Reviews by jcyuen7

79

Unexpected Addiction

jcyuen7 | Dec. 31, 2013 | Review of 10 000 000

I bought this game on sale and I didn't really have any expectations for it. A few hours later, I was glad I stumbled across this puzzle/RPG cross. With the world currently engrossed in Candy Crush and the like, 10,000,000 does well to offer a new take on the genre with upgrades and different goals for the player to achieve. It is a great game to play in short spurts as well. A hidden gem.

60

A drop-off from the past years

jcyuen7 | Dec. 25, 2013 | Review of NBA 2K14 (NA)

It's hard to come up with new features year by year. We get it. But NBA2K14 essentially feels like NBA2K13, just with an updated roster. There are a few presentation additions that are wonderful - more dunk packages, a few different animations, you can even block dunks! - but otherwise, the jump from 2k13 to 2k14 doesn't feel worth it. If you don't own 2k13, then this game is a welcome addition to your collection. But otherwise, just stick to the old.

79

Immersion at it's best.

jcyuen7 | June 7, 2013 | Review of Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition (NA)

Do you like living? Do you like a good story? Dark Souls has neither of those things, but still, it is strangely fun. Maybe it's the countless times you see blood splatter all over the place, or the satisfaction of finally killing something that killed you 12 times before, Dark Souls captures you in such a unique manner. Make one small mistake, and you'll be repeating the same sequence over and over. The game is ridiculously pretty, and it's very easy to just get lost in the game and play for hours. Recommended for those who don't mind dying several times!

74

Charming RPG with surprising depth

jcyuen7 | June 6, 2013 | Review of Costume Quest

Expectations were low to begin with. You start off as Reynold or Wren on Halloween. And while trick or treating, your sibling gets kidnapped! So as the good sibling you are, you venture on a quest to save the other.

In terms of what to expect, the fighting system, while initially fun becomes a bit tedious. Every costume you find has a different quirk to it, in and out of battle. And man. There are a lot of costumes.

Ultimately, don't let the kid-themedness of the game deter you away. The game boasts an above average storyline, charming artstyle, and just so much stuff to collect.

70

Caution: Only recommended for the strongwilled

jcyuen7 | June 6, 2013 | Review of Sword of the Stars: The Pit

I did thorough research on the game before buying. I was already warned about the difficulty and the frustration, but what I found was a pretty charming game, even if only for a couple hours. The turn-based element of the game make it so that you really have to ponder your next step (reload before moving, etc). But the game boasts a crafting system that more than often punishes you rather than reward you for experimenting.

If you're into the roguelikes, SOTS: The Pit is a true challenge to any gamer. There's a ton of replayability, and even when you die, every game will never be the same.

95

Get Ready to Loot

jcyuen7 | June 6, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 (NA)

Having played the first Borderlands, I was excited to pre-order the next installment of the series. Gearbox didn't fail to impress immediately. Borderlands 2 takes you through an adventure that is filled with quests, some wacky characters, a twisting and turning storyline, RPG leveling components, and a junkload of loot. Throw in the option for co-op, and you're sure to have a fun filled time with some quirky deaths. If you're a fan of FPS/RPGs, Borderlands 2 is raising the bar in this genre.

Oh. And now with a mini map!

80

A seemingly simple strategy game

jcyuen7 | June 6, 2013 | Review of Warlock: Master of the Arcane

I got this game on sale, and after reading reviews, my expectations were very low. There was a lot of comparison between this game and Fallen Enchantress. And while the gameplay in terms of diplomacy and city management isn't as in depth as other 4x games, the combat, fighting, and exploration, yes exploration, make the simplicity of the game entirely addicting.

94

Wow.

jcyuen7 | June 6, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Nexway

I held off from playing this game for a long time. Maybe because of the hype, I was scared the game would disappoint. I also had a terrible experience with Oblivion, so I thought the game wasn't for me. However, I started playing for the first time, and the next thing I know, half a day had gone by. Skyrim is an absolute must play for anyone would enjoys the genre. And even if you don't enjoy it, perhaps you too will become captivated by being able to do just about anything.

87

Cuando Cuando Cuando

jcyuen7 | June 5, 2013 | Review of Tropico 4

As far as city building games go, Tropico 4 should rank as one of the best. Whether you decide to be a self-made man or a dictator born into royalty, you as El Presidente take center stage in pleasing the Tropicans and supplying them with the means to become a thriving metropolis. While there are some annoyances (Free Housing. What do you mean you're homeless), the humor and the depth of the game make this worth it.

87

It's creepy, but it grows on you

jcyuen7 | June 5, 2013 | Review of The Binding of Isaac

Rogue-likes are nothing new in the indie world. But this game continuously makes me turn my head away, only to turn back because I'm already in it's grasp. The Binding of Isaac may seem like a simple shooter in the form of a classic Zelda game, but throw in some disturbing elements, unlockables, lots of bosses, and multiple endings, this seemingly simple game has the best replayability I've seen in any game.

75

Hard to justify on a year to year basis

jcyuen7 | June 5, 2013 | Review of NBA 2K13 dns

The NBA2K series has held the monopoly on basketball games for a while now. They shell out these games on a yearly basis, and while they are very good games, there isn't much added on from the previous year. There are some slight improvements; it's not as terribly difficult to drive as last year. And the MyPlayer becomes slightly more polished as the years go by. All in all, if you're new to the series or you're itching for a roster update, this is a great game to fill those needs. But if you're alright with what you have from a previous year, 2k13 won't be that huge of a difference for you.

60

The game almost plays itself

jcyuen7 | June 5, 2013 | Review of The Last Remnant

As a long time RPG fan growing up in the wake up the golden age of JRPGs, this game is a far cry from the classics; uninteresting characters, predictable storyline, even the grind is longer than normal. The battle system is an interesting touch for those who like to macromanage. But for those who like to control every individual unit, this game would drive you crazy. Throw in some really long dialogue/cutscenes, this game is pretty much what you expect in an RPG in this day and age. If you're not expecting an epic tale with plot twists and characterization, then give Last Remnant a look. If you do, I highly recommend you bookmark the Wiki.