Reviews by insane11

90

You're going to die. A lot.

insane11 | June 5, 2014 | Review of Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition

The control scheme, setting, tone, difficulty, music, atmosphere, graphics, art direction, flow, story, exploration, sequence breaking, combat, and everything else were just so well done. It's not a game that has some defining single feature, but rather the culmination of so many well done ones that it comes out defining itself.

Maybe I was forewarned a little too much. But when people accused it of being insanely hard, it turned on my cautious side and put me on edge the whole game, which probably led it to being a lot easier than it should have. I really only found it challenging, but not nightmarish. Almost all my deaths were fair and my fault. Taking a break usually fixed any minor frustration I received. It really isn't the rage inducing experience others make it out to be.

And that's exactly the reason why each and every one of you who enjoys video games for the challenge, or likes action RPGs in general should give this a good hard try. It's not for everyone, but for the people it is for, it's one of the best things created.

95

One of the best games I've ever played

insane11 | June 5, 2014 | Review of DmC: Devil May Cry

I've never been a big DMC fan before, I've only played DMC4 for a little, but didin't like it as much as that game. Anyway, this piece of art work is my favourite hack and slash game! The music the moves the combos all fit together and makes a totally badass and awesome game, which makes me play the whole story over and over again. Also It's a reboot of DMC so if you are new in this world, you didn't really miss anything from the previous games. There is a DLC that you are able to play as Dante's brother - Virgil and with his powers, skills and combos and it's really awesome. It's a must buy!

95

One of the best Telltale games ever

insane11 | June 5, 2014 | Review of Back to the Future: The Game

"Back To The Future: The Game" is a "point and click" adventure from TellTale Games, coming from the famous "Back To The Future" movie trilogy franchise. The game is composed of a total of 5 episodes, each of them smartly connected between each other (like a TV mini-series). As a fan of Back To The Future, I think TellTale did a really amazing job to be authentic to the movies. From a graphic standpoint, however, it looks different to the movie but it has that usual charm you can encounter in TellTale games that still make it classy enough to not complain about it. From a gameplay perspective, you have to manage mouse control and keyboard for moving, which is bothersome to me, but it is still OK to manage. I am not a big fan of inventory that are not available right away in front of your eyes, which sadly this game have. I believe the inventory system a little annoying in the game. Story wise, it is very likeable and rather similar to the movie structure, which is great. Actually I tend to even prefer what TellTale did with Dr. Emmett Brown than on the movie, he looks more human and not only kind of like the crazy scientist he was on the movies... Also, Marty McFly is definitely a great hero to play with and he is super awesome in the game. I like the introduction of new characters like Edna Strickland, Trixie Trotter and another family member of the McFly with Arthur... I am not a big fan of the chase sequence at the end of most the episodes, it is certainly reminiscent of the movie endings but it lacks any fun gameplay in my opinion. I adore however some sequences such as in Episode 1 in Emmett's Lab, this was thought very smartly.

I definitely felt in love with this game, despite it not being perfect, it has some kind of funny and yet enjoyable adventure that I was expecting to have with Back To The Future for a long long time ago.

70

It's cute

insane11 | May 26, 2014 | Review of Flock!

The Good: - Cute animals! - You are an alien ship, kidnapping these animals without disturbing them to point of self-destruction. You gotta be smooth. :P - Graphics are cartoon-like and colorful. - Sounds are fun and not annoying. - Lots of levels & multiplayer option.

The bad: The gameplay is basically clicking and dragging around the screen to move things. It's nothing more than a bad flash game with nice graphics.

95

Amazing addition to the trilogy!

insane11 | May 26, 2014 | Review of Bioshock Infinite

Bioshock Infinite is a delight of a game and a perfect addition to the trilogy, but it's nothing new or anything that hasn't be done before. That said, Infinite is a finitely good game and excels in every department of its classifications. It quite simply does that bit more other AAA titles don’t do by being innovative, clever and ultimately cool. The combination of art style and accelerated gun battles are both elevated on the shoulders of a fascinating story that keeps you playing onto the next chapter scene after scene is a testament to title. Keeping the player not only interested but keen to know more and seek a thrilling conclusion to the epic franchise. Get Bioshock on sale and experience arguably the best title of the 3 for a fraction of the price, a worthy game both on & off sale, however I recommend playing both 1 & 2 first if you did not already.

85

Good puzzle game :)

insane11 | May 26, 2014 | Review of The Bridge

This is a decent puzzle game that can be best described as a cross between Braid and And Yet It Moves. Each level has you trying to find your way through a door which you do through rotating the level (like in And Yet It Moves). You also have the ability to rewind time if you're going die or make a mistake (like in Braid).

The Good: - I really loved the visual style of the game. - The level design is really cool with each level having an abstract art look to it. - The puzzles provide a decent challenge.

The Bad: - The game doesn't feel very original having used ideas already used in other games. - The second half of the game just features mirrored versions of the levels in the first half. While these levels are more challenging than original version it would have been better to maybe have added more original levels instead.

Overall this is a pretty decent game and worth picking up if you enjoy puzzle games.

80

Fun game :)

insane11 | May 26, 2014 | Review of GRID 2

I love simulators, racing with a wheel and everything, but it’s a different animal. It’s putting down laps, tuning, putting down laps, and tuning some more it can get to be a little bit of grind. There is no real carrot on a stick in the sim world to keep you going and wanting to unlock things its all about the driving(which is prefectly fine). However this game is just grabbing the controller, throwing the car all over the place, drive tons of different cars, go into corners way to fast and just have some fun.

Overall, the game is fun, it might not be as good as the first grid, but it scratches the itch with not many racing games on pc that lean toward arcade when you want to just have some fun. I see no point in going back to play grid 1 so this is perfect. I would like to see some more customizing, buying parts, a little bit of tuning, I know this isn’t the style for these games, but... Also that DLCs are getting out of hand and it have been for a long time. It’s pretty much the price of a second game if you would have bought them all as they came out. Buying them in the bundle is a good deal, but it feels like it’s all stuff that should just be in the game anyways.

90

One of the best games of 2012

insane11 | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Dishonored Nexway

This is one of the most original games I've ever played. I got it on my Xbox360 and is pure awesome! From the characters to the setting, everything has been well thought out. The story is compelling and the level design is so detailed it warrants multiple playthroughs. The gameplay is the real star of the show though, allowing different approaches to level completion and even more approaches to combat (or no combat).

The only negative aspect of Dishonored that I've discovered so far are the graphics. I'm not a fan of the art style (despite having been made by Viktor Antonov, the legendary Half Life 2 visual artist). I would have much rather preferred a realistic visual style coupled with a much stronger contrast in lighting. Instead I have to make due with low res textures and a serious lack of shadows :S But none the less, I'm content with what I have.

I'm only 5 hours in but this game has me gripped and won't let go!

85

Zombieees :-)

insane11 | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Dead Island

This RPG is among one of the best I've ever played! Also one of the longest games I've ever played. So much detail, so many weapons, so many choices! The zombie types are more or less similar to what you might have seen in other games but they still have their own unique features. The setting is amazing, you get to explore the entire island from the crowded city streets to the isolated jungle. The weapons could be slightly improved upon, but I couldn't ask for much more out of this game. I highly recommend.

97

Awesome game so far

insane11 | Dec. 13, 2012 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year -

This was one of those games I knew would be amazing before I even played it. Following on from Arkham Asylum I thought that Rocksteady studios might have a hard time trying to teach an old dog new tricks. However they managed to up the ante and create one of the most stunning game worlds I've ever been a part of... That's why the Arkham Asylum and City are GOTY's :-)

80

Great game

insane11 | Dec. 13, 2012 | Review of The Darkness II dns

I like The Darkness ll. It's a game that's linear and typical in terms of envrionment design, but oh so fun to play when it comes to story and gameplay.

The Darkness is the ultimate weapon, you can use it to melee, grab, and literally tear apart enemies. I love the idea of relying on the dark to access the darkness abilities. You can also upgrade your powers. The weapons are awesome, quite a few to choose from and they all sound great and make a great addition to the darkness powers.

There are several choices throughout the story as well. The character animations bring the characters to life and the enemies act like living breathing people rather than dull AI that just tries to kill you.

I just don't like that its short single player campaign...

95

A batman adventure

insane11 | Dec. 8, 2012 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year -

An amazing game, especially when using the PC version coupled with Nvidia 3D vision. My only gripe is that you end up spending the majority of the play time in black&white (due to investigative mode). Even though, it's still an immensely joyable game with outstanding visuals, modeling, animation, etc...

Recommending that game!