Reviews by jackyboi1014

80

Great FPS

jackyboi1014 | Oct. 26, 2013 | Review of Doom 3

Doom 3 exemplifies the simplistic nature of true gaming. It has the ability to draw a gamer into a fictional world while leaving the gamer feeling a part of it. This is a rare accomplishment in the gaming industry. Kudos to all involved with the design and implementation of Doom 3. Thanks for the experience.

92

Very fun game!

jackyboi1014 | Oct. 26, 2013 | Review of Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons

One of the best stories I've played all year. The game has a way of pulling you in and making accomplishments feel earned. The game mechanics are easy and unique with a controller and help seperate the fact that you're playing as two different characters.

The graphics are stunning and the camera positions itself perfectly to capture the depth of the scenery and this helps strengthen the story immensely. For a game that has hardly any dialogue I have never felt a richer story. An Absolute recommend

44

Not my cup of tea.

jackyboi1014 | Oct. 3, 2013 | Review of Theatre of War

I don't know what everyone else is saying about great graphics and all. The characters and tanks on my screen look almost god awful. I am glad i got the game on sale because i am going to delete it. The AI behaves funky, not following orders, or wandering. Polish antitank guns take my tanks out from miles away it seems before my guys can even fire on them. The 20 mm cannons on the Panzers really didn't do much. The artillery, is just god awful. I called on it on more then several occasions and i realized it was just a wasted effort. kudos for realism, but garbage for the game play.

69

An alright game

jackyboi1014 | Oct. 3, 2013 | Review of Virtua Tennis 4

A reasonable game overall. The exhibition mode is good however the World Tour gets monotonous towards the end. The career should have included the opportunity to play with the tennis stars over a calender year (or more) and making them win the tournaments. The drop shot is probably the worst thing in the game, getting a point with the drop shot is very difficult as a drop shot is performed with a lob as opposed to slice. Overall an enjoyable game if you want to play the exhibition mode but not for too long.

93

Great RTS!

jackyboi1014 | July 14, 2013 | Review of Endless Space Gold Edition

Space turn-based strategy.

It hasn't been out long at this point but I'm thoroughly enjoying it so far. It feels very clean and crisp (bug free - though I know the forums have reported at least one substantial bug). Yesterday I couldn't help but fall into a '1-more-turn' trap, similar to Civ of old.

I found myself up until 4AM the day until I finally passed out at the keyboard. The planet/system improvements are well done, the technology trees are massive and interesting, the hero experience system is rewarding and fun. I really enjoy getting a new technology for weapon/armor upgrades and then retrofitting my fleet. The combat system leaves a little to be desired. You can select Auto or Manual whenever a battle is initiated. Auto - the computer sims the fight.

Manual - You select 3 different actions that play out in order (some actions counter other actions, but overall this feels pretty random). This is minimal though, and can still be fun when you guess the right counter actions to your enemies actions. I recommend this one if you're in the mood for some turn-based strategy fun.

94

Didn't think this franchise could get better,

jackyboi1014 | June 28, 2013 | Review of Company of Heroes 2

Company of heroes 2 has taken all of the good things that made CoH 1, refined them, and then added yet even more.

Whilst the campaign came across as a repetitive and numbing, this game truly shines in its "Theater of War" and Online skirmish modes.

Battling it out with your friends in Online Skirmish has never felt more visceral and intense. Explosions shred the ground, as vehicles collide with battlefield obstacles, sending broken props flying in all directions, whilst gunfire and mortar fire ring out from every direction. Overall, visuals and battlefield sound fidelity are superb, serving to draw you into the tense, ceaseless atmosphere throughout the course of the battle.

The theme of asymmetrical warfare that was evident in CoH 1 has made a triumphant return, allowing a whole host of fun abilities, commanders, and units to play around with in battles.

AI pathing and vehicle controls have been significantly refined since CoH 1, allowing faster response times and greater freedom of movement throughout the map. However there are still a few issues when controlling large groups of forces, as often times these blobs can bottleneck, causing a degree of frustration.

Theater of War allows the player to play solo, or cooperatively, along the course of World War 2 on the Eastern front, spanning from the initial invasion of the Soviet Union in 1941, to the fall of Berlin in 1945. This mode allows for an interesting historical look at the game, whilst meeting your demands for action, chaos and challenge!

Whilst there is a slightly steep learning curve for those new to RTS, and in particular CoH, I can guarantee that if you stick with it, you'll not only be able to stand a chance against some of the better players, but you'll also have hours upon hours of high destruction fun.

What more can you ask for?

85

A lot of JumpScares. Great atmosphere.

jackyboi1014 | June 20, 2013 | Review of Dead Space

Dead Space is an incredible game and a real surprise hit.You can clearly see the painstaking detail that went into creating it's menus, environment and character animations.This is probably the game with the highest production values that I've come across in recent times and just plays great.

Gaming dynamics like dismemberment, holographic displays that keep you in the game even when accessing inventory and selective upgrading of your weapons always keeps the player interested. Plus I a have never seen such ridiculous amounts of gore like this, limbs fly all over the place and blood flows like water. On the difficulty side I'd say you'll have to play the game on Hard otherwise it might be slightly too easy.

Talking about the length of the game well, I finished it in about 15 hours and I was taking my time. Replayability factor is definitely there though, because after you finish the game, you unlock some goodies for a second play through and also unlock impossible difficulty.

Controls were a non issue for me, if you've played something like Mass Effect then you'll have a good idea of how it handles. In closing, Dead Space is a must play for any fans of gaming, particulary those that like a Sci-Fi horror setting .

90

Great piece of DLC

jackyboi1014 | June 20, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Dawnguard Steam

I quite liked Dawnguard, it has the charms and content to make me want to play it again and again. You are thrown into a typical "Human vs Vampire" story, going up against a legion of powerful vampire lords. It's got some new features, Crossbow, Vampire Lord powers (which don't have the lethal life drain in sunlight as was in Oblivion), Skill trees for the Vampire Lord AND Werewolf forms.

Now in terms of storyline, it ends up at the same ending no matter what path you choose, there is no loss of achievements (if you are an achievement hunter). You take the Dawnguard side, you end up on the same path, you take the Vampire side, you end up on the same path, and so on. I went with the vampires (for the nice powers) on my first playthrough, I sided with the Dawnguard on my second playthrough and surprise surprise, SPOILERS Got the power anyway.

I would say the trip into the new areas and discoveries were very enjoyable to me, the rewards were very good and it did meet the price tag, to me anyway, I don't know about all of you. The Legendary Dragon is also introduced, a nice way of saying play more and get an achievement, new level of enemy blah blah blah.

I thoroughly enjoy this, infact I might even indulge in another playthrough soon when I get the time. 90 from me, some complain about the price. I got it for €10.

92

Great Sequel.

jackyboi1014 | June 20, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2

Borderlands 2 is like the original on steroids. Everything is just plain better - voice acting, story, UI, graphics...it's all just better. With the same awesome FPS experience the first one brought to the table. And GUNS. SO MANY GUNS. The game has way better options for PC gamers (FOV option is built right in), and the menu's are not like they should belong in the console version like the first game, a nice gesture from the slap-in-the-face PC gamers get normally with console ports.

The world also feels bigger, but filled with more characters, rather then just endless desert like the original. While its no Skyrim in terms of world openness, it's at least headed in the right direction.

One small disappointment is the check point system remains the same. You have to find a check point in order to save your progress. Check points are so 90's. Adults have lives, and they don't always have 15 minutes to find the next pole. In the scheme of things...it's a minor complaint.

85

Best stealth game.

jackyboi1014 | June 20, 2013 | Review of Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell

The stealth element in the game made the game itself come to life. Despite the weapons, there were also a variety of objects in the game as well. Another good thing about this game are the graphics. The graphics are polished in every single environment along with the effects of the sky, explosions, fire, and decals.

The interrogations and conversations from the NPC's are also entertaining. In the Kalinatek building, you see two guards through a transparent wall talking about how wall mines are dangerous.

You have two choices: Wait for one of the guards to walk into the room and be knocked out by you or just open the door in the middle of their conversation, take out your SC20K, zoom in and shoot the mine to turn them into barbecue steaks!

Overall: I have played all the Splinter Cell games in the franchise so far and even though this game is old, it is well worth anyone's time.

83

Good addition to the series.

jackyboi1014 | June 20, 2013 | Review of Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Double Agent

As a game, Splinter Cell: Double Agent is a fine continuation of the series, staying faithful to its stealth action roots.

As a PC port, the game is troubled. Although I did not experience any of the infamous frame rate issues and crashes that plague this game, and in fact got it running at over 60 fps maxed out, the port is still quite poor. Mouse support is down from the already lacking Chaos Theory. Now computer terminals, keypads and hacking systems are navigable only by keyboard, making it a lot more awkward to use. Also missing is the ability to enter keypad codes with the number buttons on your keyboard.

Additionally I found the default keyboard assignments bizarre. Shift to jump, Space to use. I can only assume that these were decided by a developer unfamiliar with typical PC controls. Changing key assignments is clunky, and on numerous occasions I found my alterations had not saved when, upon trying to knock out a guard, nothing happened and I was instead shot.

As I've said, the game ran fine on my PC, but I get the feeling it's very picky about what hardware it works with and what hardware it doesn't, as with GTA IV. You should probably only buy it if you find it cheap and/or you're feeling lucky.

87

Welcome Change

jackyboi1014 | June 20, 2013 | Review of Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction

The newest addition to the Splinter Cell series, features a lot of changes, which in my opinion are welcome.

Sam Fisher, now retired from the Third Echelon finds himself working without US support, trusting only friends and wanted by the government, he must fight on against this conspiracy and prove himself innocent.

Story mode is quite long and fun, you will be visiting alot of different environments, and using different tactics, some times you must rush, pursue or kill enemies, sometimes you need to go stealth without alerting them, using a variety of equipments and gadgets, the game offers a unique weapon system, where his primary weapon is a pistol, and all others are secondaries, handguns are always equipped.

Co-Op mode offers story and arcade style elimination, and its fun to play with friends, developing different tactics and approaches.

Graphics are very good, a high-end gaming rig is recommended, Sounds immerses you in, and the soundtrack helps keeping the focus on.

88

Great City Building Game

jackyboi1014 | June 20, 2013 | Review of Anno 1404: Gold

If you are a fan of SimCity type of games then Dawn of Discovery (sometimes called Anno:1404) is definitely something to buy. The strongest focus of this game is on building your city and establishing a strong economy by acquiring raw resources and using them to produce goods that your citizens need in order to advance.

The game is fun enough with just building a massive city builder, but the added ability to engage in military combat is icing on the cake. The combat doesn't involve much strategy, large numbers usually win. The biggest downside to this game is the gigantic learning curve. The manual is of almost no help. You MUST be patient if you want to enjoy this game to the fullest. You must take the time to play around and learn how everything works by experimenting.

You can also go to forums on sites such as www.annofans.com and get help there from other players. Bear in mind, if you just want a simple resource-gathering RTS game that focuses almost entirely on building military units and fighting (such as Age of Empires) then this is not your type of game. Play the demo, and remember: Be patient with this game! It's fun once you give it a chance and learn how to play!

96

Best RPG BioWare has produced

jackyboi1014 | June 18, 2013 | Review of Dragon Age: Origins

This may be the best game I have ever played. At first, the controls were frustrating. I'm not used to a click to move set up. But since I've grown accustomed to that, I've found very little wrong with this game. If there is a defining characteristic of this game, it is depth. The characters have depth, the combat system has depth and the world at large has depth.

The fact that there is always something going on between the characters, be it banter or a more expanded dialogue, really brings this game to life. Some game worlds (Oblivion) feel lonely, like the world is scarcely populated and only by cutouts but in place to further your goals, this game is not one of them. The characters seem to have opinions and motivations independent of the player.

It is true that the game incorporates a number of cliches and that the game world isn't exactly original. It is also true that the romantic interaction is a bit juvenile. But the first of these criticisms is true in general for video games. Nearly all game settings are genre based and generic to some degree (with certain exception). And as far as I'm aware, there have been few, 0 in fact, game plots that are of Pulitzer caliber.

These things noted, this game takes small steps forward toward making video games a narrative art rather than simply a form of entertainment. This game is very much like what Borges described in his short story "The Garden of Forking Paths." It is a small glimpse at the future of interactive narrative. And for all it's flaws, it is the forebearer of the types of games that will gain video games respect in an artistic community and this, in itself, is no small accomplishment.

90

Best truck sim out there.

jackyboi1014 | June 17, 2013 | Review of Euro Truck Simulator 2

Well I have always had a thing for simulator games because they require you to use your brain and act similar to the real world. I have always looked for decent truck game only to find none had what i was looking for until Euro Truck Simulator was released.

The surroundings contain a high level of detail but is still low end PC friendly i am extremely glad to see this game arrive on steam just activated mine today This game delivers everything it promises plus more but it does require high level of patients at times as AI traffic can be annoying at times and truck physics could use adjusting but some people are coming out with physics mods

They do updates which is good there are mods but always test careful because not all mods are perfect plus mods are made by normal people so modded version may lack SCS support.

89

Great concept and execution.

jackyboi1014 | June 17, 2013 | Review of L.A. Noire Capsule

I like games which are interactive novels or movies. L.A. Noire neatly meets this criteria and brilliantly recreates a colorful period of L.A.'s history. I have never seen a game populated by believable characters who inspire compassion in the player. Nor have I seen real faces with real emotions, from the slight twitch of nervousness to red-faced, bulging eyes of fear.

L.A. Noire delivers this and then some. I loved every second of this hard-boiled slice of life. In later years this game will definitely be looked back on as one of the most ground-breaking games of all time. It is the first game that I felt emotionally involved. And it was a riveting experience.

92

Crazy Game

jackyboi1014 | June 17, 2013 | Review of Magicka

Magicka is just plain fantastic. From the derpaderp speech of the characters, to the level and enemy design, to the just brilliant spell system. As soon as you get outside the tutorial, you run into a woman with a big gold exclamation mark over her head in good old RPG fashion, asking you to kill rats in her basement or something like that. You know you're on a winner when she gets attacked by goblins and the quest marker falls off onto the ground and you get down to some good old blowin' stuff up instead.

Best things about Magicka? No mana. Limited inventory (you can pick up a staff and carry a 'melee' item). No quests apart from killing the next thing in front of you. GREAT spell system, where you have 8 different elementals, each bound to a key, and you can combine them in any way you want to create spells, some of which just combine effects, some of which form unique Magicks.

Worst thing about Magicka is that the engine doesn't always perform as well as it could. That's all there is. It's a very hard game in places, but people, there's absolute simplicity in the rest of the game so you can focus on STRATEGY. Everything is quite straightforward once you figure out what the enemy's weaknesses are, and that's half the fun. (The other half of the fun is blowing up goblins in new and exciting ways.)

90

Great Sequel.

jackyboi1014 | June 17, 2013 | Review of Saints Row: The Third

Saints Row: the Third is a hilariously absurd action shooter that refuses to take itself seriously for fantastic comical effect. Playing similar to GTA, Saints Row 3 has worked the kinks out of its previous games to blow the GTA series out of the water.

Action-packed, time and time again this game makes me laugh and feel like a total bad ass all at the same time. The game play was smooth, although sometimes choppy AI can cause your NPC teammates to move somewhat sporadically, they prove to usually be useless to you anyways and you will kick plenty of ass on your own.

The games story often takes you into absolutely ludicrous situations, but it makes it feel better that the game is willing to joke about itself, and that with an ok selection of weapons, cool vehicle and (often hilarious) character customization,

Saints Row 3 proved to be well worth its cost, which surprised me for a game I had not even given a seconds notice until here. From Aerial assaults to bondage role play rickshaw gunfights (???) to bank heists, the game provides ass kicking action and comical moments in an open sandbox environment.

88

More crazy than GTA

jackyboi1014 | June 17, 2013 | Review of Saints Row 2

I have finished Saints Row 2, twice now on the PC. I agree with many users that the game has some technical flaws in it control system. But all in all I loved it (mind you I did resort to using a 360 controller). The game offers a few things that GTA doesn't, hence why it is getting my support.

I love the fact that you are able to store you cars / helicopters / planes / boats, I also love the fact you can customize your cars to suite you style. A feature GTA does not offer to my knowledge. And the list of side missions and diversions is huge.

I have encountered at least one new diversion every time I play. I would defiantly recommend this game to anyone that has a platform that can support it, and if you can ... get a 360 controller. Makes life in still water a breeze.

88

Great looking game.

jackyboi1014 | June 17, 2013 | Review of Borderlands

This is a great game with an Art style that may at first seem strange but it really adds detail to the whole thing. The enemies consist mostly of Bandits, Psychos and Skags which are great to look at let alone fight, They have some funny one liners and some great and cinematic deaths when set a flame or shocked.

The boss fights do come quite rare but are fantastic, They are colorful and full of life and do require a bit of a set-up too get to them and while some of the quests seem a little repetitive, They soon pick up and you'll find yourself in car boosting over fantastic jumps and squishing enemies under your tires.

But Multiplayer is where it really hits off. The classes combine together great (Berserker is just running in and taking off heads in close combat while solider is a more strategy styled game play) Although I was quite bored and lonely when I played single player as there isn't really anyone to talk too and your stuck in a barren wasteland.

So not recommended for lone wolves or people unable to play online. Summary: A great FPS with a Great mixture of RPG magic, Grab a team-mate. Grab one of the Billions of guns, and face the madness!

100

Greatest turn based strategy game of all time.

jackyboi1014 | June 16, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® IV Complete Cap

This is my first experience of Civilisation and I'm impressed. I love the 'Great Person' feature and the Golden Ages. There are some excellent unique units and buildings - I always play as Peter The Great because Cossacks give me a distinct advantage over Cavalry in the middle part of the game. There are some excellent wonders to build as well.

Always save the Globe Theatre and National Park wonders until the end of the game when you'll have a large population (my biggest city had a population of 40) ! My only gripe is a complaint I would also level against games such as Rise of Nations : at the end of the game the original uniqueness of the different civs has disappeared and every civ is pretty much the same. I suppose this is realistic though.

Also, micromanagement can get a bit tedious when you have 30 or 40 cities. However, this is a game that I'll come back to time and time again because it has plenty of depth and every game is different. I wish there were more old school PC games in development. We can only hope. Another winner from Sid Meier.

96

Batman is back.

jackyboi1014 | June 16, 2013 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

Probably one of the best superhero games. Rocksteady studios has created an almost perfect super hero game and the spotlight is now shining on them. Everything from Freeflow combat to Silent takedowns makes you feel like you are in the dark knights boots. The replay value in this game is probably one of the best reasons to have this game. Silent Predator, and Freeflow combat challenges makes this game very replayable especially with leaderboards. Also the most recent free download content made it even better with an infinite freeflow combat challenge and an extra silent predator map. The only reason i didn't give this a perfect score is, 1. the A.I. isn't too bright. You could take someone out while you're in their peripheral vision and their partner would completely ignore you. 2. No manual save point. I would like to go back and fight bosses just for fun, but with the auto save feature once you're done a boss you won't see them until you run through the game again. If you are a fan of action, or even espionage games Batman: Arkham Asylum is definitely a must buy!

100

Best game in the series

jackyboi1014 | June 13, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Nexway

Some people seem to think that you have to use WASD or the arrow keys in the menus; you don't. The mouse can be used for everything. Other people talk about the graphics being like Fallout 3 or even Oblivion; they're not. Even on Medium, the graphics are a clear step forwards, put everything on max and you have a pretty stunning game that somehow runs smoother than past Bethesda games on the same settings. The people's faces are still a little off, a bit clumsily rendered, but are still the best unmodded faces by far you'll have seen in a Bethesda game so far.

So much as been added to the gameplay. The perks really allow you to customize your character in very specific ways, rather than simply doing more damage against creatures who can now take more damage as the game progresses.

You can take jobs now, becoming a chef, a blacksmith or a lumberjack. Enchanting and alchemy returns too. The NPC behavior is much improved over previous games. Rather than standing dumbly around and occasionally walking into a wall or tree, as they did in Morrowind, and rather than standing dumbly around and occasionally having in incredibly stilted conversations, like they did in Oblivion, they will now do their daily jobs, cooking, cleaning, making weapons at the forge, carrying lumber back from the nearby forest, and so on.

The bard at the tavern plays various songs, actually playing the instrument used in the song, and will take requests from you, even commenting on your song choice ("Only a true Imperial would choose that one!") and receiving applause from any nearby NPCs at the end of his songs. How NPCs respond to you is varies on how you've completed certain quests; one man asked me to deliver an insulting letter to a woman that he'd written in her boyfriend's handwriting, hoping she'd then leave her boyfriend for him. I told him I'd do it, but then went to the woman in question and told her all about the plan. Now her and her boyfriend like me whereas the other guy is always rude to me. Get friendly enough with people and they'll let you stay the night in their house, eat their food and even "borrow" their weapons.

All in all, an enormous step forward over previous games, and that's coming from someone who always love what Bethesda's games promised but usually ended up hating what they actually delivered

96

Batman at his best.

jackyboi1014 | June 12, 2013 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year

This is how you do a sequel. Rocksteady took Arkham Asylum and amplified everything to the MAX. One of the finest stories I've ever experienced meets the best superhero gameplay conceived to make one of the greatest games I've played in the last decade. AA got a little repetitive and the end boss encounter was too hackneyed whereas not only does AC fix all that, it expands the arena as well as the challenges.

Enemies while based on the prototypical thug almost come in more variations than can be handled by one man. Many hoods come with their own weaponry or else can pick them up when dropped. Each weapon or gadget in use alters the class of the enemy and beating each requires the use of independent solutions. So it gets very interesting when they come at you all at once.

Batman has more gadgets than I could dish out and yet you have to use all of them at various points to beat the game. It is in this shifting dynamic during both hand to hand combat and predator gameplay that the game achieves true brilliance.

The catwoman segment was interesting while Riddler's puzzles are now more like mini games in their own right and he's not the only villain dogging your footsteps. Every character in this is hugely memorable and the story does not let up one bit, right down to the cataclysmic climax.

86

The introduction of Connor

jackyboi1014 | June 11, 2013 | Review of Assassins Creed III

Beautiful, strange. The one time 'Nothing is true, everything is possible' game has become something else. Maybe this could be applied to the multiplayer? Anyway, this game puts you on a strictly set path for the mission parts. And I mean it, jump slightly off the course in a chase scene and you de-sync (die). There is a lot of open-worldliness in the frontier and many achievements to go along with that side of the game. These two aspects are practically fractured from one another.

Multiplayer is fun, tons and tons of customization options for looks and abilities. Thankfully there is now a solid counter to the infamously op smoke bomb. You can spend real money to get stuff instead of using legitimately acquired 'animus points'. Bugs are everywhere in single player, I had a bear get stuck halfway underwater near me preventing me from looting tons of loot. I had a cannon ball get stuck in the air with its fast-moving air graphics all around it. The games you can play in bars and such are way harder than its worth to ever play them.

Overall quality is great with it still being very much the same game, a watered down story and a deeper open-world aspect as well as deeper multiplayer. When has this series ever not been mildly annoying? I love having to overcome something, but sometimes its just downright annoying. Worth playing if only for multiplayer. Despite some shortcomings on expectations I still have to say I love this game and got way into it this time around.

92

All is revealed.

jackyboi1014 | June 11, 2013 | Review of Assassin's Creed Revelations: Gold

Overall i think the game was a great improvement from its predecessor (Brotherhood). One of the features that i like about this game is how you are able to travel to places much quicker than before, due to the fact that you can glide over rooftops, fast travel, etc.

The graphic details improved a lot as well, where the textures and models are more detailed than before. Like all games, this should always happen where every year the game improves in graphic quality and this game fulfilled it.

The new features of weapons/items makes it more easier to play. One of these items would be a grenade that you throw to wipe out a crowd of enemies. There are more features, that you should find that out yourself. The story line is also as good as older Assassins Creed series, bring rich and full fulling experience.

91

It continues.

jackyboi1014 | June 11, 2013 | Review of Assassins Creed Brotherhood

Amazing Game. Update to the graphics engine improves so much on the look and feel, auditory sounds in the cities make it so much more lifelike than in the past two games, the HUD has been slimmed down and the optimization of the game is just amazing.

New interactions, attacks, items, weapons, city economies, additional parkour elements and a brand new story-line delving deeper into Desmond makes this much less an upgrade with the same characters and different story-line, but a fully new game with four times the facets as the previous one.

The multiplayer has been flawless since release day, being able to choose your own character skin and just the simple way to play multiplayer with the quick tutorial is so much fun and before you know it 2 hours have gone by in extreme fun.

93

Great sequel to an amazing game.

jackyboi1014 | June 11, 2013 | Review of Assassin's Creed 2 Deluxe Edition

I think it's ABSOLUTELY ridiculous that people are bashing the game because of the DRM. The DRM does not make the game any worse. I understand that your gaming experience can be ruined by the fact that you have a really spotty internet connection, but that's just the experience, not the game itself. When I bought this game, the first thing I noticed was the big box on the bottom that says "Continuous Internet Connection Required." If you see that, don't buy the game.

It's that simple. I completely disagree with Ubisoft for using the DRM, but don't let that detract from a great game. Now for my actual review:

I loved this game. It was MUCH better than Assassin's Creed. The combat itself hadn't improved all that much, though I really liked being able to use the hidden blades in combat, and the attachments that went with it. I particularly loved the fact that climbing wasn't as slow, as Ezio could climb swiftly if there was a clear path to the top.

What I was most impressed about was the story. In the original AC, you played as Altair. He was just a blade with a voice, and you never really connected with him. However, Ezio was fantastic. His personality had so much depth, and as the story progressed, you really felt Ezio progress as well. Hats off to Ubisoft on this one.

82

Best game of the franchise for the story.

jackyboi1014 | June 10, 2013 | Review of Assassin's Creed

Really great game, provided you play it with a controller. Unfortunate fact of the matter is keyboard and mouse controls are rather bad. But if you're set with a controller there's a bunch of cool stuff here. Ubisoft made a huge emphasis on controls in this game. Just from pressing your left analog stick at different intensities, There are around 4 different walking animations, and then there's another animation for running once you hit the "high profile" button.

This allows you to seamlessly transition between movement speeds for incredibly tight and precise controls. This ties in beautifully with the game's focus on parkour style game-play. Climbing up Jerusalem's tallest buildings and beholding the surrounding view is an amazing experience.

Sadly, the game does suffer from lack of variety in combat and missions. Not enough to spoil the experience though. Between the controls, the gritty atmosphere and plot, and the environments, there's quite a lot to enjoy here.

91

Amazingly Realistic

jackyboi1014 | June 9, 2013 | Review of Football Manager 2013

I bought this game wondering how they could improve an already stellar experience, but they managed it. The AI of the players when watching the 3D match engine for me is the best improvement. It really feels like a proper game of football.

Adding the FM Classic mode, whilst I prefer the standard game, is a nice addition to the series. Not everyone has the time or patience to play the full game, so a scaled down version will suit a lot of people. I would like to add as well that the "micro transactions" only apply to this mode. People moaning about this need to realize that the main game is NOT affected by this addition. I personally don't see this an an issue, it's not hard to find a downloadable data editor which many people use anyway so if people want to cheat, then they will.

Micro transactions are the future of gaming whether we like them or not, so it doesn't surprise or bother me that they're included. The simple thing to do if you don't like the idea of paying them is...Not to pay them. Simple. Collapse

60

Not the best sniping game.

jackyboi1014 | June 3, 2013 | Review of Sniper: Ghost Warrior PRE

This is a great game to pick up on sale.

The sniping is solid with decent bullet ballistics and bullet drop. But since you are in the jungle the foliage does tend to get in the way and block your shot. The AI isn't the greatest but they have one hell of an aim. They will hit you from huge distances with an Ak-47 while you are in heavy cover which is very annoying.

The missions are varied from protecting a squad of men from a lighthouse to sneaking through enemy camps at night.

Overall I would say buy this game on sale because it is not worth full price.