported by both the developers and the fans, and all expansion DLC is recommended as well.

83

Music DLC is the best nothing-DLC

igzaustion | Jan. 7, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II: Songs of Faith DLC

Two new songs does not sound like a lot, and it isn't. Therefore, you will either want all the music DLCs or none of them. Recommended for hardcore CK2 gamers who want to add variety to the soundtrack. The music really is great, and fits in well with the original soundtrack.

85

Best music DLC

igzaustion | Jan. 7, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II: Songs of Albion DLC

If you play a lot, you will appreciate the addition of new music. These four songs are pretty much variations of the very fitting music already present in the game, and the fresh breath they add is great. If this kind of DLC is up your alley, buy all of them. If not, save your money for the content DLCs.

67

More music

igzaustion | Jan. 7, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II: Songs of the Holy Land DLC

Not my favorite music DLC, but the variety it adds is nice. If you play CK2 a lot, I would recommend getting all music DLCs, as together they add a lot to the great gaming experience.

50

Good DLC worth nothing

igzaustion | Jan. 7, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II: African Portraits

The African portraits add little to the game, just a few more cosmetic options. While more options are usually a good thing, not everything is worth paying for just because it's associated with a good base game.

51

Nice enhancement, if it was free

igzaustion | Jan. 7, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II: Byzantine Unit Pack

DLCs like to the visual experience of the game, and thus would be a nice treat if free. The unit graphics are well designed, but in the big picture you will notice very little change. This is not worth paying for.

50

Not worth €2

igzaustion | Jan. 7, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II - Dynasty Shields DLC

As the unit skin packs, this DLC is purely cosmetical, and should only be bought if you have an abundance of money and a lack of things to spend it on. While the shields are a nice little improvement on an already great game, it is not worth paying for. I got it for free (as a gift), and that price feels about right.

85

Expand your options

igzaustion | Jan. 7, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II: Sword of Islam

At first, this DLC was a breath of fresh air, as you could play "the enemy", and therein reverse the gameplay a bit. Also, the bonuses from more wives sounded quite nice. Now, the expansion just feels like a part of the game. That is not a bad thing though. A real Paradox game excels in availability of playable territories, and the options this DLC gives you is definitely worth the ten Euros.

50

Overpriced cosmetics

igzaustion | Jan. 7, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II: African Unit Pack

This DLC does not add anything but a reskin of a couple of units. It is nice that developers work to improve aspects like these, but DLC adding this little should be free or cost far less than two Euros.

100

Personalize your ruler

igzaustion | Jan. 1, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II: Ruler Designer DLC

I was hesitant in buying this one, as I liked the idea of building on history. Boy, was I wrong. Creating your own ruler is a great way to add to the experience, and after all, it is awesome to thread your own bloodline through history. After buying this, I've hardly played a game without it.

50

Weird addition to a great game

igzaustion | Jan. 1, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II: Sunset Invasion

This DLC did not tickle my fancy at first, but I got it as a gift and gave it a go. I am not really sure what score this deserves, as I guess it depends what you already like about the game. Sunset Invasion basically adds two things: An invasion from off the map and a horrible plague. Buy it if you want to add some unpredictability to your games. Skip it if you want to preserve the authentic kind of feel in the gameplay.

80

More of the same

igzaustion | Jan. 1, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II: Songs of Byzantium

If you tend to get sucked in by CK2, you will enjoy a bit of fresh tunes to accompany your game. Songs of Byzantium seemingly adds little in terms of content, but as I have already clocked hundreds of hours in this game, and plan to go for thousands, new music is worth a couple of Euros. Made by the same composer as the rest of the music, you know what to expect, and you won't be disappointed.

80

More available territories, plus some goodies

igzaustion | Jan. 1, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings II: Legacy of Rome

Yet another DLC to unlock new territories. Not much is added in terms of gameplay, but a few additions have turned out to be quite nice.

Now you can improve your ruler's skills through ambitions. This function is great, and allows for goal oriented development rather than just marrying or killing off your ruler to get to the next one.

The revolts can be a challenge, and might prove more of a threat than your enemies at times. However, they are not as irritating as they used to be in the empires of EU3. The ability to have standing armies further helps you deal with this burden.

All in all, this DLC is a must buy if you like the base game, and will add some nice game mechanics. Its main selling point is still the ability to rule more territories.

65

Worst title in a great crop of games

igzaustion | Jan. 1, 2013 | Review of Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3 (EU)

It seems a lot of effort has gone into making this game look good, crossing the bridge to 3D. Everything looks good, and the game plays well. At the same time, you will not get half the enjoyment out of this one as you got from RA2 and Yuri's Revenge. In 3D, everything seems bigger, which makes everything feel smaller. Furthermore, every match I've played has felt like following the same small path to victory as the previous, whereas in RA2 I had more room and freedom.

The one area in which RA3 excels is its multiplayer, especially coop. Having a friend to help you out instead of a disoriented AI allows you to take on more challenging opponents, a necesessity for enjoying this game. Buy if you prefer 3D over 2,5D, and if you have friends to play with.

96

Top City Builder

igzaustion | Dec. 31, 2012 | Review of Tropico 4 DNS

I've logged over 250 hours in this game so far, and I've hardly even touched the campaign mode. Sandbox Tropico is just so much fun. If your focus is managing your population, juggling superpower relations or maximizing industry output, this game is enjoyable in every way. Tropico 4 might not be much different from its predecessor, but frankly there was not much to improve.

84

Weird, Silly, Fun

igzaustion | Dec. 31, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third dns

Saints Row has always been fun. If you played one of its predecessors, SR3 will be just what you expect: Exaggerated, action packed and hilarious. For this reason, it also offers a bit of replayability, a rare feature of the open world genre these days.

91

Build a dynasty, kill your relatives

igzaustion | Dec. 31, 2012 | Review of Crusader Kings II

As always, Paradox delivers a great grand strategy experience. CK2 combines this with the joy of threading your bloodline through history, by conquering, spreading your influence, plotting and killing your siblings. Diplomacy is more important than ever in this game, and micro managing skills are necessities. There is no clear goal, like there was is Sengoku, but setting your own goals and writing history is as enjoyable as anything.

34

Best DLC so far, still not great

igzaustion | Dec. 31, 2012 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Nightmare in North Point

After waiting for a story-DLC, through months of nothing-DLC, this finally arrived. Naturally, a zombie galore has to be separated somewhat from the main game, but this does not really add anything to the great experience of Sleeping Dogs. Buy this only if you want an hour or two of Halloweeny action.

90

One of the best open world games to date

igzaustion | Dec. 31, 2012 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Limited Edition

Despite some trouble with every other NVIDIA driver update, this game has turned out to be a great experience from start to end. Combining the combat style of Arkham, the free roaming of GTA and the driving of Just Cause, this title brings the best of all worlds.

The map feels small, but is varied enough to excite, and for once in this genre, the missions are varied and well scripted. A virtual Hong Kong offers a fresh feel, and the martial arts focus is great. Also, there are no attention hungry relatives who calls you all the time to go bowling or drive them to a fast food restaurant. Recommended for everyone who likes open world games.

81

Brilliant Beta

igzaustion | Dec. 31, 2012 | Review of Towns

Towns brilliantly combines city building with a real sandbox experience. The learning curve is steep, and the graphics are what they are, but few games offer more in terms of replayability. Additionally, this game is fairly challenging compared to its competition, and thus will not get boring for quite a while. Good buy if you like Minecraft and Dungeon Keeper, and want a similar, but different experience.

95

Best surprise of 2012

igzaustion | Dec. 15, 2012 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown dns

I've played lots of XCOM like games through the years, but none have really felt like the experience of the original. This one, in my opinion, does it better. Enemy Unknown is clearly made for the console market as well as PC, but it does not take anything away from the tactical experience of the game. Controls are great for mouse/keyboard as well as gamepad. In battle, every choice you make matters, and one move can mean the difference between success and getting half your team killed.

Many people call this game scripted and linear, and it is. However, if you enjoy the tactical aspect of the field battles, it doesn't matter. You could always put off the story missions and keep playing random missions until you feel like progressing.

The tactical perfection, the replayability and the sheer fun of it makes this game one of my favorite games ever.

70

Great game, but not a great Hitman game

igzaustion | Dec. 15, 2012 | Review of Hitman: Absolution PRE

As a fan of the Hitman franchise, this game was a definite purchase for me. However, it does not feel like a Hitman game. With the exception of only a few chapters, this game feels more like playing a scripted movie than acting out your own story. The replayability is severely limited by this.

On the other hand, the game is well polished, and I never got bored with the story. I would recommend this game to fans of story driven action games, but it's not for everyone, especially not Hitman fans with unrealistic expectations.

75

One of Paradox' finest

igzaustion | Dec. 15, 2012 | Review of Sengoku DNS

Excellent grand strategy game with elements of an RPG. This is a good buy for anyone who plays the main Paradox franchises. Basically, this game plays like a Crusader Kings 2 without naval elements, but with a clear goal; unite Japan.

99

Almost perfect

igzaustion | Dec. 15, 2012 | Review of Football Manager 2013 Steam

SI keeps adding brilliance to this game every year. Most notable in this release is the classic mode, which plays well if you have little time. Most importantly they improved the campaign mode to near perfection. Game runs smoothly, loading times are minimal and the new implementation of staff roles is just brilliant. On top, the database is as good as always, and keeps this franchise miles ahead of its competition.

The only negative I've experienced after 500+ hours is a couple of translation glitches, where the game mixes English with the selected Norwegian. No crashes, no corrupted data and no video stuttering like in previous versions.