Reviews by jmods5710

70

Great stealth, outdated though

jmods5710 | Aug. 19, 2014 | Review of Thief Gold

Thief is probably one of the best stealth games ever made. It is a linear game but you have different ways of killing your enemies, using different items. People often look at the original Thief games when comparing stealth games, and for a good reason too. Unfortunately, by today's standards, the game looks VERY VERY ugly, and some controls feel very much like they came from the 90's, which is when this game was released. If you played it back then and want some nostalgia, then sure, buy it. If you don't care much about graphics and want to play an excellent stealth game, sure, buy it. But if that isn't you, then I cannot recommend this game. It will be too hard to enjoy for you. Keep in mind my rating is by today's standards.

65

It's alright

jmods5710 | July 22, 2014 | Review of Goat Simulator

I bought this around the time it came out 'cause of the hype. It was pretty fun, I have to admit, but then I collected everything and I felt that there wasn't really anything to do. Then the update came with more content, but I just couldn't get into it again. The game was fun for a few hours, but then it just felt samey. Even workshop content couldn't keep me entertained that much. I feel like I got my money's worth out of it, but honestly only consider this if there's nothing you want more for the price.

87

Great value

jmods5710 | July 22, 2014 | Review of Don't Starve

I did not buy this game myself, but it was gifted to me. I LOVE IT. It has a very unique art style. If you buy the game now, you'll get the multiplayer expansion free when it's released. The game in single player is very fun. Survival is difficult, but that makes the game all the more enjoyable. It really adds to the survival genre, in a unique way.

When you get the game in your steam library, you can also get a free DRM-free copy from Humble Bundle, if that motivates you too. BUY THIS GAME.

70

Nice environmental effects

jmods5710 | July 22, 2014 | Review of SPINTIRES

Spintires is a game where you control big trucks and drive them around doing different things, like collecting lumber, etc. My favourite part about the game is the environmental effects. Terrain deforms realistically, and water actually acts like it should when you drive through it, something which really impressed me. If you want a game that's fun, this probably isn't for you. It gets really repetitive and boring after a bit. If you want something nice to look at and play around in, sure, buy it, but you should probably wait for a sale.

67

nice atmosphere

jmods5710 | July 22, 2014 | Review of Montas

Montas is an early access indie horror game that shows a lot of promise. I was not let down by the scares. Even when there wasn't a monster out there, you felt like there was going to be one. It really pulls off a great atmosphere, perfect for a horror game. Sound and graphics are good, and I like the more open environments. It is a bit buggy, but right now I would say its a decent horror game. I would say buy it when it is finished though.

93

Excellent

jmods5710 | July 20, 2014 | Review of Left 4 Dead Bundle

This is the best zombie game I have played. It runs amazingly well on most computers, thanks to Source Engine. The Co-Op experience is one of the best. The second game is better than the first, because it has the same content plus more with a better interface. The community can sometimes be unwelcoming of new players, but as you improve, things will go better. BUY THIS NOW.

70

Fun

jmods5710 | July 17, 2014 | Review of Gun Monkeys

Great for some casual 1v1 action. The price is very good, but it does lack in player numbers, so it is not really recommended in that way. The game is multiplayer only, with some nice looking procedurally generated arenas, but you should only play this if you get it for free now, cause it's hard to find people to play with unless you have friends to play with.

But, overall, as I stated before, very fun game.

89

Best WWII shooter made

jmods5710 | Feb. 12, 2014 | Review of Red Orchestra 2: Heroes of Stalingrad

The best way of describing Red Orchestra 2 is a cross between Arma and the original 3 Call of Duty games ----- just this is a lot harder. Movement is realistic. You have limited stamina and you feel what you're carrying slowing you down. When you reload with bullets still in your mag, you might reload later on to find the same mag in your gun, with only very few bullets. It is war simulation at its finest. Graphics are impressive and hold up, and the massive maps make for interesting battles. Atmosphere is amazing, almost as if you are actually in the war. BUT WARNING TO THOSE WHO DO NOT LIKE HARD GAMES This game is very difficult. Dying is easy and you will find yourself getting killed by players more experienced than you. It takes time getting used to how the game controls, and when driving a tank you have limited visibility, which is what drivers in those tanks would have had. This is no run and gun action game. So, if you want a challenge and want to play an amazing WWII game, then I recommend trying this out.

75

Great for Co-Op

jmods5710 | Feb. 12, 2014 | Review of Left 4 Dead 2

If you love playing games in co-op with other people then this is the game for you. If you like zombies, and borderlands, then this is the game for you. If you want something to satisfy your Dead Island tastebuds, then I recommend you get Left 4 Dead 2. This is a zombie game made by valve a few years ago. Graphics are okay, especially for the source engine, an engine made a long time ago in the early 2000s. Playing with other people is the focus of the game, and where you'll probably have most fun, but it can be enjoyed alone too. I found the single player rather boring, so if you like single player games, then don't get this unless it is really cheap or free. Otherwise, enjoy this great multiplayer game with your friends!

90

Buy It!

jmods5710 | Feb. 12, 2014 | Review of Space Engineers

Space Engineers is a game about building things in space. It is a sandbox game not unlike Minecraft, and even in Alpha, just as Minecraft was at first, there is still fun to be had for many hours. This game has some features that make it have potential to be better than Minecraft. First of all, you can build spaceships and space stations. And you can crash them. What you crash them into deforms with an awesome deformation engine that put holes in meteors and tears space ships apart. One thing that is awesome to do in this game is crashing into one of your friend's creations and seeing as you make a hole in their work. Multiplayer still needs some work overall though. In public servers there is a lot of lag, unless you have REALLY good internet. When playing with friends, I did not experience much lag, and the game was much more playable. Overall, if you love space sims, sandbox games, and games with awesome destruction and great graphics, then this is for you. Just make sure to buy it now, before the price rises (which it certainly will).

100

Another great game

jmods5710 | Feb. 8, 2014 | Review of Empire: Total War

I bought this game recently, and I have to say it is one of my favourite Total War games. It seems like a different game than the older ones, mainly because of the guns that were used in the period of time that game represents. No more archers, pikemen, and knights. No more samurai and other (mostly) melee soldiers. Now fights are still intense, but from more of a distance. This adds an interesting twist to sieges and other battles. Sea battles are fun, and multiplayer is great as always. Overall, recommend it to everyone.

86

Great RPG

jmods5710 | Feb. 8, 2014 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Nexway

Skyrim came out in 2011 and has received critical acclaim by everyone. I recently acquired the game and have been playing but there is so much to see and do that I don't know if I can do it all. But... there may be too much. The definitive version of the game is the PC version, as the game improves greatly with mods. The graphics, especially on the PC, are very good and the game looks great even on lower settings. Combat is fun, though it gets repetitive, as with most RPGs, and the story is pretty good. Unfortunately, I cannot praise the game's repetitiveness overall. Many missions and locations look somewhat familiar, especially dungeons, and you might find yourself getting bored quickly. Overall, the game is very good, and I recommend it to everyone.

92

Great game

jmods5710 | Feb. 8, 2014 | Review of Medieval II: Total War

This game came out in 2004, yet is still seen as a masterpiece in RTS games. I agree very much with this, as it is one of the most addicting and fun games I have played. Graphics may not be the greatest when seen now, but that doesn't matter when you try the game for yourself. You command huge armies in battle and there are many factions to choose from. The campaign is decent but that isn't the important part. If you're looking for a great RTS game, this is one that is a must buy.