Reviews by jepherz

23

Not worth it

jepherz | July 17, 2014 | Review of Gun Monkeys

This is basically a 1v1 versus game, no single player mode just to be clear. The game is pretty bland and will get boring very fast. There is also a leveling system which potentially makes the game even worse. When you win matches you get money to upgrade your character giving you an edge over others. Maybe that feature was supposed to make the game more interesting too but I don't think that's enough. I really like the art style of this game though and think it would have been a great coop adventure game if they had made it to be one.

83

Great puzzle co-op

jepherz | July 15, 2014 | Review of Lara Croft And The Guardian Of Light

I bought this a long time ago on the xbox 360 arcade to play with some friends and had lots of fun with it. Do note though that this isn't like the normal Lara Croft games where you are third person. You move around a 3D map with a bird's eye view. The puzzles aren't too difficult but still takes some cooperation and problem solving which helps keeps things interesting along with some combat in between. Storyline wise though I'm not sure what's going on, I never paid attention to the story of other Lara Croft games either though. To me the game already fun and engaging regardless of how the story is and I would recommend this to anyone who loves puzzle solving or a good Coop.

84

Great game with a mod

jepherz | July 15, 2014 | Review of Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition (NA)

I know a lot of people say this is a bad port and it is, but there is a mod that does a great job making the game bearable to play. I don't have any complaints with the graphics or controls with the mod installed.

In terms of game play it's a fun but difficult game. There are tons of different weapons and spells your character can attain. The best ones are either well hidden or takes some farming and luck for it to drop. Some of the bosses are actually really hard and I have to admit I never tried too hard to defeat them alone. You can actually call on friends or other random players to come and help you out which I did. When you do this it does make the game a whole lot easier, but going alone is way too hard sometimes. It made me want to have a difficulty somewhere in between.

PVP is also great in this game, my only downside here though is that there are longs of very strong people due to 2 things: The game has been out a long time so there naturally will be very geared characters, and it's probably easy to cheat and mod a character on the PC edition which I hope changes in the Dark souls 2.

92

Very entertaining, even more fun with friends

jepherz | June 27, 2014 | Review of Borderlands 2: Game of the Year Edition (MAC)

I thoroughly enjoyed this game. It's a blast to play especially with friends or just random people online with up to 4 people playing together. There are tons of side quests to do and each one has it's own dialogue and personality to it which makes this more fun and interesting. It doesn't feel like those bland side quests from WOW where you just go kill X amount of mobs or w/e.

There is also tons of loot to pick up. The weapon variety is pretty much endless which has pros and cons. It makes picking up loot interesting, you almost always want to see if it's an upgrade or interesting side grade, the con being it could start to get overwhelming/annoying to do after a while for some.

The main story was very fun to follow through, as well as many of the side quests. Just too many for me to do them all though. I've played through 3 of the 4 DLC campaigns listed on this page and all 3 were very fun to play through though I wish some of them could have been longer. That's a problem I see with almost every DLC campaign though. Anyway, would totally recommend this game to just about anyone.

81

OG shooter > CoD

jepherz | June 18, 2014 | Review of Counter Strike: Global Offensive

For those of us old enough to remember Counter Strike this game may be more fun to play. I really like this old style of play compared to Call of Duty where everyone just keeps respawning all over the place and you have to zoom to aim before shooting.

I think this game has gotten a bit more popular since they've released skins into the game. It is also newbie friendly with a wide range of skill levels in the game. Match making is also really good 9/10 times, you get to play with people around your level which makes things more enjoyable.

Some things I don't like though is that the community largely does not like new maps, people like to play old maps that people have been playing forever from previous Counter Strike games. And that hackers are a huge problem if you ever get to a high enough skill level to see them.

Headphones and mics are almost a requirement for this game, its a tactical game unlick CoD, you have to be able to listen to where enemies are coming from accurately, regular speakers don't work as well for this. The mic is for communicating with your team, just about everyone that plays this game uses a mic. So if you enjoy tactical shooters, you can't go wrong with this game.

83

An amazing fighting game

jepherz | June 18, 2014 | Review of Super Street Fighter 4: Arcade Edition

There's a lot of depth to this game that you don't see or appreciate until you actually give the game a try and realize how hard it is to play and how much there is to know about the game. I was never into fighters before, but once I picked up this game I was hooked. I still don't like most other fighters though.

The learning curve is steep, most games are easier to get into even though they require a lot of strategy (mobas and RTS games) where you just point the mouse and click. There's a lot of execution and timing in this game to get your character to do what you want him to do. And then you have to learn more technical stuff like frame traps and mind games as you advance to a higher level of play.

I do wish that more of the characters would be brought up to par with the better members of the cast. You don't see many of the characters in serious tournament play. The PC community is also lacking for newbies as the game has been out for many years already. Overall though I have to say I really love this game, but it is hard for me to recommend it because I know many people will try and quit due to the difficult learning curve of the game. It can be very frustrating but very fun and rewarding once/if you could learn to play it.

100

Game is amazing!!

jepherz | June 18, 2014 | Review of BioShock Infinite (NA)

Graphically the game is amazing, it takes a turn from the first 2 games in the series: You are in a floating city now with lively colors compared to the dark environment from the previous games. In this game you also have a companion that stays with you along the way and plays actually plays a pretty important role in the story. Having her be your companion really makes it easy to grow attached to her and definitely deepens the emotions you feel as her story progresses.

The way the game drags you along is simply phenomenal, you don't just follow along a story like most other games where everything is revealed to you. The story is deep, there's so much to think about, so many theories you could come up with for what's going on.

95

Loved the game

jepherz | June 18, 2014 | Review of Assassin’s Creed® IV Black Flag™ (NA)

I actually played through the entire game, which is something I don't usually do these days. Most the time I get bored and stop playing somewhere half way, but I was hooked on this game.

The storytelling and the characters in the game are amazing and really draw you in. Everything is beautifully done, the cities are lively, the views are always so nice when you climb up the towers to sync your map. The oceans are huge, the sailors on your ship sing the entire time you are sailing(you can turn that off if you find it annoying, but I enjoyed it), sometimes there are storms and huge waves. You get to explore different islands and caves, run through jungles. There's a lot to this game, so much to explore and interesting side quests if you don't want to just rush through the story. This is a game that's definitely worth picking it, I'm glad I did!