Reviews by jack11101

85

Apocalyptic Beauty

jack11101 | Dec. 30, 2012 | Review of Metro 2033

If you've played horror games then you're probably used to conserving ammo and searching for items in a landscape ridden with things that want to kill you, but have you ever done that in a metro system? Not only are you underground most of the game which really makes it unique but the gameplay is original (You have to have to make sure you don't run out of oxygen while avoiding deadly traps and bandits.) If you like post-apocalypse horror games then your going to love this.

90

This game is gorgeous!

jack11101 | Dec. 24, 2012 | Review of Just Cause 2

For some reason this game makes me think of Saints Row: The Third (In how you operate vehicles, shoot, etc.) but it's on a much larger scale. Your on an island which ranges from desert to tropical to snow covered terrain. The views can be jaw-dropping and the environment is beautiful.

The story line is decent and it encourages you to do other things besides the main campaign (with the three separate factions etc.) It's definitely a lot of fun and I have throughout enjoyed myself while playing this game.

83

Fantastic Horror game

jack11101 | Dec. 16, 2012 | Review of Killing Floor

Although the concept isn't new, Killing Floor is a perfect example of a good wave based zombies game. You can play single player or online and face increasingly difficult waves of enemies. The final wave (11,) you face the patriarch (Basically the boss.) There are tons of maps/items and you can download more through the Killing Floor Workshop on steam. A must for horror fans!

85

One of the best WWII games to date

jack11101 | Dec. 9, 2012 | Review of Red Orchestra: Ostfront 41-45

I bought this game knowing nothing about Red Orchestra. I came to love the game and it's unique gameplay. Unlike other FPS's there's a lot of strategy involved which is the key to victory. The game is very realistic and a lot harder (and sometimes more frustrating,) than other FPS's but it can also be very rewarding. The use of vehicles in the game also adds to the already great game. Definitely a must buy if you like realistic WWII shooters!

90

Truly a gorgeous game

jack11101 | Dec. 9, 2012 | Review of Darksiders II

I came into this game not knowing anything about the original Darksiders and it's storyline but thankfully Darksiders II did a great job of catching me up with it's detailed cut-scenes and marvelous voice acting. You play as Death one of the horsemen of the apocalypse trying to free your brother War and save the human race. As you go through the game you level up and unlock new abilities and acquire new items (There are a ton of cool weapons like double scythes.) You can also trade items with friends although you can't play Co-Op.

Darksiders II compaign is around 30 hours and if you beat it the first time you have the option of playing a New Game+ where you keep all your items and level (your max level is now increased,) and you can replay the game (you can change the difficulty,) and maybe do stuff that you didn't do in your first playthrough. Darksiders II Includes a lot of cool puzzles for you to do and theres a lot of platforming. The map is pretty huge and theres a lot for you to explore on your trusty destrier 'Despair' accompanied by your faithful crow 'Dust.' I STRONGLY recommend that your purchase this game!

90

One of the best FPS's

jack11101 | Dec. 9, 2012 | Review of Battlefield 3 (NA) dns

I bought Battlefield 3 after playing MW3 and became so enthralled in BF3 that I all but forgot about CoD. To be honest I never finished the campain but I've easily spent over 100 hours in multiplayer. I love how you can use vehicles such as jeeps, tanks, and planes which really makes the game a lot more fun. The maps for the most part are good (especially the bigger maps,) and the gameplay is great! Flying helicopters and jets are very rewarding to the talented player and wreaking havoc in your Mi-28 Havoc is tons of fun and doesn't get repetitive. The only downside to BF3 is that on PC you have to play through Origin which can be frustrating at times but besides that there's rarely any major glitches or bugs that break the game and you shouldn't be discouraged by some little bugs that don't effect gameplay. All in all it's a superb game and easily a 90/100.

90

Hilarious!

jack11101 | Dec. 9, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third

Saints Row: The Third offers a fantastic single player campaign in which you can make your own personal character or play as other peoples characters. The campaign is open world which allows you to do stuff from stealing golf karts and airplanes to shooting a mind controlling creature on to enemy NPC's. There are various DLC's you can buy to expand the already large campaign and add even more hilarious moments to your gameplay. On top of single player you can also play Co-Op with a friend which can be extremely fun. It's definitely worth buying and hopefully you'll like it as much as I did.

75

Good but could be better...

jack11101 | Dec. 9, 2012 | Review of Call of Duty: Black Ops

As with all the other CoD's the campaign isn't the main focus which at sometimes is painfully obvious. Luckily CoD's usually have good multiplayers and this is no exception although it can become extremely repetitive. For me the best part about this game is zombies which could infact be a game by itself. Zombies is extremely fun and can be a challenge to see how far you can get. You can play with up to four people and progress through unending waves of zombies.

If you like zombie games then you might want to take a look at this.

88

A lot of fun!

jack11101 | Dec. 9, 2012 | Review of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

Modern Warfare 2 was the first Call of Duty that I played. The single player is decent but that's not why you would buy this game. The multiplayer is a lot of fun and you can easily put in 50 hours and still have a ton of fun.As with other CoD's you level up and prestige to unlock new emblems etc. Some guns are more overpowered than others which shouldn't be a surprise when playing CoD but that doesn't ruin your experience unless your horrid at FPS's.

If you liked other CoD's (mainly CoD 4 and MW2,) then you will probably like this game.

85

Worth it

jack11101 | Dec. 9, 2012 | Review of Borderlands 2 (NA) DNS

After playing the first Borderlands I was definitely excited when they announced the second one. It's a lot like the first as you are still on Pandora but you play as different people (although you can meet the old characters,) and the plot is new. You still get claptrap and a lot of other characters that were in the first Borderlands. Co-Op is great as four people can play through the campaign which really makes it a lot more fun. Everything being said, at times it can get monotonous and repetitive especially when playing by yourself but overall it's worth it!

95

Magnificent!

jack11101 | Dec. 9, 2012 | Review of Dishonored Nexway

I wasn't super hyped for this game but I pre-ordered it after reading about it in Game Informer. To my surprise I found myself amerced in the thrilling plot and marvelous gameplay. Although the story line isn't that long (around 7 hours if you play right through,) you can go back and play it again doing different things and maybe even get a different ending (your actions effect the ending as well as other things in the game.) Definitely a must buy and my favorite game of 2012!

91

A work of art!

jack11101 | Nov. 23, 2012 | Review of Dishonored Nexway

This game is by far my favorite out of all those released in 2012 (Including BL2, BLOP 2, etc.) The gameplay is extremely fun and you have a lot of choices to make (You can kill everyone or not kill anyone.) Although the campaign is fairly short you can play it over a few times doing different things without getting bored. The town of Dunwall is gorgeous and you find yourself captivated by the marvelous game mechanics and the thrilling gameplay. You can pause time will a guard shoots, posses the guard and walk him in front of the bullet, un-pause time, and watch the guard shoot himself.

If you don't already own this then I highly suggest you buy it!