Reviews by jimsteryo2

30

There are better games....

jimsteryo2 | May 3, 2013 | Review of Kane and Lynch Pack

this is impossible. Its hard enough to get live working and when you do there is a problem with playing coop. This game was made for coop, but obviously coop for the 360. On the pc there is no LAN or internet option when you want to play coop. The only option you got is to connect one or more xbox 360 controllers to your pc.. The singleplayer is hardly any fun with all the bugs, I bought this game for coop but I cant since I don't have a 40" tv connected to my pc, nor do I have any 360 controllers. I don't recommend this game, there are better games to waste your time on.

100

Classic Title

jimsteryo2 | May 3, 2013 | Review of Hitman 2: Silent Assassin capsule

Huge number of missions, with a great variety in locations and a decent story holding it together combined with very well-designed levels will challenge anyone. The satisfaction in this game comes from thinking out ways to approach each mission like a real assassin. You can just shoot everyone, but the whole point of a stealth game is to be as sneaky as possible. And when your plan works... it is a good feeling. What makes Hitman 2 the best in the series (in my opinion) is how it's completely stand-alone. The story (it has one, for a start) has no bearing on other Hitman games. It's also crafted with a direction, so while being a Hitman can seem to be a compilation of random levels (as in other Hitman games), Hitman 2's story flows parallel to the levels. That's the main thing which sets it apart. It feels structured and motivated. The levels have a link, and aren't glued together by a flashback or the lazy claim that a Hitman only does what he's paid. In terms of graphics and sound, they are much improved over Codename 47. You can barely tell that they use the same game engine. The variety in levels couldn't be more vast. The level design, the locations, the objectives, the size, the length, the significance... all varied yet still without losing focus of the direction. Which is an incredible achievement if you think about how that's even possible. It's hard to imagine how this game could be improved, other than by adding more sophisticated AI and game mechanics. Overall, this is one of the classics.

100

Intriguing game

jimsteryo2 | May 3, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Blood Money Capsule

Excellent game, but only those with patience and a brain should play. For those that are just looking to shoot things up, you may find the game difficult. For those of you used to playing Splinter Cell, you may find this game to be a little linear. For those of you with an open mind and a little background in the Hitman series, there's plenty of replay value. You can keep going back to try a different way to accomplish a mission. There are 2 major ways to accomplish a mission: A sneaky, your-own-way sort of approach, and then there's the cool way: For example, in one level, few players realize this, but the huge chandelier above the theater can be "detached" from it's winch. A carefully timed explosion at the top can cause the chandelier to crush your target, leaving minimal evidence behind. Try it sometime!

74

Cool Shooter

jimsteryo2 | May 3, 2013 | Review of Metro 2033 PRE

Very linear gameplay which was totally unexpected but nevertheless the game is very easy to play and I happily churned my way through it and all the experiences it has to offer. The graphics are obviously amazing, in particular the lighting. I have some gripes with the decisions you make in the game and that they are very slapdash and not particular obvious , given that you have to meet so many subtle goals to achieve a good ending I felt a little bit cheated. The weapon physics are great but the enemies are ridiculously powerful and great use of a little kid in a game! All in all a great experience well worth playing and enjoying , just don't expect anything revolutionary.

90

Outstanding RPG

jimsteryo2 | May 3, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect 2 (NA)

I have spent above a 100 hours in mass effect 2, so you might as well ask yourself why I don't give this game a perfect 10. Its quite simply really, there are some small flaws. I will try to explain them, but know the game is really an extremely well designed experience. With that said; I find there are two flaws in this game. First, the number of comrades you pick up in the game is to large. Now, you might ask why this could possibly be a problem. This is quite simple, all of them have a "loyalty quest" - and with so many comrades all the sidequests feel a disconnected to the main plot. Add to this that with so many comrades, you never get a special feeling for any of the comrades - like you did in the first mass effect where you had a more limited number of them. Its a shame really.

The second flaw, is the whole weapon system. This problem is more compounded by several smaller issues. First off is the "new and improved" ammo system, which blows to be honest. The first game had a heatcooldown system, which was actually fine. Now you have what they call "heat clips" that are universal, yet you cant shift them between the your weapons - this is just plain odd. besides the weapon selection is dumbed down to much. You have a severely limited amount of weapontypes to choose from, and the way you upgrade and find them feel.... well to be honest, mildly retarded. But even though the games have these flaws, I will still rate it a 9 for the solid script, plot and superb gameplay.

75

Great Sci-Fi shooter

jimsteryo2 | May 3, 2013 | Review of Crysis Maximum Edition (NA)

You can easily see where the influence of this game came from. However, I am going to complete this review without any reference to Halo. The most notable detail, one that you'll see as soon as you begin playing, is the scenery. The aesthetically pleasing environment of this FPS puts all others to shame. However, while the levels seem quite open and non-linear at a glance, they feel limited. Also the story lacks much originality as does most aspects of the game. Don't get me wrong though, it is a very enjoyable shooter that I recommend for all you have the PC requirements to play it. It may not be remembered for as long as the popular console games, but it is one of the best on PC and should definitely be on your shopping list.

100

Quite Impressive

jimsteryo2 | May 3, 2013 | Review of BioShock (NA)

2K's "Bioshock" cannot be handled as a game. Sure, the gameplay's solid and smooth, but that's not what makes "Bioshock" a masterpiece; it's the story. Based on Ayn Rand's "Atlas Shrugged", the game's story is deeply immersive, powerful, and frighting. The broad, beautiful visuals overrides the (kinda) muddy textures. Through the eyes of Jack, a dystopian society of greed and corruption is seen underwater. Is man truly innocent and can their crimes be washed away? Such sophisticated question was never asked before in a game, and "Bioshock" answers the prompt back with such epicness and horror, I HAD to give it a 10.

88

Great sequal

jimsteryo2 | May 3, 2013 | Review of BioShock (NA)

Bioshock 2 didn't live up to its predecessor, but it came close. There's less sense of wonder, but they ramped up the pace, so it's not as noticeable as I had feared. The gun play, plasmids, and voice acting are all solid, and make for a very immersive game. There is no noticeable graphical improvement over the first game, which is somewhat disappointing. Bioshock 1 was such a beautiful game 2 years ago that this isn't really a problem. Now onto the problems. The default controls were horrid, and don't make much sense. It feels like they just shout out random keys at times. Normally this wouldn't be something you can complain about on the PC, but there are some big problems with remapping them in Bioshock 2. Certain actions will only work when mapped to their original keys, and the onscreen notifications show the originals. The horribly limited mouse settings are unusable with high DPI mice. This required about 30 minutes of .ini file hacking to get to a level where I could actually play the game. Once again the DRM in this game is just mind boggling. They apparently didn't learn their lesson the first time, and are back in full force. All users (who want to save their game anyway...) have to install Games for Windows Live, which is quite simply a joke.

100

Breathtaking game

jimsteryo2 | May 3, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite (NA)

Bioshock Infinite have a lot of really strong points. The graphical design in the game is absolutely amazing and the environments you are in are absolutely gorgeous. Not only that they also just oozes with the atmosphere that goes hand in hand with the Story. And the story is great and it contains a lot of interesting subjects and characters. The game also manages to tell its story through the environment and audio logs just as in the previous games in the series.The only complaint i have regarding the story is that it lacks player interaction both in general and in interaction with characters in the game. But this game is a first person shooter and you are going to spend the majority of your time shooting stuff. The exploring is still there from the previous games but its not as fleshed out in this game since there are less stuff to find and the maps are more linear. Now the shooting is alright. Its is by no means terrible buts its not especially good either. The enemies are unvaried and feels like bullet sponges which makes the whole combat feel dull and unresponsive. The two-weapon limit is a total buzzkill and it doesn't help that the weapons in the game is nothing out of the ordinary. The vigors can be quite enjoyable but the meat of the combat is the shooting which is not that great. There are also some quite annoying boss battles in the game. Now the railways in the game are fun to use and the big open combat arenas in the game with height differences, tears, railways and turrets are where the games most enjoyable fights takes place. Sadly too few areas are like this and the combat can never really escape the fact that the basics aren't all that great. it doesn't help that the combat is quite unvaried. Its not that i wish for bloody turret-sections every hour to spice things up but if you are going to make the player constantly shoot stuff the entire game (took me 11 hours on hard) then the shooting should be good enough to carry the game. And in this case the combat is not able to do that. Its hard to rate this game since the combat is average while everything else is pretty much amazing. But i do recommend this game despite its problems simple because how well they managed to pull of the everything besides the combat.

86

Interesting sandbox experience

jimsteryo2 | May 3, 2013 | Review of Just Cause 2

I picked up this game on a sale impulse buy. I had seen my friends play about half an hour of it and was not impressed, a lot of the stuff you could do looked over the top and stupid. But after playing I found guilty pleasure in the over-the-top parachuting, ass kicking, and grappling. The environment was something I did enjoy quite a lot, the beautiful graphics combined with the setting, think Cuba combined with North Korea was very pleasing. The vehicle driving is implemented very nicely as well. If you don't mind stunts that are totally unrealistic, a mediocre story (Most cinematic are skippable though) and a massive free roam expanse filled with explosions, gunfire and god knows what else, this is the game for you.

82

Combat based sandbox

jimsteryo2 | May 3, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Limited Edition

This game makes you feel as though you are actually a real undercover agent and this game does an excellent job at it. This is a sandbox game with combat based action. As you continue the game, you will learn more and more fighting moves to dominate your enemies. The gunplay is also great because it makes you feel as though you ARE the leader of Hong Kong. On the downside, the missions can get a little repetitive and boring and the story can get quite tedious at some points. But regardless, this is a great game with amazing graphics which will have you "awe"-ing at the game at some of the amazing things you will encounter in the game.

90

Parody of GTA IV

jimsteryo2 | May 3, 2013 | Review of Saints Row: The Third dns

Right from the start, this game is instantly fun, engaging and outright hilarious and filled with raunchy profanity. There are gang wars, running from cops and simply hilarious missions and amazing side missions also. You can customize your character, cars, clothes, weapons, crib, and gang. This game is crazily similar to GTA IV except this game would be referred to almost as a parody of it because this game basically takes nothing seriously and just lets you have crazy sandbox fun, exploring New Port hours on end. If you haven't already enjoyed this game, I recommend you to do so immediately.

100

Phenomenal Masterpiece

jimsteryo2 | May 3, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Game of the Year Edition DNS

This is easily one of the greatest games of all time. I can't recommend it more. It has the best gameplay I've ever seen, and a ton of choices in the way you play the game. The story is one of the best in gaming with its conspiracies and plot twists. The characters are all interesting and fun to interact with. The setting is possibly my favorite part because I'm a huge fan of cyberpunk. Basically it's all good things I have to say for this and I can't say enough, so just play it yourself.

85

Not like F.E.A.R. 1 or 2

jimsteryo2 | May 3, 2013 | Review of F.E.A.R. 3

The first F.E.A.R. games were scary games (the first, more than the second) except this game, I think I only got scared once. This was quite a shame because it's called F.E.A.R. for a reason... supposedly to be a "scary" game. Other than the game not being scary, the game was alright. The gunplay was excellent though, I have to give the game that...in F.E.A.R. 3, after you complete a level with Point Man, you can then play the game as Paxton Fetall, who possesses super natural powers and I have to give it to the Paxton Fetall character because playing as him was extremely cool because you can possess your enemies and then control their bodies, just this alone was very cool. The story was alright but nothing to get excited about. Finally, the multiplayer...when there was a person or two in the multiplayer servers, I had loads of fun, but unfortunately, the servers are basically dead and therefore you can't really experience what a masterpiece the multiplayer is...then you have the option to play the campaign on co-op mode with a friend, but like the multiplayer servers, the co-op is dead also. You might be dissapointed if you were expecting this game to be like the first two f.e.a.r. games but none the less, this game is a masterpiece in my eyes...especially with the unforgettable slo-mo option which makes the gun fights extremely memorable. I personally think this game is a must get.

70

Not as bad as everyone says

jimsteryo2 | May 3, 2013 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever

Cheesy pick up lines, seemingly simple gameplay, and bad storyline. All this describes Duke Nukem Forever in a nutshell. Even though this title didn't live up to it's expectations, it still wasn't a horrible game, the gun fights were somewhat satisfying and the game levels were just so outright hilariously bad that it was actually a little enjoyable. The multiplayer mode was fun for a little bit though, until the game kept crashing, I wasn't sure if it was because the multiplayer was just bad or my internet connection was bad...it was most likely the multiplayer that was bad. But the little multiplayer I did get to play, I actually did have a little fun. Just ignore the bad reviews and try the game out for yourself.

94

Very satisfying rpg

jimsteryo2 | May 3, 2013 | Review of Dead Island

I'd much rather prefer to play a game where you can customize your weapons, where there's tons of side missions, tons of gameplay value, co-op up to 4 people, zombies and open world rather another linear call of duty clone. If you, like me, prefer this also, you won't be disappointed to the least of this breathtaking rpg. This game isn't scary or have a great story, but it does what it's supposed to do...dismembering zombies and blood and gore everywhere. What makes this game ever more great is the co-op because what's more fun than playing a game online with four of your friends?...The only draw back of the game is the missions can get repetitive and can get boring sometimes, but all in all, this is definitely a game you should check out, especially for this low price, you won't regret it.

95

Great story and phenominal gameplay

jimsteryo2 | May 3, 2013 | Review of Max Payne II: The Fall of Max Payne DNS

The story instantly pulls you in and immerses you into this mind-bending game. Everything is so simple about this game, but more than anything, it's just so perfect and everything is done correctly. From the hugeeee variety of weapons to choose from to dominate your enemies, to the slo-mo that can be enable anytime in the game so you can dominate your enemies twice as fun and it leaves you feeling like you just conquered the world after you successfully used the slo mo and won the gun fight against your enemies. The only downside to this game is the length of it, which is extremely short, I personally beat it in 6 hours but it was some of the best hours ever. Someone's game library isn't complete without this classic.

97

F.e.a.r....The perfect shooter

jimsteryo2 | May 3, 2013 | Review of F.E.A.R -

One of the few games I actually enjoyed playing. This is a great example of a perfect game. The ai's are so great. When they spot you, they don't stay in one spot and fight you, rather they spread out. In this game, you can't expect to come out of a gun fight without a scratch, which is due to the amazing ai's. The ai's react to your flashlight and even footseps. The slo-mo is the most memorable part of this game though. The atmosphere keeps you on the edge of your seat at all times due to the enemies and cheesy jump scares. The choice of guns you get in the game are great and it would leave anyone satisfied. Probably the best game ever, everyone should play this game at least once in their life.

90

You're missing out

jimsteryo2 | April 29, 2013 | Review of Mafia II dns

The storyline of this game is most likely the best mafia story I've ever experienced. It blew me away. For me, the fun of this game wasn't the repetitive car driving missions or the bland shooting missions, rather for me, it was the phenomenal story which made this game absolutely perfect. With the radio system in the cars, it made me feel as though I was actually there. A must get for any gamer.

64

Meh

jimsteryo2 | April 29, 2013 | Review of F.E.A.R. 2: Project Origin

I'm not sure why, but i found the first and third f.e.a.r. games much better. I just didn't like the setting in the game and everything just felt way too linear. The story wasn't the best either. But what really saved the game is the slo-mo power which enables you to slow down time. This is why the game was so much fun for me. I personally think everything else was just...bad. To top it all off, there were random lag spikes which kind of ruined the game for me overall and i have a pretty good computer.